Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Middle East Review
This book arrived in brand-new condition, and the price for the size and quality was great. I'm using this for my Modern Middle East class at college, and the professor stated that for the price, this was the best book for finding the most concise and useful history describing how the Middle East we know came to be. Some of the names and words are not the typical...
Published 23 months ago by Jane Austen

versus
7 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Political Correctness Masquerading as Scholarly Work
This is a classic example of political correctness masquerading as scholarly work.
It is clear early on that the authors make a point of whitewashing Islam's violent sterilization of the Arabian peninsula of all other peoples and religions, and then goes on to blame Israel and "American Foreign Policy" for the lack of progress in every Muslim nation around...
Published 14 months ago by Michael Margulies


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Middle East Review, February 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A History of the Modern Middle East (Paperback)
This book arrived in brand-new condition, and the price for the size and quality was great. I'm using this for my Modern Middle East class at college, and the professor stated that for the price, this was the best book for finding the most concise and useful history describing how the Middle East we know came to be. Some of the names and words are not the typical spellings, but differ based upon the author's discretion. The book reads well, has maps interspersed for better understanding, and has occasional pictures to depict important figures. The glossary is quite useful in defining unfamiliar terms. All in all, one of my favorite textbooks - it's one of the useful ones!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, Quality, In Depth Book, March 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A History of the Modern Middle East (Paperback)
I had never studied any Middle Eastern history before, and this book was very thorough and clear about a lot of things. It could have been organized a bit better, but I can't see how it could have been much more helpful.
It was required reading for my Modern Middle Eastern Studies class, and after reading a chapter, I was usually prepared for the lecture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent review of the history of the Middle East, December 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A very thorough review of the complexity of the Middle East through the lens of time. Will give you great insight into why there are no quick fixes to the challenges of the region, but also that there are things to build on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for college and gives you information about middle east history you probably never knew., October 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A History of the Modern Middle East (Paperback)
Purchased for an advanced history class for college. Very informative and it was great to use for research. Want to bulk up on your middle east history then get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good general history of middle east, December 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A History of the Modern Middle East (Paperback)
sophisticated, good general history of middle east.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a very worthwhile read, April 23, 2014
By 
H. lemcke "Russ Lemcke" (falmouth, ma United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A History of the Modern Middle East (Paperback)
While I have studied the middle east in various ways, I found this one very worthwhile. It highlights very well some large missteps made by the west, before, during and after the tragic Balfour Declaration through French, British and American missteps. It helped me to understand why there is so much mistrust of the west in this part of the world. Perhaps if George W Bush had read this book, he would not have made the terrible error of invading Iraq. Ditto for the low grade US/Iranian confrontations during the Iraq/Iran war.
It is a long book, but very much worth the time and effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Textbook, March 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great book that gives better perspective of Middle East. The added advantage of downloading to Kindle in time for class was a plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift to an Arab friend, says it is one of the best he has read, January 13, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A History of the Modern Middle East (Paperback)
this was a gift to a very dear Arab friend. I identify that he is Arab because that is important to this review - he is a student of Middle East history as he has traced his family back thousands of years. he said this was one of the best he has read. So, for met that is a 5+ star review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Political Correctness Masquerading as Scholarly Work, November 8, 2013
This review is from: A History of the Modern Middle East (Paperback)
This is a classic example of political correctness masquerading as scholarly work.
It is clear early on that the authors make a point of whitewashing Islam's violent sterilization of the Arabian peninsula of all other peoples and religions, and then goes on to blame Israel and "American Foreign Policy" for the lack of progress in every Muslim nation around the globe.

1400 years of violent Islamic history are ignored. If I didn't know any better I'd say this text was written for anti-semites looking for a platform to blame Israel and the West for the self-inflicted problems of the Muslim world.

In this day and age when any critical or objective evaluation of Islam is met with cries of "bigot!" and "racist!" this "book" is a perfect weapon to silence serious scholarly discussion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring propaganda, September 13, 2013
This review is from: A History of the Modern Middle East (Paperback)
I only bought this book because it was required for my university course. I am a fast reader but I am slogging through this book being bored to tears, except for those moments when I feel like either laughing aloud or gouging my eyes out at the pathetic excuses made for Islamic barbarity, the cover-ups of Arabic genocidal impulses toward all Jews in the Middle East, or the blatant anti-semitic feelings the authors obviously have. If your teacher assigns you this book, I feel for you. Terrible, and filled with blatant extreme leftist lies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A History of the Modern Middle East
A History of the Modern Middle East by William L. Cleveland (Paperback - December 4, 2012)
$52.00 $42.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.