Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: A Family Thanksgiving
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars74
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 13, 2011
I have been waiting for this movie to come out! Wonderful, heartwarming family movie. Acting is wonderful, plot is fast moving. You will love this movie, will be a Thanksgiving favorite of mine for years to come!
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 24, 2011
Yes, this Hallmark Channel movie does take place during the Thanksgiving Holiday, but it's really about considering one's place in life and what's important or meaningful.

A driven, successful, single lawyer(Zuniga),apparently happy, and against her desires, gets transported to an alternative lifestyle through the magic of a "Transpersonal Psychologist"(Dunaway). She's now married with kids, husband and the rigors of motherhood with potty training, feeding and teaching the kids, helping her husband seek his true career, bonding again with her homemaker sister and deciding for herself what's she really wants in life.

Of course, this has all been done before, but it's hilarious to watch as she struggles with day to day life, out of her element, with what we as moms and dads, especially moms, know so well.

The actors perform well, the children, super! It's good to see Faye Dunaway at work even if she only pops in for brief but important bits.

This is comedy with some romance, a touch of drama and a lot of sentiment. Predictable (which of these films are not?)it's fun and warm. There's no violence, language, sex- well, as the married woman, she does remove the shirt of her muscular, handsome husband as a prelude to unshown events. Overall, the film is family friendly. Happy Thanksgiving!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2011
This movie is a good family movie. It was refreshing to sit down and watch a movie with no bad language in the movie. I highly recommend this movie as a family movie.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2011
Enjoyed the movie and would recommend it for the holidays. This is the third holiday movie I have with Daphne Zuniga.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2013
Okay, this is a Hallmark "feel good" movie and due to that, everything is just predictable. The movie starts really slow and catches up half way through... Not sure, but it looks like Daphne was having problems with her legs for her gait looks very uneasy and unstable in several scenes of the movie.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2013
A Family Thanksgiving was a good movie that I've watched more than 2 or 3 times. The entire family can watch this movie; no violence, no foul language, no nudity. Just a good movie to add to anyone's collection.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2014
I plan activities for our senior apartment complex, and enjoyed the movie but was somewhat disappointed that there was little about Thanksgiving until the end.

The movie was cute - a corporate woman lawyer who is anti marriage and children for herself is zapped into the future to see what life could be like if she were to have children. There are many funny scenes, but the movie had more Christmas than Thanksgiving in it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2013
I ordered this last year while in the Christmas movie buying spirit. I think Thanksgiving had already passed so it was a long time before I watched it. However, I've watched it twice this year so obviously I like it. I was surprised to see Faye Dunaway again and she was probably the main reason I ordered it. I had not seen her in anything lately and she is important to the plot of the movie but we don't see a lot of her. This is not an unusual storyline. So many of the movies have someone who lost a loved one around this time of the year or they are so busy with their career that they don't think about any of the holidays. This movie falls into the category of work, only it's one of two that have the plot with a woman and no ghost that got them there. I think the part I liked best was how the super busy lawyer was constantly putting down her sister who is a stay-at-home Mom. The lawyer thinks her job is her life and she believes her sister does nothing and has lots of time. It's nice to see working at home Mom's vindicated as the super sister learns there is more to life than her job and her sister is extremely busy and being a Mom is just as important as her life as a lawyer. Unlike most of these movies, the lawyer did not give up a love to take her job but in the life "Gina" (Faye Dunaway) takes her to, her husbands a man she only met once. It's a movie about choices and while the ending is much like the others made like this, there is a surprise twist in the way it gets there. It's a nice enjoyable family movie while you're in this spirit of the holidays.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2013
This movie is an eye opener about what's important and different directions to take with your life. Career vs Family. I would recommend this to everyone. It's about the trials of being a mother and wife when you've always been career-oriented. Family dynamics at its best.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2012
My wife lives for November and December with Hallmark Movies. This one will not disappoint as it follows the formula to a T! My wife saw about 80% of the movie, but lost a portion. We ordered it for her so she would not have to wait a year to see how it ended.:)

BillH
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.