Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Black Friday egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Get Ready for the Winter Gifts Under $50 Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $15 Off All-New Fire Kindle Black Friday Deals BestoftheYear Shop Now DOTD

Format: DVDChange
Price:$4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on February 24, 2006
A Low Down Dirty Shame is really no more than all the most familiar Cop movie clichés arranged in an order that makes a barely cohesive story. But it's all the fun and silly action that occurs in between that really matters! It's a bit like The Last Boy Scout from a spoof-blaxploitation angle.

Shame (Keenan Ivory Wayans) is a former cop who has been blackballed after a major drugs bust went awry, leaving several DEA agents dead. He now works as a private detective, taking on suicide missions for peanuts and barely scraping by. His disapproving secretary Peaches (a very funny and very, very small Jada Pinkett) wants him to get his act together but he's too busy wallowing in self-pity.

His old pal from the DEA shows up and offers him a side mission to help get back at the Drug Kingpin who ruined his career. And so, with only a few clues, Shame begins his search and soon all roads lead to lies and deception. Like I said, the plot is certainly nothing special. But it does contain a helluva lot of laughs and decent action.

The one thing I can complain of is that the production design is kind of dated now. Action films have evolved so much in the past decade that watching ALDDS 12 years on can be a bit distracting. Wayans (who also directs as well as writing and starring) too often shoots non-actions scenes like a sitcom and his light-hearted editing may help remind you that this totally AIN'T a serious film but it's a little TV-ish if you know what I mean.

If you find ALDDS for cheap somewhere or if it's showing on TV then don't con yourself out of a fun movie. High art is not what this film aims to be.

The DVD has a slightly soft 1.85:1 anamorphic transfer with a Dolby 5.1 sound design. There are zero extras.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on May 14, 2011
"A Low Down Dirty Shame" has many laugh out loud moments. Shame played by Keenan Ivory Wayans makes a living with odd police jobs and finds he has an opportunity to strike big, after following a lead from an old acquaintance. Shame is casted into an action hero role and gets backup from partner Peaches, played by Jada Pinkett. Undoubtedly, this is my favorite Jada Pinkett role. Peaches is sassy, in your face, exuberant, and downright sexy. Although her appearance is cute and petite, she will snap on anybody who steps on her toes. Oddly enough, my favorite scene in the movie is the very beginning when peaches is an undercover maid and barges into a hotel room and spots a man on a toilet. Peaches - "house keeping". Hotel guest on toilet - "EXCUSE you know how to spell do not disturb". Peaches - "Do you know how to spell Lysol, god damn you better check your pulse you might be dead".
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on April 29, 1999
"A Low Down Dirty Shame " at first looks like another predictable, poorly acted and unfunny action/comedy, but release it from it's box and you've got the complete opposite. It is very funny, unpredicatble (apart from the ending) and the action is way above the unrealistic scenes of "schwarzenegger" films. But most of all, it's entertaining. This has got to be the "Shaft" for the nineties, Keenan Ivory Wayans matching style with smoothness. It is an action/comedy to end all action/comedies, and add in a funny, aggressive Jada Pikett and you've got a film that will keep your interest for a long time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on October 29, 2003
"Beverly Hills Cop" meets "Shaft" with wise-cracking Wayans as a private investigator who must track down his former love interest to bring down a drug dealer he thought he killed many years ago. Jada Pinkett joins the ride as Shame's sassy assistant, Peaches.
Shame has two days to find Angela (the beautiful Salli Richardson), his former fiance who is now working as a federal witness against crime boss, Mendoza (Andrew Divoff). Under the guise of his mentor, Sonny (Charles Dutton) and with the help of his female sidekick, Shame goes back to work with action-packed results.
"Low Down Dirty Shame" is a little bit of everything. Wayans' script provides action, comedy, and a little bit of romance into a nice homage to 70's black action pics. The cast in "Low Down" does its job and does it well. Wayans has fun playing the hero as he bungee-dives out of an exploding sporting goods store, uses James Brown routines to thwart a group of attacking guard dogs, and leads a Coloumbian nemesis through a KKK convention. Pinkett is surprisingly good as the comedy sidekick. What can one say about Salli Richardson? Well, let's just say her performance is very, very easy on the eyes. The concluding cat fight with her and Pinkett is a nice touch.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on July 30, 2003
A Low Down Dirty Shame is a great movie that pays homage to the blaxploitation films of the 70's. Keenan Ivory Wayans does a great job of mixing action and humor in this cool detective story about a PI looking for $20 million in stolen drug money. The supporting cast is very good here; Jada Pinkett and Salli Richardson aren't just eye candy, they give good performances too. However the only fault is with the film is Charles S. Dutton who overacts as usual. ALDDS is a great popcorn movie that will leave you smiling. Definitely buy it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on March 17, 2003
I can't say enough about this movie. It makes me laugh each and everytime I watch it. Keenan, Charles, Jada, and the rest, are all hilarious. My only wish was that they would have given the "Waymon" character a larger role. He was just too cute, too real, and funny as well. I give this movie a thumbs up. It may not float everyone elses boat, but it has my vote. And with all the seriousness going on in this world, when I want to just relax with some goofy folks and get a good laugh, this does the job.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon December 29, 2014
Keenen Ivory Wayans' second directorial effort made money, but it's a big comedown from "I'm Gonna Git You Sucka." Except for the bright presence of Jada Pinkett, "A Low Down Dirty Shame" (1994) fails as a mainstream action-comedy. Bullet-riddled mayhem rests uncomfortably with Wayans' misfired gags. The "In Living Color" creator was more appealing as a satirical hero in "Sucka."
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on April 26, 2001
This action comedy is a very good movie to watch. I recommend this movie because Keenen Ivory Wayans acts well as a comedian and action fighter and Jada Pinkett looks and talks so cute in this movie. Salli Richardson (who is also the voice of Elisa Maza in Disney's Gargoyles) is very sexy and deceiving in this film. Certainly one to watch and no doubt one you will enjoy!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on February 17, 2012
Ok I'm not one to be a movie snob, but this movie was horrible. It doesn't hold my attention the way movies such as The Rock and Empire do, and those two movies are far more superior compared to this one. Keenan Ivory Wayans takes on the triple threat of star, writer, and director, and Clint Eastwood and Ben Affleck he is not. Eastwood and Affleck have churned out some great movies taking on the triple role such as Unforgiven, Million Dollar Baby, Blood Work, Gran Torino, and The Town. Those movies are smart, character driven stories. This movie is flat out insipid. Now don't get me wrong because I think Keenan Ivory Wayans is talented. But his best work was on In Living Color, whereas he doesn't have the chops to be in movies. His younger brothers Damon and Marlon on the other hand, teamed up for one of the best comedy movies of the '90s. That movie being Mo' Money. But as I make my third different movie comparison, this movie has nothing on Mo' Money. I can't take Keenan Ivory Wayans seriously as an action hero and he just didn't fit the role as Shame. He would have been better off just directing and having someone like Jamie Foxx star in this movie. Foxx as Shame would have been interesting. Charles S. Dutton was actually good as the deceptive DEA agent Sonny Rothmiller and Andrew Divoff as Mendoza was intimidating and charismatic. Those 2 make this film somewhat watchable. Salli Richardson as Angela, was too plain for my liking. Even when she wasn't being cold and callous, Richardson's attempt to make Angela likable was nothing but a failure. Someone like Jennifer Lopez or Delilah Cotto would have done a better job capturing the likability of Angela. And last but not least, Jada Pinkett Smith. See my Jason's Lyric review about her performance in that movie. As for this movie, she's funny as Peaches, the spunky friend and side kick of Shame. But she gets really annoying as she becomes more of a motor mouth. Her performance here is slightly better than Jason's Lyric. Perhaps I shouldn't unveil the "spoiler" about Shame and Peaches, but those of you who plan to see this movie will probably figure it out. The action-comedy movie can be successful and the genre has churned out some good movies such as Beverly Hills Cop 1 and 2, both Bad Boys, all three Rush Hour movies, All About The Benjamins, and Money Train. But as I make my fourth comparison in this review, A Low Down Dirty Shame isn't in the same class with those movies of it's genre that I mentioned. No pun intended, but passing up on this movie certainly wouldn't be a "shame". For those of you debating about seeing this movie, take my advice and avoid this "shame"!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on February 25, 2004
Keenan plays a down and out PI named Shame, with his wanna be PI Assistant Peaches (played by Jada Pinkett). Shame finds out the love of his life is back in town and does what he can to save her. Peaches wants Shame to notice her, and does everything to get him to do so. The movie is fun, filled with action, and will have you laughing in some parts. I Love this movie!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
The Players Club
The Players Club by Bernie Mac (DVD - 2007)

The Wood
The Wood by Taye Diggs (DVD - 2013)

B.A.P.S. by Halle Berry (DVD - 2004)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.