Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very well done
I saw this at the Rehoboth Beach film festival this year and it was really very well done. It took a serious, timely topic - that of getting discharged under the DADT policy - and gave it a face. Both women were superb and the supporting staff was quite good as well.
Published on November 22, 2010 by sophie

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Story Untold
Very interesting. The girl was struggle with her commander position and her complex gender role. Then when she met her love, she lost her job due to restriction of gay and lesbian in the army.
Published 14 months ago by Dalelio


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very well done, November 22, 2010
By 
sophie (NYC metro area) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Marine Story (DVD)
I saw this at the Rehoboth Beach film festival this year and it was really very well done. It took a serious, timely topic - that of getting discharged under the DADT policy - and gave it a face. Both women were superb and the supporting staff was quite good as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WALKING TALL, May 22, 2011
This review is from: A Marine Story (DVD)
A woman is discharged from the Marines for being a lesbian right before retirement. She returns to her small home town where she quickly loses herself in a bottle of tequila. She tries to keep her reason for discharge a secret while battling old demons, courting an old lover, battling small minds, and meth heads...all the while attempting to help a troubled teen girl.

Brief behind shower nudity, women kissing, occasional f-bomb. Good acting, although for a straight male the drama and action is difficult to relate to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timely, thought provoking film, February 22, 2011
This review is from: A Marine Story [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
"A Marine Story" was one of my favorite feature films at the Beaufort International Film Festival last week. The story line about Alexandra, a Marine who is nearing retirement age, gives the audience a view of a strong, determined and brave woman who also has some personal issues. Still, she agrees to help a resistant, troubled young woman from her hometown buck up and straighten out by training her as though she's already in boot camp.
Alexandra puts aside her own personal and professional issues to mentor someone else, giving her an opportunity to get her life on the right track. In the meantime, Alexandra is trying to do the same, but without much support from anyone else. Her struggles are her own to bear, but she's a Marine. She knows what to do.
The ending was satisfying and timely. You care about Alexandra and her future, wanting a happy ending for her. The film delivers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lesbian-themed movie that isn't a romance, November 28, 2011
I really liked this movie. So far, the only bad things I've read in these reviews had to do with the gay theme or the storyline itself. If you don't like gay people or if you read the summary of the movie and don't find it interesting...don't watch it.

For not being a lesbian herself, Dreya Weber does a wonderful job at making the experience come to life. In this movie, her character was drummed out of the military on suspicion of being gay. So, for the first time in her life, she is learning how to live honestly with who and what she is. One way she comes to terms with herself is by training a troubled and lost teenager who has been court ordered to do jail time or join the military. The teenager is straight, so this isn't a romance. Though there is a lot of chemistry between these two actors. The town she comes back to is one that is in trouble. Being a female ex-marine, she is pulled into some fights that she would rather not be a part of. For anyone who has dealt with coming out or knows someone who has, this story will hit home. It was beautifully told, if a bit slow in the telling. Personally, I like slow movies that require you to sit back and soak it all up. This is more a character movie than an action flick, though the fight scenes are very good. It's fun to watch a strong woman kick a jerk's butt. Again, I stress that this is not a romance. It's difficult for our American minds to come to terms with this as we are used to romance being involved in everything. She does find love, of course, but it is a very small part of the movie. And the point of involving the other woman seems to be more about showing how difficult it can be for these soldiers who have lived in fear of being found out for so long to free themselves. The real story here is about the pain that Don't Ask Don't Tell and the narrow-minded views of homophobic people have caused in this country. However, it is not preachy. It's real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful, engrossing, well-handled essay on currently controversial topic., February 21, 2011
By 
Ann D. Courmouzis (Beaufort, South Carolina United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Marine Story (DVD)
I saw this film at The Beaufort International Film Festival, where it won Best Feature Film. Acting, directing, and editing were all superb. Very realistic portrayal of the many dilemmas brought to the fore by the DADT policy in the military. A tight, well-crafted work by all involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic--much better than I expected. I highly recommend this movie., January 29, 2012
I found this movie while surfing around the free selections in Amazon Prime. I recognized Dreya Weber from her appearance in the P90X DVDs, and I wasn't expecting much from her as an actress--you know, here we go with a female Jean Claude Van Damme or Dolph Lundgren. Man, was I wrong! Weber carried off this role with intelligence, sensitivity, compassion and (of course!) an amazing physical presence. The story line is interesting and well crafted; the cinematography is California Inland Empire beautiful; and I especially liked Weber's rendition of the closing song. The supporting cast was outstanding as well. Some people may find the theme of don't ask don't tell in the military, and homosexuality in general offputting. Well, folks, that's real life, and it's time to get used to it. I have my own questions about the topic as well, but this movie proves yet again that there are no easy answers, either for the gays or the straights. Come to this film with an open mind and you will be richly rewarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST SEE! ! ! !, May 7, 2011
By 
At first glance, I thought the movie was about a woman Marine. I thought "How cool!" since I'm a female vet. Watching the story unfold in this movie, I was awe-struck at how well this was done. This is a really great, great story. And probably as real as it gets! I am impressed at the actors. The military scenes had me do a de ja vue. I hated the military since I was released with "behavior unsuitable for the military", meaning I was lesbian. What was unsuitable was the way I was treated as a human being.
Regardless of my past, this movie is spiracular. A definate MUST SEE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Marine Story, May 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Marine Story (DVD)
After many years of service in tough, overseas postings, a woman officer in the US Marine Corps - Alexandra Everett - played by Dreya Weber, is suddenly accused of being a lesbian, after some anonymous accusations. She has not been sleeping around, so no one can confirm she is not gay. She is advised to resign before an official investigation, so she can get an honorable discharge, but won't get her pension as she still has another year to go. On the day of returning to her sleepy home town she helps arrest some teenagers stealing from a convenience store. The judge gives the girl - Saffron - played by Paris P. Pickard, a choice between going to jail or joining the military. Everett is asked by the sheriff to give her some basic training to get her through the first round of selection. Saffron is very hostile to authority, but as the story progresses we see how things works out for both of them.

I saw this in London at a film festival and ordered the DVD when I got home. Despite being a low budget movie, with little known actors, it has the look of a much bigger budget production. The drama unfolds very well and unlike a movie with big stars (where we can usually figure out what the end will be) we have no idea how things are going to turn out, which makes it that much more enjoyable. Dreya Weber is a professional acrobat and gymnast, so makes a convincing Marine in terms of physique, while still being very attractive. When she puts on her Drill Sergent act she is really scary. Paris P Pickard gives a first rate performance as the 'lost girl' and so do all the other cast members. As well as a serious side to the movie, there is plenty of humor and, very important, one can identify with the characters and feel part of their life stories. I have written to the main UK cinema chains and suggested they give it a national release on their digital screens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great storyline, April 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Marine Story (DVD)
Fantastic storyline. I am not American and not involved in the military, but as a lesbian I can relate to the unjust reality of life under dont ask dont tell. The theme surrounding Dont Ask Dont Tell has been told before on many occassions but this story was new and different. Dealing with life after suddenly being cast outside the military is hard enough without all the other issues of sexuality.
This movie tackled an array of day to day realities within society. Drugs and all the offences and conflicts associated with users and the community. The military and the stigma associated with serving your country. And one womans struggle with all of the issues to breaking point.

I loved the portrayal of Alex. You dont need endless dialogue to convey a strong message. Her body language and decision making processes reflected her strong feelings of dispair, isolation, patriotism loss and anger.

Highly recommended viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quiet excellence., December 28, 2011
By 
brendanstallard (lilburn, GA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was a quietly understated, beautiful movie. Really well written and superbly acted. What the end left you with was that justice would be a good thing if applied equally to all.

I thought the scene in the paint-ball was just terrific. Whoever put that together knows something about how paint-ball relates to real-life shooting.

As someone who is a 16 year immigrant to America, I really liked the imagery of the country. I wish more film makers showed more of this America.

As the movie credits close out, don't turn off, there's a wonderful song...sung by the lead actor, Dreya Weber, with some fine harmonies, and a couple of excellent side men (Craig Richey) playing instruments. It's an old traditional song from 1863, but following on from the movie, it has some real pathos. It is performed beautifully, so don't miss it.

I am so glad I watched this movie, it lifted me and filled me with optimism that film-makers are out there trying to tell great stories, without constant explosions, CGI and all the rest of the noisy fol-de-rol of today.

Watch, you won't be disappointed. This is what cinema is supposed to be about.

brendan (atlanta)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Marine Story
A Marine Story by Ned Farr (DVD - 2011)
$19.95 $14.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.