Customer Reviews


547 Reviews
5 star:
 (467)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


132 of 152 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gunuine Christmas Classic For All Ages
Perhaps the most endearing of all the Charlie Brown specials is "A Charlie Brown Christmas", the first in a long series of made for t.v. half hour films portraying the famous Peanuts Gang.
For almost forty years, watching "A Charlie Brown Christmas" has been an eagerly anticipated event for millions of households. I recall watching it as far back...
Published on November 14, 2001 by T. W. Fuller

versus
82 of 88 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful program, disappointing audio
This is one of the most wonderful programs ever put on TV. However, the DVD has some very disappointing sound problems that make me hope that this treasure has not been lost forever, and that maybe there is a better version in our future.

The program, particularly the audio, seems like it has been poorly "restored." However that restoration is more like...
Published on December 21, 2005 by Info Source


‹ Previous | 1 255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

82 of 88 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful program, disappointing audio, December 21, 2005
This review is from: A Charlie Brown Christmas (DVD)
This is one of the most wonderful programs ever put on TV. However, the DVD has some very disappointing sound problems that make me hope that this treasure has not been lost forever, and that maybe there is a better version in our future.

The program, particularly the audio, seems like it has been poorly "restored." However that restoration is more like amateurish remodeling. Old programs are always a little scratchy sounding. That's OK. However, when an bad effort is made to hide that fact, it can spoil the program. Here is what you get in many instances in this DVD, to distacting annoyance:

The children are speaking, with soft jazz music in the background. Where there is a moment without a syllable, the sound level drops, like the volume was turned down for just that moment. Not only does this suck the atmosphere out of the program, and generate noticable odd silent spots in a program with acceptable old fashioned tape hiss at all other moments, but it spoils the wonderful musical background, making it go quiet when you are supposed to hear it. This occurs throughout the program.

Less of a concern is that there are a few "glitches" where several frames seem to be lost, which is jarring, especially when the music jumps. Also, at the end, the final credits music awkwardly fades out before it is over. I understand that there had been a commercial logo originally that they did not want to include, but they should have let the music continue. Perhaps someone just chopped it off of the print, and the fade is to avoid the chop.

I hope that somewhere there is a better print to work with, so that the full joy of this program can be savored.

Until then, I'll enjoy the wonderful Vince Guaraldi music on the CD, which has excellent sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


132 of 152 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gunuine Christmas Classic For All Ages, November 14, 2001
By 
T. W. Fuller (Wheeling, IL. USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Charlie Brown Christmas (DVD)
Perhaps the most endearing of all the Charlie Brown specials is "A Charlie Brown Christmas", the first in a long series of made for t.v. half hour films portraying the famous Peanuts Gang.
For almost forty years, watching "A Charlie Brown Christmas" has been an eagerly anticipated event for millions of households. I recall watching it as far back as twenty-two years ago, and have watched it every Christmas since.
"A Charlie Brown Christmas" was made in a time when commercialism was running rampant all over the country. Stores advertising to shoppers what they ought to buy, long before Thanksgiving had come and gone. Unfortunately, we still see this blatant commercialism today, which makes this short film so very poignant and all the more special.
Charlie Brown is assigned to direct the school Christmas pageant, much to his glee; for he feels accepted and worthy. When Lucy tells him to go out and get an alumminum tree, he takes Linus along with him. What Charlie Brown ultimately gets is a small, sickly looking tree, which is rapidly loosing its needles. But, Charlie can see how much the tree "needs him", somebody; something which he can identity with.
When he returns, he finds the gang dancing to un-Christmas like music, instead of rehearsing their lines. They stop to take a look at the tree he brought, immediately burtsing out in mocking laughter. Apparently Charlie Brown has failed again. In disgust and humiliation he flees, taking the tree with him. And when he comes upon Snoopy's dog house, all decked out in Christmas lights, not to celebrate the joyous holiday, but to win money in a contest, Charlie Brown has had enough, and almost loses all faith in Christmas.
Linus saves the day, somehow able to bring the tree back to life, and make it look much healthier and stronger. But it is when he explains the meaning of Christmas that the "gang" gets the point of Christmas, and what Charlie Brown was trying to do.
"A Charlie Brown Christmas" ends with newfound meaning for Christmas, hopefully not soon forgotten by either the Peanuts Gang, or, more importantly ... us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite Christmas special, January 14, 2004
By 
This review is from: A Charlie Brown Christmas (DVD)
I realize that I am writing this several weeks after Christmas, and this is a Christmas DVD, but this is the first year that I missed watching "A Charlie Brown Christmas" on television, so I rented the DVD. Ever since I was a little boy, this has been my favorite Christmas special, and one that I always looked forward to watching every year. I grew up reading the Peanuts comic strips and I grew up watching the Peanuts Christmas special.
Charlie Brown is depressed. He can't seem to get himself into the Christmas spirit. He doesn't like the commercialism of Christmas and scarcely knows the true meaning of Christmas. Lucy selects Charlie Brown to be the director of their Christmas play and he decides to get a Christmas tree for the production. The other kids tell him to get a "nice shiny aluminum tree, maybe a pink one", but Charlie Brown and Linus bring back a sad looking real tree. Charlie Brown is almost laughed out of the auditorium, but when he asks if anyone knows what Christmas is all about, Linus has the answer. Linus recites a passage from the Bible telling of the birth of Jesus. Charlie Brown is cheered and leaves with the tree. He tries to decorate the little tree, but even that is ruined. Linus and the gang follow behind, fix up the tree, and at the end, they show the true spirit of Christmas.
It is a sweet little Christmas special, filled with memorable moments that will always make me smile. The one thing that amazes me is that Charles Schulz was able to include Linus's speech near the end about the birth of Jesus. I don't imagine that would have been able to be included today, but I think the special is all the stronger for it. I have a hard time imagining that any new Christmas show will ever hold as special a place in my heart as "A Charlie Brown Christmas".
This DVD also includes "It's Christmastime Again, Charlie Brown" (1992). This Christmas feature is lacking the overall charm and emotion of the older special, but it has a lot more humor. It is also different from the first Christmas special in that this one is more a series of vignettes (perhaps based on Schulz's comic strips) than a complete story. There are sequences with Charlie Brown trying to sell Christmas wreaths before Thanksgiving, and of Sally rehearsing for a Christmas play. Sally's sole line is "Hark!", though I think she missed the rest of her lines where the herald angels sing. It is a cute cartoon, but ultimately it does not quite live up to "A Charlie Brown Christmas", but it my mind, nothing can live up to that one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray review, October 8, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Charlie Brown Christmas [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
We all know how we love watching this every year, but is it really worth it to buy the Blu-ray? Well, you don't just get a Blu-ray disc with this release, you also get a second disc that is essentially the remastered SD-DVD that is playable on any standard DVD player. Also, this DVD allows you to download the feature onto your computer/laptop/ipod. So for $20 you get three versions of the film (HD, SD, portable). The picture quality on the Blu-ray is a little better than the remastered DVD, the colors are a little bolder for sure (I'm watching on a professionally calibrated 50" Pioneer Kuro). Also, there is a new 5.1 audio mix that was not on the standard DVD that sounds very engaging.

If you already own the remastered DVD, I wouldn't necessarily rush out and buy this. If you don't have the remastered DVD, it's a must buy because you get the Blu-ray and remastered DVD (and the "free" download) for a halfway decent price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remember aluminum Christmas trees from the '60s and '70s?, December 1, 2000
By 
zeni (Tennessee) - See all my reviews
There really were aluminum Christmas trees back then. There were also pink frosted trees with some really psychedelic decorations, too.
I've watched this every year since I was a child. I used to stare up at the TV while CBS played that "SPECIAL" graphic and music and then . . . there it was: The Charlie Brown Christmas special!
Now that I'm an adult, my schedule has almost made me miss the show each Christmas season. But now that I have the video, I will never miss it! A friend of mine even gave me the cassette of Vince Guaraldi's musical score to go along with it. Hooray!
I'm always touched by the message in the story. Christmas is too commercial. It pains me to see Christmas stuff in the stores before school starts, or to see commercials pandering to children so their parents can buy more stuff. But watching Charlie Brown and the gang reminds me of a simpler time.
Snoopy, with his gaudily decorated dog house, represents all that's commercial and greedy about Christmas. Charlie Brown tries to overcome that with his involvement in the school play and his search for the right Christmas tree to set the mood for the play cast members.
I love this show. I heard that ABC bought the rights away from CBS for all the Charlie Brown specials. But I'm glad I have my video copy so now I don't have to worry about whether it airs or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made to be enjoyed year after year, December 6, 2001
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Charlie Brown Christmas (DVD)
Christmas is coming, but Charlie Brown can't get into the Christmas spirit. Seems all the hustle and bustle leaves him feeling sad. Lucy suggests that he direct the Christmas play, but it doesn't seem to be helping. Can Charlie Brown find the real meaning of Christmas?
This is an absolute holiday classic. I can remember watching this every year when it was on, and today it never fails to put me in the Christmas mood. It's really amazing how well this stands up, even though the animation is far from perfect and some of the references are out of date. (Aluminum trees anyone?) Still, for me, that's part of the charm. All the characters are true to their comic strip personalities, making for some very funny lines and moments.
Also included on the DVD release is It's Christmas Time Again, Charlie Brown. This second special is an animated collection of some of the Christmas themed strips from the late 80's. There's no single story and it's not as charming as the first, but I enjoy it and its great moments. ("Hockey Stick!")
The DVD offers no extras beyond these two Christmas features, but the picture quality and sound are excellent.
This DVD is a must for all Peanuts fans, but belongs in the library of anyone who enjoys Christmas specials so it can be enjoyed year after year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still brings tears to your eyes!, December 2, 2003
By 
RMurray847 (Albuquerque, NM United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Charlie Brown Christmas (DVD)
A TRUE Christmas classic. There are lots of great Christmas movies and TV shows that are fun to watch each year, from CHRISTMAS VACATION to THE GRINCH. But there is something special about Charlie Brown's take.
First of all, it's the only mainstream Christmas classic that actually DARES to bring the story of the birth of Jesus to front and center!! When Linus takes centerstage and quotes the bible for us, you can almost feel the air suck out of the room. It's a moment of simple drama that can really bring a tear to your eye. Linus, without saying a harsh word, essentially tells everyone to "shut up and remember the meaning of this holiday!" It's a beautiful moment.
There's plenty of amusing stuff too. The pitiful tree...Snoopy's hijinks, etc. It's not laugh out loud funny, of course, but sweet and innocent. These are kids who live in a world without adults...and don't seem to need them either! It's always a nice 22 minute trip down memory lane. Every adult should own this...if only to take minute to journey back to childhood. And kids need to keep seeing this. I'm glad it has remained a classic.
The animation is no great shakes, of course, but the style is executed marvelously. The voice acting, on the other hand, leaves nothing to be desired. The kids involved have done a terrific job. The music, ever present, is great, as we've come to expect from any Peanuts special. All in all, this is a MUST OWN DVD.
(I do wish there were more extras available. Other than a 2nd Christmas special...it's okay, but no classic...there is nothing. Can't believe there isn't some little documentary or something out there.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Present Of All, November 2, 2000
By 
Chad Spivak (North Miami Beach, Florida) - See all my reviews
My children are a little old (age-wise) for this, but we all still enjoy watching it around this time of year. This classic will never die out, as it will be enjoyed for many generations to come.
Having always been a huge fan of Charlie Brown to begin with, this is, by far, my favorite Christmas special. I can remember seeing it for the first time like it was yesterday. Charles Shulzz did one amazing job with this classic. This short animated special shows children the true meaning of Christmas, and Linus' delightful explanation is timeless in its teaching.
This classic is something that can be enjoyed by people of all ages, but especially by families with small children. This is just one great video that would make an excellent addition to anyone's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas treat for both children and adults!, November 5, 1999
By A Customer
Don't let the animation fool you, this is as much a movie for adults as it is for children. The classical score and the witty dialogue combine to make this one of the most sophisticated cartoons and one of my most cherished Christmas traditions. It is heartwarming to watch as Charlie Brown and the Peanuts gang rediscover the true meaning of Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ah, yes, a timeless holiday classic, but..., September 30, 2008
Warner Home Video now owns the Peanuts holiday specials, after years of ownership and video releases by Paramount. And it will sell - it's a perennial Christmas classic, and deserves every accolade. But...something is missing...

The original sponsor of this special was Coca-Cola, and, like many television programs and specials of the time, had sponsor bumpers in the program. Linus crashed into a "sponsored by Coca-Cola" sign, slingshotted his blanket at Coke cans, and the end credits wished us all a "Merry Christmas from your Coca-Cola bottlers". Due to broadcast regulation changes, children's programming could no longer include direct sponsoring, and the Coke references disappeared forever after the original broadcast. Therefore, unless somebody wants to pay Coca-Cola a huge amount of money, you will never see these portions, either restored or as extras for a true collector's edition. If you own a Paramount copy, don't worry about updating your disc.

Oh, and the greatest Peanuts holiday special is coupled with the very worst Peanuts holiday special - it has never aired on network television outside of its original broadcast. The more you know...

A great special, but somebody needs to step up and do this program up in a true collector's edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Charlie Brown Christmas [Blu-ray]
A Charlie Brown Christmas [Blu-ray] by Various (Blu-ray - 2009)
$24.98 $17.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.