Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated for this band; still great
I don't know why people who are Bon Jovi fans put down this album in comparison to the other three that came out in the '80s. To me, the quality of these songs is as top-notch as on any of their albums.
"In And Out Of Love" is a fantastic, catchy hard rocker to lead off the album. This is the only song that got any noteriety on this album. It stands up...
Published on September 17, 2002 by Brad

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An album that consists of nice material
Bon Jovi's second full-length disc, 1985's 7800 Fahrenheit, is comprised of enjoyable material. The album is in a straightforward hard rock musical direction. I like all ten of the tracks. The songwriting is gratifying, the musicianship is tight, and the sound quality is fulfilling. When it comes to the handling of the vocals, Jon Bon Jovi does a capable job. The...
Published on February 26, 2002 by sauerkraut


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated for this band; still great, September 17, 2002
This review is from: 7800 Degrees Fahrenheit (Audio CD)
I don't know why people who are Bon Jovi fans put down this album in comparison to the other three that came out in the '80s. To me, the quality of these songs is as top-notch as on any of their albums.
"In And Out Of Love" is a fantastic, catchy hard rocker to lead off the album. This is the only song that got any noteriety on this album. It stands up in quality to other, better-known Bon Jovi rockers. But then comes a couple of amazingly tuneful, emotional, yet rocking anthems. "Price Of Love" and "Only Lonely" amaze me every time I hear them with their pretty yet rocking sound. I love these songs as much as anything these guys have ever done.
Next comes "King Of The Mountain", a fun hard rocker but not overly noteworthy. Following is the great power ballad "Silent Night", which to me stands up in quality to later Bon Jovi ballads. "Tokyo Road" is impossibly tuneful and yet rocking, while "Hardest Part Is The Night" is another heartfelt, amazing anthem/power ballad.
The last three tracks are also great, from the catchy anthem/rocker "Always Run To You" to the straight ahead rocker "To The Fire" to yet another amazingly melodic anthem "Secret Dreams" (try to get that song out of your head if you play this album in order and don't play another album immediately after).
The bottom line is this: the debut self-titled effort got these guys on the map and had the breakout hit "Runaway", while the album after this one "Slippery When Wet" sold millions (rightfully so) and made these guys huge. Nonetheless, to me this album is as good as either of those efforts and any Bon Jovi album for that matter. If you like huge hooks and harmonies in your rock and roll, then you absolutely should like this album. For me, a must-have in my Bon Jovi and hard rock music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No matter waht others say, Bon Jovi is a very good band, March 2, 2006
This review is from: 7800 Degrees Fahrenheit (Audio CD)
Bon Jovi is a band that may not be the best one (the best one's were Led Zeppelin, Rolling Stones or Pink Floyd), but their record-sales say otherwise. There is perhaps a grain of truth in the notion that half of their audience were teenagers and women and their sucess was soemwhat overrated, as well as that they went big on Jon Bon Jovi's coiffeur and outlook, though.

Nonetheless, I think they truly deserved their overwhealming breakthrough from the 80's offering people catchy, competent and well-ctrafted pop-rock-metal tunes played on and on by the MTV. All in all, that's how metal sounded in the mid-80's (just take Whitesnake or Def Leppard). Personally, I have always been an advocate of this band, turning a blind eye on what other narrow-minded people kept saying about it. Yes, Bon Jovi has made couple of cheesy songs ("Always") and some both cheesy and too commercial as well ("It's my life"). "It's my life" was a cheap trial to break to the pop-charts, but, if there are any open-minded music passionates there, you will notice that other bands had it as well (Van Halen had "Jump", KISS had "I was made for loving you").

One has to take the band as a whole, and simply can't deny the skillful and well-crafted musicanship of albums like "New Jersey" or "Keep the faith". So, if you are too narrow-minded to rate this, you simply have no right to proclaim yourself a music-passionate or music-knower.

"7800 Fahrenheit" is, undoubtedly, Bon Jovi at their peak. Altough their commercial breakthrough came a year later with "Slippery when wet", to my opinon it should have come right with the release of this album. It is one of my favourites. Songs are tuneful, catchy, well-crafted and passionate; choruses are great; Richie's guitar-solos are certainly at his career-best; Tico's percussion to my opinion (listen to those tracks!) will NEVER reach a similar standard as here on this LP; the entire album seems to be really well preapred. It is undoubtedly Bon Jovi's least commercial one as well.

Paradoxically, I got this one as my BJ's second, while many people buy it as the very least (or don't buy at all). So, perhaps hence my peculiar sentiment for this one. But, what a pity if someone does not own it. If you listen to tracks like "In & out of love", "King of mountain" or tracks 7-9, you'll get the magic of it. You MUST listen couple of times to get it, first.

I have fallen in love with this one, really. Absolutely no filler on this album. It contains the first (great) power-ballad of the band, "Silent night"; an epic Japaneese story "Tokyo road" with great, original Japaneese introduction with a young Jap girl singing; their second (and only one from this album) Top-40 hit "In & out of love"; and finally, tracks 7-9 - each of them is one of my all-time favourites. Perhaps newcomers won't get it; I'm into Bon Jovi (and music as general) for years, and I think I'm blessed and priviliged enough not to underrate the true GENIOUS of "Hardest part is the night", "To the fire" and "Always tun to you". These songs are simply amazing. The guitar and percussion are incredible, and they are so incredibly catchy you can't get them out of your head quickly. Listen once, twice, and if you are open-minded enough, you'll get the magic of Bon Jovi at their peak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first one..., January 17, 2001
By 
B. GOODWIN "dragon678" (LIMA, OHIO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 7800 Degrees Fahrenheit (Audio CD)
This is the first one I got from these guys and man was this CD a blast. Alot of fun songs and some very wild guitar playing from Richie. This album has alot of songs that kick it in and alot of ballads that laid the foundation of what was in store for the future. This is a well played and well written CD that has probably been forgotten once "Slippery" & "New Jersey" came out. If like Bon Jovi and haven't gotten this one yet, please do so today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bon Jovi at their first crossroads, January 28, 2006
By 
Todd Orth (Rock City Review) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 7800 Degrees Fahrenheit (Audio CD)
Before I go into the review of this album, let me give you a bit of my background with this band. The first time I saw Bon Jovi live was when the were the warm up for the Scorpions "Love at First Sting" tour. Bon Jovi looked to be one hit wonders with "Runaway", but they rocked out on stage, so they were worth another look.

When 7800 Fahrenheit was released, I picked it up right away. I thought it was so much better than their debut album. I had the opportunity to see Bon Jovi play many of these songs live during the Ratt "Invasion" tour with Bon Jovi as the warm up band, so maybe I have a bias as to their quality, but I do not believe any fan of Bon Jovi should miss out on this link between the band's debut and Slippery When Wet.

This album shows the influence of touring with hair bands and has an 80's sound to it. That is what makes this album special. It is one of those "How did they get here from there" sort of albums that shows much more of the creativity and enthusiasm of the band than many of their later works.

"In And Out Of Love" started off the album with a bang.

"Only Lonely" should have been a number one hit. This song was, and still is, one of my favorite Bon Jovi songs. It has the "wall of sound" chorus that would later define bands like Bon Jovi and Def Leppard.

"King Of The Mountain" rocks, and was just too good played live! It isn't a fast song, but it makes up for it in attitude.

"Silent Night" is a very nice ballad. Anyone who likes Bon Jovi's later ballads should not miss this track.

"Tokyo Road" is an up-tempo rocker. It was a hit for the band that received airplay on rock radio, but it has been overlooked by fans as time has moved on.

"The Hardest Part Is The Night" sounds, well, like an 80's tune to be sure, but it is fun, and being fun has its own place in music.

These are the best songs on the album. Some of the other songs are good too, but these songs make this album worth purchasing for any rock collection. These are the five star songs on this four star album.

Go ahead and listen to the music clips. If you like what you hear, pick this album up. I don't believe you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bon Jovi at it's brilliant best, September 9, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: 7800 Degrees Fahrenheit (Audio CD)
This album has to be the most underrated work of Bon Jovi. The band hardly plays one song (In And Out Of Love) nowadays from this great piece of work and I'm extremely puzzled because I honestly feel this is their best album by far.
Like someone else already pointed out, the intensity of the music on this album is just overwhelming. More than any other album I know (and trust me, I know a lot!) this is consistent and really needs to be listened from the beginning to the end. It is such an experience for me that I don't even understand why it is that way. The ambient the band creates with the songs is really fantastic. For me, it is smokey, dark and a bit melancholic.
One of the best things on this album are the drums. They sound just perfect, thick and loud. I don't where Tico recorded his drum parts but it really sounds great.
Richie also puts in some impressive guitar work, especially on riffs. This album is really heavy on guitars, I think.
Jon is at his best using his wide vocal range at just the right moments.
David is good on the keyboards, as usual, and really gives some songs that extra touch.
The bass playing, however, is nothing extraordinary, but is mixed pretty well.
All in all, an excellent album and I would even say Bon Jovi's all time best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good start, September 16, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: 7800 Degrees Fahrenheit (Audio CD)
For all you Bon Jovi lovers out there this is a great cd to start with. Their first cd was extremely good material but this cd seems geered more to their style. It shows a very young Jon Bon Jovi finding his writing style and the power within his voice shines through more with this one. It's a great cd and I think you'll thoroughly enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS ALBUM IS HOT!, November 26, 2004
By 
Jon (San Diego, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 7800 Degrees Fahrenheit (Audio CD)
Honestly, I feel this is the best Bon Jovi album ever made. Every song rocks and is such a flashback to the good ole rock 'n' roll days of the mid-1980s. The boys can sure jam and they prove it on this album. IN AND OUT OF LOVE, ONLY LONELY, and HARDEST PART IS THE NIGHT are absolutely awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't see what's wrong with this., August 13, 2004
This review is from: 7800 Degrees Fahrenheit (Audio CD)
I don't see why many BJ fans and even BJ themselves hate this album. This album is hardly any different from "Slippery when wet" or their self-titled debut. This is definately one of favourite BJ albums at this moment. This album is just the same to their other 80s albums. The album starts off with cool rocking anthems, then goes a bit into ballads, then comes back to rocking again.

1. In and out of love: One of the strongest songs on the album. Extremely catchy track and very hard rocking. 5/5
2. Price of love: This starts off slow, but then it turns into another rocking track. This one does tend to get boring after a few listens. 3.5/5
3. Only lonely: A hard, yet very emotional track. One of my favourites on the album. A strong song with good riffs and vocals. 5/5
4. King of the mountain: This is quite a fast, catchy song, but at times it sounds a bit like rap. But it's still fun. 4/5
5. Silent night: Probably the slowest song on the album, but it's very peaceful. Powerful and beautiful. 4.5/5
6. Tokyo road: It has a really irratating intro, but once the song breaks out it's really an enjoyable listen. Sounds very much like something from "Slippery when wet". Another rocking track. 4/5
7. The hardset part is the night: This is my favourite song on the album. Another hard, but slow anthem. Sang very well and a brilliant guitar sound at the start. 5+/5
8. Always run to you: No comment. 4/5
9. (I don't wanna fall) To the fire: The main riff of this song sounds like something from an army movie. An enjoyable listen, but it's one of the weaker tracks. 3.5/5
10: Secret dreams: A very melodic track. A bit slow again, but it's a top song to end the album with. 4.5/5

So, this is a review coming from a casual BJ fan. No sonds on this album are below average, not even average. So, if you liked "Slippery when wet", "New Jersey" or their debut then you'll like this one too. One of their heaviest albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bon Jovi's Most Underrated Record, July 9, 2006
This review is from: 7800 Degrees Fahrenheit (Audio CD)
This 2nd record of Bon Jovi's never really became as popular as most of his later records. (Especially 'Slippery When Wet,' 'Keep the Faith,' or even 'Crush.') Nevertheless, this is quite arguably his best record. It's an interesting flaw in the market that often someone's arguably best record is not usually the one that sells the most. The best way for me to begin is to say this record screams: "WELCOME TO THE 80s!" After his respectable 1st record, Bon Jovi was to unleash his real abilities. 'In and Out of Love' is a powerful opener that defines the direction of this record. 'Price of Love' maintains the intense tone AND quality of the record; 'Only Lonely' combines sorrow and intensity quite well; 'King of the Mountain' is more upbeat and actually quite thrashy; 'Silent Night' releases the tension for awhile and offers us a moment of well done sorrow; 'Tokyo Road' starts with an oriental tone but then jumps to the other extreme and quite well at that. 'Hardest Part Is the Night' is arguably the greatest song on the record. It is a sad toned song that maintains a strong intensity. The contrasts seem to flatter each other well. 'Run to You' is a more simple song, but it keeps the tone of the record; 'Fall to the Fire' is another high point. It's a haunting song that has intense lyrics, and the choruses only make it more haunting; 'Secret Dreams' keeps the tone of the record and ends it on a happier note. This may not be his most popular record, but listening to it will probably make you wonder why. I have heard all his records from 'Bon Jovi' to 'Have a Nice Day.' And '7800' never lost its place as my favorite one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This was Jovi at it's learning how to fly stage., July 26, 2002
By 
Julie Lovett "JoviLove" (Romulus, michigan United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 7800 Degrees Fahrenheit (Audio CD)
This is raw Jovi, the songs are all good, and it just let's you know that they get better with age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

7800 Degrees Fahrenheit
7800 Degrees Fahrenheit by Bon Jovi (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.