Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction
This book is very well written and very interesting. As the title says this is an introduction, not an in depth study. Another reviewer claims to have found mistakes about the new testament within this book, I would like him to develope on that statement because this book is by one of the most respected scholars on the subject. I dare to take a guess and say that this...
Published on April 18, 2009 by Carlos J. Molestina

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Technically shouldn't complain bc the overall condition was fine however was a tiny bit disappointed only bc the ...
Technically shouldn't complain bc the overall condition was fine however was a tiny bit disappointed only bc the description stated either good or very good condition. Maybe my idea of good is different but for the price I paid, overall was happy. Will just be cautious for future purchases or maybe ask questions. LOVE THE BOOK! Wish I had all of Bart Ehrman's books.
Published 1 month ago by Joni


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction, April 18, 2009
This book is very well written and very interesting. As the title says this is an introduction, not an in depth study. Another reviewer claims to have found mistakes about the new testament within this book, I would like him to develope on that statement because this book is by one of the most respected scholars on the subject. I dare to take a guess and say that this reviewer is just not happy with the facts because these questions his faith and what he has taken as truth for a long time, but that is just my guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, February 14, 2011
By 
Phil (Lakeland, FL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Brief Introduction to the New Testament (Paperback)
A great book for delving into the New Testament. It is purely a historical look at it. Don't read this book if you are looking for a "faith-booster".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brief Introduction to the New Testament, May 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My wife and I were scheduled to start a class at our church that is being taught by our new Rector. There was a requirement that we have the text / reference book for the class and it was expected to be available at the church book store in time.
It turned out that the book, A Brief Introduction to the New testament, is out of print. Amazon to the rescue! We found the book available, used, at 1/3 the new price. The book was delivered the day of the first class and on time. Not only that, but our "used" book must never have been cracked. It was in brand new condition. Outstanding! We have been doing well with it through the gospels, Acts, and Paul's letters. We will be wrapping up with Romans next week and all successful due to Amazon. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wealth of information, April 20, 2011
By 
Daniel Durham (Williamsville, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A good overview that will enlighten just about anyone interested in the New Testament. It will bring a new understanding on the subject and will bring to light many things that your Sunday school teacher would not discuss. This book will encourage you to think and ask even more questions. It will also provide facts that the average person doesn't know about the worlds most widely read book. I will use this book often and encourage anyone to at least look it over, then you will be hooked by it's great academic discussions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Technically shouldn't complain bc the overall condition was fine however was a tiny bit disappointed only bc the ..., September 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Brief Introduction to the New Testament (Paperback)
Technically shouldn't complain bc the overall condition was fine however was a tiny bit disappointed only bc the description stated either good or very good condition. Maybe my idea of good is different but for the price I paid, overall was happy. Will just be cautious for future purchases or maybe ask questions. LOVE THE BOOK! Wish I had all of Bart Ehrman's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Textbook, May 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had to read this for a class. I have been going to church my entire life, but I have learned so many news facts about the Bible. This text would give you a new perspective on the New Testament and it would help you have a better understanding of the foundations of the New Testament!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Only if your skeptical of the bible, April 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bart Ehrman was a born again Christian and is a Professor of Theology. The more he studied the bible the more skeptical he became. He is an expert on the Bible but is a nonbeliever. I have read many of his books. Unless your a skeptic your self this may not be for you. He has a tendency to go over the average readers head. I as a former Minister knows where he comes from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, January 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Brief Introduction to the New Testament (Paperback)
I rented this book for a class and when I turned it in I came to Amazon to purchase it. I really love this book and suggest it to anyone who is interested in the history of the Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to the New Testament, December 1, 2013
By 
Jean A. Jones (North Carolina, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is a great introduction to the New Testament. If, like myself, you would like to read what scholars say about the New Testament, then this is the book for you. Bart Ehrman teaches at UNC-Chapel Hill, is an excellent scholar on the New Testament, and does, for me, a great job of being objective as a scholar on what a historian can conclude about the New Testament and I like his conclusions and how he comes up with his conclusions. It is good to read Ehrman side by side with Luke Timothy Johnson because Ehrman is a former Christian believer whereas Luke Timothy Johnson is a clear Christian believer. What I like about both men is that although they may or may not believe in the Christian God, they do wish to be good scholars and try to keep their opinions to being good scholars. Anyway, this is a great introduction to the New Testament and worth the time to learn from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, September 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Brief Introduction to the New Testament (Paperback)
I have many books written by Ehrman an they are usually beautifully written, this is no exception. So far, it has offered me great insights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Brief Introduction to the New Testament
A Brief Introduction to the New Testament by Bart D. Ehrman (Paperback - September 29, 2008)
Used & New from: $13.18
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.