Customer Reviews


261 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (56)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (65)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Son of a bi---!
I had really low expectations for this movie due to all the negative reviews on here, but let me tell you they were all wrong! Now let's be truthful, nothing will ever come close to the original, because it is such a classic, but this will be as close as you could possibly get. This movie has plenty of laugh out loud moments, from the ice fishing to the resurrection of...
Published 20 months ago by movielover

versus
214 of 242 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars actually there are 7
do people realize there are 7 movies about this family. so it's not like this is some sort of thing that noone should touch. it fact many were done before Christmas Story, and noone really complained about the others. then again i guess the titles of the other weren't Christmas Story. that alone I guess will get people in a huff. I won't give it more or less then 3 stars...
Published 22 months ago by Ryan


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Story 2, December 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Difficult to meet the standards of the original but a good follow up. It's just like how child actors a cute and then they grow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not bad, December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wasn't expecting much, but they stayed true to the original story. I was certainly surprised by how well it turned out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ho ho ho, November 5, 2012
By 
eviljim (stone mountain, GA, US) - See all my reviews
im a christmas story nut ! 7 differ leg lamps ..countless rr bb guns... bunny suit .. autographs , hell i even have a Pink Nightmare Tattoo! ... when i saw this was coming out i had very very very little hopes of anything . but i tell ya it aint half bad . so go into to with idea of haveing some fun . it is bob clarks original , not close ... but it is enjoyable if ya allow your self just to have some fun . it blows christmas vacation 2 out of the water , i know that aint saying much . at least they didnt try to remake the original! merry christmas ra ra ra ra ra .... ra ra ra ra
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars GILBERT GODFREY DOES SHAKESPEARE, November 3, 2012
That was all I could think about. Is this better or worse than Gilbert Godfrey doing Shakespeare? It certainly wasn't as funny. This film incorporates some really sad acting. The narrator attempts to copy the original, but lacked the enthusiasm. They copied many lines from the first film and in a way, horribly recreated it.

The first film had universal appeal to both young and old. This one has much of the humor aimed at kids, yet in the first 5 minutes drops three "S.O.B." bombs. Later, Ralphie practices removing a bra from a mannequin. Ralphie (Braeden Lemasters) dreams of a convertible and a girl. The worse portrayal by far was by Daniel Stern as "The Old Man."

Perhaps if you are the type of person who has enjoyed all those "The Wizard of Oz" sequels you might find some enjoyment in this one. I thought it was sorry entertainment. The best part of this DVD was the trailer for the original story. Not worth watching for free, but not quite a reason to go to war with Canada where this "Genuine, Authentic, 100% American Christmas" was filmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Christmas Movie, November 10, 2012
By 
Andrew Sullivan (Suffolk, New York United States) - See all my reviews
I think a lot of people have been over critical of this movie. Many have even written bad reviews without even seeing it. My wife and I just watched it, and although it pales in comparison to the original, we both thought it was quite entertaining, and puts one in the Christmas spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A lackluster attempt at what was already perfection, November 3, 2012
By 
T.W. (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
One of the biggest flaws this film (and A Summer Story) suffered from was the written narrative. In the 1983 film, the narrative Ralphie lines had finesse, style, elegant fluidity, unbridled enthusiasm and non-arrogant sophistication. The succeeding stories just lacked everything wonderful about the 1983 narrative.

Beyond that, while this latest effort isn't the same story, it is, and too many old situations and lines from 1983 are used here to total despair. Without getting too lengthy, nobody was believable in their role. You had mediocre actors who were trying to imitate characters of actors who had nailed it perfectly the first time. "It's a clinkeeeeeerrr!" Sorry...Darren was believable, Daniel was very much not.

As a standalone Christmas film, it's neither charming, heart-warming or endearing. Christmas with the Kranks, Jingle All the Way and even Deck the Halls are far more Christmacy than this film. It misses the mark by a mile. Just bad acting, poor set designs/backdrops, and a plot line no one really cares about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not worth your time, December 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i knew it would be, and i was right. this was a total waste of my time.
nothing like the original, very boring & try-hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not rent this., December 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Like most sequels, this was second rate. Daniel Stern as the dad? He should stick with Home Alone. Not even close to the original. We did not even watch the who.e thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very impressed, December 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved the first movie but weren't really impressed with the second one. It seemed to me as if they were trying to copy the first movie but unfortunately failed miserably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Disgrace to All Involved, December 15, 2013
Imagine if a transmission of one of the many yearly screenings of the original "Christmas Story" was intercepted by an alien civilization that had no concept of humor, emotion or comic timing. Imagine now that that same civilization attempted to produce their own version of this beloved holiday classic. The end result might look something like "A Christmas Story 2." All of the charm of the original has been surgically gutted and replaced with cheap gags, poorly staged pratfalls and shameless nods to the original, which, rather than evoking nostalgia, just make you wonder why you didn't just watch that film in the first place. In perhaps the film's most grievous sin, the narrator (who is also the screenwriter) feebly attempts to ape Jean Shepherd's delivery and writing style. In both efforts, he falls flat. Daniel Stern, generally a competent actor, is hopelessly out of his depth in trying to recreate the magic that Darren McGavin created as the Old Man. McGavin's slow-burn grumpiness and quasi-profane rants are replaced by incomprehensible barking and random herking and jerking that suggest a man perpetually gripped by seizures. Stacey Travis plays Mrs. Parker with the motions and diction of an android attempting to mimic human behavior, Valin Shinyei is utterly detestable as Randy and Braeden Lemasters displays no discernible talent other than looking slightly like an older Peter Billingsley. In short, avoid this film unless your life depends on it. Even then, I'd take a moment to think it over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Christmas Story 2
A Christmas Story 2 by Brian Levant
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.