Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book and then take a walk in a forest!
"A Log's Life" is a little masterpiece of children's literature that can become a child's favorite book. The amazing paper-sculpture photo illustrations of Robin Brickman and the sparse but powerful alliterative language of author Wendy Pfeffer unite to tell a important ecological story about the life OF a log and the life IN a log. No wonder this book won...
Published on April 18, 2000

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Box was smashed and torn.
Published 29 days ago by Yvonne Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book and then take a walk in a forest!, April 18, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Log's Life (Hardcover)
"A Log's Life" is a little masterpiece of children's literature that can become a child's favorite book. The amazing paper-sculpture photo illustrations of Robin Brickman and the sparse but powerful alliterative language of author Wendy Pfeffer unite to tell a important ecological story about the life OF a log and the life IN a log. No wonder this book won the 2000 Giverny Award for best children's science picture book! What's fun for children is searching for and finding the organisms in Brickman's artwork on succeeding pages, once each has been initially introduced in the text. And later, when they hike in the woods with their parents, they can actually SEE this story come alive in nature itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Georgeous Ecology/ Life Lesson, August 1, 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Log's Life (Hardcover)
My 2 year old daughter loves this book, and so do I. The drawings are incredible (more so when you read that they are completely in water color), the text is beautiful and worth reading again and again(even though we often just marvel at the pictures and don't read all the text at my daughter's age), and what I so appreciate is the highly accurate description of log ecology,that is done so at a level exciting and accessible to a child.

If you aren't well-versed in the ecology of rotting logs, this will be a great resource for you as a parent, as well, prior to "field trips" to the woods!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Nature Center Must Have, July 24, 2005
By 
This review is from: A Log's Life (Hardcover)
I absolutely love this book and have used it with a variety of ages. Not only is the information clear and accurate, but the illustrations are outstanding. They are done all in paper (watercolored first) and are photographs of 3D "dioramas". Not only can you use this book to introduce life cycles, decomposition, etc. but you can use it as a lead in to some great art projects!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Non-fiction books, April 6, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Log's Life (Paperback)
A Log's Life was a perfect addition to my 3rd grade science unit. We were studying the life cycles of plants and animals and how they provide shelter and food for animals and plants throughout the process. It was just right for my students to comprehend. The pictures are wonderfully done!I highly recommend this book to be a part of a classroom science library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding book for reading or science lesson, January 22, 2008
By 
B.T. (The great state of Michigan, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Log's Life (Paperback)
This beautiful book is a favorite! I have used it as a reading book for pleasure, and also for environmental science units for grades K - 5. All ages love it, and the kids take more from the incredible illustrations as they get older. Highly recommend for a home and/or classroom/school library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truly beautiful, in word and image, June 5, 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: A Log's Life (Paperback)
This is a family favorite. It gives me chills, and the kids love looking at the intricate details on each pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A favorite book, December 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Log's Life (Paperback)
My kids (almost 8 and 5) love this book, and I love reading it to them. Every page is a mini-masterpiece. The artist creates amazing images using only paper, but you would swear that you were looking at a decaying log or watching ants carrying their babies out onto the ground. A truly beautiful book in word and images alike. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, November 30, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Log's Life (Paperback)
My 3 year old loves this book and asks for it frequently. Fun to read the book then go out to the woods and find fallen trees in various stages of decay - really brings the book to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Log's Life tells the story of the circle of life, April 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Log's Life (Hardcover)
A Log's Life, brilliantly illustrated in detailed watercolor, tells the story of the circle of life. A tree bustles with the activity of squirrels, bugs, and other life. It crashes to the ground in a storm and becomes a nurse log and dirt. Life gradually springs from it; including a new tree harboring new life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, February 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Log's Life (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book for children to learn about ecological processes in forests, especially if you live near a forest or take a child hiking, camping, etc. The illustrations are marvelous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Log's Life
A Log's Life by Wendy Pfeffer (Paperback - March 6, 2007)
$6.99 $5.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.