Customer Reviews


398 Reviews
5 star:
 (218)
4 star:
 (81)
3 star:
 (52)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


146 of 157 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this movie!
You need to know before going into this movie that this is NOT a movie for kids. It was strange watching it at first (how often do you see a dead body in an animated film in the first scene?), but once you get past the fact that this is an animated film for ADULTS, it's a very good movie.

~SPOILER ALERT~
For those of you who don't understand the movie, you...
Published on January 8, 2010 by K. Cysewski

versus
75 of 93 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "We had such potential, such promise."
"9" is an animated film based on the 2005 Academy Award nominated short film of the same name (which is included on the DVD). The film is the work of animator Shane Acker and was co-produced by Tim Burton, who got involved with the project after seeing Acker's short film. Although Burton did not write or direct "9," the film is very consistent with his past animated...
Published on January 9, 2010 by Westley


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

146 of 157 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this movie!, January 8, 2010
This review is from: 9 (DVD)
You need to know before going into this movie that this is NOT a movie for kids. It was strange watching it at first (how often do you see a dead body in an animated film in the first scene?), but once you get past the fact that this is an animated film for ADULTS, it's a very good movie.

~SPOILER ALERT~
For those of you who don't understand the movie, you weren't paying much attention. There were visual cues throughout as to where the machines come from (the BRAIN creates them) and also for where the characters 1-9 get their soul/s (they each get a *piece* of the scientist's soul). 9 gets the last piece of the scientist's soul, which is why the scientist died. Each character epitomizes various aspects of humanity: fear, survival, strength, courage, endurance, memory, self-sacrifice, etc.

The movie is rich with allusions and symbols that are drawn from human tendencies and survival instincts. I think it's one of those movies that you can watch over and over and find different meanings each time (if you're open to it). You could even go so far as to argue that the movie is religious in a way. The scientist gave his life to save humanity/life on earth. You could also say that the souls who are taken by the BRAIN are in a state similar to Limbo.

Also, one of the rag dolls is a female; what could be said about the fact that her soul came from a male scientist? Etc.

Very thought provoking and conversation starting movie. I loved every minute of it, and will watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Genius, January 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Tim Burton has once again proven his subtle twisted genius as a storyteller. Like many, I saw previews for 9 in the movie theatre but missed seeing it on the big screen. I read the other reviews before renting this film & 2 out of the 3 rightfully praised the animation but sadly all 3 misunderstood the story. I hate spoilers but I feel it necessary to share a bit regarding the plot in hopes to inspire others to discover this wonderful film.
The 9 refer to 9 elements of the human soul which the Inventor never placed in his original creation and which were the only hope for a second chance for life on the planet. One reviewer mentioned that they were left with questions such as why are the 9 beings the only hope for humans when no humans were left on the planet. The answer is in the rain, which that reviewer must have missed. Rain/Water is a symbol of life universally.
Too often modern writers and directors spoon feed audiences everything so that it seems more and more modern audiences are hard pressed to add their own imagination/understanding to the story. Tim Burton has done a magnificent job of weaving ancient folk lore into a magical tale. I highly recommend this film to individuals & families alike. It is completely worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 93 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "We had such potential, such promise.", January 9, 2010
By 
Westley (Stuck in my head) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 9 (DVD)
"9" is an animated film based on the 2005 Academy Award nominated short film of the same name (which is included on the DVD). The film is the work of animator Shane Acker and was co-produced by Tim Burton, who got involved with the project after seeing Acker's short film. Although Burton did not write or direct "9," the film is very consistent with his past animated work such as "Corpse Bride." Set in a post-apocalyptic world, the movie focuses on a rag doll robot (!) named 9 who suddenly becomes sentient. As he explores his world, he discovers that the only other inhabitants are other, similarly numbered rag doll robots as well as a strange cat-like machine who hunts them. He befriends the other robots and changes their world drastically.

The world created in this film is fascinating and unlike any other animated film I've seen. I particularly loved the use of contrasts, including having the robots made of burlap and other unexpected materials (Acker has referred to the bots as "stitchpunks"). The "look" of "9" is by far its main draw, though, because unfortunately the plot is a rather drab and predictable affair with the robots fighting the cat-like machine (and then other machines). I found myself getting irritated by the repetitious battles and wanted to see more of this intriguing world. Likewise, I wanted to see more of the adorable "stitchpunks," especially the "cataloguing" scholars 3 and 4. Unfortunately, as soon as the robots are introduced they almost immediately start chasing the machines.

As with other Tim Burton produced animated films, "9" is not targeted toward children (it's rated PG-13); however, the plot was too juvenile to keep me interested. I actually strongly preferred the short film, which I watched after the feature-length movie. Indeed, the short film packs a real emotional wallop that is sadly missing in the full-length version. "9" is a noble failure (well semi-failure), and I applaud what Acker and Burton have tried to accomplish with this terrific looking film. I just wish that the plot had been worthy of the animation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 70 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shane Acker's Animated Film is Original And an Exercise in Oddity..., September 11, 2009
By 
Woopak "The THRILL" (Where Dark Asian Knights Dwell) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Based on the award-winning short film by Shane Acker, the CGI-animated full-length feature film "9" intends to expand on its myth and story. Acker himself takes the helm as director in this film co-produced by Tim Burton along with Timur Bekmambetov (Wanted). When I first saw the trailer for "9", I was blown away. I tempered my expectations when I went into the theater and did watch the film with an open mind. The film is a visually stunning piece with superb set designs and fluid animation whose style may have been inspired by traditional stop-motion animation.

In unknown time and place, a curious doll-like creature with the number "9" (Elijah Wood) on its back awakens to find his supposed creator (voiced by Alan Oppenheimer) dead. "9" has awakened in a barren world, this world is now a wasteland, destroyed by war; a war waged between humans and machines. "9" discovers that he is not alone, stumbling across a similar creature called "2" (Martin Landau) who also gets kidnapped by a mechanical monster. "9" then discovers that he is a "stitch punk" and there are more of his kind being led by "1" (Christopher Plummer). "9" sets out to rescue "2" but instead awakens an evil with the use of a talisman that may doom them all. It is now up to "9" and his brethren to try to discover the truth behind their creation....

"9" is the last created "stitch punk" and he is the final piece of the puzzle in the "9" mythos. These creatures are miniature creations that resemble a sack held together by either leather strings, metal snaps, buttons, zippers, or shoe strings. They have camera-like eyes and instant access to their innards. The characters in "9" are well thought out, # 1 is the supposed leader and the cautious kind--whose sensibilities are all about preservation. # 2 is the explorer and the inventor. # 3 and 4 are twins who are also mute, they keep the history of mankind. # 5 (John C. Reilly) is a healer and a skilled mechanic. # 6 (Crispin Glover) has near-psychic abilities who channels his visions through his drawings. # 7 (Jennifer Connelly) is a warrior and # 8 is the bodyguard of # 1, strong and fierce, yet innocent in a way. # 9 is the curious, selfless protagonist of the film. There is something relevant in the number "9", one can say that they are different "characters" or potentials of mankind. Acker definitely intended the film to revolve around the creatures in creating this world so full of obstacles that this miniaturized creatures can take advantage of with their size. Acker's keenness and passion for his creations are the film's highlights; the film is a stunning work of visual marvel and storytelling. It is a grand display of idiosyncrasy.

The world that the "stitch punks" live in is pretty barren with nothing else left living. While the characters can indeed be enthralling, Acker does lose his way a little in the film's direction. When you think about the plot in "9"; it makes very little sense. I found it hard to believe that `stitch punks' #'s 1-8 never had the chance to try and figure out their reasons of being. # 7 also points out that there is a battle but none were visible, save one mechanical beast, which was by the way dispatched so easily. No other machines were shown up until the `awakening' was brought into bear. I also found it hard to believe that there are no other surviving `organisms'; war is indeed horror but insects would always survive. Details were left out, giving the viewer several plot gaps to fill in.

The `stitch punks' characterization seem to be presented as they know what to do, but they don't know what and why they are there for. I found hard to buy into the fact that these creatures were designed as the `hope for the future' when they obviously were just contented to exist until events triggered by "9" managed to set things in motion. Time (and the passage of) needed to be more specific in the film to give the film's plot needed credibility. It leaves a lot of questions unanswered such as; why did it take so long for "9" to come along? How did the professor survive all those years? How many years have passed? The film's final act attempts to explain everything that also gives a sense of the mystical but it doesn't match its past groundwork. If they were meant to reignite the earth, then other things that you factor in such as the `mechanical monster-maker' would serve no purpose (can't discuss without spoiling the movie). The film is all about belief, philosophy and destiny with no viable application or expediency.

The animation-work in "9" is nicely executed. The colors, set designs are no means something really groundbreaking but I did appreciate its style. It does convey a mood that matches the film's tone. The film is also quite action-packed that action lovers will no doubt be entertained. The designs of the mechanical beasts were good, they mimic things that can be just freaky. The world of "9" is meticulously crafted. The film is a sci-fi mystery until things start to get moving, and the film becomes an actioner with plenty of swift although a bit repetitive movements. "7's" moves become redundant after awhile.

"9" isn't exactly a bad film but the film does feel too short and would have benefited to be much longer. Acker's storytelling had a lot of things going for it, but it just curiously stopped short in its execution and never realizes its journey. The `stitch punks' were involved in a mystery that had some compelling things going for it but they just weren't allowed to move around the depths of its core. Acker does rely too much on theatrics and never allows the viewer for a `nesting` stage to augment the wonder. The film is an average CGI-generated flick that may please those who like special-effects blockbusters but will turn off those who look for an intricate storyline. I appreciate brainless entertainment, but "9" pretends to have something deeper and ends up not fulfilling its promise. But "9" has its originality and vision. It is conscious that it is mighty eccentric and interesting; too bad the resolution is unsatisfying.

Recommended with caution, Rent it first [3 Stars= Good, Flawed But with Redeeming Qualities]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and Endearing, January 12, 2010
By 
This review is from: 9 (DVD)
Excellent. I like the actors doing the voice overs. The characters all have an endearing quality which draws you into the film. The animation and the cinematography are excellent especially for a first time director (Shane Acker). Even though this is a post apocolyptic genre, it never leaves you feeling hopeless. I loved the phonograph scene with "Somewhere over the rainbow." Excellent set-up for the next scene. This is well worth seeing. The run time is rather short at 79 minutes, but it is long enough to get the story told and leave you feeling that you've gotten you money's worth. My sons and friends have all enjoyed this. It is a great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best movies ive seen, November 27, 2013
This is one of the most original and thought-provoking movies ive ever seen. It has deep meanings and a great story. I noticed that some of the reviews complained about the storyline and character development. Well ha ha just because you didnt get it, doesnt mean it wasnt there. I also dont think that this is a kids movie AT ALL. This isnt a "cute" movie, nor was it meant to be cute. Just because it was animated, it doesnt mean its an everyday cookie-cutter meaningless production. Unfortunately, not only do i think that children under 13 will not be able to understand 9, it looks like a lot of adults will never understand it either. The movie itself is an inspiring story about death,hope, loneliness, and coming together to overcome fear in a post-apocalyptic world. I recommend this to all adults that have a real imagination and are not afraid to use their brains. This movie goes down on my list as a must have. Its a classic and stands in a class of its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creative, January 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 9 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
My whole family loves this film. We think it is Tim Burton's best, including
CORALINE. What a wonderful film about a burlap bag!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and creative, January 1, 2010
This review is from: 9 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I didn't know what to expect from this movie. I don't even remember it coming out in theaters. It was recommended for me on Netflix and I saw that Tim Burton was a producer so I thought I would give it a try. I wasn't expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised. I really liked this movie. Not even taking the story line into account (it is kind of convoluted), the movie is worth watching solely for the creativity and attention to detail. I watched this in Blu-ray, but I'm sure it would be impressive on DVD as well. I love movies like this because they suck you in to another world. You forget you are watching something created by a computer. The characters movements and expressions are so realistic, even though they look like Little Big Planet characters on acid, you will be amazed. I'm not going to get into the plot, that isn't why I gave this movie 4 stars, although I might have given it 5 if it wasn't so desultory. I gave the movie 4 stars purely for the enjoyment of the aesthetics of this movie. It is visually brilliant. And it is rated PG-13 for a reason. It is scary as hell. I am surprised I didn't have nightmares, and I am a horror movie fanatic. Definitely not for young children, unless you want to scare the crap out of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 9 Movie Review from The Massie Twins, September 8, 2009
It would be easy to dismiss 9 as simply an instance of visual artistry masking an underwhelming post-apocalyptic story; but upon closer inspection, the plot actually only suffers from too many ideas for the truncated runtime. Many of the concepts are clever and new and the elaborate action sequences provide the thrills, though the setting and man vs. machine apocalypse have seen more than their share of incarnations. But what the story lacks in expected profoundness, the generally impressive visual designs more than make up for. All nine "stitchpunk" protagonists are memorable and easily distinguishable (the variety of celebrity voices don't hurt), and the enemy machines possess all manner of sharp weaponry and enormous statures. Perhaps the focus on action over origins keeps the excitement from fading, but for a world so full of possibilities, it seems like the answers should have been as exhilarating as the explosions.

"Stitchpunk" creation 9 (Elijah Wood) awakens to a desolate world ravaged by war. Full of questions, he ventures forth and encounters 2 (Martin Landau), a being like himself, only less complex in design. But before he can learn much about his surroundings or his past, his newfound friend is captured by a gargantuan metal beast and dragged away to a mysterious factory. 9 soon discovers more stitched beings, including the one-eyed 5 (John C. Reilly), the cryptic 6 (Crispin Glover), the battle adept 7 (Jennifer Connelly), the brutish 8 (Fred Tatasciore), the mute twins 3 and 4, and their ominous leader 1 (Christopher Plummer), who rules the group with fear and paranoia. In a hasty attempt to rescue 2, 9 accidentally activates a terrible creation, and must now lead the group on a perilous mission to uncover the secrets of the past in order to save their future.

The blind pursuit of technology brought humankind closer to doom, leaving in its wake the charred remains of civilization and the arrival of tiny, intellectual patchwork puppets. With little more than a couple of sentences to explain the vast, frightening, "Terminator 2" post-apocalyptic world, 9 jumps right into the mystery and wonder of deciphering a new existence and fending off mortifying, robotic creatures. Gathering clues about these strange critters and learning about their purpose is half the fun, although with a short runtime and way too much to clarify, the plot suffers from abrupt solutions. The introduction of a mystical talisman, for example, provides a rather unlikely and vague explication for the formidable predicaments.

As with most futuristic and science-fiction films, the setup often requires so much background that either it's left obscure or it envelopes the entire movie. With 9, the setting is dwarfed by the visuals, focusing almost entirely on incredibly creative designs and taught action sequences. The environment is beautiful in its daunting desolation, and the enemies are wickedly crafted from mercilessly sharp, rusty and jagged metal scraps. The nine sack dolls are also inventively pieced together with the oddments of the shattered human race (the remnants of steampunk), and like The Magnificent 9, each serves a unique mental and physical purpose. With fascinating, abrasive visuals, a PG-13 rating and a few scares that are quite intense for younger audiences, 9 confirms the birth of a notably adult computer animated feature.

- The Massie Twins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly amazing and touching film, November 29, 2013
This review is from: 9 (DVD)
This is a vastly underrated movie that is charming, touching, moving and fantastical adventure film that deserves much more appreciation than it currently receives. The story is engaging and beautiful interspersed with thrilling action and a journey of discovery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

9 [Blu-ray]
9 [Blu-ray] by Shane Acker (Blu-ray - 2009)
$14.98 $7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.