Start reading A Man for the Summer on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available
 

A Man for the Summer [Kindle Edition]

Ruby Laska
3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (261 customer reviews)

Digital List Price: $3.99 What's this?
Kindle Price: $2.99
You Save: $1.00 (25%)

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Bliss and the Art of Forever
Bliss and the Art of Forever
Fourth book in the Hope Springs series: Chocolatier Callum Drake concocts a chocolate just for kindergarten teacher Brooklyn Harvey with the idea of convincing her he can offer her a sweet deal. Read more about author, Alison Kent.

Book Description

Dentist Junior Atkinson left her tiny home town to see if she would fit in better in the big city.

She definitely didn’t.

Now she’s back, living in the house she grew up in, friendly with every citizen of the two-stoplight town. Things couldn’t be more wonderful.

Well, maybe if her patients paid her regularly. If there was an eligible man in a fifty-mile radius. If she hadn’t just been told that a medical condition meant she had only a few more fertile months despite her tender age of twenty-eight.

Junior barely has time to digest this news when she finds hunky travel writer Griff Ross in her chair with a hell of a toothache.

Fans of Kristan Kiggins, Rachel Gibson, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, and Susan Mallery will enjoy Ruby Laska’s sweet small town romances. Other books available now: MINE ‘TIL MONDAY, HEARTBREAK TENNESSEE, MOUNTAIN SONG, and ALONG FOR THE RIDE.

EDITORIAL REVIEWS:

Praise for the novels of Ruby Laska:

“Very well-written…very enjoyable.” Tracy Reva Books & Reviews

“Drew me in…this was a great read!” - All Romance All the Time

“Lovable characters…an easy read that also happens to make you laugh.” - Bits and Dits

“Characters to fall in love with…beautiful story.” - Whit’s Book World

“Ruby Laska is really an easy read author…her books are hard to put down.” - Best Kindle Stores


Product Details

  • File Size: 3018 KB
  • Print Length: 177 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Carson Five (January 5, 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00A2B8M98
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #412,485 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better Editing Would Have Earned Another Star March 4, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
The basic premise of this story is cute, and the story, itself, is entertaining. Griff Ross, a travel writer, goes to see dentist, Junior Atkinson, about a cracked and very painful tooth. As he's going under the anesthesia, he hears -- and completely misinterprets -- a conversation between Junior and her Aunt Rosie. Griff thinks Junior is dying, and that she doesn't want to die a virgin; in reality, Junior's doctor has told her that her endometriosis is causing a rapidly closing window for a pregnancy.

I felt as if I were missing parts of the back story regarding Junior. More than once the author gave me the impression Junior was...well, a slut. Her "reputation" is referred to, as is the leering laughter of three young men who tell Griff she's a "good" gal -- and good clearly doesn't mean sweet and innocent. I also felt a little confused regarding the line in the description that tells the reader Junior left home to see if she fit in in the big city; this was given only a passing reference in the book, leaving me feeling as if this book were a sequel or something.

A good editor would have probably caught these concerns, not to mention quite a lot of simple errors (i.e., typos, spelling, repeated words, wrong pronouns and words in the wrong order). My advice to the author is to get a couple of people who can be trusted to be honest; better to be a little annoyed by someone pointing out confusion or errors BEFORE you publish.

In summary, I'll look for more work by Ms. Laska to see if she heeds the advice of several of her readers.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sexy, sweet, charming and funny November 19, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Just the way I like it. This charming novel swept me off my feet. I'm always a sucker for stories in which no one is perfect, and this has just the right mix of wacky humor married with down-to-earth rough patches that I just fell in love with both the characters. The writing is great (a must for me to get through a book) and I couldn't stop turning the pages. I fell in love with Laska's little town, and you will, too.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Review from My Overstuffed Bookshelf February 19, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
A Man For The Summer was offered as a free read on Amazon and I am a sucker for free reads. Sometimes the free reads are like little gems and sometimes they can be not so pretty.

The first two or so chapters had real potential. We have Griff Ross who ends up in Junior Atkinson's office for a toothache. The banter between the main and side characters was amusing, engaging and flickered with sparks. After those few chapters though, the book fizzled and never took off. I was bored and shaking my head at Junior's behavior. Not only that, but Griff comes across as gruff and stand offish at first then does a complete turnaround the next day.

The pace of the story was also an issue for me. It would move fast - like how they meet one day and sleep together the next - then it would drag out and make my finger twitch wanting to hit the button for the next page.

While this book wasn't a complete loss -- even if it was a free read -- it wasn't one I would consider memorable or wanting to read more of. One to take it as is being a book to pass some time without having high expectations.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ay yi yi February 16, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
Although this book has a mildly interesting and unique, albeit unlikely, plot line, the editing and continuity of facts leave a lot to be desired. I find it very annoying to spend my time reading a book that the author hasn't taken the time to check for errors. These errors were immediately apparent to me with a single read-through. While I appreciate self publishing authors and I understand the inherent difficulty in editing your own work, the concept of missing the forrest for the trees comes to mind. It is difficult to edit something you know through and through, too easy to pass over errors due to familiarity. My suggestion is to have Beta readers whom you trust to review and correct your work.

I am a prolific reader, averaging 400 books / year of all lengths and genres. I simply love books but I would not read another book by this author and I would not recommend this book to anyone. I'm glad that it was free.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ok read.... March 8, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This book for me was so so. I really loved the Hero in this book he was strong yet vulnerable at the same time. The person I hated in this book was the heroine. To me the author portrayed her as slutty and unfair to the hero most of the times even when the hero apologised and was being nice to her. She came off as being really annoying and always angry towards the hero. This is the first time that i really think that the heroine didn't deserve the hero at all. The only good thing about this book was the portrayal of the hero. In the end i deleted this book from my kindle, good riddance.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slow start March 1, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This book is slow to start. You don't develop a connection to the characters until a third of the way into the book. Then things pick up speed fast. The ending is a little abrupt. But it isn't a terrible read if you want something fluffy.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Need to do more research February 24, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
Sedalia Mo and Poplar Bluff Mo are more than 30 minutes away from each other. The author mentions that the residents occasionally drive 30 minutes to shop in Sedalia. Also at one point "Junior" is called Dorothy. Whoever edited the book missed a few of these. But the book was an enjoyable read once I the town references stopped tripping me up. And Chicago is part of the Midwest.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Author

Ruby Laska has always been a bit contrary. Where others see stop signs, she sees green lights. What others consider obstacles, Ruby likes to think of as opportunities. And when it comes to men, Ruby has always loved the ones that her mother warned her about: demanding, conflicted, and more than a little dangerous.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category