Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steven Seagal plus Russian Mob against Chinese = Killing
I'm a big huge fan of Steven Seagal. I mean I had all his movies (maybe I have some that He does not have in his own collection). Steven Seagal is at the wrong place at the wrong time and for that He is going to kill a lot of people. This movie is full of killing and action. Any action movie fan should see this. I really enjoyed. Actually the movie makes sense and is...
Published on February 19, 2010 by E. O. Pages

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a watch. No the best action film,but far from the worst.
I don't like to start a fight unless I finish it. Action legend Steven Seagal stars as Shane Daniels, an ex-Special Forces operative released from prison after serving six years hard time for a murder he didn't commit. Back on the street, he comes to the rescue of a beautiful young hostage stashed in a car trunk with millions in cash. Wielding a devastating combination of...
Published on August 11, 2010 by S. Cowen


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steven Seagal plus Russian Mob against Chinese = Killing, February 19, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Dangerous Man (DVD)
I'm a big huge fan of Steven Seagal. I mean I had all his movies (maybe I have some that He does not have in his own collection). Steven Seagal is at the wrong place at the wrong time and for that He is going to kill a lot of people. This movie is full of killing and action. Any action movie fan should see this. I really enjoyed. Actually the movie makes sense and is really good. The last movies of Steven Seagal were really bad, but this one and The keeper are getting our action hero back in the field. If you like Steven Seagal you should buy it. You won't regret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It means your mama won't be able to recognize you in your coffin"-actual Seagal quote, March 4, 2010
By 
This review is from: A Dangerous Man (DVD)
Over the past few years Steven Seagal has become more of a walking punchline then the renowned action powerhouse he used to be known as. His movie had hit the bottom of the barrel in a way you could barely get through the entire thing without a finger on the fast forward button. However our beloved Seagal is showing signs of greatness yet again as he appears to be pulling a 180 in the a-- kicking department. Where we last left him was with his film The Keeper where we got a taste of a supremely entertaining entry and thought it to be more of a fluke, but were proven very wrong. Hey we're not ashamed to admit it, even we make mistakes from time to time. A Dangerous Man (aka A Nice Mix) is definitive proof that Seagal still has a little something left under his sleeve. Not to mention a new catch phrase with the term "F--- you up ugly" which he utters a couple times as a warning before he has to take you down.

In A Dangerous Man Seagal plays an empty soul Shane Daniels who was just released from prison. The reason for his inner anger is due to the fact he served 6 years for a crime he didn't commit with nothing more then an apology from the State. He lost his wife and everything that mattered in his life long ago. Once free he happens to witness a cop murdered by the Chinese Mafia and decides to intervene. After finding a bag of drug money along with a kidnapped girl he decides to make this matter his business in old school Seagal a-- kicking fashion. He finds that the kidnapped girl has an uncle that was captured, and with a helping hand from the Russian mafia, makes it his mission to dismantle the Chinese Mafia one eggroll at a time.

This movie right here has restored all faith in the fact Seagal has so many more great years of action packed potential to offer. Sure anything he will ever do for the rest of time will be a straight to video release, but that makes it even more appetizing for us. It keeps it in that realm of B action (which we live for) while simultaneously being a legit great movie. From the opening scene this one has us captivated all the way through with barely any lulls. There was a short stint here or there that slowed the pace down a little, but not nearly enough to take anything positive away. We now have no choice but to eagerly await his next release which will most likely be in another month or two. So kudos to you Steven on a job.....done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quicker pace, a bit more relevant, February 15, 2010
This review is from: A Dangerous Man (DVD)
Before you watch a Seagal movie, you gotta know why he keeps making them. He wants to be known as a good writer, and bring awareness of injustices in modern society. Keeping that in mind, I find it admirable he would tackle wrongful incarceration in a movie role. Moreso, he did it fairly well. Yeah, he stays pissed the whole film. Wouldn't you if you were put in jail for 6 years for something you didn't do? And in trying to do the right thing, he was still haunted/jaded and therefore acted like a bad guy - hell he even teamed up with a bunch of 'em (russians). I'm a huge fan of asian culture, and it was nice to see that plotline in there with the mercenaries. And for the first time in quite a while I actually recognized many other actors, though they weren't very high profile. Just a "hey, I've seen that guy/girl before!". It made the film seem more familiar and current - which Seagal has to do to bring in a new decade of 50 more movies or so haha. Some diss it, but I like the speed-up camera action in the film. It seems to bring a faster pace to the movie, and many movies bore me with too much down time. It gives Seagal a break too, before his bones do. What is he like 60 now? He's gotta have a little break so he can keep making movies. I'd like to see any of the people dissing him for this to try half this stuff when they're his age, or accomplish even half of what he has in his lifetime. Yeah, it's not some mega-blockbuster made to bring money. But for what it is and to me I'd say it is well worth a purchase and I hope to see it on Blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a watch. No the best action film,but far from the worst., August 11, 2010
This review is from: A Dangerous Man (DVD)
I don't like to start a fight unless I finish it. Action legend Steven Seagal stars as Shane Daniels, an ex-Special Forces operative released from prison after serving six years hard time for a murder he didn't commit. Back on the street, he comes to the rescue of a beautiful young hostage stashed in a car trunk with millions in cash. Wielding a devastating combination of street fighting smarts and martial arts skills, he suddenly finds himself in a deadly showdown with international drug merchants and the local corrupt cops. As the only ones standing between him and his new found freedom, they're about to discover just how dangerous one man can be in this explosive, wall-to-wall thriller.

The pros

Lots of action. You get gunfights,hand to hand combat and even some real brutal scenes with him messing somebody up ugly. You get a number of hot chicks in it as well,some even got naked. A solid story line for an action film of this type. Seagal is convincing in this type of role. I was never a big fan of his,but I liked this film. Sometimes it's good to watch a basic action film with butt kicking and not much else. Like a guilty pleasure. The acting won't win any awards,but it wasn't bad for a lower budget film like this. I've seen many of these types of films with much worse acting than this. It's nice that he touched upon people getting put in jail on circumstantial evidence in our society

The cons

He may be good at action,but his acting could use some more effort. One scene has him being rode by a naked hot white chick and he sits there stone faced. I had a issue with the camera angles during the fights. It was jumping around at different angles so much I couldn't tell what was going on. I really wish some of these directors would stop trying to get fancy with this stuff. The story was decent,but I wish somebody would try and put a good story in an action film. I find myself not being as interested in films like this as I get older. You can have a good story and tons of action. I felt the island did it fairly well. I like seagal,but this super man things were he never gets hit much in his films is boring to me. Even BRUCE Lee took some lumps in his films. It's more interesting to see a guy have at least one match in the film who can give him some go. Some might have a problem with the level of violence in the film. He does get down and dirty in this film. Also there are brief scenes of nudity and some profanity in the film. Some parents may not want their teenagers watching this. I kind of hated that they didn't explore the subject of people getting forced into prison and the bad arrest that our criminal justice system makes. It would have made this picture much better to have focused on that a bit more. Also they could have developed the relationship with him and his wife a bit more. It would have helped me to feel his pain a bit more when he went to jail and lost every thing. Also why no scenes of him actually being in jail? Lets reinforce and show his suffering a bit more. Silly me though because that would have taken away from his time beating people up

the conclusion

A solid action film worth watching. It's not a great film,but you could do a lot worse. Sometimes it's nice sit around and watch a film like this that's not really about any thing,but people getting messed up ugly. The story line is almost non existent and the star is a one man killing machine. The film is a guilty pleasure. Not his best film,but it made me want to watch some of his other films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Predictable Man, May 6, 2011
This review is from: A Dangerous Man (DVD)
Churning out more movies in 6 months than Hollywood
does in a year, Seagal still hasn't shown any signs
of slowing down despite nearly collecting retirement.
Since Above the Law audiences have been enthralled
by the numerous ways in which a human body can be twisted,
snapped, thrown, pummeled, cut, burned, impaled, shot and
blown to smithereens. And ol' Steven continues to deliver
that need with a cinematic body count rivaling that of a
small country.

However, over the years viewers have been baffled by
the parody of the 6'4" Aikido star.

Uncertain to fans:

1. The gross overuse of poor voice-overs. Also, Steven's
mysterious use of accents ranging from a jive-talkin'
brotha, to a Louisianan bumpkin. Is it mockery or simply
trying to fit in with the natives?

2. Seagal's stand-in's that poorly resemble him; usually
shorter, half his weight and with real hair.

3. How the lapsed time can sometimes feel like more than
double or even triple the film's actual running time.

And still we commit time to his films in desperate hope
for a quick glimpse of films decades past.

Now, advice for future Seagal DTV bad guys:

1. Never, under any circumstance hold a pistol a foot away
from Steven's face. This generally results in being quickly
disarmed in an array of hyper-edited fight shots resulting
in a disc seperating neck chop by a hand big enough to
grasp 3/4 of a basketball, or having your nuts kicked into
your upper abdominal area and rendered useless (Seagal is
a one man army for population control).

2. When you run completely out of ammo, flee. DO NOT by
any means attempt hand-to-hand combat, especially when you
are usually half the man's height and weight and plan to
have children. You might be half his age, and he's usually
standing immobile, but the man's arms can move quicker than
lightning. The unfortunate saps that try typically end up pinned
against a wall, bombarded by flailing arms and then thrown into
every piece of nearby furniture (always done in hyper-editing
mode).

3. Never explain your nefarious deeds while standing 3 feet
away from said bone-breaker/nut-pulverizer, especially when
holding a pistol a foot away from his face while standing
in a room full of furniture.

4. Never make Steven look bad on the set, as it could
result in aforementioned injuries (i.e. leave your confidence
and arrogance at the door).

Advice to producers of the next imminent DTV release:

Please, do not put Steven in any further scenes involving
sex or the possibility of it. It's downright cruel to the
fans and the actresses who just received their high school
diplomas. We watch ONLY to see the dismantling of bodies,
and NOT for the clumsy, awkward, "exotic" scenes that might
get women in their golden years hot and bothered, if such
a fanbase even exists. We implore you to please bury that
statement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of his better movies, December 6, 2012
By 
Non stop action in this one! Lots of shoot-en up and blow stuff up! Good plot and good acting, good editing too. This one could have made it into Theaters, it's that good. One of Seagal's best in years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars "What do you mean 'we,' white boy?", February 15, 2010
This review is from: A Dangerous Man (DVD)
For this particular Seagal fan, his streak ended with this one. So good were Urban Justice and Pistol Whipped that I was willing to let Kill Switch and Against the Dark pass as flukes, and at the time, I was rewarded with Driven to Kill. The Keeper was a step down, and now, "A Dangerous Man" feeds my growing suspicions that Seagal's past DTV disasters had less to do with the company he's affiliated with (then Sony, now 20th Century Fox) and more with the competency of the director handling him. You wouldn't believe by looking at this film that it wasn't made several years ago in the midst of Seagal's unpopular period, because this one's repeats all of the past's ugly mistakes for the new decade.

The story: after serving six years in prison for a crime he didn't commit, ex-Special Forces member Shane Daniels (Seagal) is released and promptly caught up in a deadly triangle between Chinese warlords, the Russian mafia, and corrupt local police about a kidnapped girl (Marlaina Mah) and a bag of drug money. Promised a way out of the country by an underworld boss whose son he rescued (Jesse Hutch, "About a Girl"), Shane must upset the plot of a vicious Chinese colonel (Byron Mann) if he hopes to leave with his life.

The movie starts promisingly: sure, there's some unnecessary post-production editing apparent, but the first two minutes nevertheless feature Steven supplying his own voiceover for a cell phone conversation and sporting one of his trademark jackets. An additional two minutes later, however, everything goes to hell by way of an overkill of obvious dubbing, poorly-disguised stand-ins, and the same quick-cut fight scenes that helped spell death for many of Seagal's DTV ventures. Yet another two minutes later, it's back to looking promising. For this recurring flip-floppery, "A Dangerous Man" is easily one of the most confounding of Steven's movies. It raises the questions why Seagal can do voiceovers for things as insignificant as phone calls but then require someone to match lines to his lips while he's speaking in clear sight, and why it was necessary to resort to stunt doubles and annoying camera angles when we get to see him execute several brilliant aikido moves on his own throughout the film. Honestly, what gives?

To its credit, the plotline doesn't share the convolution of the production methods and is easy to follow - always a plus for Seagalian fare. The acting is decent, with Terry Chen (They Wait) and Jerry Wasserman (The Entrance) adding a stout supporting base of bad guys to the leads. Mob man Vitaly Kravchenko actually steals the show at one point by playing the intimidation game on dirty cop Wasserman better than Steven Seagal ever could. However, neither of these unexpected plusses can match the disappointment of Seagal reverting back to his old film formula for the worse. I was particularly disappointed by the one-sidedness of the eventual Seagal-Byron Mann encounter: because their previous collaboration was in the thoroughly awesome Belly of the Beast, I hoped that some of that style would rub off and make their first mano-e-mano fight something out of the ordinary, but no such luck. There's a bit more action in here than in his previous film, but Steven displays little variation as he dismantles everybody who crosses him in the same brutal-yet-mundane fashion.

By the end, the film's short bursts of competency have been overshadowed by the long lags of damning post-production editing. It's beyond me why so many of these low-budget producers think it necessary to fill their fare with pointless, attention-calling artificialities, but the point's moot by now - this movie has been ruined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Seagal Flick in Years, February 11, 2010
This review is from: A Dangerous Man (DVD)
Steven Seagal has had quite a rebirth in 2009-2010. His reality show has become a huge hit, and his two latest films, "The Keeper" and "A Dangerous Man" have found him using less stunt doubles and going back to his famous brand of wrist and neck snapping karate.

While "The Keeper" was by far his best DTV film, this one is better. For one thing, the cast is much better, and there are no spots in the film that drag. The plot is a familiar one....Seagal is a former special-ops who is down and out after serving 6 years in prison for a crime in which he was not guilty. After he is released, he witnesses a kidnapping/robbery that has connections not only to the Chinese and Russian mobs but also there is corruption deep within the police department. Since Seagal cannot go to the police, he actually befriends the Russians and wages an all-out war in an attempt to rescue a young woman and stop the Chinese from delivering their goods.

There are quite a few explosions, and Seagal does a lot of hand-to-hand combat, much of it in very close quarters. The production and filming is of better quality, so you can actually SEE the entire fight scenes, and the dialogue and characters all make sense and have a purpose in this film. There is still some dubbing of Seagal's voice at times, but it is forgiveable given the amount of action this film offers.

At this stage, Seagal may not make another film that rivals his box office topping glory days. But he doesn't have to. He just has to give the fans what they want, which is a huge amount of revenge-styled fighting and no-holds-barred action....and this film is loaded with it. The only thing missing in this one is his occasional humor....and perhaps that is intentional. Seagal has not been this focused or intent on delivering a quality product in quite some time. 4.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Action, January 22, 2010
This review is from: A Dangerous Man (DVD)
The new action flick from Mr. Seagal " a Dangerous Man " contains all you can expect from a great action movie . Seagal did it again , he is gettin older , yes ( We all do ) , and hes is gettin more violent and mean . COOL MOVIE . Keep on Steven , give us more entertainment please .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, January 26, 2015
By 
richard hart (NEWARK, NEW JERSEY, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Dangerous Man (DVD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Dangerous Man
A Dangerous Man by Keoni Waxman (DVD - 2010)
$14.99 $5.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.