Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 7 Below
A film I wasn't too sure of when I ordered it, but as it turned out it was quite good. Kept me interested.
Published on June 10, 2012 by Elainey

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Makes the last "Friday the 13th" movie appear intellectual in comparison
Even professionally made junk is still junk and while "7 Below" has two exceptional actors in the form of Ving Rhames and Val Kilmer (although Kilmer hasn't done anything worthwhile since "Kiss Kiss Bang Bang"-although both are on cruise control in their roles)in it, "7 Below" fails to surprise or scare.

A group of travelers (Kilmer among them) are stranded in...
Published on April 22, 2012 by Wayne Klein


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Makes the last "Friday the 13th" movie appear intellectual in comparison, April 22, 2012
This review is from: 7 Below (DVD)
Even professionally made junk is still junk and while "7 Below" has two exceptional actors in the form of Ving Rhames and Val Kilmer (although Kilmer hasn't done anything worthwhile since "Kiss Kiss Bang Bang"-although both are on cruise control in their roles)in it, "7 Below" fails to surprise or scare.

A group of travelers (Kilmer among them) are stranded in a creepy house with a creepy host(Rhames)when a tornado watch forces them off the road. Then the killing starts. Well, I suppose you could say the killing starts. We don't SEE one of the earliest killings and its ALL played off screen (perhaps they ran into issues with how the scene was shot). In films like this it's all about how creative the murder sequences are since that's kind of the purpose of movie.

"7 Below" just meanders from scene-to-scene without much action and what little character development there is in the film is mostly cliched.

SPOILERS:

Kilmer's character of Bill dies early on perhaps he had the biggest paycheck or a more important gig waiting. Rhames remains the one delight in the film particularly with a clever intentional reference to "Top Gun" involving a scene with Kilmer. Although Rhames KNOWS he's in an awful movie he manages to have fun with his role as Jack.

The transfer looks pretty decent and audio although not outstanding had a decent mix as well.

Special features are limited to a trailer.

I'd avoid this one as there are dozens of better horror flicks out there. Kilmer is slumming and although Vhames has fun with his role, it's not enough to save this flick. Even for a buck this seemed too expensive. "7 Below" reminds us that most flicks that end up going straight to video do so for a very good reason--they just aren't very good.

Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Had potential...., May 13, 2012
By 
This review is from: 7 Below (DVD)
...but did not live up to it. The actors did the best they could with a very weak script. The plot is nothing new, the setting is a cliche, and there are no major surprises or thrills. And Val Kilmer just looks horrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SEAN OF THE DEAD, April 7, 2012
This review is from: 7 Below [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The movie starts out like a slasher film with a series of murders in 1910. 100 years later, a van filled with tourists headed to a resort gets stranded in that same house due to an accident. A large storm is brewing. The music during the credits would indicate the film is a thriller-mystery and not the slasher film it started out to be. Val Kilmer plays a corporate lawyer from Chicago. He cheats on his wife (Bonnie Somerville) with everyone possible. His wife knows about the constant affairs and would like to have some sex from time to time too. There is a pair of brothers (Luke Goss and Matt Barr), one of which is into past life regressions. Ving Rhames is their host. There is also a doctor in the group (Christian Baha). Rebecca Da Costa is a convenience store clerk.

There is immediate tension between Kilmer and Rhames as it becomes a battle to see who can act the most ostentatious, contrary, and bizarre. As the 100 year storm rages on, the events of the past unfold in the present.

The problem with this film is that it tries so hard to be clever, it isn't. Ving Rhames with his fedora, time piece, and cigar love making creates a lousy character as we see him as "Tony Todd light." Kilmer, likewise had a bad role, one where acting was optional. Overall the characters were fairly drab which made for a dull feature.

F-bomb, opening sex and nudity (Tia Sage)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another typical Val Kilmer movie. Boring, not very good and makes you feel sorry for him. What happened Val? I say C., April 11, 2012
By 
Tony Heck (Belgrade, MT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 7 Below (DVD)
"A tragedy struck this house 100 years ago." After a group of strangers arrive at a house to stay the night they begin to experience strange happenings. After learning that a terrible event occurred 100 years ago in that house they wonder if that is the reason. I am old enough to remember when Val Kilmer was a real actor. Movies like "The Doors", "Batman Forever", "Top Gun" and my favorite "Tombstone" seem like a long distant memory. This movie is not the one that will break him out of his drought. While it did start off OK it quickly turned in to a forgettable movie. I'm not sure if Ving Rhames just didn't care or if he was trying to be over the top in this knowing that it was lame. Either way it was a little annoying. I know there are still some Kilmer fans out there that will like this but for me watching him lately just makes me feel sorry for him. Overall, another (what has become) a typical Val Kilmer movie. I give it a C.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Draggy, Dumb, and Doesn't Deliver, August 31, 2012
By 
Doug Park (Lexington, KY, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 7 Below (DVD)
One of those films with no real surprises and a very incomplete feel to it. It seems the makers wanted to create a brand-new, really frightening haunted house film, had some interesting twists and concepts to work with, but didn't quite know where to go with them, so they just did the same old thing that's been done a gazillion times before. The bells, chimes, and rain pattering on the roof might have served to create tension and atmosphere 50 years ago, but not today. Vivid cinematography, believable dialogue, and pretty good acting (most notably Rebecca Da Costa as Courtney), but we don't know the too-plentiful characters well enough to attain much empathy with them. "7 Below"'s stronger points are wasted on this boorish attempt at Southern Gothicism.

Buy something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars HORRIBLE., August 8, 2012
This review is from: 7 Below (DVD)
I'm sorry I wasted my time watching this movie. I thought it was supposed to be a horror movie, but there was not a single part that was the least bit scary. I also didn't understand how two people could spend one night in a haunted house and the next day be deeply in love. The plot wasn't even good either. All around, a terrible, terrible movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars c minus flick, June 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 7 Below (DVD)
Only got this film because Val Kilmer is in it, and he was killed off early...the film is boring,(he even looked bored!) no thriller here. Didn't really care about what happened to the rest of the characters. Dialogue leaves much to be desired. Much of the acting was almost like just going through the actions, stilted and very unconvincing. Other than that it was great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a waste -, May 20, 2012
This review is from: 7 Below (DVD)
I saw Ving Rhames and Val Kilmer and figured it had to be worth watching - boy was I wrong! Very little of the story made sense and I swear both of the headliners were stoned, drunk or just didn't care. Worst film I have ever seen either of them in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spooky House, Spooky Host, and hundred year old ghosts in pedestrian shocker., March 23, 2013
This review is from: 7 Below (DVD)
This film starts out with a family who in 1911, are all murdered one stormy night (well it's always stormy isn't it?) by their adopted son. We then skip forward 100 years to find a group of people all going on some sort of retreat for various reasons. There is womanising Bill McCormick (a be-ponytailed Val Kilmer) who is trying to rekindle his waning marriage, a doctor and two brothers who are grieving the loss of their mother. Then a mysterious woman appears in the road and the driver attempts to miss her and in so doing they have a crash.

Not to worry as the 7th Cavalry turn up in the shape of Jack (Ving Rhames), he tells them the storm is going to be lethal and they had better come to his house to shelter from it. Bill has also sustained a head injury and they can treat him there. Jack then tells them that their mobile/cell phones will not work in this area, so another box is ticked in the `no way to get help' stakes. Soon they start to see things that have no other explanation than they are ghosts. So this is not a slasher movie if that is what you were looking for. As the storm closes in, the options start running out and the inevitable past starts to catch up with the future.

This is actually not a bad film, the acting is all solid enough, Luke Goss as Isaac is showing more and more promise as a reliable actor. Matt Barr as his brother Adam is also one to watch and Ving Rhames is nicely ambiguous which is just how it needs to be played. I did not get any plot holes and the twists occur more than in just the nasty knife work, so that is also appreciated. The thing is it is not very gripping, and that is where its falls down. It does have its moments and the lighting is done superbly to create the most out of the atmosphere, but my mind wandered on more than one occasion. On IMDB it gets a 3.2 out of 10, which is not very good, but as I said this does have its moments and in many respects this is a solid film, but if you are trading on scares and thrills then that is where the effort should have gone, hence my rating, actually a 3.5 would have been fairer but this is really just above being OK. Also a word for Val Kilmer fans he does not get much screen time, but is good value when he does. All in all a film for fright fans who absolutely adore the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Luke Goss is the only highlight in this sad film, December 29, 2012
This review is from: 7 Below (DVD)
If it weren't for Luke Goss, I would have turned it off after the "stunning opening." I say that tongue in cheek, because on the box cover it says, "this film will keep you on the edge of your seat from the stunning opening to the shocking conclusion."

Stunning opening? Yes, but not in the way they hoped. A man and woman having sex, girl on top, while the wife creeps up and catches them at it. The movie wants us to think it is 100 years ago, but the director of photography isn't pulling off the look. Everyone looks like modern actors wearing ragged clothing. Anyway, the wife says, "Get her out of here!" and the other woman gets off the man and dresses while the man gets up and slaps the wife to the ground. He then tries his hand at acting. When he utters his first line, you will nearly want to turn off the movie. Yes, it's that bad. Then he has a second line, and you realize that he is probably a local-theater-actor or a friend of the producer. He is bad. Switch to the wife going downstairs with a busted lip and she goes to her children's room. Two girls in bed, look to be maybe 9 and 14. The 14 yr old delivers her line with the stiffness of a board, made my skin crawl. I almost turned it off then, but they promised me Luke Goss so I persevered...

Switch to modern times. LUKE GOSS looks so comfortable and handsome in the back of the van. As you watch the introductory scene of these modern-day characters, you find Goss and the guy playing his brother are the most natural actors in the bunch. At the other end of the spectrum, usually-great actor Val Kilmer seems flaccid and flabby, totally without the talent and style I expected. The group of strangers end up having a crash, the driver (who we never really meet), dies unceremoniously, and they leave him on the side of the road and go away in a truck with a mysterious man named Jack (Ving Rhames). I am constantly thinking about that poor guy left in the mud on the side of the road, but he is never mourned (or mentioned) again. Odd.

But not as odd as it continues.

To sum up (too late) -- this script is AWFUL. The actors are doing the best they can with really crappy and trite drivel to mumble. Luke Goss sashays around the set, delivering his ludicrous lines the most convincingly, and he owns every scene he's in, but even that eye-candy couldn't save this film.

The ending was not shocking or even surprising. It did not have a good payoff or even clever twist.

I wish I could give this less than 1 star, but we must work within our given parameters.

Not recommended -- UNLESS, you just want to watch a Luke Goss film. He is the only actor that did not make me cringe at all during this entire feature. I am about to go watch One Night with the King or The Man to get my Luke Goss fix after this.

Watch with care. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

7 Below
7 Below by Kevin Carraway (DVD - 2012)
$22.99 $5.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.