Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a very good movie
I think that perhaps the people who reviewed this film negatively simply don't see it the way I do. I don't claim to know what the director had in mind, but I know what I take from this movie. I am NOT a golfer, but this film leaves me with an appreciation for golf which I have never before felt. Bagger Vance was okay, but more an entertaining film than a study of golf...
Published on November 2, 2003 by 3kingsandaduce

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfulfilled potential
This is not really a film about golf, but a film about life with golf as the backdrop. Therein lies the problem. First time director J. Mills Goodloe can't seem to choose where he wants to go with the story and it meanders aimlessly from storyline to storyline in an attempt to give it a coming-of-age flavor.
He would have been better to concentrate on Timmy (Mason...
Published on September 18, 2002 by flickjunkie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a very good movie, November 2, 2003
This review is from: A Gentleman's Game (DVD)
I think that perhaps the people who reviewed this film negatively simply don't see it the way I do. I don't claim to know what the director had in mind, but I know what I take from this movie. I am NOT a golfer, but this film leaves me with an appreciation for golf which I have never before felt. Bagger Vance was okay, but more an entertaining film than a study of golf. Nor is A Gentleman's Game all about golf. There's a lot going on here, some of it is about golfing, some of it deals with the inside, or other side of the game, the "loopers." Ultimately this movie is not about golfing, even though it chiefly centers on golfing and around a golf course. The overall story comes together with meaning greater than its several individual parts. Gary Sinise never dissapoints & the entire cast delivers wonderfully in this film, but Mason Gamble is the one to watch. A very talented young actor. I am reminded of Kevin Spacey in Shipping News, wherein Spacey virtually tells the entire movie with his facial expressions. Gamble does not quite have as demanding a role here as Spacey had in Shipping News, but he does remarkably well with what he's given---& considering his age that's all the more impressive. We easily know what his character, Timmy, is feeling at all times without having to hear any dialog. Mason Gamble has been around a while, & I'm sure will have no trouble remaining in the industry as long as he chooses to keep making movies. Look for him in the quirky Rushmore, or in the hook-setting opening scene of Arlington Road, & periodically thereafter throughout. I believe he was also Dennis the Mennace, & I'm sure he's done a few other films. I like gentleman's Game because it tells a story that centers around something I previously cared nothing about; now I at least have some appreciation for, and a much greater understanding of, golf. It's a good movie, and it's deffinately telling a worth while story. Plus it had the added bonus for me of coming as an unexpected surprise treat when I first saw it. (I had a cheap rental coupon & never hearing of it before, happened upon it while browsing in Hollywood Video) I reccomend this movie as a great one to watch and a good one to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lesson of life!, June 3, 2005
This review is from: A Gentleman's Game (DVD)
Amateur is according the Greek meaning: all those who love what they do .

And somehow the spirit of constant and ascendant improving established the difference in Foster that day when the cheat was done. He imposed to himself the maximum penalty to finish with that hard and unbearable memories.

But when he watches that young promise who tries by all means to get close him and knowing about him, he will feel the last call and something inside him it will awake.

This slow paced but interesting script is a lesson of life, the constancy, tenacity and work ness will never lead you to a dead zone. Something is watching you and sooner or later the truth will shine.

Along the film there are another secondary lines that support the script: the caddy world, the racism and the secret passions. Splendid photography and a brilliant performance of Gary Sinise and Phillip Baker Hal confer this movie an artistic status.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A movie for Golf Lovers, August 27, 2002
By 
Sherry Barkley (Lake Mary, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Gentleman's Game (DVD)
This was a very good movie for anyone who loves golf, or for any one who loves a good story. I picked it up for my fiance, who is definately a "golf nut". He loved it! The characters are interesting and the theme is that of lessons in life and "coming of age". A great addition to any collection!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't let the desire for greatness detract from your inner values, November 18, 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Southern California) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Gentleman's Game (DVD)
What I take from this movie is the message that it IS possible for the dazzle of success and fame to cloud your judgment. The lasting message is not about golf. It is about seeking what you want to achieve for yourself, and not for the enhancement of other people's egos. I don't want to spoil the plot line for those who have not seen it yet. But if you have seen this film, hopefully you know what I mean.
The story is done with a light hand, not relying on overly dramatic posturing for the camera. Mason Gamble does an excellent job of showing the pure joy of a personal success (perfecting the golf swing), to the disappointment he feels from his father, to the sadness of what happens to his fellow caddy buddy, to the blushes of first lust. Gary Sinise is as understated as usual, a lot of what he has to say at the end of the movie coming from his body language and facial expressions rather than from dialogue.
I found it to be a feel good movie, and I recommend it for a rainy or snowy afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Par Effort Approaching Birdie, December 31, 2002
By 
rodboomboom (St. Louis, Missouri United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Gentleman's Game (DVD)
There is much in this golf based movie. The much is its asset and liability. There are too many plots which don't tie together well, and confuse the viewer. Father/son, poor/rich, etc.
What does come out shining is a young boy's love for the game pure and simple. Wealth covering up problems and a morally sound burnt out golf champion. If the director would have just revolved it around this, it would have been more attractive.
As is, a memorable view. The profanity is dominate. Maybe it has to be. Do we need so much to make a point?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfulfilled potential, September 18, 2002
This review is from: A Gentleman's Game (DVD)
This is not really a film about golf, but a film about life with golf as the backdrop. Therein lies the problem. First time director J. Mills Goodloe can't seem to choose where he wants to go with the story and it meanders aimlessly from storyline to storyline in an attempt to give it a coming-of-age flavor.
He would have been better to concentrate on Timmy (Mason Gamble) and his relationship with Foster (Gary Sinise) in his quest to improve his golf game. This is clearly the best and most interesting element of the story. Instead he flits about following Timmy's relationship with the other loopers, his infatuation with the beverage girl and the happenings at various club events. The relationship between Timmy and Foster never really gets much traction until the final scene and even then the validation is delivered via a letter rather than a face to face encounter, which would have made it poignant and satisfying.
The acting by Mason Gamble and Gary Sinise is excellent. They have good chemistry and it is clear they connect. Gamble gives a very steady performance throughout and gives the character a naive charm and steely resolve that are extremely engaging. Sinise plays a stolid and standoffish character harboring a terrible secret and bitter disappointment. His understated performance is a perfect fit for this complex character whose cavalier nature hides deeper turmoil. The rest of the cast is simply terrible. Dylan Baker is horrible as Timmy's dad. Phillip Baker Hall is awful as the two faced Charlie Logan.
This film had great potential that was never realized. I rated it 5/10. It should have stayed with the golf story rather than dissipate itself on the other less interesting elements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story of integrity and honor, March 20, 2014
Slow in spots, and has some unneeded foul language, the story line is carried out well with good character development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy, funny, warm and important., May 4, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Gentleman's Game (DVD)
A terrific movie with everything one could hope for and expect. I liked this movie for it's realism. They threw thr "F" word around a bit deliberately poking fun at movies with gratuitous foul language, I found it apprpriate. Very entertaining, describing golf well and making very good suggestions about life-decisions, I love this movie and highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PURE........................................................, April 26, 2005
By 
This review is from: A Gentleman's Game (DVD)
I don't know if it was because the main character's name is Gamble, or because Henry Simmons fine self is in here, but whichever the case was, I wanted to see this movie!

Timmy Price, and only child listens as his father teaches him "A Gentleman's Game" How relevant it is to take care of your things. This is hard to stomach seeing that it appears Dad, is a pushover. Price is an accountant, who has invested a nice sum to join a prestigious country club. He decides that maybe Timmy could learn how to play golf. Before seeing if he had a niche for it, decides maybe being a caddy would be more fruitful.

Unbeknownst to dad, Timmy Price (Mason Gamble) seems to have a promising future in golf and it's not long before he's considered "a trophy." Foster considered one of the elite golfer's in his day is a golf teacher. As Timmy seeks him out he learns small trades from him, and they grow as friends with the other helping the other to make transitions in the others life.

Timmy and his father have somewhat of a strained relationship, and it seems that as his golf improves it helps the two connect. Dad is also given the opportunity to reestablish himself in his son's eyes as he finally stands up instead of being intimidated by the "HAVE'S!"

We watch as Timmy experiences a crush with the water girl; and friendships with the other caddies. Golf may seem like the most important issue here, yet it was more of an analogy about choices that life has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable sports themed movie with a mentor relationship, April 29, 2014
This was an entertaining movie. It could have explored some of the sup-plot relationships more, but would require more time. It seemed to loose itself with the ending, as if they realized they were running out of time and had to hastily wrap it up. A couple of movie goofs, it you are paying attention. Still an enjoyable sport movie for guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Gentleman's Game
A Gentleman's Game by J. Mills Goodloe (DVD - 2002)
$7.98 $3.85
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.