Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars S.O.S. - More dancehall please
As can be seen from the album jackets, there are a couple of things that Rihanna has improved since her debut album "Music of the Sun". One of these things is that she has expanded her range from reggae/dancehall and lovers' rock to include pop and R&B.

Hit single "S.O.S." is an extremely catchy track, deservedly getting lots of radio play, and the best track...
Published on April 25, 2006 by Amanda Richards

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good Album...
Rihanna is back with her second album in less than a year which is pretty much unheard of in today's industry. Her first album Music of The Sun displayed a lot of potential with songs such as Pon de Replay, You Don't Love Me, The Last Time, and Willing To Wait. Contrary to popular belief, Rihanna really shined on the ballads and midtempos rather than the uptempo tracks...
Published on June 20, 2006 by Enlightened


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars S.O.S. - More dancehall please, April 25, 2006
This review is from: A Girl Like Me (Audio CD)
As can be seen from the album jackets, there are a couple of things that Rihanna has improved since her debut album "Music of the Sun". One of these things is that she has expanded her range from reggae/dancehall and lovers' rock to include pop and R&B.

Hit single "S.O.S." is an extremely catchy track, deservedly getting lots of radio play, and the best track to set the tone for the rest of the album. Second single "Unfaithful" is the opposite - a slow pop ballad with a lot of piano in the background, similar to another track, "A Million Miles Away". "We Ride" is another slow song, but more on the R&B side, as is the sad "Final Goodbye", "P.S. (I'm still Not Over You)" and "A Girl Like Me", with its Spanish guitar backing.

Reggae tracks include "Kisses Don't Lie" (a lover's rock beat); "Dem Haters" (again a slow beat); "Break It Off" (an energetic dancehall track with red hot Sean Paul - great track); "Crazy Little Thing Called Love" (slow jam, not the Queen song); "Selfish Girl" (another slow one); and a remix of "If It's Lovin' That You Want" from the first album.

A reasonably good follow up to "Music of the Sun", but too heavy on the ballads which I don't think are her strongest area. A few more of her trademark Dancehall tracks would have made this a much better album.

Amanda Richards, April 25, 2006
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahhhhh A Breath Of Fresh Air! Veryyyy Nice Album! Cute!, March 14, 2006
This review is from: A Girl Like Me (Audio CD)
Rihanna's Sophomore CD, A Girl Like Me, proves her as more of a talented Artist than we thought she was with her first CD, Music of the Sun. On this new set Rihanna showcases more mellow vocals, reminiscent of her Idol Beyonce Knowles, but miles away from her vocally, but still very impressive, Overal this album gets a 9/10 from me, so heres a review of all the songs.

1. SOS (10/10)- First single from the abum, nice pop beat and flavor to it. This song is doing very god on the charts, one of the outstanding songs on the album.

2. Kisses Don't Lie (7/10)- This song has great vocals, but the Rock type feel just doesnt grab my attention, like the other ones, so this is not a favorite of mine.

3. Unfaithful (8.5/10)- Her 2nd single written by Ne-Yo, has a nice pop ballad feel to it. Not Outstanding, but it does have great lyrics and delivers a good vocal performance, not my favorite on the album though.

4. We Ride (10/10)- THIS IS IT!!!!!1 ONE OF THE BEST SONGS ON THE ALBUM...COMPLETELY OUTSTANDING!!!!!! IT SOUNDS LIKE A BRIAN MICHAEL COX PRODUCTION, THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN HER NEXT SINGLE, IT HAS A STRAIGHT RADIO FRIENDLY R&B/POP MIXTURE. DEFINITELY ONE OF MY FAVORITES.

5. Dem Haters (9/10)- I like this song alot! it has a great reggae beat to it, and she delivers good lyrics in it about her haters and people who said she wasnt gon make it.

6. Final Goodbye (8/10)- Nice mellow ballad...very deep lyrics, didnt grab my attention at first, but as I begin to listen, it grew on me.

7. Break It Off (9/10)- Nice reggae club song, could be a great dance track for those who like to reggae dance.....Rihanna's vocals on here are sooooooo good also. I love this girls voice for some reason

8. Crazy Thing Called Love (6/10)- I dont really like this song. Its nice to listen to cause of the vocals, but it seem like it has the same beat as "Dem Haters", but slowed down a little bit.

9. Selfish Girl (5/10)- I like Reggae and all, but this has another one of those same beats like "Dem Haters" and "Crazy thing called Love", she could have switched up the beats..this has to be my least favorite song..never the less still good vocals though, the reggae beat im just not feeling.

10. P.S. (Im still not over you) (100/10)- THIS IS THE BEST SONG ON THE ALBUM!!!!!! MY FAVORITE OF THEM ALL! GREAT LYRICS! VERY CATCHY! THIS SHOULD DEFINITELY BE A SINGLE! IT IS GREAT PURE R&B! I LOVEEEEEEEE THIS SONG! VERY EMOTIONAL IF U LISTEN CLOSELY TO THE LYRICS.

11. A Girl Like Me (9/10)- This is a cool nice laid back song, i can listen to this alot. nothin much to say about it, cause of the title, and im a guy, but never the less a cool mellow r&B song with great lyrics.

12. Million Miles Away (6/10)- Another one of my least favorites from the album, it sounds too much like "Now I Know" from her last album, and thats what makes it not catch my attention, seems like it outta be a remix to that song or somethin.

Overall This CD Gets a:

95- For Vocals

80- For Beats

90- For Production and Arrangement

This CD Provides Alot of Different Genre Flavor, Its a mixture between Pop/Rock/R&B, with mostly R&B, ill say give it a try....you wont be dissapointed at ALL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way Better Than I Thought, May 9, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: A Girl Like Me (Audio CD)
This album has a song for everyone. The slow ballads and the fast pace songs are relly good.

These are all the songs and how I have ranked them:

SOS 10/10

Kisses Don't Lie 8/10

Unfaithful 10/10

We Ride 8/10

Dem Haters 8/10

Final Goodbye 8/10

Break It Off 9/10

Crazy Little Thing Called Love 6/10

Selfish Girl 8/10

P.S. (I'm Still Not Over You) 8/10

A Girl Like Me 9/10

A Million Miles Away 9/10

If It's Lovin' That You Want-Part 2 10/10

Overall I think it is an improvement from Music Of The Sun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SECOND ALBUM. Something forever one., April 25, 2006
This review is from: A Girl Like Me (Audio CD)
Rihanna's back, and shows that she's here to STAY. The entire album is great. I first heard it online, and i was like yeah Rihanna is doing her thing once again. The album is filled with great ballads and i love it's for its diversity. There is a song on it for everyone.

Heres the song Break Down.

1) SOS- Whats left to say, excellent song, brillant move Def

Jam for making it the first singl--10/10

2) Kisses Dont Lie- I didn't like this osng at first, i was

like it sounds, just plain weird, but if

you actuallyLISTEN, to the lyrics you'll

fall in love with it.Nice mix of Reggea

and Rock--9/10

3) Unfaithful- thumbs up to my boy NE-YO superio lyrics,

Rihanna's still developing voice flows PERFECTLY

With the beat. The overall production was great.

10/10

4) We Ride- This was also another great song,lyrically,vocally,

and production wise. I can actually hear this being

turned up in peoples car this Summer. 10/10

5) Dem Haters- STRAIGHT UP REGGAE,IF YOU DONT LIKE REGGAE,THEN

THIS ONE AINT FOR YOU. But i loved it, this song

should be played at a loud volume when people are

hatin' on you. 9/10

6) Final Goodbye- It's a really sad song, it has some nice

lyrics nd the beat it's cool and slow. 9/10

7) Break it Off- For Best dance collaboration, this song has

the title both lyrically & vocally Rihanna

brings IT and Sean just spices the song up,

RECOMMENED 3rd single, for this SUMMER..

8) Crazy little thing called love- Like "Kisses Dont Lie" i was

like Uhh. But it's a passionate song, lyrically

it was slamin' but production was it's downfall.

8/10

9) Selfisg Girl- Nice song,nice lyrics, bad production, but

another overall "OK"-Reggae songs-7/10

10) P.S.(I'm still not over you)- Amazingly nice song love

song, production wasn't that

bad. 9/10

11) A Girl Like Me- The album titled track. I like this song,

as much as i liked Music of the sun, form

Music of the Sun,... I hope i didn't just

confuse you, 9/10

12) A Million Miles Away- Similar to UNfaithful, and NOW I KNOW

from her past album, but the song

remains as one of my favorite Ballads

on this album.Rihanna's vocally

maturing, and one day when she sings

this it will sound even better.9/10

13) If it's loving that you want.Part II- I love the orginally,

and i love this one

as well.9/10

Overall Great second album, could have been better produced.

5-STANDOUT TRACKS

SOS-

Unfaithful-

Break it Off-

We Ride-

*Dem Haters- For the island people-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good Album..., June 20, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Girl Like Me (Audio CD)
Rihanna is back with her second album in less than a year which is pretty much unheard of in today's industry. Her first album Music of The Sun displayed a lot of potential with songs such as Pon de Replay, You Don't Love Me, The Last Time, and Willing To Wait. Contrary to popular belief, Rihanna really shined on the ballads and midtempos rather than the uptempo tracks. Recognizing this fact, the second album leans heavily on the ballads and midtempos and it really works. Some people don't like Rihanna's voice and compare her to Beyonce ( 0which it seems like everyone that comes out female is somehow a Beyonce clone in some way shape or form)...I don't believe any of that; she doesn't sound like Beyonce and she doesn't make songs like Beyonce. People need to get over it.

Back to the album, A Girl Like Me is a good listen and manages to give a good mix of slow jams (Unfaithful, PS Im Still Not Over You, Million Miles Away, Title song), dance tunes (Break It Off, SOS, If it's Lovin), and grooves (We Ride, Dem Haters, Crazy Thing). I really like the songwriting on this album too especially Unfaithful. The album is just the right length at 13 tracks and enough gems throughout to keep you interested. I would say that this album is a bit of a mood album meaning I can't just sit and listen to it but it's still a good effort especially coming from Rihanna. This album is a step up from her debut album and if she keeps progressing she'll soon be a real force to reckon with. 3.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A solid album from Rihanna, May 19, 2006
This review is from: A Girl Like Me (Audio CD)
This album is incredibly solid, and it deserves alot more attention than her debut. Songs like "Break It Off" f/ Sean Paul and "SOS" have you dancing, while ballads like "Final Goodbye" and "A Million Miles Away" have you thinking. The production on this album is done very well, and I wish Rihanna success.

"SOS" - 10/10

"Kisses Don't Lie" - 8/10

"Unfaithful - 10/10

"We Ride" - 10/10

"Dem Haters" - 7/10

"Final Goodbye" - 9/10

"Break It Off" - 8/10

"Crazy Little Thing Called Love - 6/10

"Selfish Girl" - 5/10

"P.S (I'm Still Not Over You) - 9/10

"A Girl Like Me" - 6/10

"A Million Miles Away" - 9/10

"If It's Lovin' That You Want pt. 2" - 5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great POP Album!!!, June 13, 2006
By 
Destiny (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Girl Like Me (Audio CD)
This album is way better than the previous one (Music of The Sun), it has the blend of pop, r&b, rock and hip-hop. I've always been a fan of Rihanna and its nice to see a artists (including Ciara) who don't have to curse or sing about sex in every song.

1- SOS - The lead single that peaked at #1 in many many countries. It was originally supposed to be recorded by Christina Milian but she wouldn't (maybe to poppy for her?). It has the music from Tainted Love with it, it's a great pop song to dance too. 10/10
2- Kisses Don't Lie - I hope that this is single #3. It's a blend of pop and rock and is very catchy. It's a nice fun loving summer track. It's about a girl who is "caught between yes and no" because kisses don't lie! 10/10
3- Unfaithful - The 2nd single. It's a ballad and I believe the song should sell well. It's about a girl who is cheating on her fella and doesn't wanna do it anymore because it's killing him, and she doesn't wanna be a "murderer". The song shows another side of Rihanna. 9.5/10
4- We Ride - Another potential single. Very much mainstream r&b. About a guy who doesn't fell the same way about a girl and she is trying to accept the fact that they both "ride" and nothing more will become of it. 9.5/10
5- Dem Haters - This song is a good collaboration between Rihanna and Dwane Husbands (who?). A lot of artists these days sing about people who hate them and how they don't care, but this track is more sophisticated and fun. Very much pop. 7/10
6- Final Goodbye - I didn't like this song at all at first, but it does grow on you. The song is about a girl finally telling a guy how she honestly feels for the first time before they part ways. 7/10
7- Break It Off (With Sean Paul) - This is a great club track, I think it's going to be a single (or is has been released?). It's more of a Sean Paul track, oppose to Rihanna, she has more of a feature bit. Great to dance too...7/10
8- Crazy Little Thing Called Love - Rihanna goes back to her island roots with this track. I'd call it more of a filler track as the song doesn't build up to anything, maybe a track that was left off the previous album? 3/10
9- Selfish Girl - Another island track, sounds familiar to the previous song, a filler track. 3/10
10- PS (I'm Still Not Over You) - A ballad, it's not the best song but it's not all that bad. I would say it is one of the weaker ones but still its bearable. Rihanna sings about a previous love that she still has strong feelings for. 5/10
11- A Girl Like Me - I love this track! At first I thought it was very bland but its cool. Rihanna sounds a lil like Beyonce here, and I love the way she holds "Inside" during the last Bridge before the Chorus. Very classy, popish song. 8/10
12- A Million Miles Away - It was very ironic because when I bought this album I could so relate to this track. Many of us have been in relationships were you drift away from each other and you cant understand what went wrong and how it happened. Well that's the feeling that Rihanna is singing in this track. Great way to close the album. 9/10
13- If It's Lovin That You Want (Part II) - I never really liked this song to begin with hence not liking this remix version. 4/10
14- Pon De Replay (Remix) - Very bass remix, its alright but its more about instruments than vocals here. 6/10

Overall I'd recommend this album highly. Its one of the best pop albums Ive heard in a while.

Best tracks:
SOS
Kisses Don't Lie
Unfaithful
We Ride
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More shallow, infantile pop music, May 17, 2006
By 
This review is from: A Girl Like Me (Audio CD)
Hey kids! If you're looking for music that's as satisfying and refreshing as a frozen sugar cube, deeper than a pool that's a foot deep and more exciting than watching paint dry, look no further than Rihanna's album, A Girl Like Me! Listen to her wonderful studio-altered, digitally processed voice! Gasp at the thought-provoking lyrics about needing to be rescued, falling in love and wanting to make love all night long! Marvel at the synths, bleeps and squiggly sound effects that represent real reggae! Forget no-good corporate hacks like Bob Marley, Peter Tosh, Dennis Brown, Damian Marley, I Wayne and Sizzla, because Rihanna is the real deal and she wants you, boys! What an astounding, brilliant, masterfully crafted work of perfection! I like music, and I like Rihanna! She's just as brilliant as amazing artists like Britney Spears, Good Charlotte and Simple Plan! They should all tour together, how great would that be? ...

... Alright, enough already. I can't keep this facade up any longer. That was just me channeling one of those incredibly enthusiastic, overzealous Rihanna marks that think she's the greatest thing since sliced bread. I wholeheartedly beg to differ. While her work ethic is to be commended somewhat (second album in 8 or 9 months, but all she contributes is her weak vocals), A Girl Like Me is just another example of what's gone so horrible wrong with the music industry - the fact that labels still insist on pushing shallow disposable rubbish on everyone. Essentially what is wrong with this album is presented in the first paragraph as backhanded compliments.

On top of this, the fact that Rihanna is just another Beyonce wannabe (who herself is a Diana Ross wannabe) just makes matters worse - the overuse of melismas on this album is enough to drive any sane person mad. But what makes this album a special type of awful is the fact that it is being marketed as reggae. Now, there's some people that feel that modern reggae artists (such as Elephant Man, Sean Paul, even Matisyahu) don't hold a candle to the originators (like Marley and Tosh), but I have grown to enjoy it and recognize it as the evolution of the genre. However, Rihanna is as close to reggae as a band like Fall Out Boy is to punk - in other words, the term reggae must be used VERY loosely. An occasional Caribbean drum flourish and use of the dialect does not a reggae song make. This is much closer to a hybrid of Beyonce and Britney Spears, right down to keeping the barely legal Rihanna's wardrobe budget low by having her prance around in only the skimpiest of outfits. I can just imagine these comments from the director at one of her video shoots: "Hey, Rihanna, what are you doing out here in your underwear? Didn't that outfit that we ordered arrive yet? What's that? The record label wouldn't front the money to cover the cost of the wardrobe? Oh well, I guess we'll shoot anyway. One thing is certain: The teenage boys will love this video.".

In summary: A Girl Like Me is only worth checking out if you can't get enough of banal, vacuous pop garbage. This is not reggae, ska, soca, etc. It's bubblegum pop, and it's a style that has run its course and is becoming very irritating. It's easy to market, and that's why MTV is playing the video every 10 minutes. Speaking of the single, it's really just juvenile lyrics buttressed by the melody of Soft Cell's version of "Tainted Love" - nothing special at all. The rest of the album is equally shallow pop with only a slight Caribbean influence, bookended by remixes of songs from Rihanna's last album. I urge you to look past MTV and "hit music" stations to find better music, reggae or otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars looking better, July 25, 2006
By 
gangstanda izzy (minturn, co United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Girl Like Me (Audio CD)
Yeah, uh... here's my review of each song.

1. SOS- Well it's one of the most popular songs today so I'd say it's doing well.

2. Kisses Don't Lie- Really annoying after awhile

3. Unfaithful- Very good vocals, another popular one

4. We Ride- I don't get the point of the song, but it has a single out, so...

5. Dem Haters- An attempt at being gangsta

6. Final Goodbye- Boring

7. Break It Off- Great idea featuring Sean Paul... but it doesn't work for me

8. Crazy Little Thing Called Love- Another love song

9. Selfish Girl- Uh... Has Rihanna ran out of topics to sing about?

10. P.S. (I'm Still Not Over You)- ANOTHER love song

11. A Girl Like Me- For being the album's title, it's not too great

12. A Million Miles Away- Not really a typical Rihanna song

13. If It's Lovin Pt. 2- A sort of remix on the original. i still like the first better. oh yes another LOVE SONG

Well there it is. the only reason i'd buy it is if you haven't already got SOS and Unfaithful off iTunes or Limewire or something like that. Ciao.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I need to correct the reviewer below, June 30, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: A Girl Like Me (Audio CD)
the cd gets five stars i like it...however for the reviewer that said that there is no such thing called barbadian...you are wrong... people from barbados are called barbadians.."Bajan" is just slang and it is not the formal word amazon is right rihanna is a Barbadian but you can also called her a "bajan".

no offence to the reviewer i just needed to clear that up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Girl Like Me
A Girl Like Me by Rihanna (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.