Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: 9 [Blu-ray]
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$9.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 8, 2010
You need to know before going into this movie that this is NOT a movie for kids. It was strange watching it at first (how often do you see a dead body in an animated film in the first scene?), but once you get past the fact that this is an animated film for ADULTS, it's a very good movie.

~SPOILER ALERT~
For those of you who don't understand the movie, you weren't paying much attention. There were visual cues throughout as to where the machines come from (the BRAIN creates them) and also for where the characters 1-9 get their soul/s (they each get a *piece* of the scientist's soul). 9 gets the last piece of the scientist's soul, which is why the scientist died. Each character epitomizes various aspects of humanity: fear, survival, strength, courage, endurance, memory, self-sacrifice, etc.

The movie is rich with allusions and symbols that are drawn from human tendencies and survival instincts. I think it's one of those movies that you can watch over and over and find different meanings each time (if you're open to it). You could even go so far as to argue that the movie is religious in a way. The scientist gave his life to save humanity/life on earth. You could also say that the souls who are taken by the BRAIN are in a state similar to Limbo.

Also, one of the rag dolls is a female; what could be said about the fact that her soul came from a male scientist? Etc.

Very thought provoking and conversation starting movie. I loved every minute of it, and will watch it again.
1818 comments|200 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2010
Tim Burton has once again proven his subtle twisted genius as a storyteller. Like many, I saw previews for 9 in the movie theatre but missed seeing it on the big screen. I read the other reviews before renting this film & 2 out of the 3 rightfully praised the animation but sadly all 3 misunderstood the story. I hate spoilers but I feel it necessary to share a bit regarding the plot in hopes to inspire others to discover this wonderful film.
The 9 refer to 9 elements of the human soul which the Inventor never placed in his original creation and which were the only hope for a second chance for life on the planet. One reviewer mentioned that they were left with questions such as why are the 9 beings the only hope for humans when no humans were left on the planet. The answer is in the rain, which that reviewer must have missed. Rain/Water is a symbol of life universally.
Too often modern writers and directors spoon feed audiences everything so that it seems more and more modern audiences are hard pressed to add their own imagination/understanding to the story. Tim Burton has done a magnificent job of weaving ancient folk lore into a magical tale. I highly recommend this film to individuals & families alike. It is completely worth it!
22 comments|70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 9, 2010
"9" is an animated film based on the 2005 Academy Award nominated short film of the same name (which is included on the DVD). The film is the work of animator Shane Acker and was co-produced by Tim Burton, who got involved with the project after seeing Acker's short film. Although Burton did not write or direct "9," the film is very consistent with his past animated work such as "Corpse Bride." Set in a post-apocalyptic world, the movie focuses on a rag doll robot (!) named 9 who suddenly becomes sentient. As he explores his world, he discovers that the only other inhabitants are other, similarly numbered rag doll robots as well as a strange cat-like machine who hunts them. He befriends the other robots and changes their world drastically.

The world created in this film is fascinating and unlike any other animated film I've seen. I particularly loved the use of contrasts, including having the robots made of burlap and other unexpected materials (Acker has referred to the bots as "stitchpunks"). The "look" of "9" is by far its main draw, though, because unfortunately the plot is a rather drab and predictable affair with the robots fighting the cat-like machine (and then other machines). I found myself getting irritated by the repetitious battles and wanted to see more of this intriguing world. Likewise, I wanted to see more of the adorable "stitchpunks," especially the "cataloguing" scholars 3 and 4. Unfortunately, as soon as the robots are introduced they almost immediately start chasing the machines.

As with other Tim Burton produced animated films, "9" is not targeted toward children (it's rated PG-13); however, the plot was too juvenile to keep me interested. I actually strongly preferred the short film, which I watched after the feature-length movie. Indeed, the short film packs a real emotional wallop that is sadly missing in the full-length version. "9" is a noble failure (well semi-failure), and I applaud what Acker and Burton have tried to accomplish with this terrific looking film. I just wish that the plot had been worthy of the animation.
55 comments|82 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2015
A visually stunning but incredibly grim animated feature that extols the virtues of peace by depicting the ravages of war. This is a treatise against squandering our gifts. A lesson against technological advancements, which are not always in our best interest. The story concerns a scientist (voice by Alan Oppenheimer, cousin of scientist Robert Oppenheimer.....the father of the atomic bomb), who soon finds his invention of a thinking robot used for nefarious means resulting in the annihilation of the human race. Before he expires, this scientist creates nine homunculus-like rag dolls (Stitchpunks) as a penance of sorts. The overly curious nature of his last creation, dubbed 9, results in catastrophe and death. This is not a happy tale. It's also not a very original one; it's obvious that more time and money was spent on the artistry, much less on developing a more complex story. Still, it's not without a certain amount of excitement. The ragtag homemade monsters are especially cool. But it's definitely not a cartoon meant for children.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2014
Great animation, touching characters, adult theme, fast paced, but the story and background could be more cohesive. The characters brought to life immediately know how to speak, walk, talk and have purpose, which is sort of strange without explanation or allusion to where they came from (divulged later, but not hinted at in the beginning).

Cool movie, but not mind blowing.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2014
***SPOILER ALERT***
Who's In It: The voices of Elijah Wood, Christopher Plummer, Martin Landau, John C. Reilly, Crispin Glover, Jennifer Connelly
The Basics: Into the grimmest of all post-human, bombed-out, destroyed-world scenarios emerges a small band of sock puppets with goggles for eyes, zippers down their bellies, numbers for names and extremely worried expressions on their fabric faces. They were created by a scientist and infused with his soul just before people became extinct, but they don't know why. Now they have to battle giant killer machines and they don't know why they have to do that either. As they fight and get chased and fight and get chased it'll kind of remind you of that recurring gag in Clerks where Dante says, "I'm not even supposed to be here today!"
What's The Deal: I've always loved end-of-the-world movies and now that we live in an era when everyone thinks that's really about to happen, we're getting more and more of those films all the time. It's gotten so that you know exactly what the world is going to look like after we're all burned to a crisp by a meteor or giant terrorist bomb or just the sun gone super-angry. Unfortunately, that means post-apocalypse movies have to step up their game when depicting our demise. This one succeeds with its atmosphere of totally mournful gloom and darkness in which innocently adorable little scraps of burlap burdened with desperately panicked hearts and minds have to create a meaningful life for themselves while avoiding the evil, spider-like monsterbots. I actually found myself anxiety-ridden over their futile existence.
Get A Babysitter: I know we live in a time when irresponsible parenting is the norm and you can witness--and I did, the following is not a made-up example--people bringing 7-year-old kids to midnight screenings of Halloween II. But you should know that although this is an animated feature, it's the kind you don't want to bring the little ones to see. Anybody under five or so is going to be freaked out by the scary monsters and the overall tone of despair.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2016
For some reason I didn't think this movie would be any good. It was really good though. My husband, myself and our four daughters all love this movie. The story line is very good and the imagery is way better than I could have expected. I don't care what your age is. Watch this movie!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2015
Why does Hollywood keep making the same story with different characters? Even the character expressions seem copied from elsewhere. Did Tim Burton sell out? I always thought he was a rebel. Maybe he got tired of the constant pressure of executives wanting him to conform to their marketing formula. I was bored. I would like to see more unique visions in film making.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2016
I have mixed feelings of this movie I rember when I was around 11-12 seeing a trailer for a movie that was shown to be action packet and just looked badass and having welcome home by coheed and Cambria in the background really drew me in. The day came I got the last copy for rent and rember this movie to be badass now that I'm 17 this movie isn't all that great and the story line is pretty boring
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2015
Incredible animated creatures inhabit a blasted wicked dreamscape with deteriorated artifacts of society. Oozing personality and charm the plucky creations fight the evil remaining machines of a dead world. Best of the best audio, animation, color, composition and story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse