Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny movie with comedy like "Change-Up" More people would watch if title was different. I love it. I say A-
"People used to have them all the time, what happened to our generation? I'll tell you what happened...AIDS." A close group of 30 something year old friends who have been friends since high school find out that their party house is being sold they try to come up with one last blowout party. After a few suggestions they decide on the most extreme one yet...an orgy. This is...
Published on December 18, 2011 by Tony Heck

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars The Title Tells It All!
Trying to figure out how I accidentally started watching this before I knew the title. By thirty something, these people should know better! Over-the-top drinking and sex you'd expect from teens and twenty-somethings.

The acting was pretty good, but the story was somewhat silly. If people learn life lessons from movies, the take away thought is, will I ever...
Published 12 months ago by SV Wade


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny movie with comedy like "Change-Up" More people would watch if title was different. I love it. I say A-, December 18, 2011
By 
Tony Heck (Belgrade, MT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Good Old Fashioned Orgy (DVD)
"People used to have them all the time, what happened to our generation? I'll tell you what happened...AIDS." A close group of 30 something year old friends who have been friends since high school find out that their party house is being sold they try to come up with one last blowout party. After a few suggestions they decide on the most extreme one yet...an orgy. This is a movie that I think will only do well be word of mouth from the brave people who watch it first. I really loved this movie and laughed the entire way through. I think that the biggest problem this movie has is the title. If it was called The Last Party, or Growing Up or even Friends Forever I think it would have done better because most people are either too offended or uptight to see a movie with this title. I will say there is quite a bit of nudity and sex in this, but nothing outrageous and a little more then "Hall Pass" or the "Change-up" (which is the same type of comedy this is). Don't be afraid of the title or embarrassed to watch it, this is a very very funny movie. Overall, a very surprisingly sweet and funny comedy that fans of "Change-Up" will love. I loved it. I give it an A-.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Day "Big Chill", February 20, 2012
By 
Eugeboy "EugeBoy @ Large!" (Boise, Idaho, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A Good Old Fashioned Orgy UNRATED Watched this movie last night with my wife who originally thought I had rented a porno (I wont say if she was thrilled or not :) 'GOFO' will probably become somewhat of a classic and is definitely a 'must have' for the adult section (non-porn) of your video library. The humor is well written and the characters are well cast. The movie made me wax nostalgic for the classic movie - "The Big Chill". Like 'Chill' it is a story of a group of friends that have accompanied each other on life's journey for quite sometime. They are at different stages of personal development and self awareness. I won't give the plot away but just know that you will laugh and smile a lot throughout the show. There is some nudity and some non-explicit sex scenes, so you may not want to chose it for family movie night with young kids. For adults, however, you will recognize your yourself and your friends in this show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as dirty as the title would make it seem, December 28, 2011
This review is from: A Good Old Fashioned Orgy (DVD)
Sure it does have nudity and the obvious sex scenes, but its not as bad as you would think. It's actually a really funny movie that is more about friendships and relationships than a good old fashioned orgy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST COMEDY OF 2011, A CULT CLASSIC!!, February 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Good Old Fashioned Orgy (DVD)
I was one of the only people who saw this movie in the theater. I know this because everyone I recommend the film to has never heard of it. You would think any film with this title would have gotten some attention, but whoever marketed it dropped the ball because it came and went without a peep. More important than the attention-grabbing title (the cleverness seems to fly over the head of idiots who think it's profane), is the fact that THIS MOVIE ROCKS! It's funny throughout, reminds me of one of the Apatow movies mixed with The Big Chill and a little Risky Business thrown in for good measure. I also thought it reminded me of Dazed and Confused (another one of my all-time favorites), and I think this film will also be one people look back on and be amazed at all of the comedic talent it launched. Jason Sudeikis is great on SNL, but his movies have been hit and miss. This one hits in a big way, and he carries it with the wise-ass charm of a young Bill Murray. Tyler Labine steals scene after scene and Nick Kroll (from The League) proves he's more than just funny, he's a great actor. The women in the film are given equal weight (important for a movie like this), and they deliver. Lake Bell is perfect as the uptight therapist and Michelle Borth could talk anyone into an orgy. Lindsay Sloane is adorable as the girl who's more concerned about getting naked in front of her friends than the actual sex, and Will Forte and Lucy Punch are hilarious every second they're on screen. I actually wish they were in a few more scenes, they're so funny, but that's a small complaint.

Overall, this movie is more than just funny (seriously, funniest movie of 2011 and maybe more) but it's also a GREAT film. Very real, oddly sweet and in the end more about friendship than sex. Well, maybe both equally, but it works. BUY THIS FILM! You'll become an acolyte like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, March 9, 2012
This review is from: A Good Old Fashioned Orgy (DVD)
Just rented and watched this and I gotta say, I highly reccommend it to anyone who likes to laugh. I love movies that are quotable and this is definitely one of those. It's got boobs, tons of alcohol, sex fetishes, and alot of partying... ooh and even a little girl-on-girl action! Everyone plays their part very well. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE LAMEST GENERATION, March 6, 2014
This review is from: A Good Old Fashioned Orgy (DVD)
Eric (Jason Sudeikis) lives in his dad's summer home. He loves to throw parties for his circle of friends. He opts for his last party of the summer to throw an orgy. The gang which is at first reluctant is goaded into it because their generation missed out on the sex because of AIDS. They are "the lamest generation."

Meanwhile the house is on the market and Eric has suddenly developed feeling for the realtor (Leslie Bibb) which did nothing for the story.

The humor was hit and miss, but usually near the mark. There were some great scenes such as when the newlyweds are upset they weren't invited to the perv inner circle. I thought the orgy itself was anti-climatic as the writers needed to have a sex scene, but didn't know how to write one without much sex and still be funny.

A me-too sex comedy, slightly above par.

F-bombs, sex, nudity male and female (Dee Dee Rescher, Jon Stafford, Angela Sarafyan of "Twilight")
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Raunchy but hilarious, December 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Good Old Fashioned Orgy (DVD)
I purchased because of scenes in Wilmington, NC. It was hilarious. A bit raunchy in parts. The majority of the scenes focus on the dynamic between the group of friends. Also great if you're one of those people who watches and says "He was in the movie..." I'd like to find the rated R version that was shown in theaters to see the difference. I'm sure it was toned down a bit. Will definitely watch again to see what I missed the first time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It!!, June 7, 2012
By 
The Best Out West (West of the Mississippi) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Good Old Fashioned Orgy (DVD)
I was disappointed when this movie showed up from Netflix. I popped it in not expecting anything, and was completely blown out of the water. The story centers around a group of friends, and one of them happens to have access to a beach house, who throw AWESOME parties (think the best fraternity party you've ever been to). The house is being put of for sale, so Eric (who's father owns the house) decides that there needs to be one giant blow out: an orgy! At first there is some himming and hawing, but eventually everyone is on board. The comedy throughout this movie is top shelf. The couple twists thrown in keep the movie from being predictable (thankfully) and the flow makes it so there aren't any dry spots. Overall, this is probably the best comedy I've seen in a year or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who knew?!, January 28, 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (FL, United States) - See all my reviews
This movie is hilarious! I've watched it multiple times in the last week alone. I liked all the actors and really enjoyed all the on-screen chemistry they have as friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unconventional Exploration Among Friends, July 8, 2013
This review is from: A Good Old Fashioned Orgy (DVD)
"A Good Old Fashioned Orgy" is a campy film that follows the summer events of close friends who get together for major parties. At least two of the men spearhead a plan that would involve a wild party during labor day weekend. The film ended up being slightly different from what I expected, but still good. The following listing includes some of the actors/actresses included in "A Good Old Fashioned Orgy": Jason Sudekis, Leslie Bibb, Lake Bell,Michelle Borth, Nick Kroll,Angela Sarafyan, Lindsay Sloane, Martin Starr, Lucy Punch, Will Forte, and Don Johnson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Good Old Fashioned Orgy
A Good Old Fashioned Orgy by Peter Huyck (DVD - 2011)
$14.99 $9.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.