Customer Reviews


321 Reviews
5 star:
 (269)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An AMAZING book for both YOUNG and OLD!!
I have four words to say... I loved this book! It was an amazing book. It taught me many, many valuable lessons.

A young little girl named Sara Crewe, daughter of Captain Crewe, is an only child who was always treated like royalty. Her father was a very wealthy man and the two lived in India. Sara's father had to go to war so she was sent to Miss Minchin's...
Published on June 4, 2006 by LiipGLoss BeaUTie

versus
28 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A re-write of a classic. Why?
The original book was a favorite of mine in my childhood, and, when I returned as an adult to re-read it to my own daughter, I discovered it all over again.
It is a story about a different kind of princess than one might imagine; a princess that is an orphan - lonely, cold, hungry and abused. Sara Crewe begins life as the beloved, pampered daughter of a rich man...
Published on July 12, 1999 by Margaret Fiore


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An AMAZING book for both YOUNG and OLD!!, June 4, 2006
This review is from: A Little Princess (Hardcover)
I have four words to say... I loved this book! It was an amazing book. It taught me many, many valuable lessons.

A young little girl named Sara Crewe, daughter of Captain Crewe, is an only child who was always treated like royalty. Her father was a very wealthy man and the two lived in India. Sara's father had to go to war so she was sent to Miss Minchin's Select Seminary for Young Ladies. There, Sara was also treated like royalty. Sad to say, Sara's father had died and at that moment, Miss Minchin turned Sara from riches to rags. Sara has always been a wise, smart, independent- spirited girl who would stand tall and believe in what's right. Whenever something went wrong Sara always turned the negatives into something positive. Sara made many friends, one of them being a rat. Another friend is a man that moved near Miss Minchin's Seminary, and made Sara's life a little bit better.

Sara found out why this man had moved here from India. The reason was he was in search of a certain young girl.

I do not want to give the ending away but I strongly believe anyone who reads this novel, will enjoy it as much as I did.

I feel this book was interesting, sad, emotional, fun, spritual, exciting and shocking all at the same time. That is why this is such a great book to read.

Check this book out and you too will love it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational!, October 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm so glad my niece recommended I read this.  It makes me want to be a better person  Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I Pretend I Am a Princess, So That I Can Try And Behave Like One...", December 17, 2013
By 
R. M. Fisher "Ravenya" (New Zealand = Middle Earth!) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
In my opinion, every little girl should have a copy of Francis Hodgson Burnett's "A Little Princess", and it's hard to imagine any one of them not being utterly captivated by it. There's no reason for boys not to enjoy it too, but for girls this story is almost a rite of passage; a reverse-Cinderella story that speak of resilience, kindness, imagination, faith, dignity and courage in the face of grief and despair. Okay, maybe I'm just projecting my own childhood memories onto it, but there are certainly worse things that you could make a part of your child's formative years.

Sara Crewe is a precocious seven-year old at the start of the story, brought to England from India by her father Captain Crewe to attend a girl's school. There she is put into the care of the strict Miss Minchin and her sister Amelia, and almost immediately becomes the darling of the school. The first page of the book provides a compelling description of her: "She stared out of the window at the passing people with a queer old-fashioned thoughtfulness in her big eyes. She was such a little girl that one did not expect to see such a look on her small face. It would have been an old look for a child of twelve, and Sara Crewe was only seven. The fact was, however, that she was always dreaming and thinking odd things, and could not herself remember any time when she had not been thinking things about grown-up people and the world they belonged to. She felt as if she had lived a long, long time."

Though she is afforded every luxury, she's not at all spoiled, and makes friends with everyone from the tantrum-throwing Lottie, to the dull and slow Ermengarde, to the scullery maid Becky. But not everyone likes the strange green-eyed girl who tells such outlandish stories: fellow student Lavinia is jealous of her, and proprietor Miss Minchin cannot fully conceal the grudge she feels toward her "show pupil", one that ferments as the days go by.

But when her father gets embroiled in a bad business venture and dies of stress-related illness as a result, Sara finds herself completely destitute. With no other family, Sara is left in the care of Miss Minchin, who wastes no time in stripping her of her possessions in order to pay off her father's debts, making her an unpaid servant in the boarding school. Shocked and alone, Sara nearly gives into despair, only to remember her game of imagining herself a princess. For her, being a princess did not involve wealth or luxury, but compassion and altruism, and so she resolves to continue to behave like one even in the midst of her poverty; even towards those who mistreat her. It's not always an easy task, but Sara finds the strength and resilience to endure her new life, at least until fate attempts to reverse her fortunes once more.

The book originated as a novella entitled "Sara Crewe", a serialized drama published in a magazine in 1888, which Burnett herself adapted for a stage play called "A Little Un-fairy Princess", adding more characters and details along the way. At this point her publishers asked her for a revised edition of the novel, complete with her new additions, and in 1905 the finished work was republished as "A Little Princess".

These days most of us were probably introduced to the story through Alfonso Cuarón's 1995 filmic adaptation, though there was also a 1939 film starring Shirley Temple, and it can be quite surprising to go back to the original text and discover just how many differences there are. Aspects such as Captain Crewe fighting in WWII and returning with amnesia are constructs of the films, and other familiar details have changed as well. Reading "A Little Princess" for the first time in years, I was genuinely surprised to discover that Sara spent ten years at Miss Minchin's School, aging from a seven year old to a seventeen year old over the course of the story.

Parts have undoubtedly dated, particularly in the portrayal of class relationships. Although Sara is kind to Becky, the scullery maid remains utterly subservient to her, and her reward once Sara is restored to her fortune is to...become Sara's maid. When the Indian gentleman next door notices Sara's plight and begins to send clothing, Becky is ignored, and though Sara is happy to share, Becky gets Sarah's seconds when it comes to anything that's not food. Understandably, this trace of classism is removed in the most recent film, as it all comes across a bit old-fashioned to modern readers.

It is in Sara herself that the true strength of the book lies. Rather like Roald Dahl's Matilda, Sara Crewe is often accused of being too good to be true and in recent years the character has been described as something of a Mary Sue, an increasingly ill-used moniker that is applied to any number of female characters that are deemed too good, too talented, or simply too annoying to the reader. It's a sad misreading of the text, which at times tries to deconstruct the idea of a saintly little girl - Sara is bemused at the effect she has on others, and is self-aware enough to question her own wealth and intelligence. After her father's death there are many times in which she gives into despair or temptation (she throws aside her doll, she snaps at Ermengarde) and the main focus of the story is on her internal struggle to remain true to herself and retain her inner "princess" status.

In short, despite the Victorian moralizing and the Dickensian situation, Sara is a heroine whose worth lies in kindness, faith and her ability to endure. Despite her terrible grief, the course of the story has her finding some degree of beauty and happiness in her life, which in turn gives her a resilience that baffles Miss Minchin. It would take a very cynical heart not to feel a *little* touched by Sara's plight and the way she chooses to deal with it.

Though there's a fine line between saccharine and sincerity, the narrative of "A Little Princess" is still powerful thanks to Burnett's delicate prose and the conviction the story carries, despite its rather anti-climactic resolution. Burnett's later novel The Secret Garden is considered her best work (I concur), but "A Little Princess" still maintains its hold on young imaginations. As it happens, this is my thousandth review for Amazon.com, and I'm very happy that "A Little Princess" managed to be the book that marked the occasion. Revisiting it in adulthood brought back all kinds of childhood memories, and passing it on to the next generation would be my recommendation to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tough times do not last, tough people do, February 20, 2002
This review is from: A Little Princess (Audio Cassette)
Tough time never last, tough people do is the underlying message, which the author tries to portray through this novel. This is a very beautiful attempt to mesh all the various values, various morals in a story so as to appeal intuitively to the children. Another main idea in this book is that faith can move mountains and further faith in yourself can change bad time to good and can actually turn the unpleasant things around you into pleasant ones.
The author has choosen Sara Crew as the central character moving her from good days to bad days and then back to good days. In these three phases of the novel the author has outlined for children, what it takes to be good during such times.
In the good days author tells children not to be an egotist; never look down upon others be it your classmate or even a scullery-maid; never disrespect your teachers, no matter how much you dislike them. Even if you have everything in the world, which others can only wish, still be kind and helpful to others. Sharing brings joys more than any amount of consolidated wealth ever can.
Even if you are intelligent don't go around boasting, God has given you extra intelligence to share it with the less privileged ones. Above all children have one wonderful gift, which we adults loose somewhere during our growing years and that is IMAGINATION. The author subtly describes the power of imagination.
In just one stroke of luck (or say with pen) the author tries to show how one second is more than enough for fortunes to be changed. Within a moment our little princess is reduced to a pauper and has nothing but a doll left with her. In this phase the most remarkable thing that turns out is that none of your wealth remains with you forever, what indeed remains is your kindness, your kind deeds and yes your imagination. In the character of Ms Minchin, the head of Sara's school, author tries to account what becomes of those who are not kind, not human and for whom money is everything. Many times we hear toddlers having a dream of being a princess or a prince. The author, nicely and in a very graceful manner, explains that being a princess has got nothing to do with wealth. It is indeed how you behave when you don't have wealth or rather when you loose your wealth and when you have nothing but the hardships to call your own.
It is indeed true that we learn more in our bad times and so while our character passes through this phase, author has thrown so many messages around that one may like to read this part again and again. Never, even once, does Sara criticize or crib about loosing her good days. Author has also shown that love can get you friends both humans and animals, even in an attic. Love and concern can even make a rodent your friend.
Further, the author has shown how the knowledge from books, especially history can inspire you in your troubled time. This is one rare case where it is manifested that book and knowledge from those books has more to it than just passing exams.
Ultimately at last the good time returns. But even here author finds an opportunity to compare two characters Sara and an Indian Gentleman. The latter had run away when troubles knocked on his door and did not have the courage as demonstrated by our little princess and, once again, in subtle manner author conveys to children that what happens if you don't face your problems. Finally author also exhibits how you must not forget, what all was learned during the sad times. Author impresses upon children that time never remains the same.
This is an excellent classic and must be gifted by every parent to his/her child. To the parents one could say that if you want your child to be a prince/princess, amassing wealth is certainly not the way. Then what it is, well read this book and find it out for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Most Magical Books You'll Ever Read, October 17, 2006
This review is from: A Little Princess (Hardcover)
"A Little Princess" is one of the most wonderful, most magical books ever to be found in the world of literature--and you don't have to be a little kid to enjoy it. This book appeals to people of all ages. You don't even have to be a little girl, either. Boys will likely find this book charming as well. It's full of warmth, charm, hardship, and perseverance in the face of adversity.

Sara Crewe, a young and tenderhearted girl with a wealthy and devoted father, is sent to London to go to school. Her father has always given her everything she's ever wanted, but now he must go to India to attend to some important business affairs, leaving his only child in the care of Miss Minchin, the strict and hard-hearted headmistress of the school.

Although Miss Minchin is inwardly resentful towards Sara, she makes the girl's stay at school as pleasant as is humanly possible. Some of the other girls harbor the same cold feelings as their headmistress, but many others look up to her, mainly Ermengarde, one of the most unpopular girls in the whole school; Becky, the poor and friendless scullery maid; and Lottie, a motherless and highly spoiled young child.

At first everything is going just fine, but then Sara's whole world comes crashing down when she receives word that her father is dead, and that her entire fortune has seemingly disappeared. Miss Minchin permits Sara to stay, but she forces the poor girl to work as a maid, and threatens to turn her into the streets if she does not do exactly as she is told. Life for Sara, as you can well imagine, becomes very bleak. Nevertheless, Sara does not abandon hope, and eventually everything turns out okay when her father's fortune is recovered (and becomes even greater than ever before), and one of her father's dearest friends takes Sara under his wing and adopts her as his own child.

This book plainly teaches us that we must all use our inner strength in order to maintain our sense of worth and ultimately triumph in the end. Even through the most difficult times, if we just hang in there and don't give up, things will turn out for the better and, just like Sara, we can live happily ever after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, October 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is simply a masterpiece. I first read this book when I was 13 years old. It made me cry thinking of Sara Crewe's miserable life. But it became my favourite book. I have read this book over and over again in the past 20 yrs. And it never bores me. Now i find a different kind of pleasure in reading this book,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every girl is Princess...., September 13, 2000
By 
Cy (Manila, Philippines) - See all my reviews
I met Sara Crewe when I was 8 and I loved her eversince! Why? It is simply because Sara is the best example for each of us. She knows how to deal with everything without getting out of hands especially when people almost condemn her. She also knows how to carry herself properly. When she was still rich she shares everything to everybody but still she has her feet touching the ground. Her positive outlook in life and her smile helped her face the reality. Her make believe stories gave her additional strength to move on. But her greatest weapon against all of the hardships is her love for other people. She practices everything her father had taught her when they were still together. She never lose her hope for a brighter tomorrow. She is a friend to everybody even to her enemies, dolls and to animals! This book will help other youngsters to love their own fathers even more. They will see another side of a father's love that is clearly expressed in this story... that even in death, daughters are still the princesses of a father's life. Another thing is that one's personality does not depend on what she has. Richness are just ornaments that enhance one's look on the outside. What values more is how you face life's difficulty. Just like Sara said, if she was dressed in gold it would be easy for her to act as a princess, but it is more rewarding to be a princess when you're in rags and tatters.Each of us can be a princess,no matter what! You need not have a crown or robe or be a member of the royal family to consider yourself as a princess. We are all princesss. It just depends on the view,sincerity and simplicity of the spirit. So,don't waste time! Learn the whole meaning of being a true princess by heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Princess is a very well written book., October 16, 2000
By A Customer
When Sara Crewe's father dies and leaves her with no money Miss Minchin, the owner of the school,does not know what to do with her. Miss Minchin decides Sara is to live in the attic and run errands for the cook. Sara was once the richest girl in the school, but now she is basically a slave. Living in the cold, lonely attic Sara is stuck with barely any food and one dress that does not fit. Sara is so lonely she starts to make friends with a mouse living in the attic wall and the two girls that sneak up to her room. After many years of living in the attic Sara's life begins to change for the better. Her hope of someone moving in next door comes true and she makes friends with the man. Someone is even leaving things in her room like food, blankets, and a fire to warm up the room. Will things get better for Sara? I think the book was very well written. It was interesting and kept you wondering what would happen to Sara next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cherished childhood book, January 24, 2000
By A Customer
A Little Princess is a wonderful book. It captured my imagination as a little girl of 8 when my grandmother read it to me for the first time. The book is about a young girl, Sarah, who is unwillingly left at a London boarding school by her adoring widowed father because the physical and political climate of 1930's India is not acceptable for his precious only daughter. The book follows Sarah through her high and low points at Miss Minchin's Seminary for Young Ladies. Young girls will find themselves whisked away to another time and another place when they pick up this book. The main character, Sarah Crew, will have a place in the heart of everyone who reads it. I recommend this book to girls of all ages. I just began reading the book again after many years because I wanted to revisit those wonderful memories from childhood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a Great Book!, December 1, 2005
By 
Suzanne (Boulder, CO) - See all my reviews
I read this book to my first through fourth grade students last year, and they loved it! Even the youngest were transported to another time and another place through this book. Our school targets students in need (mostly lower-income, minority children), so Sara's story really is a world away from the lives they know. Yet they truly enjoyed this book, and so did I!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Little Princess (Puffin Classics)
A Little Princess (Puffin Classics) by Frances Hodgson Burnett (Paperback - March 27, 2008)
$4.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.