Start reading 72 Hours (Ryan Archer #1) on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.
OR
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

72 Hours (Ryan Archer #1) [Kindle Edition]

William Casey Moreton
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (256 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: $3.99
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for free and get unlimited access to over 600,000 titles. Learn More

The Good Girl by Mary Kubica
Discover an addictive, suspenseful debut thriller filled with twists and turns that will keep you engrossed from start to finish. Learn more

Book Description

Praise for the books of William Casey Moreton:

"...Moreton keeps readers hooked." -- Kirkus Reviews

"....Moreton is a superb and inspired storyteller and with so many mediocre books being published, this is a relatively rare feat." -- Deadly Pleasures


For fans of Lee Child, Robert Crais, and Dean Koontz, here is white-knuckle suspense at its finest:

Having survived careers in both the Army and the FBI, Ryan Archer is now content to live a quiet life in a tiny apartment above a surf shop in Santa Cruz, California. He has few possessions and few friends. He works part-time in the little shop downstairs, and spends most of his free hours out on the open water with just his board and the waves. But he is about to be pulled back into action by a voice out of one of his former lives.

He is asked to keep a woman named Lindsay Hammond alive for the next 72 hours, as an army of street thugs, career criminals and professional assassins press in around them from every direction. As they go off the grid, surviving minute to minute, cutting off all contact with the outside world, Lindsay learns to trust Archer in a way she has never trusted anyone before.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Editorial Reviews

About the Author

WILLIAM CASEY MORETON grew up in the South and graduated college in 1993 with a degree in Religious Studies. He is the author of seven novels, including THE STRANGER BESIDE YOU, NEVER BACK DOWN, and THE SEARCH. Moreton is a member of International Thriller Writers, and lives with his wife and children in the Midwest where he is at work on his next book.

The author can be contacted at wcmbooks@gmail.com

Product Details

  • File Size: 454 KB
  • Print Length: 316 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004WLOGYE
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #30,812 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
116 of 127 people found the following review helpful
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This is a real review by a real reader (if you are interested in why I wrote that, see comment at bottom).

While the initial plot developments stretch the imagination, once the book gets going the action is fast and enjoyable. There is a small amount of character development, enough to stop the characters from becoming cartoon characters, and a satisfying ending (requiring of course, a normal suspension of disbelief).

Good beach or travel read. You probably wouldn't remember the book in a few months, but it's priced right and it slides down well.

[It is too bad either the Author felt he had to hype the book with reviews of questionable origins, or that six of his close friends decided to review all of his 4 thrillers books, each one reviewing all 4 of their reviews on one day: bo on 4/28, th on 4/29, lo on 5/3, tb on 5/5, rh on 5/26, So on 6/7.]
Was this review helpful to you?
57 of 61 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inconsistent and Poorly Edited February 24, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I was disappointed in this book. It was so poorly edited. There were typos all over the place and I found them to be very distracting. Hopefully, the print version wasn't as bad. The inconsistencies were too noticeable to ignore and the protagonist made too many errors in judgement to be believable. 72 Hours: A Thriller
Was this review helpful to you?
67 of 74 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great big "meh" March 10, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition
This is the first book I've read by this author and I can only say I hope his other books are better. One of the main characters, Lindsay, is possibly the dumbest character I've come across. I had zero sympathy for her. Her kids weren't much better, but at least they weren't constantly SCREAMING at everything. She put the lives of everyone around her in danger by inexplicably ignoring orders from the people trying to protect her. Her character was flat, shallow and stupid.

I have a question for the author though - why so many planet references for the names of these people? Thomas MERCURY? Kenneth MARS? Mr. JUPITER? I half expected for them to only drive Saturns with the theme from "The Jetsons blasting from the radio.

The other characters in the book (Kline, Sperry, Zero, etc) just popped in randomly without any explanation and then were killed off when he didn't know what to do with them. There were too many unbelievable "shoot 'em up" scenes.

This book is in some dire need of editing. I found several misspelled words, poor sentence structure, words used improperly and a lot of random awkward descriptions. The most annoying part is that for the entire book, the goal was to find a dead woman and her child. That was the driving force in the FBI agents (Kline) life. The killer refused to tell where he left the bodies. He would only give vague answers and constantly tell everyone that the bodies were in a place no-one would EVER think to look, somewhere so UNUSUAL, etc etc etc. Then ::SPOILER ALERT:: the woman and child are found BUT IT NEVER SAYS WHERE!!!! Where was this magical, secret spot that the entire force of the FBI couldn't find?
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great storyline shame about the editing! July 14, 2011
By Ali-B
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Absolutely fantastic read, didn't want to put it down. Easily written so you could visualize everything. The only let down was the high number of spelling and grammatical errors which was quite distracting. Not sure if the bad editing is purely a Kindle edition issue but this should be looked into.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars unbelievable in almost every aspect July 1, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I realize this is a work of fiction and therefore some leeway must be given. However, literary license only goes so far. From the very beginning everything that this author wrote was impossible to happen. For instance, no prison system would ever allow a death row inmate to go on live television, for any reason.
No one can profit from a crime and therefore the bounty would have been impossible to collect upon.
Trained commandoes that cannot shoot straight.
A bunker built to withstand an atomic bomb is almost completely destroyed by two grenades.
An assassin doesn't bother to make sure her mark is dead when she kills everyone else that gets in her way.
No prison system or law enforcement officer would ever allow a death row inmate to leave prison on the flimsy excuse of finding two dead bodies.
In short this was on awful book. Don't waste time or money on this.
Was this review helpful to you?
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible...don't waste your time! June 28, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I rarely ever stop reading a book until it is completed, but this was the dumbest attempt at a thriller I have read in awhile. The author tries to make Mercury this super Rambo type, yet he makes ignorant rookie mistakes that someone with his background would never make. The thought that the FBI would let a death row inmate go on live tv to make a statement was unbelievable.
If you are used to reading great thrillers like Lee Child, Michael Connelly or Harlan Coban, you will be sorely disappointed in this book! So glad I received it for free!
Was this review helpful to you?
26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No More Please October 13, 2011
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Terrible story. I almost quit reading it because the story became too outrageous. If you like the protagonist to be a competent believable person, don't waste your time. If the "hero" is this one was the best the FBI could come up with to protect a woman and her children, then the country would be in real trouble. Mercury is such a dumbo he leaves dozen's of dead bodies in his wake (not to mention two of his friends. FBI special agent Kline, should have taken Dunbar's place in the execution chamber.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars really good
A twisting tail. A real page turner. Maybe, after all the excitement, the very end was a little weak. But a meet read.
Published 3 days ago by Peter K. Worsley
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book
I loved reading this book. It keeps you interested to the end. I would suggest every to read this book.
Published 7 days ago by Angela
5.0 out of 5 stars 72 Hours
I found the story to be well written, fast moving and gripping. A book that grabs you from the very beginning.
Published 8 days ago by Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
A very good read.
Published 9 days ago by Tim Lawton
5.0 out of 5 stars A page turner
Fast paced! Couldn't put it down. While some of the actions taken in the story would never occur in real life, they made for a great story.
Published 10 days ago by A reader
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty engrossing
kept me interested. did not like how fast he introduced characters in and out so fast.
Don't care for the way it ended,but can't wait for another book.
Published 13 days ago by virginia snyder
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
Good fast paced book.
I would read another of his series.
Published 13 days ago by Edward R. Maxwell
5.0 out of 5 stars Action packed from the start!
Fast paced, Action packed from the start! A fast & furious ride I couldn't put down. I really enjoyed this. THANK YOU William!
Published 16 days ago by S. Sirois
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, fast paced.
I would definitely read more of Moreton's books! Great characters, loved Archer. Makes for a great series to come. Can't wait.
Published 18 days ago by martha perkins
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Thriller
I just want to say that I had this book in my library for a year and just got to read it now. OMG! Regrets. I should have read this sooner. This book was amazingly awesome. Read more
Published 24 days ago by Amazon Customer
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Author

William Casey Moreton is the author of 6 novels. He lives in the South, where he is hard at work on his next thrilling story.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Customers Who Highlighted This Item Also Highlighted


Look for Similar Items by Category