Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: 9to5: Days In Porn
Safety Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 15, 2010
This is definitely a niche documentary, if you are interested in some excellent interviews with people who work in the (straight) porn industry then I can't recommend it more.

However the casual viewer might be a bit offended at some of the parts, not in a visual, pornographic way, but just at the issues that plague the industry.

There are some rather raunchy scenes, but these are short and more underline the effect of the movie than any attempt to be pornographic in itself.
11 comment|69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2012
Interesting look at L.A.'s porn industry with many raunchy scenes of hard core porn as it is being made. I found it a bit boring. There were alternating scenes of the porn being made, which often made me tense up at the painful images, and scenes of pretty houses and nice cars which they enjoyed as proceeds of their work.

I'm not sure why the filmaker found it necessary to show some particularly degrading physically violent scenes of naked women being almost tortured. The women didn't seem to mind in the least so apparently I'm just not "with" it, or at least that was the feeling I think I was supposed to come away with. I can't recommend this film and wish I hadn't watched it but I did and now I have some new things to think about that are mildly depressing to me. Pain and degradation is the norm here and the actors showed zero reactions to it.

Also constantly referring to the women as "whores" was repulsive and contemptuous. All the men were ugly, a few hideously so, and most of the women were pretty or beautiful. One incredibly gross looking little man who was an agent for the women kept calling them whores, and the filmaker kept saying "find me some whores" and he too was ugly and I was thinking how much easier it is to exploit another human being when you think of them as less than human.

They mentioned making three hundred and fifty dollars up to a whopping five hundred dollars. A big name was going to get the huge sum of two thousand five hundred dollars. One porn star said she can make more as an escort in a week than she can make doing porn in a month, with less sex and more fun. She seemed to be one of the few that was rational.

Who were these young women and why were they doing this? We saw them crouching naked on the floor, their arms wrapped around themselves, in their spike heels between scenes like prisoners in a concentration camp, while the men stood around talking about the filming.
Couldn't they even slip into a robe between scenes?
It's the second most pathetic imagery I've ever seen.

To get three hundred and fifty dollars to have your body and soul abused, when the film will sell five to ten thousand copies a month, shows that something's wrong here. For what they were doing, and what the film will earn, it seems like a paltry sum.

As a documentary it was ok. I can't say it was great or bad. It was simply a voyeur's look at the lives of the people who make porn. There really isn't much else to say or anything to take away from this. It was mildly interesting but boring at the same time. The shock value was there at least. I would have liked to have heard more from the women who do this about what it is that attracts them to this as a way to make a living. It didn't appear that it was for the love of the sex. Porn is a huge industry worldwide so it's worth taking a look at for that reason if nothing else.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2010
The film was fairly good and even educational. The film covers some of the biggest names in the business and was well made. Hazards specific to the industry, how family and friends react to what they do for a living, the typical pay, their personal romantic lives, and what happens when people leave the industry were all covered. It was however a little too long for my tastes, almost too exhaustive. I found myself looking at my watch about an hour into it.

Although there was plenty of nudity and fair amount of sex, it was all within the context of the documentary so don't expect to see even a 10 second sex scene. And even the sex scenes shown generally have the film crew obscuring the action. I think the film would have been better had they moved a step or two closer to making this film porn.
22 comments|60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I find this industry to be a fascinating subject, and this documentary was one of the better ones of the few I'd recommend for anyone looking for a more insightful, thoughful, intellectual approach. Critically, much of the discussion comes from the actresses and actors, both those new to the biz and the veterans. This doco, which includes the always fascinating Sasha Grey, offers viewers who are mature enough to look beyond the obvious superficial sexual aspects and into the opinions and observations of those actually in the industry. I've always found it laughably hypocritical that we, as a society, look down on porn stars and their videos (films, in previous generations), yet this $15 billion a year industry is something the majority of men in the world with access to this material have used for their own personal sexual satisfaction, and is obviously a major part of the teenage experience for boys in the Western world, especially. This film steps back from the set to examine the more pyschological and philosophical side of "the biz" and is worth a rental.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2012
The documentary thoroughly investigates the porn industry, without flinching from showing its seamier side as well as performers during sex scenes. Although objective and non-judgmental, it also seemed rather unsatisfying for not getting underneath the surface of the industry, particularly what exactly draws women into it and how they get there. Numerous porno actors are interviewed, but the film producer seemed to accept especially the women's explanations at face value. Belladonna, for example, is heavily featured, as someone who is acting rationally, is happily married, and is raising a daughter. I saw another documentary, however, in which Belladonna started crying over the estrangement from her family and her sense of shame. Of course, porn actresses will try to present themselves in the best way possible, but what is the truth beneath their spin? I've read a report that Jenna Jameson, for example, was raped by her boyfriend's father while in high school, and then entered the porn industry. The film producer was too gullible and swallowed too easily the explanations that porn is like any other economic activity, without following some of the more interesting counterpoints that are briefly touched upon in the film.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2015
This is basically a documentary filmed behind the scenes during making of some of the higher class porn films. Also has footage of private conversations of the girls who work as actors and even their family's. For them it is just another job. They only covered what I would call the very high end of the studios. None of the participants looked to be druggies or professional prostitutes. They seemed to just be actors going through a particular filming scene. Their interaction on the set between scenes was just what you would expect in a normal sitcom or other film producing studio. Sometimes the other actors had to help the guys get their equipment pumped up for the scene or put a large expander into the girls receptacle to stretch it out so it would not get damaged by the sudden insert of some of the guys humongous equipment.
The whole thing was not titillating or sexy, just interesting. My wife and I both watched it and found it very interesting. We have both watched porn films a few times but were surprised with the honest and candid of most of the people. Some were fooling themselves, but some seemed to have it together and this was a short term way for them to get their heads above water and better their position in life in the long term.
I would recommend this film for anyone over 18. Even younger for some mature children. It would be good for parents to use as an educational tool for their kids.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2013
While it was a little long this showed the reality of the porn industry, and while not trying to be preachy it tells the world what we basically already know - that people, especially women, are objects to be used and then discarded when done with.

Throughout the film each woman pretty much said the same thing: "I choose to do this because I'm strong and confident, no one controls me etc etc etc", and they may have convinced themselves of that but looking at their faces I got a strong feeling that deep down they knew it was a lie. They may make quite a bit of money for each scene they rarely (if ever) see any more income once the film is released, and any still images can be used in any way the company decides yet they don't receive compensation for that. The men behind the scenes are the ones who profit the greatest. So to say they aren't being used, controlled or exploited is a fantasy on their part.

I don't feel any disdain for any of the people in the film with one exception: Otto. I could go on and on about how he made my skin crawl just listening to him but I can sum him up in one word: scumbag.
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2013
First the movie.
Definitely shot well and though I'm not sure it was supposed to be funny, it actually was at times. (Like the scene where they are interviewing an actress while she has a baseball bat somewhere it definitely shouldn't be) it was not meant to portray these actors as sad or glamorous, but just tried to capture a year in their somewhat crazy lives. True some of the stories made you sad, but some were uplifting and then there were a few that just showed how people will take advantage of people just because they can.

It was cool to see my freeway exit in every other scene and I was able to actually identify at least two studios within a mile of my house. No I don't live in Chatsworth, it was the other exit.

So as someone who has had an adult star roommate in San Diego and has shot mainstream YouTube videos with a current hard core actress and penthouse pet, it was interesting to juxtapose what I know is true with what the director chose to show.

Definitely something to rent.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2012
This is not a porn movie. It's a documentary. It is insightful as to what actually goes on in the industry. Actual married couples were interviewed on their work in the industry and their partners work. Diseases were touched on and the mentality of the people in that industry. Not the best documentary. But I got it for free with a trial.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2014
Interesting look inside the industry but this is from a few years ago and so much has changed in terms of how people watch adult films nowadays. Fascinating and sad in equal measures- with a side of disturbing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.