Customer Reviews


249 Reviews
5 star:
 (139)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sandbox puzzler - Scribblenauts Unlimited supports Steam Workshop, which allows users to download and share custom content
First of all, yes this is a Steamworks game, which also means that it requires Steam to download and play (Steam is actually where I purchased it). How Amazon can offer this new of a game at such a heavily discounted price ($7.49) boggles my mind, but hey - I won't complain.
You buy the game here, get a key, go to Steam and add it to your collection through the...
Published 21 months ago by Samuel Mitchell

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Anyone have suggestions for Crash Dump?
I too have purchased Scribblenauts Unlimited, and I have also not been able to play.My system is more than able to run this game yet it still won't launch. I have read the forum on Steam and tried several of the suggestions from other users, to no avail. Does anyone have any suggestions or new information that may be helpful? I would sure appreciate it!
Published 20 months ago by Kimbo


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sandbox puzzler - Scribblenauts Unlimited supports Steam Workshop, which allows users to download and share custom content, December 23, 2012
This review is from: Scribblenauts Unlimited [Download] (Software Download)
First of all, yes this is a Steamworks game, which also means that it requires Steam to download and play (Steam is actually where I purchased it). How Amazon can offer this new of a game at such a heavily discounted price ($7.49) boggles my mind, but hey - I won't complain.
You buy the game here, get a key, go to Steam and add it to your collection through the option in the client. Example: launch Steam and log in, then click "Games" -> "Activate a Product on Steam...", and input your key.

The object of Scribblenauts is simple - solve puzzles and collect stars. This in turn allows you to unlock more of the huge, scrolling map (and of course access the puzzles found within). Once you get a few of these stars, you can mostly FREELY navigate around the gigantic themed map and pick your challenges at will. There are hundreds upon hundreds of missions here, so the entertainment value is massive - and that doesn't even take into account the fact that you can create/spawn anything you want and see how things play out.

The beautiful part of this sandbox puzzler is that you solve everything with the power of your lexicon and a keyboard (OK, the mouse is involved as well)!
You can even use adjectives, which means that you can further customize how the game plays. Want to make a dancing vampire? A singing clown (oh the humanity!)? Well, now you can.
While most of the puzzles are very simple, there are a few that will really make you think.

Scribblenauts Unlimited also has a very powerful object editor, allowing you to easily create a lot of custom content. Check out the Steam Workshop page to see what other people have come up with. The variety is mind boggling. I kid you not, you can download everything from the Portal Gun, all the way to Spiderman.

Contrary to some other reviews, you CAN in fact change the resolution, and even play the game windowed; as well as use Anti-Aliasing (not that it improves the look of the 2D game by much), and yes - you can re-bind the controls should you chose to do so.

Now if you don't mind, I am going to go spawn a Dancing Cthulhu and see how many meteors it will take to wipe it out. Or better yet, see if it can survive a zombie invasion... Zombies with flamethrowers... Yeah, there we go.
OOOH I wonder if I can spawn Owen Zastava Pitt? That would make for an interesting showdown (feel free to ignore that last bit unless you are a Monster Hunter fan).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Such a simple but entertaining game!, December 22, 2012
By 
This review is from: Scribblenauts Unlimited [Download] (Software Download)
I got this game remembering how much fun and difficult the original DS Scribblenauts was, and although this game goes down a slightly different route and eases up on the difficulty, it's still a blast.

Each level has a theme to it (for instance, you might be at a haunted mansion, or in the wild west), and your job is to help as many people as possible by spawning objects by typing words (nouns and adjectives). Some of the tasks are extremely easy to solve (someone might need something as small as a bar of soap, or you might need to make them "brave" or "courageous"), but there are always one to three full Starite "quests" per level that will take slightly longer to solve.
All of the levels and the tasks themselves have very clever names, and often tie in different motifs into one (for instance, a mine shaft level features a hidden superhero chamber, a frozen caveman, and a woman trapped by a giant spider). It just goes to show that the developers really understand that different players will have different perceptions of what should be included in certain areas, and they did their best to accommodate those perceptions.

I'm perhaps slightly more than halfway through my first playthrough (with five hours logged) and I have yet to repeat a single word or term. They did a really good job of adhering to a simple premise and yet allowing you to be as creative as you want to progress. As I mentioned before, though, the difficulty is a bit on the easy side. I've only had to really stop to think about a puzzle two or three times.

The visuals are really cartoony and look great and sharp... there's not much to say about this, just that there are a ton of different character and item models, and it's extremely impressive.

And the sound is topnotch. Although the base music stays about the same, each level's theme has its own influence on the songs (so a cowboy level will give it a western sound). It's a very much appreciated subtlety.

I HIGHLY recommend this game to creative people, people just looking for some simple fun and laughs, and also to parents who like to play games with their children and use them as educational tools (this game opens up a lot of opportunities to talk about various sciences and history; for instance, there's a museum level where you have to complete the exhibit of various historical figures such as Columbus and Cleopatra... I mean, for the young ones, what a great chance to stop and explain who they were and their influence on history, and tie that in to the gameplay?)

Honestly this is one of those games for "ages 5-95".

REVIEW EDIT: I've noticed people complaining about Steam, and the fact this doesn't want to work on Windows 8.
I'm using a 64-bit version of Windows 8 and have encountered zero problems with this game.
Likewise, I've been using Steam since 2003 and have had zero conflicts between Scribblenauts and Steam (my one complaint here is that the achievements are too easy to get, but that is not Valve's fault).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deserves a spot in your collection, December 6, 2012
By 
J. Grant (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scribblenauts Unlimited [Download] (Software Download)
This a truly a unique game that deserves a spot in everyone's collection. The game takes places as the main character Maxwell proceeds to solve a series of missions using a magic notebook. By simply writing words in this notebook, he summons a wide array of objects to solve these quests. This results in extremely open-ended gameplay with a healthy sense of humor. This latest entry in the series adds the ability to use adjectives, which really opens up the possibilities. I've played this on a number of platforms, and I think the PC graphics outshine the other versions.

I will also say I think any concerns about the requirement to use the Steam platform are entirely unfounded. The app that runs in the background does not degrade performance, and there is no need to have an always on internet connection to play the game. Steam has an offline mode that allows the game to be played just fine when there is no connection available. When you buy this from Amazon, you will be given a code that you enter into Steam. The game downloads and installs through Steam - a very simple process.

This is great for anyone who is looking branch out and experience unique gameplay, and fans of the series will appreciate this newest installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FUN!, December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scribblenauts Unlimited [Download] (Software Download)
Simple fun game, really isnt that hard play. The Object Creator is the fun part of the game, create whatever want. Can share
through Steam WORKSHOP, which is very handy, dont have to be diggin through the internet for this stuff. Fun for kids and adults. But the online portion isnt monitored, like mods for example.

Uses Steam of course, what game doesnt. Easy to install.
step
1. Get serial from amazon.
2. activate on steam
3. DOwnload and done.

that it, not sure why people get mad at steam lately, works perfect for me for the past years. Easy to backup if you lose data. This modern age, everyone has internet unless you live in a jungle. You can set steam OFFLine FOREVER if you want,
just backup entire contents of steam folder to external HD without internet connection. Make sure to launch game once and
offline enabled/account cred enabled, can play w/out internet easy.

Would love to put this on my win7 touch tab, but the REQUIREMENTS on this game is actually prety high.
Requires AMD Atholon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4000+ or better / Intel Core 2 Duo Processor 2.0GHz or better.
Especially the processor for the most part.

For 20$!only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, November 26, 2012
This review is from: Scribblenauts Unlimited [Download] (Software Download)
this game is AMAZING! i spent HOURS playing at my friends house, and ended up loving it so i bought it myself. anyone who has this:
a good idea too try is: "exposive barrel launcher". i HAVE TRIED IT, IT WORKS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., September 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scribblenauts Unlimited [Download] (Software Download)
This game plays great. The puzzles are JUST challenging enough to make you think, but not get you frustrated. Would recommend this to anyone who likes word/puzzle games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for the entire family., January 26, 2013
This review is from: Scribblenauts Unlimited [Download] (Software Download)
As the headline says, it's a great game for players of any age. Porting it for the PC was an excellent choice, it is easier to type on a keyboard after all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, January 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scribblenauts Unlimited [Download] (Software Download)
this game is really fun, very unique... very enjoyable....highly recommending it if you never try... or are looking for something to spend quality time with
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun little game, January 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scribblenauts Unlimited [Download] (Software Download)
This is a fun little game that was very easy to get but I mainly used Stream and not amazon digital download.

The is all about using words to create items that can help you solve problems in the world. you do this with what I would like to call an anti-Deathnote (its an anime/manga, it's very good read/watch). The game itself has very little slow down or bugs of any kind so far in my play though. you can create things like a sparkling unicorn and attach wings to it to fly around the stage and it wont break the game.

Their is also an item creation/editor where a person can make a lot of new items and even program how said items behave when they are made, If you use it with steam you get access to the scribblenauts unlimited streamworks which is steams file sharing/modding community. In there you can download other peoples created items and use them in your own world or even edit them and share your new version.

All and all its a great little game and not short either will take you some time to figure out some of the tricky problems they present in front of you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Naut disappointed, January 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scribblenauts Unlimited [Download] (Software Download)
Do you have a creative imagination? Do you like cleverly solving problems? Do you like to make things more difficult than they needed yo be? Can you at the very least adequately type?
Then buy this game and play it. You will naut be disappointed either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.