Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groundwork of a Masterpiece!
I was alittle skeptical when I heard the first 15 seconds from the first track "Hold On" which sounded very demo-ish. Then the guitars kicked in, and the rest of the CD was a joy of a ride! The CD actually has 11 tracks- not just the 4 listed here on Amazon. Tracks are: 1.Hold On 2.Changes 3.Moving In 4.Would you feel my love 5.Where will you be 6.Owner of a...
Published on October 7, 2003 by Hank

versus
26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not the pre-Anderson 90125
Yes, the cover art for this CD is "cool," but it's quite misleading. It would be great if the disc contained the Cinema (Rabin, Chris Squire, Alan White, Tony Kaye) versions of 90125's songs. Unfortunately, only five of the eleven tracks have anything to do with 90125. Worse yet, those five are just Rabin's early demos of what would eventually morph into the...
Published on February 7, 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Groundwork of a Masterpiece!, October 7, 2003
By 
Hank "YankeeHank" (Alpharetta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 90124 (Audio CD)
I was alittle skeptical when I heard the first 15 seconds from the first track "Hold On" which sounded very demo-ish. Then the guitars kicked in, and the rest of the CD was a joy of a ride! The CD actually has 11 tracks- not just the 4 listed here on Amazon. Tracks are: 1.Hold On 2.Changes 3.Moving In 4.Would you feel my love 5.Where will you be 6.Owner of a lonely heart 7.Walls 8.Promenade 9.Love will find a way 10.Miracle of life 11.Cinema. Trevor's demo versions of these Yes classics with him on lead are very well done. This is a must for any Yes collector. The CD cover is cool - gold colored with the 90125 logo altered to 90124.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not the pre-Anderson 90125, February 7, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: 90124 (Audio CD)
Yes, the cover art for this CD is "cool," but it's quite misleading. It would be great if the disc contained the Cinema (Rabin, Chris Squire, Alan White, Tony Kaye) versions of 90125's songs. Unfortunately, only five of the eleven tracks have anything to do with 90125. Worse yet, those five are just Rabin's early demos of what would eventually morph into the blockbuster Yes album. Once you get a magnifiying glass to read the tiny liner notes, you'll quickly be annoyed by the typos and paragraphs that end abruptly with no continuation to the top of the next page. From what can be gleaned from these notes, it's apparent that the Cinema band had completed a great album with former Yes vocalist Trevor Horn producing. I would've guessed that Rabin, as a primary force behind 90125, has copies of the last Cinema mixes done before Jon Anderson added his vocals and Cinema became Yes. If so, he didn't put them on this CD. The ridiculous liner notes even rave about "I'm With You" which isn't even included on the CD! Track eleven entitled "Cinema" is really an abbreviated version of "Make It Easy" from YesYears. The demo of "Where Will You Be" seems identical to the instrumental included on the Yes Active CD-ROM from 1994. "Walls" is fairly faithful to the final version from the Talk album and features vocals from co-writer Roger Hodgson of Supertramp (his contribution to this song is completely ignored in the notes). Rather than carelessness on the part of author Chris Welch, the liner notes, and really the whole CD overall, seem to be a comedy of errors for the label Voiceprint. All of the pre-Talk songs really convey the large extent to which the other members of Yes added to Trevor's demos in creating the final released versions. I realize that the artist's name on the cover is Trevor Rabin and not Cinema, but for those hoping to hear pre-Anderson versions of 90125 tracks, you'll have to settle for the three purportedly on the 2004 Rhino remaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice look behind the scenes, September 23, 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 90124 (Audio CD)
This isn't just demos for 90125. There's demos for new albums too. It is a very interesting look at Trevor Rabin's original ideas and cool to contrast them with the final Yes versions. I'm glad Rabin is having a lot of success outside Yes, because he's a very talented musician. I've always had mixed feelings about his version of Yes, since it seemed that he was clearly the focus of the band and not quite as democratic; I would have preferred they called it Cinema. But it did produce some great music. This will show you just how in control he was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Understand... this is NOT a YES album..., August 26, 2004
This review is from: 90124 (Audio CD)
..but it certainly laid the groundwork for what was to become one of the greatest "YES" albums of all time (or at least after breaking from the early prog style.) Make no mistake, this is Trevor Rabin. This is not "YES" or an "Anderson-less YES." It's Trevor Rabin. Firstly, I admire the how much the vocals stand out, and you can clearly hear how the harmonization with Anderson came to be. Actually, up until this point, I had thought much of the harmonizing on "90125" were overdubs of strictly Anderson's vocals, with a few hints of Rabin thrown in. Now I can hear that Rabin had quite a bit more of a role vocally on "90125" as well as "Big Generator" and "Talk". This album, is without a doubt, one of the most interesting of the Rabin "solo" collection (although limited.) There seems to be an audible difference in style between Rabin's solo work and "Yes" work, and while I can hear some similiarities between the two, after listneing to this album, I have quickly realized that Rabin has done "something" to distingusih solo efforts from the said "Yes" work. I always prefer "original" versions of music. I am not one for re-makes or alternate versions. When it comes right down to it... at a social gathering or party, I would rather play "90125" or "Talk" in it's natural state (if you will.) I don't believe that "90124" was created for those purposes, but rather to highlight Rabin and what his ideas were in those pre-recording days.. how the ideas came together to form the final product, and how much Rabin has actually contributed to the "new" Yes sound. Understandably so, considering Anderson didn't even sign on to the "90125" project until after Rabin and Chris Squire's "Cinema" project was starting to take a new form. But again.. this is Trevor Rabin.. and that's what we were supposed have been talking about here.... right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IF you are a BIG fan of Yes' 90125 or Trevor Rabin a must have, May 5, 2008
This review is from: 90124 (Audio CD)
I love 90124 from Trevor Rabin because Yes' 90125 is one of my all time favorite albums. Even with 90125 and 9012Live I want more, and 90124 fits the bill. All of the songs on this CD are in the 90125 era and style, and several are demos of the songs made famous by "Yes" (Hold On, Changes, Moving In, Owner of a Loney Heart, Walls, Love Will Fina A Way, Cinema). All 11 tracks on 90124 are great songs and are interesting if you want to hear the evolution from Trevor's demos and solo recordings to the finished product released by Yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worthy for at least ONE song....., December 20, 2006
This review is from: 90124 (Audio CD)
Close observers to the original Yes LP "Talk", will notice that the song "Walls" is co-written by Supertramp co-founder, Roger Hodgson, although he isn't heard on the original. There was talk by Roger himself of a possible full-length collaboration with Trevor and a beautiful demo of "The More I Look" (from the eventual album "Open The Door")is the only finished product. Nothing more though...until this record! Roger is all over the place on this demo version of "Walls" and it just demolishes the tepid version with Jon Anderson. Supertramp/Hodgson fans should get this album just for this song. The rest? A matter of personal taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rabin gives boost to Yes, January 30, 2005
By 
This review is from: 90124 (Audio CD)
A lot of die-hard Yes fans who absoultely hated Trevor Rabin didn't want to hear this or any of his other work with Yes but the truth is there might not be a Yes today if it wasn't for Rabin's genius,he plays every instrument except drums I believe, & produced 90125 ,Big Generator as well as the underrated "Talk".

I personally enjoy every vesion of Yes as their very being makes them experimental if it be hard core prog, super polished power pop or love/hate "Tales from from Topographic Oceans",self indulgence,the bottom line is they never put out a bad album & realised the magical hooks in these demos presented to them @ a major turning point in their careers,clearly a good move & went on to sell major units without selling out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trevor Rabin Struts His Stuff, August 22, 2003
By 
rickharrison1 "rickharrison1" (Columbia, TN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 90124 (Audio CD)
Trevor Rabin's CD release of 90124, cleverly titled after Yes' #1 album, 90125, is a treasure trove of demos, rarities, and songs he penned and recorded before they were ultimately used (and changed) by Yes. Any Trevor Rabin or Yes fan will enjoy and appreciate the opportunity to hear these songs as originally conceived by Rabin, spanning the years from 1981 until approximately 1994. The CD also contains a short version of "Promenade" by Mussorgsky that is absolutely stunning. I highly recommend this collection of Rabin gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting work, May 18, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 90124 (Audio CD)
If you're into demos and pre-production, then you won't want to miss this one. Laying out the foundations for the second of Yes (in the early-to-mid 80's), this CD highlights where much of 90125 came from.
Additionally, the added tracks that didn't make it to 90125 (along with demos) are an auditory treat for fans of that album, Yes, or music of that genre.
Certainly a great score, very glad I got it. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOTHING like 90125!!, November 6, 2006
This review is from: 90124 (Audio CD)
Jeeze, I hate to be a sourpuss about this album, but I find the previous glowing reviews quite misleading and I'd like to save people the disappointment of buying it.

It's true that the CD contains some of the best songs on 90125 (plus "Love will find a way" from Big Generator), and I admit that Rabin has some talent (when properly coached and restrained). However, the versions here are VASTLY inferior to those on 90125. Within each song, those parts that were "approved" by Yes and ended up on 90125 are great; those that where rejected/modified SUCK: they have trite lyrics, corny arrangements, thin vocals, no tension and (paradoxically) boring and predictable guitar riffs and solos!

Most of the songs on 90124 seem lifted straight out of the soundtrack of one of those dismal 80s teenage action flicks (you know, overproduced crap sung by hyena-sounding, spandex-clad, no-talent unknowns).

To summarize, check out this album ONLY if you want to see how a group of excellent musicians took a batch of uneven songs, extracted and distilled what was promising in them and released one of the best pop/rock albums of the 80s!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

90124
90124 by Trevor Rabin (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.