Industrial-Sized Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals BestoftheYear Outdoor Deals on HTL

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars14
Price:$205.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 28, 2015
Works well in my 1987 El Camino / TH200-4R.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2015
I have this shifter in a '68 Camaro. It works just fine !! It operates smoothly and I have not had any problems at all. I also have a Hurst " Quarter Stick" in my Hot Rod, with the "Pistol Grip". That shifter is a 300.00 item. This B & M product works just as well. Totally different shifter styles and brands but work exceptionally well. The negative reviews about the sifter being " hard" or "stiff " to operate may be due to installation. The cable on ANY shifter CAN NOT have ANY tight bends in the cable !!!! That's is why the cables are 5 ' long (or longer) so that when installed they make very large gradual loops. I'm not saying that complaints of being hard or stiff is due to in-correct installation, but could be possible. A product I highly recommend is " Tri Flo" as a lubricant. Spraying Tri -Flow into the shifter mechanism and into the cable makes a HUGE difference. As Tri -Flow is just and all around AWESOME product !!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2015
Works good except it is stiff in it's action. Not easy to install and adjust.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2015
Fits the 4L60E behind 355 SBC in my '93 Safari. Needed the 8' cable to make a loop with no hard bends.
It shifts hard and takes some getting used to but I'm happy with the purchase. I removed the spring steel that catches the detents on the shifter as the trans has adequate stops.
review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2015
Ive bought both the Hammer shifter and the quicksilver recently 1 after the other hoping the hammer shifter was just a cheaper built shifter. But both of them are junk. Plastic knob and housings that crack and break if you look at them wrong . Poor assemblies and mechanisms that bind and reverse lockouts that may or may not actually lock out. Adjusted the quicksilver and triple checked it at transmission. It would shift good then go half in and half out of detent and bind . Then after fighting it for a week I noticed it was assembled incorrectly in China or Taiwan . I had to drill out crimp pin and assemble it correctly. Then later that day indicator stopped indicating anything but park and the knob was cracking at mounting hole edge. Junk. Save your $270 the quicksilver costs and $ 170 the hammer cost. Both arent worth $5 in my opinion . I had to give it a star to proceed. But id rather give it a -5 stars for wasting the time and money of consumers. Get it together B&M . This is disgraceful
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2015
My shifter arrived with the wire off the led indicator light. Of course I noticed it after the shifter was installed. So I soldered that up and not two weeks later the other wire came off the led. Of course I fixed that and so far so good. Not even three months later though the indicator cable broke. With the cost of the cable and shipping it's another 30+ dollars. Didn't fix that as I'm pretty pissed spending the extra money when I already paid a decent buck for the shifter. As for the shifter? After installing and the proper adjustments were made, it shifts great/fine. I have had no issues what so ever with it. If your shifter is binding then you need to properly adjust the linkage. All in all it's a good shifter. Just wish B&M put a bit more quality in the other moving parts. Really not to happy with the indicator cable failure so soon. As this shifter is being used in my P30 service truck. And if your reading this review B&M; sure would be great if you sent me a replacement indicator cable...Hint, Hint...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2014
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2014
Great shifter
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2014
I installed it and I have to basically bang it from 1 to drive. The set up was easy but its really hard to get it past drive. I want to return it but I scratched up the cable.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2014
The shifter was harder to operate then most. The indicator never really worked and I shifted it one time while I was driving and the part that holds the knob shattered
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question

Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.