Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving, profound story
I'm a children's librarian. I read a lot of books for kids. And I believe this one is going to prove itself to be quite the standout. It's incredible how deceptively simple it is - this young boy with a stutter has an easier time speaking to animals, obtains greater ease of speech as he grows older, and uses that voice to fulfill a promise to the animals who inspired him...
Published 2 months ago by Diana Black

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars too childish
I found the book too childish although the message was great. I hope it proves to help lots of kids with problems and teaches them to love the animals the live with.
Published 1 month ago by Alan S Mackenzie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving, profound story, May 20, 2014
This review is from: A Boy and a Jaguar (Hardcover)
I'm a children's librarian. I read a lot of books for kids. And I believe this one is going to prove itself to be quite the standout. It's incredible how deceptively simple it is - this young boy with a stutter has an easier time speaking to animals, obtains greater ease of speech as he grows older, and uses that voice to fulfill a promise to the animals who inspired him. If you're a grown-up who loved "The Man Who Planted Trees" or the essays of Wendell Berry, you should seek this one out for yourself. A beautiful tale that works both literally and metaphorically to emphasize that having a voice is a privilege we should use wisely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for ages 5-95+, June 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Boy and a Jaguar (Hardcover)
An outstanding autobiography of an individual who stutters that commands respect for the person as well as for his contributions to our animal sciences. A gently written story that needs to be heard across international boundaries. A perfect read for 5-95+ years of age!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book for children that speaks about the love for animals and fulfillment of children's dreams, June 13, 2014
This review is from: A Boy and a Jaguar (Hardcover)
'A Boy and a Jaguar' written by Alan Rabinowitz and illustrated by Catia Chien is a beautiful book for children that speaks about the love for animals, an autobiographical story told by wildlife conservationist.

The main character is a young boy named Alan who more than anything loves to go to zoo, though he is sad looking all these animals caged, especially his favorite ones - the big cats, such as jaguar.

Because Alan is a stutterer that could not speak clearly, the only place where he can speak is when he is in companion with his beloved animals, not with people. Therefore he is attending special school programs and when he came to college he realizes that more than anything he enjoys studying animals. Therefore he will decide that he will devote his life to protection of endangered animal species, because that is where his voice can be heard loudest.

'A Boy and a Jaguar' is powerful and beautifully told autobiographical story from a man who calls himself "the Indiana Jones of wildlife preservation". His life story is told in an interesting which will appeal to preschoolers for whom the book is intended. The illustrations made in the watercolor and gouache techniques are full of vivid color and contribute to the warmth and love that emanates from this book.

Therefore, this work full of inspiration for kids made by Alan Rabinowitz and Catia Chien that speaks about love of animals and fulfillment of children's dreams can be recommended to all preschool kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Boy and a Jaguar (Hardcover)
A wonderfully illustrated book that tells a inspiring story. I enjoyed gifting this to my 6 year old nephew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True stories put on paper have an inviting resonance. ..., July 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Boy and a Jaguar (Hardcover)
True stories put on paper have an inviting resonance. This one is no exception, except that it is exceptionally well crafted and presented for the world to have a greater understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A boy and a Jaguar, June 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Boy and a Jaguar (Hardcover)
I was intrigued when I read about Alan Rabinowitz and his new children's book: A boy and a Jaguar and ordered it straight away. I love collecting special children's books and in particular ones who foster new approaches to relations between humans and wildlife. This is a lovely book and I would definitely recommend it for children -- a good addition to school and public libraries. Also good for those who suffer from stuttering -- Most of us have run into this and know how people with this condition are shunned, taunted, etc. This is a very sensitive portrayal (all true!) of a young boy with this condition and how he grew to deal with it and also make the most of his special ability to connect with animals - in particular jaguars. The illustrations are lovely and a joy to look at. It makes me want to follow up by reading his adult books regarding jaguars. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want a Jaguar, June 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Boy and a Jaguar (Hardcover)
Alan Rabinowitz is a genius, and this is one of our favorite kid/adult books. So much fun to read with the kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars too childish, June 11, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I found the book too childish although the message was great. I hope it proves to help lots of kids with problems and teaches them to love the animals the live with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Boy and a Jaguar
A Boy and a Jaguar by Catia Chien (Hardcover - May 6, 2014)
$16.99 $12.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.