Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very In-depth look at the Issue
The documentary A Global Warning? (History Channel) provides a very thorough look at the issues of climate change in every sense. Shown on the History Channel in November of 2007, it spoke on all the issues of climate change in scientific and practical terms from ice caps stretching across the northern hemisphere to frozen fields of methane underwater. Every natural...
Published on January 16, 2008 by Regent

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not balanced.
A love story for the man-made or anthropogenic crowd. Uses many many adjectives to describe the dire consequences that are "just around the corner."

No balance at all. Al Gore would love this DVD.

I gave it a second star because it did spend considerable time discussing temperature variations over the past several hundred million years...
Published 19 months ago by TDF


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very In-depth look at the Issue, January 16, 2008
This review is from: A Global Warning? (History Channel) (DVD)
The documentary A Global Warning? (History Channel) provides a very thorough look at the issues of climate change in every sense. Shown on the History Channel in November of 2007, it spoke on all the issues of climate change in scientific and practical terms from ice caps stretching across the northern hemisphere to frozen fields of methane underwater. Every natural occurrence of global warming and cooling throughout the history of Earth is explained and all the possible changes to come man-made and natural are illuminated. Even possible solutions to the problem are explained in-depth (and almost makes you sick that we still drive gas-guzzlers and use fossil fuel power plants).

The only downside to having this much information is having this much information. If you want to know the truth about the issue without and bias or politics getting in the way, this is the way to learn it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Documentary film review, February 6, 2009
This review is from: A Global Warning? (History Channel) (DVD)
' A Global Warning ' (History Channel Documentary) was well-organized with a wealth of supporting scientific evidence. I also found it to be balanced in its perspective indicating global climate change is influenced by both natural events and human-induced activity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reality speaks...this is EXCELLENT, January 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Global Warning? (History Channel) (DVD)
This is one of the best, most extensive documentaries I've seen. So many concepts, once only theories, have now been proven. Those who view this will have a different view of what, in reality, is going on. How wonderful if everyone on this planet could view and understand this great production. Cutting edge information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If this doesn't get your attention, nothing will..., March 14, 2008
By 
BluesFan (High desert Arizona) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Global Warning? (History Channel) (DVD)
Al Gore's "An Inconvenient Truth" got all the hype and awards. The History Channel's "A Global Warning?" only gets the Joe Friday award - "Just the facts, ma'am, just the facts."

If you want to understand why global warming is real and why we need to address the issue now, this is your documentary. It is substance, substance, substance. No grandstanding, no histrionics, no tear-jerking moments. Just a carefully made and compellingly presented factual case for global warming and the possible/probable outcomes from failing to address it.

This is what I thought I was going to get with "An Inconvenient Truth", which is riddled with Al Gore self-aggrandizement and self-pity.

If you want to watch an Al Gore 'feel good' show, get "An Inconvenient Truth". If you want to understand the scientific case for global warming, this is the real deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the perfect film on the history of Earth's many climate changes., April 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Global Warning? (History Channel) (DVD)
This is an easy to understand video on the history of Earth's climate changes and how these past changes show parallels to our present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Poltics in the Way, May 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Global Warning? (History Channel) (DVD)
This is a great overview on the findings of past global climates, and how the past could be the tell-tale of future occurrences. The great part of this movie is that it also delves into how the past climates are found... it scratches the surface on each technique, and only gives examples in one area of findings, but the amount of information in this movie makes it a necessity. As a high school Earth science teacher, this is a staple for my classroom. The information is invaluable, and the students are no longer bounced around the topic politically, like a ping pong ball. Again, this is a lot of information, so i split it into two days... most movies require an accompanying worksheet front and back, this movie takes two front/back worksheets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An overall look at global warming and cooling cycles., February 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Global Warning? (History Channel) (DVD)
This has to be by far the best documentary that I have ever seen concerning the warming and cooling cycles of the earth and their effects on our flora and fauna.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not balanced., December 12, 2012
By 
TDF (West Linn, OR United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Global Warning? (History Channel) (DVD)
A love story for the man-made or anthropogenic crowd. Uses many many adjectives to describe the dire consequences that are "just around the corner."

No balance at all. Al Gore would love this DVD.

I gave it a second star because it did spend considerable time discussing temperature variations over the past several hundred million years. This may help the folks who believe that the earth's temperature has not changed for the past billion years.

Even the packaging was poor. Worst I have ever encountered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, December 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Global Warning? (History Channel) (DVD)
This review of climate change over millions of years explains several reasons for climate change as well as the scientific evidence documenting it. It does discuss the effect of humans on climate without downplaying it but also without bashing humanity completely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous historical look at climate change, January 27, 2008
By 
Ken (PORT ANGELES, WA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Global Warning? (History Channel) (DVD)
I recorded this program when it first aired back in November. I just took the time to watch it and it was well worth the time (I'd buy it, if needed). Though I'm an avid lay reader on the subject of climate science, this show exposed me to several very interesting past climate events I'd not previously heard about. And they presented the best explanations science has for them.

Sometimes science shows on the History channel aren't as accurate as those on the Science channel. But this show was scientifically accurate (I caught 1 very minor misstatement) and well presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Global Warning? (History Channel)
$14.98 $9.60
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.