Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for crochet motifs using different construction methods
Bestselling British needlecrafts author Betty Barnden's latest book, 75 Floral Blocks to Crochet: Beautiful Patterns to Mix and Match for Afghans, Throws, Baby Blankets, and More, is a collection of crochet motifs inspired by flowers.

In the introduction, Betty explains that her love of gardening inspired her to create floral blocks. Some of the patterns are...
Published 23 months ago by Underground Crafter

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
I got both this and the knit floral blocks books. The knit flowers look better. Maybe it's the difference between knit and crochet. I don't know.
Published 18 months ago by Nikki Ryan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for crochet motifs using different construction methods, January 15, 2013
This review is from: 75 Floral Blocks to Crochet: Beautiful Patterns to Mix and Match for Afghans, Throws, Baby Blankets, and More (Knit & Crochet Blocks & Squares) (Paperback)
Bestselling British needlecrafts author Betty Barnden's latest book, 75 Floral Blocks to Crochet: Beautiful Patterns to Mix and Match for Afghans, Throws, Baby Blankets, and More, is a collection of crochet motifs inspired by flowers.

In the introduction, Betty explains that her love of gardening inspired her to create floral blocks. Some of the patterns are modifications of traditional motif patterns with abstract floral influences, while others are complex designs that attempt to literally capture the look of different flowers. The book features motifs of different shapes (circles, diamonds, hexagons, squares, and triangles), but blocks of the same shape are made the same size so they can be easily combined. The samples in the book are made with DK (sport weight) yarn and a size E crochet hook and measure between 5-6 inches.

The book starts with a 20-page section called Useful Techniques. This includes a review of yarn and hooks, an overview of US pattern abbreviations and stitch symbols (including a thorough explanation of the significance of different arrangements of symbols and tips for reading charts in the round or in rows), tips for making stunning motifs (including techniques for invisible finishes, weaving in ends, and starting in the round), and a chart that explains the care symbols on yarn ball bands. There are also tips for arranging blocks, blocking, joining motifs, and planning block projects. The section on edgings includes tips for working around the sides and corners as well as 6 patterns for edgings.

The next section is a 20-page Directory of Blocks which includes a photograph of each block, arranged thematically by color/garden inspiration. Each block includes the pattern name and page number where the pattern appears.

The Instructions section is the meat of the book, and includes instructions for 78 motif patterns arranged by shape. Each pattern includes the difficulty level and the method of construction, a large photo, and a pattern written with US pattern abbreviations and stitch symbols. There is a key to stitch symbols at the beginning of each pattern, making this a great book for those new to stitch symbols.

The pattern breakdown for the 78 motifs is:
Motif types: 13 triangles, 26 squares, 6 diamonds, 20 hexagons, and 13 circles.

Skill levels: 33 Easy projects, 34 Intermediate projects, and 11 advanced projects.

Construction methods: 64 in rounds, 4 in rows, 1 diagonally, 2 decreasing in rows, and 7 combining two construction methods.

The final section, Projects, includes assembly instructions for four projects made with the motif patterns from the book: a hexagon throw; lined, frame purses using different shaped blocks; a cushion made from squares; and a triangle motif scarf.
75 Floral Blocks to Crochet includes blocks in a variety of shapes. In spite of the floral inspiration, many are abstract enough to make unisex designs with different color choices. The book is the only major compendium of motif patterns I've seen that includes blocks constructed in decreasing rows or diagonally. The use of both written abbreviations and stitch symbols, the range of skill levels included in the patterns, and the technique tips shared makes this book a great choice for a broad range of crocheters. This book would appeal to crocheters who love motifs or portable projects, those who want to learn to read stitch symbols, and crocheters who enjoy working with color.

I give this book 5 out of 5 stars for crocheters who love to make motif projects. But the rating is because this book is much more than just a pattern book. The tips for reading stitch symbols and for making successful motif projects are very helpful.

Full disclosure: A free review copy of 75 Floral Blocks to Crochet was provided by St. Martin's Press. Although I accept free products for review, I do not accept additional compensation, nor do I guarantee a positive review. My reviews are based entirely on my honest opinions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Flowers, March 14, 2013
By 
Pat (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 75 Floral Blocks to Crochet: Beautiful Patterns to Mix and Match for Afghans, Throws, Baby Blankets, and More (Knit & Crochet Blocks & Squares) (Paperback)
I am crocheting an afghan, making each square a different flower, this book has been invaluable. The book has wonderful flowers, and great ideas for color combinations. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to make them all!, July 16, 2013
By 
Susana Cabado (Alella, Barcelona Spain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 75 Floral Blocks to Crochet: Beautiful Patterns to Mix and Match for Afghans, Throws, Baby Blankets, and More (Knit & Crochet Blocks & Squares) (Paperback)
Very well presented and organised. I like the fact that instructions come both in chart and text. Very original suggestions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, November 24, 2012
By 
K.C. (Kansas City) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 75 Floral Blocks to Crochet: Beautiful Patterns to Mix and Match for Afghans, Throws, Baby Blankets, and More (Knit & Crochet Blocks & Squares) (Paperback)
There are so many unique designs in this book that I haven't seen before. It makes a great addition to my collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT Resource!, January 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 75 Floral Blocks to Crochet: Beautiful Patterns to Mix and Match for Afghans, Throws, Baby Blankets, and More (Knit & Crochet Blocks & Squares) (Paperback)
Not only does the book offer lovely patterns it offers a great section on how to create your own unique pattern sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent crochet book!, January 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 75 Floral Blocks to Crochet: Beautiful Patterns to Mix and Match for Afghans, Throws, Baby Blankets, and More (Knit & Crochet Blocks & Squares) (Paperback)
I have been enjoying creating floral blocks and motifs from this book to make an afghan with. It is well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun book with good bones, November 26, 2012
This review is from: 75 Floral Blocks to Crochet: Beautiful Patterns to Mix and Match for Afghans, Throws, Baby Blankets, and More (Knit & Crochet Blocks & Squares) (Paperback)
I did the look inside for the book. I LIKE IT! It shows how to do everthing once you pick up a hook and yarn. I like that. It shows some things most experienced crocheters, like me, take for granted - like the difference the size of hook makes in the finished piece. It teaches "How to" from the very beginning. That is a very good thing. Like the first reviewer I love the patterns. They made me itch to pick up yarn and hook and go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!, February 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 75 Floral Blocks to Crochet: Beautiful Patterns to Mix and Match for Afghans, Throws, Baby Blankets, and More (Knit & Crochet Blocks & Squares) (Paperback)
This book is gorgeous with so much instruction as to how to make the motifs, what to do with them, and a whole intro section about gauge and yarn type, hook size, the whole shebang. This pretty book will keep your crochet mind busy for a long time. I really, really like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reviewing 75 different crochet floral blocks, September 24, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 75 Floral Blocks to Crochet: Beautiful Patterns to Mix and Match for Afghans, Throws, Baby Blankets, and More (Knit & Crochet Blocks & Squares) (Paperback)
It gives a brilliant idea of how to transform crochet pieces into a sophisticated tapestry .

In general, it is easy to follow. Though there are a few that needs regular check for the correct counting etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, July 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 75 Floral Blocks to Crochet: Beautiful Patterns to Mix and Match for Afghans, Throws, Baby Blankets, and More (Knit & Crochet Blocks & Squares) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book with a lot of different crochet patterns in it. very good for any project you have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.