Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice surprise and charming story.
Very charming story. I encourage everyone who likes christmas movies that are about reconnecting with family and friends to purchase this. This movie is written for adults and is not a young childrens story like the cover suggests though I highly recommend it for families. It is one of the most enduring christmas movies that I have seen in years and I will watch it all...
Published on November 7, 2010 by alaskabrown

versus
19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really about dogs.
This is a cute, nice family movie. However, the dog(s) don't play much of a role in it. I was hoping for something more like "Santa Buddies" which my daughter loved. If you are looking for a dog movie, probably better to keep looking.
Published on December 3, 2010 by Jillian Wine


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice surprise and charming story., November 7, 2010
This review is from: A Golden Christmas (DVD)
Very charming story. I encourage everyone who likes christmas movies that are about reconnecting with family and friends to purchase this. This movie is written for adults and is not a young childrens story like the cover suggests though I highly recommend it for families. It is one of the most enduring christmas movies that I have seen in years and I will watch it all year long, not just at the holidays. The acting is good, the plot is entertaining and modern, and the movie is clean with no profanity or sexual content unsuitable for children/young adults.

The story centers around a widowed mother who returns to her hometown with her son to purchase her parents home to only find out it has been recently sold. In the process of trying to get it back she reconnects with her family and she rediscovers a long lost crush from her childhood with the help of a dog that suddenly appears in their life. Wonderful little gem that I will enjoy watching for years to come all throughout the year. If you like hallmark movies or lifetime movies you will really enjoy this movie though the acting is better in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Movie, December 24, 2010
This review is from: A Golden Christmas (DVD)
All in all this is a pretty sweet little movie. The actors are good, the story is kinda familiar but still oddly fun and the chemistry between the two leads is actually pretty good. Both play off of each other well and they're actually interesting characters who aren't instantly sappily in love like so many lame movies. Yes it's cheesy in places but it's still fun.

Also I want to acknowledge that there are a lot of comments from people annoyed that there's not as many dog scenes as the image cover suggests and to an extent they're right, but if they had actually read the story description then it would've been clear that this was a love story and not a dog story. It's kind of like seeing the DVD of Dollhouse and thinking it's about an actual kids toy dollhouse, sure the title suggests it but it helps a lot if you read the description before you buy the movie. You know how they say "Don't judge a book by it's cover"? Same applies to movies, read the plot description on the main page before buying this (Or any other) movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Misleading cover photo--good movie, November 9, 2010
By 
J. Olsen (UT, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Golden Christmas (DVD)
As has been mentioned, the cover would lead you to believe that this is a kids movie about a bunch of dogs. Not so.

Andrea Roth plays Jessica, a single mom, widowed for three years. During those three years she has avoided family gatherings. She had always been such a "together" person throughout her life and after her husband died she felt like she was a mess. She didn't want her family to see her that way. Now her parents are trying to sell their home and move to Florida, where all their friends have gone. She has decided to take her young son and go home for Christmas to surprise her parents with an offer to buy their home. She has a stronger than usual attachment to the place. When her father (played so well by Bruce Davison) first bought the land on which he built the home, the family had spent most of the summer camping there. She was only nine and had connected with a boy her age whose family was also camping in the vicinity. They had been inseparable, along with a golden retriever that seemed to attach itself to them, and as she remembers that time through flashbacks, she tells her young son that it had been the perfect summer. As the summer had come to a close she and her friend had gathered small things that reminded them of their time together and buried them as a time capsule in a metal lunch box--and they had made some special promises to each other. The boy had carved their names in a tree near the burial site--only problem was that they had never used their real names throughout the summer, choosing instead the names of characters from the movie Star Wars. Now she has no idea who that boy might be, though her son is sure she will meet him somewhere.

Back with the family she discovers that her parents have a surprise for her--they have finally sold their home. She is not happy with the situation and goes about trying to change it--estranging herself from the man who has bought the home, and making the real estate agent, an old high school friend, wonder what has happened to her. Jessica finally realizes that she has been behaving very selfishly and sets about to make reparations. It is fun to see how things finally unfold, though the outcome is no surprise.

It isn't perfect--what movie is? Both of the main leads were good, but I would have liked a little more believable chemistry between them. Though mostly family friendly, some might want to know that there was one incident of profanity and one of swearing. Also, when Jessica first tells her sister about the friend she used to meet in the woods, before she has mentioned their ages at the time, her sister blurts out, "You guys did it in the woods?" And finally, I winced a little when Jessica's mom mentions "getting our butts to Florida." Not the kind of thing we say in our home, though I know it is mild by today's standards.

One of the things I liked about this movie was that I felt like the actors were talking the way people really talk to each other these days, and not just reading memorized lines. There were some clever exchanges--especially between Jessica and her sister Anna, played by Elisa Donovan. And if you are concerned about good role models for your kids, other than a little normal disappointment about not getting a dog for Christmas, the children in this movie are well-behaved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really about dogs., December 3, 2010
By 
Jillian Wine (Tucson, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Golden Christmas (DVD)
This is a cute, nice family movie. However, the dog(s) don't play much of a role in it. I was hoping for something more like "Santa Buddies" which my daughter loved. If you are looking for a dog movie, probably better to keep looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie for kids!, April 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Golden Christmas (DVD)
Bought this for my grandaughter at Christmas and she loved it. This is a great movie for kids and a great price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars grandkids, March 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Golden Christmas (DVD)
i bought this for my grandkids, it came when it was suppose to, i would recommend this movie to other people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A golden christmas, February 7, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Golden Christmas (DVD)
Great holiday movie. Kept the children interested' I heard that there is a golden Christmas 2. I guess I will try to get it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Golden Christmas - Would Watch Again, February 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Golden Christmas (DVD)
I like good clean movies (or as clean as you can get nowadays). A Golden Christmas came very close. There were a few utterances of mild crude language and drinking in a few scenes. I enjoyed the movie and would watch it again. There were several parts that I thought could have been better, but it was entertaining.

The only thing I didn't like was how Jesse attempts to sabotage a real estate sale. She hasn't been home in years (because she couldn't deal with the grief of her husbands death), but this Christmas she comes home and plans on surprising her parents with the news that she is going to buy their house that they have been trying to sell for months. Only to find out that they just barely reached an agreement with a buyer, Michael, but it is contingent on him selling his house. She is furious and can't understand how her parents could sell "her house". That night, a stranger follows his dog to the house. She is kind and polite...until she finds out he is the buyer. All of a sudden she turns on him and treats him as the enemy. Her obsession to buy the house leads her to stand in the way of would-be-buyers of Michael's home and he eventually finds out. Just as you are really starting to dislike her, she how horrible she has been and how much she hurt him and surrenders her parents home and secretly buys his.

Despite her behavior and since she learned from it and tried to make up for it, I would watch this movie again. It was funny, cute and really pretty clean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Golden Christmas, November 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Golden Christmas (DVD)
There are all kinds of factors that make us open our eyes to love and to the person we fall in love with. To have dogs help us find our way is AMAZING!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAVORITE CHRISTMAS MOVIE...VERY SWEET., November 9, 2013
This review is from: A Golden Christmas (DVD)
This is my favorite Christmas Movie. I watch it every year, and do not believe there is ANYTHING offensive to children. I don't know of any child over 8, or even before, that hasn't had a sweet crush on someone, and shared something, even if just a rock, for friendship. I am 74 and having raised 7 children have witnessed many a crush that is sweet and not sexual...there is NOTHING that would encourage anything sexual in this sweet movie...in a day when there is precious little on the screen you can watch...and any 'misdeeds' in the movie are acknowledged and repented and discussed the correct handling...life is not perfect and it shows the results and recovering from wrong decisions. Some people would hate Bambi...what can I say?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Golden Christmas
A Golden Christmas by John Murlowski (DVD - 2010)
$6.95 $4.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.