Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A suprising romance
Patricia Waddell's "A Gentleman's Bargain" is a delight to read. The romantic setting of San Francisco in the late 1800's is colorful and enchanting. Claire Aldrich is looking for her wayward brother when she finds a wealthy gentleman instead. Garret Monroe is just the kind of man she needs to unlock the mysteries of San Francisco, but before she knows it,...
Published on December 5, 2001

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing Historical
In 1887 San Francisco, Claire Aldrich finds herself running short of funds. After her elderly employer passed away in Cincinnati, Claire ventured to San Francisco to find her brother, Donald, her only living relative. A twist of fate brings Claire to the Landauer Hotel where she seeks to find employment. But the part owner of the hotel, banker Garrett Monroe, meets Claire...
Published on December 1, 2001 by Sheri Melnick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing Historical, December 1, 2001
By 
Sheri Melnick (Enola, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Gentleman's Bargain (Mass Market Paperback)
In 1887 San Francisco, Claire Aldrich finds herself running short of funds. After her elderly employer passed away in Cincinnati, Claire ventured to San Francisco to find her brother, Donald, her only living relative. A twist of fate brings Claire to the Landauer Hotel where she seeks to find employment. But the part owner of the hotel, banker Garrett Monroe, meets Claire and finds her the perfect solution to his dilemma.
With his grandmother's failing heart, Garrett feels a duty to succumb to her pressure to get married. If Claire will agree to pose as his fiancé, he will hire a private investigator to locate her missing brother. Having no desire to marry, Garrett is surprised at the feelings that Claire seems to awaken in him. While she is staying with his grandmother at his home on Nob Hill, Garrett finds it difficult to stay away from her and decides that he would like to make her his mistress when their charade is concluded. But Claire will be no man's mistress, even as she fights not to be swayed by Garrett's powers of seduction.
While the attraction and subsequent love scenes between Garrett and Claire are both passionate and steamy, the characters lack the depth that would catapult this read above the ordinary. Garrett is portrayed as the typical male hero, tall, dark, rich, and handsome and chock full of arrogance. And Claire is the naïve, yet feisty virgin. Though many superior novels contain characters of this ilk, the personalities in outstanding romances are so complex and many-layered thereby turning the read from run of the mill to sublime. Overall, though, Ms. Waddell's latest is a pleasing read with a touch of mystery and suspense as the novel draws to its conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A suprising romance, December 5, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Gentleman's Bargain (Mass Market Paperback)
Patricia Waddell's "A Gentleman's Bargain" is a delight to read. The romantic setting of San Francisco in the late 1800's is colorful and enchanting. Claire Aldrich is looking for her wayward brother when she finds a wealthy gentleman instead. Garret Monroe is just the kind of man she needs to unlock the mysteries of San Francisco, but before she knows it, he's holding the key to her heart.
Add a strong dose of sensuality to the mystery and you have a book that will keep you reading. I thoroughly enjoyed Ms. Waddell's characters, as well as her storytelling style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly good read, July 15, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Gentleman's Bargain (Mass Market Paperback)
I just discovered this author and am delighted to know that she has other historicals I can read. Her writing is sensual but sensitive, with good characters and a colorful storyline that kept me interested all the way to the end - which has a few surprises of its own. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent historical, January 21, 2002
This review is from: A Gentleman's Bargain (Mass Market Paperback)
A Gentleman's Bargain is a charming read. Packed with sensuality, super characters, and an unexpected twist that will make the reader sit up and take notice, I hihgly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very, Very Good Historical, April 29, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Gentleman's Bargain (Mass Market Paperback)
I thought this book was extremely good. I enjoyed the characters, the setting, and the sensuality. I highly recommend this books to people who like strong historical romances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Historical, December 24, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Gentleman's Bargain (Mass Market Paperback)
I found A GENTLEMAN'S BARGAIN to be a very good historical romance. I enjoy the story, espeically the secondary characters. The heroine is strong, and the heroine is delightful. The plot surprises rather than bores, and the setting is colorfully done. I felt like I was visiting the San Francisco that used to be. Ms. Waddell pens a wonderfully sensual book that is sure to please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Only Fair, January 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Gentleman's Bargain (Mass Market Paperback)
Patricia Waddell has written a number of books, some of which are very good. Unfortunately this one miss that mark. It's a little too predictable about a business arrangement where the h agrees to act as the H's finance in name only. Of course he is very wealthy, she is not, and then they fall in love--hmmm. Ms. Waddell is a good writer so the book is readable but not up to some of her other books I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Gentleman's Bargain, January 18, 2009
This review is from: A Gentleman's Bargain (Mass Market Paperback)
I have read this book 3 times. I must have a boreing life but I just love this book. The love that Garrett has to give Claire is awsome! I just find myself wrapped up in this book until I'm finised reading it.

I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new., January 14, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: A Gentleman's Bargain (Mass Market Paperback)
Back Cover description: It was strictly a business arrangement. She'd agree to be his pretend bride-in name only. But she never bargained on her own heart's betrayal.
This is an OK historical romance. It takes place in San Francisco in the late 1880's. The characters are the same-beautiful, needy heroine and stalwart hero. No big surprises. How come these guys never help ordinary or plain women?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, April 9, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Gentleman's Bargain (Mass Market Paperback)
I found the Gentleman's Bargain to be an enchanting, entertaining story with an unexpected twist that shows this author isn't afraid to do something different. The romance is sensual, the characters are delightful and the story really takes you back in time. I look forward to reading more of Patricia Waddell's historical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Gentleman's Bargain
A Gentleman's Bargain by Patricia Waddell (Mass Market Paperback - December 1, 2001)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.