Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Liberal" press debunked!
I don't watch much TV news and read newspapers and magazines infrequently, so I had bought into the myth of the liberally biased press until I read 71 Days! The conservative bias of Fox News didn't surprise me, but that of the rest of the main stream news did. Having an intelligent and knowledgeable observer, who shared my belief in Barack Obama's sincerity, track the...
Published on January 28, 2012 by Kindle Customer

versus
59 of 96 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Revisionist at best
The argument that the media was anything but gentle with Sen. Obama is a tough one to make, and [71 Days] is unable to make it. The vision of the campaign in this book is not the vision that anyone who lived through the campaign will recognize. As a former Obama staffer, and still a strong supporter, I am not writing this as a smear against Obama. Rather, it is...
Published on September 23, 2009 by J. Caplan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Liberal" press debunked!, January 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 71 Days: The Media Assault On Obama (Paperback)
I don't watch much TV news and read newspapers and magazines infrequently, so I had bought into the myth of the liberally biased press until I read 71 Days! The conservative bias of Fox News didn't surprise me, but that of the rest of the main stream news did. Having an intelligent and knowledgeable observer, who shared my belief in Barack Obama's sincerity, track the various news media over the 71 days of the 2008 campaign was enlightening to say the least. This book was amazingly researched, intelligently written and wonderfully informative. I highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in an objective look at the press coverage of the 2008 presidential campaign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth, November 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 71 Days: The Media Assault On Obama (Paperback)
This book is the real truth, it says a whole lot about Americans, and how some Americans are perfectly ok with wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 96 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Revisionist at best, September 23, 2009
This review is from: 71 Days: The Media Assault On Obama (Paperback)
The argument that the media was anything but gentle with Sen. Obama is a tough one to make, and [71 Days] is unable to make it. The vision of the campaign in this book is not the vision that anyone who lived through the campaign will recognize. As a former Obama staffer, and still a strong supporter, I am not writing this as a smear against Obama. Rather, it is important to realize that this literary work is NOT accurate and should not be treated as such. I wish I could rank it lower than one star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "71 Days" of inspiration and insight!, May 7, 2009
This review is from: 71 Days: The Media Assault On Obama (Paperback)
A brilliant combination of insight, opinion, and astute observation. "71 Days: The Media Assault on Obama " is written like a political private diary of the most public days in recent history. It reads quickly and easily, validating a perspective on the mainstream media that many a frustrated election watcher struggled with. After reading the first chapter I proclaimed to myself, "Thank goodness, I was not alone! What I saw and thought about the media bias against Obama is shared and finally and articulated." Highly recommended.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 96 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 71 days?, December 4, 2009
This review is from: 71 Days: The Media Assault On Obama (Paperback)
Media assult on Obama? That's rich. The "hard fought primary" against Hillary consisted of the MSM slamming Clinton at every turn to clear the way for their Messiah BHO.
Get real people. Bernie Goldberg (CBS veteran of 25 years) has it right with "A Slobbering Love Affair: The True (And Pathetic) Story of the Torrid Romance Between Barack Obama and the Mainstream Media".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another good read, October 28, 2009
By 
StevenAK "StevenAK" (Pittsburgh, PA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 71 Days: The Media Assault On Obama (Paperback)
In Black and White: The Media and the Election of President Barack Obama

Also a great read on the media and Obama is In Black and White: The Media and the Election of President Barack Obama, which is available on AMAZON. In Black and White begins at the time of Obama's anouncement in February 2007 and ends on election day. A good overall look at the media.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 75 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars You bet!, May 31, 2009
This review is from: 71 Days: The Media Assault On Obama (Paperback)
Media assault? Right! Let's see, the NY Times falls all over themselves praising Obama. Newsweek is practically an Obama campaign publication. Time magazine just published their 18th fawning cover story about the Obamas. Wow, what an assault! I don't see how our great President can withstand all these attacks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for taking the time to pay close attention!, January 13, 2010
This review is from: 71 Days: The Media Assault On Obama (Paperback)
71 DAYS: THE MEDIA ASSAULT ON OBAMA, by Michael Jason Overstreet

Why did I think the nation would rally around Obama and help him solve the problems we all have to face? Why did I think Obama would be successful at reaching across the aisle? It must be that I read AUDACITY OF HOPE and listened to it time and time again in Obama's own words on my iPod. Because of the high regard and respect Obama had for everyone in government, regardless of party, I thought he would be respected in return.

WRONG!

I'm grateful for 71 DAYS; THE MEDIA ASSAULT ON OBAMA. Regardless of the decisions Obama makes, many of which please my Republican sister a lot more than they please me, the media assault has not stopped. I can hardly wait till Oprah Winfrey gets her own network. Maybe we'll hear some GOOD news.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ...can we DEAL with REAL ???, December 19, 2009
By 
JCW "SPHERICAL" (ARKANSAS, N.L.R.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 71 Days: The Media Assault On Obama (Paperback)
Why do our politicians seem to be completely EXEMPT from the truth? Since there is NO truth in campaign advertising law, a savvy politician will remain in campaign mode ...24/7/365. The constituents that observe such folly, and attend their MINDS to the actual meaning of being "had", tend to battle with what could be called
"voters-remorse" after "their guy/gal" gets elected and the layers of the proverbial onion slowly peel away to expose the true core of reality.

I admire MR. Overstreet's ambitious effort in self-publishing his book. However, if the "main-stream" press accomplished such a dreadful assault on Mr. Obama, why are we not enjoying a McCain presidency? Most all candidates get some form of a "hack-job" from a probing, curious, persistant reporter scoopin' NEWS !!! A nagging problem for Mr. Overstreet's claims are the FACTS. Mr. Obama simply was NOT vetted in any 'way/shape/matter or form'. McCain/Palin negative ATTACKS from ALL major
'news' outlets ran a strong 3/1 ratio to Obama's negatives. Save FOX NEWS !!!!!!!

In a recent interview, Mr. Overstreet stated he had read A Slobbering Love Affair: The True (And Pathetic) Story of the Torrid Romance Between Barack Obama and the Mainstream Media and gave it what seemed to be genuine praise. His only complaint was it's lacking of volume. Suggesting his much lengthier [71 DAYS] contains the details of this most dastardly attempt of ABC, NBC, CBS, MSNBC, CNN, PBS, NEW YORK TIMES, WASH. POST, NEWSWEEK, TIME, and so on,
to systematically "dismantle" the Obama/Biden campaign. This seems laughably sad.
Mr. Overstreet also quipped that he would like to appear on Sean Hannity's show on FOX NEWS CHANNEL. At least a 'fair-and-balanced' atmosphere will likely be present,
and the only assault that may occur will be upon the falsities embedded within revisionism.

The reality of the external world registers rather poorly on the human mind. One eyewitness to Lincoln's assassination swore the killer had crawled away on his hands and knees, a second declared the assassin had stopped to deliver a line of Latin, a third said he'd leaped fifteen feet, and a fourth said that he'd shimmied down a flagpole. There was no flagpole on the seen.

Somewhere between the reporter and his/her readership/viewer ['lies'] the nature of our bending bias ... distorting the perceptual capacity to actually DEAL with REAL !!! And that REAL being the VAST MAJORITY of the Washington (inside-the-beltway) press-core and their extended affiliates are OVERWHELMINGLY slanted left,
tilting as many listeners/viewers towards the LIBERAL/'PROGRESSIVE' ideology as they possibly can.

Finally, the problem can be summerized as follows: Scoopin' NEWS REPORTERS, have evolved into IDEOLOGICAL JOURNALISTS that seem to conveinently and purposefully
OMIT the FACTS/NEWS that may hurt/discredit their 'world-view', which just so happens to reside comfortably within the democrat party. This is why these folks are joining the unemployment lines in droves ... based on their performance, this seems justified ... and if the dems keep up their extremism ... good-ole KARMA may come around to send them packin' as well in 2010 !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 64 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculous, January 2, 2010
This review is from: 71 Days: The Media Assault On Obama (Paperback)
The title of this book is all one needs to come to the conclusion that the author must be a self-delusional ideologue. The media are right-wing biased, indeed! Yes, they are so kind to all conservatives. They never attack them, do they? Of course he had to self-publish this piece of trash--no reputable house would touch it with a ten foot pole based on the ridiculous title alone. This is coming from somebody who despises both major parties, but I do watch and listen. It's obvious to anybody with a brain larger than a walnut that the mainstream media has a huge anti-GOP and anti-conservative bias. When one of their favored leftist pols becomes embroiled in a disgusting scandal they don't even identify the creep's party affiliation. Case in point-Governor Spitzer of New York. All dems are protected and shown in the best possible light at all times. The mainstream media are little more than propaganda arms for the despicable Democrat Party.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

71 Days: The Media Assault On Obama
71 Days: The Media Assault On Obama by Michael Jason Overstreet (Paperback - February 23, 2009)
$9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.