A.I. Apocalypse (Singularity Series Book 2) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
A.I. Apocalypse has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

A.I. Apocalypse Paperback – May 24, 2012

370 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$10.95
$8.45 $6.46

"The Fold" - A new novel by Peter Clines
Browse more popular Sci-Fi Thrillers.
$10.95 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

A.I. Apocalypse + Avogadro Corp: The Singularity Is Closer Than It Appears + The Last Firewall
Price for all three: $33.25

Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

Review

"Highly entertaining, gripping, and thought inspiring. Don't start without the time to finish--it won't let you go."
--Gifford Pinchot III, founder Bainbridge Graduate Institute, author of The Intelligent Organization

"A tremendous book that every single person needs to read. In the vein of Daniel Suarez's Daemon and Freedom(TM), William's book shows that science fiction is becoming science fact. Avogadro Corp describes issues, in solid technical detail, that we are dealing with today that will impact us by 2015, if not sooner. Not enough people have read these books. It's a problem for them, but not for the [emergent] machines."
--Brad Feld, managing director Foundry Group and cofounder TechStars


"An alarming and jaw-dropping tale about how something as innocuous as email can subvert an entire organization. I found myself reading with a sense of awe, and read it way too late into the night."
--Gene Kim, author of Visible Ops

About the Author

William Hertling is the author of Avogadro Corp: The Singularity Is Closer Than It Appears, A.I. Apocalypse, and The Last Firewall.

Brad Feld, cofounder of TechStars, called his first novel, Avogadro Corp, "a tremendous book everyone must read."

A fifteen year veteran of the technology industry, he holds ten patents on software and internet technology and is a frequent speaker at SXSW Interactive. When not writing, he works on web and social strategy.

He's been building online communities since 1986 when he ran seven phones lines into the back of his Apple //e to create an online chat system. An active blogger since 2002, his website, williamhertling.com, receives more than 50,000 visitors a year.

He resides in Portland, Oregon.
If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle edition for only $1.99 (Save 50%). Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.


"Seveneves"
Browse more selections from author Neal Stephenson.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 262 pages
  • Publisher: Liquididea Press (May 24, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0984755748
  • ISBN-13: 978-0984755745
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 0.6 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 14.9 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (370 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #655,598 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

William Hertling is the author of the award-winning Avogadro Corp: The Singularity Is Closer Than It Appears, A.I. Apocalypse, and The Last Firewall. His near-term science-fiction novels about realistic ways strong AI might emerge have been called "frighteningly plausible", "tremendous", and "must read".

He's been influenced by writers such as William Gibson, Charles Stross, Cory Doctorow, and Walter Jon Williams.

William Hertling was born in Brooklyn, New York. He grew up a digital native in the early days of bulletin board systems. His first experiences with net culture occurred when he wired seven phone lines into the back of his Apple //e, creating an online chat system.

He currently resides in Portland, Oregon. By day he works on web and social media for HP. Follow him on twitter at @hertling or visit his blog williamhertling.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful By J. Macdonald on June 5, 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Once the titular apocalypse began, I could not put this book down. I was glad to see ELOPe again--the most interesting character in the book is not a human being. The details of how an AI society would be organized are great. Don't skip the first book, Avogadro Corp., which is also a terrific yarn. And now I can hardly wait for the third in the series.
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful By lodi on March 9, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The wonderful thing about this series is the proximity of it -- the future doesn't depend on some magical technology becoming available, transforming the world. It's all about current trends, current technology, pushed just a little bit and combined in a way that enables powerful, believable results. This book is a perfect follow-on to Avogadro Corp, starting a new story but building on the the previous work.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful By Thomas Coffey on April 6, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Book 1 was good. This, book 2, was even better. It seemed almost written by a different author.

I like a Sy Fy thriller, and even more so when it is based in hard tech.

Hertling packed the following fun into this tales:
Hacking
Algorithms
Biology
Evolution
Singularity
Crowd-sourcing
Virus: propagation, infection, & detection-avoidance
Trade guidelines: trustworthiness, peacfulness, & contribution
A.I.
Learning mechanisms: assimulation, experimentation, & exchange of information
Human thinking in dozens of operations per per minute.

Fun. Fun. Fun. Best i have read in 3 months. That is ~ 90 books.
so lets round up. The book is 1 in a 100.
[]
thos
[]
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Michael Gallagher HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on February 9, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
While not completely necessary, before you read this book you might want to consider reading Avogadro Corp: The Singularity Is Closer Than It Appears (Singularity Series) which is the first book in the series.

This second installment could be a standalone, as there is a large time gap in the series of events between the two which makes me wonder if there will be another installment in the series which bridges the gap as they are really two different books that just so happen to have two characters carrying over from the first installment; unlike most sequels, I thought this one was a heck of a lot better than book one of the series.

I think the author does a good job of giving you one possible scenario of how a computer program could become a true artificial intelligence, as well as how a computer virus program could spin out of control and form multiple A.I.'s as it certainly got me thinking about it well after I completed the book. Without having a spoiler there are a few instances where you want to call "bull" on the situations, yet it was very thought-provoking and one of those books I didn't want to put down until I plowed all the way through it. However, the Walter Mitty fantasy-type moments I had while reading the book - and continue to have - certainly outweigh my previous comment.

If you like a good science fiction thriller that seems just a couple of years into the future, I'd recommend this one.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Terri L. Griffith on March 24, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
William Hertling has the gift. He can create a world that's plausible, but exciting in its differences from our current reality. A.I. Apocalypse tells the tale of what we should worry about as our computers become more powerful and have greater connection to our information... And what we may be able to do about it.

Just as I said after his first book in the Singularity Series, I can't wait for the next one.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By A.P. on February 21, 2014
Format: Paperback
It surprised me enormously to read the almost exclusivly favouring reviews here.

In my opinion, compared to the first book in the series, this number 2 is a huge disappointment.
The premise, as a near future scifi novel, is nice and well done. Technologies are, again like the first book, not to far fetched to be unbelieveable and still relateable. The viewpoint of the emerging AIs also was interesting to read. To speak of the greatest advantage of this book: The writing style, still great and easy to read.

As to the negatives, there are some of them that are worse than others. I'll try to avoid spoilers.
The main character Leon is in my opinion the worst possible type of character there is. Unbelieveable in his actions, he seems to be allergic to any kind of reason. I know that he is supposed to be a teenager, but then again a 'genius' too. In this book there is the constant reminder that he is a biology wiz and can do feats beyond imagining, but judging from his and his friends actions he barely seems capable of thinking. Always stumbling from one catastrophy to the next.
This also applies to the rest of humanity. Faced with a worldwide virus, only the american military and one faction (Not to be named here to avoid spoilers.) seem to be able to react in anyway. The rest of humanity, other countries, previously established mega-cooperations or the private citizen seem to be completely inert in all this chaos, not even trying to do anything. A little bit of consideration, shown in the first book of the series, would have been appreciated.
At last, the scientific background is debateable to say the least. I know, many don't care about the basic science in scifi, but in my opinion one should get the basics of evolutionary biology right.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
A.I. Apocalypse
This item: A.I. Apocalypse
Price: $10.95
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: behavior ai