Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANTI-FLAG ROCKS!!!
I love this c.d. Bottom line, I LOVE IT! It is honest, straightforward and down to the point. With snarling vocals remeniscent of Johnny Rotten (Sex Pistols), and scratchy distorted guitars that give off a punk rock vibe, this band is as good as it gets. Anti-Flag is one of my favorite bands of all time, Justin Sanes lyrics are so true and they really influenced my ideas...
Published on January 24, 2003 by zac, a 14 year old kid

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars In retrospect, Anti-Flag can do better... And did!
First off, I give three stars to this CD when comparing it to other CD's done by Anti-Flag. But to compare it to Punk CD's in general, it deserves five stars all the way.
Having moved away from their 70's Punk theme in Die For the Government, and the awful filler material known as Their System doesn't Work for You, A New Kind of Army defines the style of Anti-Flag...
Published on June 22, 2004 by cueballbaw


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anti-Capitalism, May 27, 2002
By 
Dirty Goat (Orange County, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New Kind of Army (Audio CD)
Perfect CD for you young Socialists. Got The Numbers, in my opinion was the best track on the CD. It totally represents the proletariat people. They lay out a strong message for todays youth, that are fed up with corporate greed. The Consumer Song, is great for people who work and dont understand what they get for their loyalty. Revolution!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anti-American am I?, June 11, 2005
By 
D.Y.G.S.W.G. (Why do you want to know..?) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New Kind of Army (Audio CD)
After reading some of the previous "1-start reviews," I have noticed a common factor in all of them, all repeat the phrase "un-american," or something to that extent. My question to these Crusaders of Liberty is, is it un-american of me to try and change things for the better? Is it un-american of me to not follow blindly to what I am told? All of those are things that the founding fathers of America believed to be right, to question mans ability to do that and even to go as far as to condem him is not only condemming the individual, but also America itself. So to you my flag waving friends, it is not I, the 15 year old kid from Upstate New York it is YOU the war mongering, oil sucking, FOX news watching, potential fatass who is the un-american. My ideals differ from yours, something that is tolerated by our country, and for you to come out and try and parade your views to be the truth over the internet and then spitting on the views of others makes you that same "freedom hating," enemy that YOUR president tries to overthrow at each turn. So, to finish, do not call those of different politcal disposition "un-american," for they are the ones truly using the freedom which we are so ready to hand out all over the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Foreseeing the Future., December 4, 2005
By 
This review is from: New Kind of Army (Audio CD)
Look man, what's with all the slammin' people on this album's review section?? Everyone has their own beliefs and feelings about the world and how it's being run, and bands like Anti-Flag and Propagandhi are always going to make people talk. Which is a good thing, unless it starts to make us turn against each other man. You know? Anti-Flag have a very specific view of the world and in particular their country. Some agree with their view and some don't. But we have to respect each other for our own views.

Anti-Flag are an intelligent, hard rockin' punk band that have been doing it for years and fortold all the crap that's happening in the states right now. Go back ten years and you'll see. They're like the Nastrodamus (however you spell his name) of punk rock.

Listen to them for the music, or listen to them for the message, or don't listen to them at all. But respect those who have their own opinion.

After all the politics and fashions and ideals, punk rock is about unity man. Unity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anti-Flag Perfects Their Sound, September 13, 2004
This review is from: New Kind of Army (Audio CD)
On their first CD, Anti-Flag flirted with an overly political sound, but it wasn't until this CD that they finally took that agression and turned it into a consistent and recognizable style. A New Kind Of Army blends the '70s punk flavor of Die For The Government with 80s hardcore and 90s sheen to create a style all their own. And with Justin Sane now fully in place as the lead singer, they sound like the amazing punk outfit their fans always knew they could be. With classic songs like "Captain Anarchy," and the hilariously on-target "Right On," A New Kind Of Army rightfully earns a place as one of Anti-Flag's best albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars anti-flag true to the scene, November 2, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: New Kind of Army (Audio CD)
Full of Energy, Full of Passion,Full of emotion, Full of pollitically charged music that makes you think while your listening to it. Very Positive message dealing with all the problems in today's society, such as racism, sexism,homophobia, nationalism......the list goes on and on. They are even better live than they are on their cd's. i've seen them over a million times and they keep getting better everytime. i recomend this album highly. If your going to buy an a-f album this is the one to buy. So go out and buy it damnit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOME DEEP PUNK, August 26, 2003
This review is from: New Kind of Army (Audio CD)
THIS IS A GOOD CD I LOVE IT, Brings back Memories must own cd for punk fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anti-Flag is awesome, a great buncha guys, November 9, 1999
This review is from: New Kind of Army (Audio CD)
I am only writing this because of what somebody had to say in their review. Anti-Flag is not anti-America. The song "Right On" is making fun of people, all of those quotes are things they are asked, and they don't like the term right on. Please don't judge them on how someone else interpreted their song. They are probably some of the nicest guys I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. And go out and buy this record from your local independant record shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars anti-flag does it again never letting its fans down., May 18, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: New Kind of Army (Audio CD)
anti-flag, just coming off its last album die for your gov't, has put out the best new album of the year. with great songs like captain anarchy(cousin of davey...the guy who destroyed the punk scene) and a new kind of army plus many others. this album is worth its weight in platnium....and should go at least triple. the guys from anti-flag should be proud of this album for it is just another example of how great they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old School Tradition, August 31, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: New Kind of Army (Audio CD)
I don't see how people can say that this is not punk, a lot of people ... me off, and the person who said "punk used to be about ... people off" realy made me mad.
I myself am a punker, and everything a poser is anti-flag is not, they are as far as I know the most awesome PUNK band there is, truly keeping the tradition of old school punk alive, if you're a punker this is a must have, I know it costs money but it's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars why this cd rules, December 30, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: New Kind of Army (Audio CD)
This anti-falg cd is they're greatest cd.Why because of the energy and the raw sound. some of the best songs are got the nubers and a new kind of amry. The guitar riffs are amazing and the drums are so fast. Don't listen to what other people have to say espically if they say they are crying in they songs because they are not, they not emo.so by this cd because it is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A New Kind of Army
A New Kind of Army by Anti-Flag
Buy MP3 Album$8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.