Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars (3.5 STARS) "A Company Man" or a Salaried Killer in a Suit
On the surface Ji Hyeong-Do (Ji-seob So) looks like any other ordinary businessman commuting in a train. Every morning he goes to the office of a medium-sized "metal trading" enterprise in Seoul. But what people in the same building do not know is that Ji Hyeong-Do has been working for the company that in fact specializes in contract killings. He is a faithful "company...
Published 10 months ago by Tsuyoshi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Really like So Ji-Sub not his best however
This movie was kind of a weak but So Ji-sub made the movie at least some what entertaining. Not sure why this movie didn't meet my expectations. I think maybe the story latched back story. I really liked So Ji-sub in the master's Sun.
Published 3 months ago by Lori Jenkins


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars (3.5 STARS) "A Company Man" or a Salaried Killer in a Suit, June 10, 2013
This review is from: A Company Man [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
On the surface Ji Hyeong-Do (Ji-seob So) looks like any other ordinary businessman commuting in a train. Every morning he goes to the office of a medium-sized "metal trading" enterprise in Seoul. But what people in the same building do not know is that Ji Hyeong-Do has been working for the company that in fact specializes in contract killings. He is a faithful "company man" who gets paid and even "promoted" for what he does. He is even tasked with "firing" his co-workers.

One day Ji Hyeong-Do's perfect life as first-rate killer starts to change, however, when he chooses not to follow a certain part of the order given to him. This leads to his meeting with Yu Mi-yeon (Mi-yeon Lee), mother of two children. And Yu Mi-yeon was a singer Ji Hyeong-Do adored when he was young.

A 2012 Korean thriller "A Company Man" is more about the central character Ji Hyeong-Do and his transformation than about the brutal fights he has to go through. The action is sparse, especially in the first half of the film, but once it begins, it gets pretty tense with bloody and violent combat scenes.

Perhaps writer and director Sang-yoon Lim (his feature debut) could have developed the relationship between the salaried killer and the retired singer. Some of the subplots are also underdeveloped, with a police detective whose role the film could have used more effectively. With the superb acting from the cast and intense climax, however, "A Company Man" is worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie - witty and sarcastic about the plight of the "salaried man", September 23, 2013
This review is from: A Company Man [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great movie. Nicely paced, good story and likeable (and dislikeable) characters. The action scenes were pretty awesome - love the Tarantino-esque all out office scene at the end. U.S. folks may have mixed feelings about it but I think the entire concept of the movie is to take the stereotype of the salaried man to a new sarcastic, witty and over-the-top level so if you watch it with that view I think you'd enjoy it more. Not to say it's not enjoyable as is. Overall, definitely worth getting and watching. I'm also becoming a big fan of the lead actor So Ji-Sub. He seems to make some solid movie choices. I just watched him in Rough Cut (directed by Kim Ki Duk - who did Spring, Summer, Autumn, Fall... and Spring, Pieta, Samaritan Girl, 3-Iron, to name just a few of the classics), the Korean title is actually read "A Movie is a Movie" and the Korean title makes the movie make more sense when you watch it. Anyway, just saw him in that and that was pretty awesome. And saw him in Always ("Only You") and that was great too so 3 for 3 for me with this actor. Look forward to more movies with him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 out of 5., December 20, 2013
This review is from: A Company Man [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
cant put a 4.5 in there so it gets a 5. pretty good film. worth the watch. very entertaining movie, but a predictable ending. still a good movie to add to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reserved actor So Ji-seob sesm perfect as the equally taciturn company hit man, December 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Company Man (DVD)
Reserved actor So Ji-seob sesm perfect as the equally taciturn company hit man. On the way up, respected by the other company hitters, and envied by the secon-incommand who greased his way to number 2 spot. Its when he finds his humanity, he loses his killer mojo, endangering not only hims elf, but those he's come clsoe too. Tall, solid, Eastwood like character that takes on the whole killing company organization. Brutal, with no welcomed pause for some gallows humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, October 21, 2013
This review is from: A Company Man (DVD)
I thought this movie was just brilliant. Well packed action leaves you wanting more. I loved it, 5 stars all the way! This movie does not fail to impress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true company man, October 4, 2013
This review is from: A Company Man [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I didn't know what to expect going in to watch this movie. I was not familiar with the main character. Man, was this like a slap to the face or something! the main guy, So Ji-Seob is a truly phenomenal actor. The intensity he portrays on screen is so heart wrenching. The film definitely starts slow, but that slow burn grows into something epic by the end. You get pulled into his goal and by the end you are cheering him on. This film totally made me his fan.

I recommend this to anyone that appreciates a good drama, there are some action scenes but they are not the focal point. (although, that scene in the car was so freaking awesome!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well done, March 23, 2014
Company man is a slam-bang, no nonsense action thriller in the vain of Luc Besson's 'Professional'.. the film also runs a tight parallel course between the emotions of its characters and the very realistic level of violence that it has to offer. I was very impressed by this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars movie, November 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Company Man [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
watch it, buy it, what ever it will def deliver everything about this film was good if you don't buy it def check it out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Company Man Just Wants Out., April 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Company Man [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I highly recommend Company Man if you like action, it's another movie about a hit man contract killer that wants to quit killing when he meets this teenager , however he'll soon find out that it's not going to be that easy as the company orders a contract to kill him. I really like the story line the stunts and the action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent Movie, March 14, 2014
By 
Neil Wilson (Born: Florida, USA; Live: Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Company Man [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I love Korean movies...this one was pretty good but definitely not my favorite. If you want action, try Chaser or The Man from Nowhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x98099a38)

This product

A Company Man
A Company Man by Sang-yoon Lim (DVD - 2013)
$24.98 $9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.