Start reading A Fragile Peace on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.
OR
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 

A Fragile Peace [Kindle Edition]

Paul Bannister
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: $3.99
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for free and get unlimited access to over 700,000 titles. Learn More

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Daily Deals
Kindle Delivers: Daily Deals
Subscribe to find out about each day's Kindle Daily Deals for adults and young readers. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Book Description

After forming a truce with Constantine, the Emperor of Rome, King Arthur of Britain feels confident in his newly established rule.

His people are united under his banner, the pagan and the Christian living together as one in his lands, and there seems to be nothing left to do but celebrate his triumph.

But a storm is brewing, both within the kingdom and outside it.

A terrible plague spreads through the land, killing thousands and weakening Arthur’s army.

And a rival warlord is gaining power, inciting those on Britain’s borders to mount an attack.

Can Arthur rally enough men to his side to stop the threat of war?

Or will his fragile peace be shattered?

‘A Fragile Peace’ is the fifth book in Paul Bannister’s best-selling ‘Arthur Britannicus’ series, chronicling the life of King Arthur in ancient Britain. It is perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, Ben Kane and Simon Scarrow.

‘I enjoyed A Fragile Peace for several reasons: its ability to bring this historical period alive in all its splendour and brutality, its pace and its successful handling of the first person narrative.’ - Helen McCabe, author of ‘The Price of Beauty’.

'A thrilling story which weaves together both history and legend.' - Richard Foreman, best-selling author of the Swords of Rome series.

'A fantastic insight into Roman life.' - Tom Kasey, best-selling author of 'The Dante Conspiracy'.

Paul Bannister is a journalist and author. His other books in the series are 'Arthur Britannicus', 'Arthur Imperator', ‘Arthur Invictus’ and ‘The King’s Cavalry’.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details

  • File Size: 1461 KB
  • Print Length: 134 pages
  • Publisher: Endeavour Press (June 30, 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00LFW9UF8
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #43,945 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?.


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
Bannister draws you right into the age and scene and keeps you there. And, quite possibly, one may learn something of interest. I find myself going to google (keeper of all knowledge and non-knowledge) quite a bit as I read this series.

A Fragile Peace is the fifth of this series. This series is based upon the real historical, and until recently forgotten, “Emperor Caesar Marcus Aurelius Mausaeus Carausius, Dutiful, Fortunate, the Unconquered,” also known historically as Arth, the Bear, and Caros. The real Carausius did not have the opportunity to enjoy life as long as depicted in this series into the 4th c (died around 293 BC), but such is quite fine when very well written as is this historical fiction.

As I’ve noted previously, this series is not a love story, nor is it romantic. The author depicts reality. No music plays in the background. Bannister has done epic historical research into the age as it relates to Roman military and all relating to Britannia of the age of this very real Arthur.

The main emphasis is upon action and considerations, both strategic and tactical, as must burden the mind of an Emperor (as he indeed was the 1st Emperor of Britain) who is faced with both external threats of invasions as well as serious domestic tribal uprisings.

In the case of this book Arthur is also faced with the terrible and historical plague which wiped out much of his forces as well as the population.

There are very personal tragedies as well as some detailed, well described combat scenes. One can even learn the construction of a light chariot. You never know ...

This 5th book has a bit more subtle humor within once and awhile - not a lot mind you. Just a smidgeon.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made for the movies! July 5, 2014
Just one request ... a loan of Mr. Bannister's time machine! The man evokes a long-gone and bloody era as if he visited just last week - and took notes. After too long a wait, we're back in familiar and finely scripted territory. The details are exquisite and the action furious - the one-on-one battle with Boartooth will have you wincing. Arthur's sidekicks are back and as interesting as always - Grabelius, warrior-bishop Candless, Scandinavian sea raider Iacco Grimr et al ... the usual suspects. Memo to Hollywood: Would someone PLEASE option this series for a movie? And ask Ed Harris if he can do a kingly, Brit accent. Grabelius - Jason Statham; Candless - Arnold Schwarzennegger; Grimr - Viggo Mortensen. Just sayin ...
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read! One for the ages! July 8, 2014
I stumbled across these books about the legendary Arthur after Googling “British knights and legends” some time ago. (Like most Americans with European roots, I’ve thought often – and, after a couple of cold ales, fantasized! – about being a warrior back when horses, swords and “might is right” were the order of the day. Not to mention the added attraction of damsels in distress.)

Paul Bannister’s fourth novel in the series, “The King’s Cavalry,” had just been published and I devoured it, as I did his three earlier ones.

I’m delighted to say “A Fragile Peace” stacks up right alongside its predecessors. And I’ll go along with the earlier reviewer that there’s a great movie here just waiting to be made. Teach Vin Diesel to speak English, instead of whatever it is he mumbles, and he’d make an awesome Scots renegade in a kilt!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category