Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too
"The hot corner." In baseball, it's third base. So named because of the fact that you always have to be ready for anything, and no one knows it better than eighteen-year-old Scott Latimer.

Scott is the starting third baseman on Thompson High School's varsity baseball team. The Spokane All-City High School Tournament is coming up in a matter of days, so of...
Published on March 1, 2007 by TeensReadToo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Terry Truman's Terrific Tomes
Trueman's 7 Days at the Hot Corner is not as engaging as his masterpiece, Stuck in Nuetral, but will satisify those who enjoy his style and controversial issues that young adults deal with these days.
Published on August 27, 2010 by SHANNON


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, March 1, 2007
"The hot corner." In baseball, it's third base. So named because of the fact that you always have to be ready for anything, and no one knows it better than eighteen-year-old Scott Latimer.

Scott is the starting third baseman on Thompson High School's varsity baseball team. The Spokane All-City High School Tournament is coming up in a matter of days, so of course Scott is worried about how he'll handle himself on "the hot corner."

The only problem is that, as life has a way of doing, things in his personal life are a little messed up at the moment. His best friend, Travis, was recently kicked out of his house by his parents and has been staying with Scott and his dad. And that was fine, until Travis handed him a copy of the school newspaper, which contained an article entitled "Coming Out."

Now "the hot corner" isn't just on the baseball field, but everywhere Scott looks. He doesn't know what to do about his friendship with Travis. He especially doesn't know how to handle some of the things Travis has said to him, such as the fact that Scott has issues with being the son of divorced parents. During these next seven days, it's up to Scott to figure out how to make things right again -- both on the field and off of it.

Again, author Terry Trueman has taken a well-drawn character and put him into a realistic situation. This is another great read from one of my favorite authors, and I can guarantee you won't go wrong by picking up a copy.

Reviewed by: Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Terry Truman's Terrific Tomes, August 27, 2010
By 
SHANNON (Fayetteville, NC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 7 Days at the Hot Corner (Hardcover)
Trueman's 7 Days at the Hot Corner is not as engaging as his masterpiece, Stuck in Nuetral, but will satisify those who enjoy his style and controversial issues that young adults deal with these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding read for gay or straight teens., May 11, 2007
By 
Bob Lind "camelwest" (Phoenix, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
7 DAYS AT THE HOT CORNER

by Terry Trueman

(Harper Tempest, February 2007, $15.99 Hardcover)

Scott Latimer lives for baseball. The high school senior plays third base (known in baseball jargon as the "hot corner") for his undefeated school team, and has dreams of playing professionally after he graduates. His best friend, since age seven, is Travis Adams, who helped comfort him when his parents got a divorce.

Scott's life seems to be placed on hold, when Travis moves in with Scott and his dad, following his being thrown out of his home because he is gay. It's rather unsettling news to Scott as well, since he always assumed Travis was straight and had never been told otherwise. He also remembers an incident in which Travis bled badly after a batting-cage accident, and Scott now wonders if Travis may have had unsafe sex and passed HIV on to him. He withdraws emotionally and physically from his friend, and decides to get tested, then goes through an agonizing seven days waiting for the test results. Travis decides to "come out" in an anonymous interview in the school paper, and Scott is also worried that his friends will figure out it is Travis, and perhaps assume that Scott is gay as well (which even Travis' mom assumed, since they were so close.)

An excellent, non-stereotypical and realistic story, especially recommended for teen readers. A bit short (runs 160 pages, but printed in relatively big type on small pages, which likely stretched it by 50% over what it would be in "normal" formats), but well-written and covers all of the bases (pun intended). Excellent selection for a gay teen to give as a gift to a straight buddy who may have problems dealing with his coming-out, and also debunks some common (even this long into the epidemic) myths about how the AIDS virus is transmitted. A definite "home run" (Last one, I promise! :) and I give it five stars out of five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please beware, May 18, 2007
While this may be a great book, I have not read it in it's entirety, please beware of purchasing this book for anyone younger than high school.

It says, 6th grade and up, or age 12 and up but the material may be more suitable for a high school student rather than elementary!

My son, who is in 4th grade, is an active reader and can read beyond his grade level. My mother bought him this book along with many other books and did not realize how mature this book was. Personally, I don't think 4th graders, or anyone under a high school grade, should be reading a book that deals with homosexuality, AIDS, safe sex and so on. My son is 9.

I believe in fredom of speech and I'm glad that there are novels that deal with those issues. My only wish would be that the author would have geared it toward a more mature audience.

Obviously, I need to CLOSELY examine the books my son is given to read before I allow him to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

7 Days at the Hot Corner
7 Days at the Hot Corner by Terry Trueman (Hardcover - February 27, 2007)
Used & New from: $1.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.