Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars -An American Story--
Having listened to this book on tape, my husband and I were delighted to see that Hallmark Hall of Fame had turned this wonderful story into a film. We were not disappointed.

This story takes place in Arkansas and is set in September of 1952. The Chandler family owns a farm. They grow cotton and hire both, Mexican migrant workers and Hill people, to pick their...
Published on September 18, 2004 by Judith Miller

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Covers most of the main themes in the book, but overall pretty thin.
I ordered this movie because first and foremost it is a John Grisham story, and secondly, I enjoyed the book on which it is based. However, perhaps because it was a made for TV movie, the writing, casting, and acting are not nearly of the same caliber as in other movies based on John Grisham novels, i.e. "the Pelican Brief."

I do not recommend this...
Published on December 2, 2012 by Wolfman


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars -An American Story--, September 18, 2004
By 
This review is from: A Painted House (DVD)
Having listened to this book on tape, my husband and I were delighted to see that Hallmark Hall of Fame had turned this wonderful story into a film. We were not disappointed.

This story takes place in Arkansas and is set in September of 1952. The Chandler family owns a farm. They grow cotton and hire both, Mexican migrant workers and Hill people, to pick their crop. The two groups clash when they meet on the Chandler farm. The story is told by 10 year old Luke Chandler. Logan Lerman gave a memorable performance as Luke. The entire cast was good, and we also enjoyed Scott Glenn in the role of Luke's grandfather.

John Grisham's books are always captivating, but this is my favorite. I wish that he would write more stories like this one. It gave us a look at America in a different era when baseball was an American past time and families worked together for a common goal. It also showed the relationship between the farmers and migrant workers who shared the responsibility of harvesting the cotton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, September 16, 2004
By 
R. Polk (Plant City FL, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Painted House (DVD)
most reviewers think they need to write an essay comparrison between the book and movie. I am simply going to review the movie. It was great and very heartwarming. A good family classic to have. Good values and a great glimpse into southern life. Too bad movies today don't have the same wholesome storyline that A Painted House does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good for a book adaptation, August 31, 2005
By 
This review is from: A Painted House (DVD)
I was curious about this film because I had recently read - and enjoyed - the book by John Grisham. And well, yes, the book IS better, but who would expecte anything else? The movie version still is very good indeed, the acting was good. Scott Glenn played the grandfather very convincingly and Logan Lerman gave a promising performance as young Luke Chandler. These two worked well together and they are the main characters. Although some slight story adaptations were made, the film still stays true to the book (John Grisham himself was involved in the project). There should have been a little more focus on the character of Cowboy, since his part in the story got bigger towards the end and only little background about the developing conflict between him and Hank Spruill (a very good performance by Pablo Schreiber as the angry young man) was really given - whereas in the book the conflict builds gradually. The final - and fatal - fight between the two also differs from the book version, but the way it starts here was probably necessary to make it work (see my comment about the lack of development). Apart from a few minor upsets, this is a fine and entertaining film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, great acting, Logan Lerman is a standout!, July 14, 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Painted House (DVD)
I haven't read the book, but as a movie, I was really impressed. Logan Lerman really shines, he really puts life into Luke. I really enjoyed getting lost into this movie and the acting made it easy to feel what they were feeling. A wonderful movie about a boy dealing with life, problems, yet still being a kid, a farm family trying to survive. I've found that when books are turned into movies, they often have many differnces from the books, so I try to view the movie separate from the book on it's own terms. The Painted House tells a story, and has feeling. Perfect, no, enjoyable, definately!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Painted House (DVD) based on novel by John Grisham, August 2, 2005
By 
Mr. B. Menzies "B Menzies" (Scotland, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Painted House (DVD)
An excellent movie breathing life into the story and characters as depicted in John Grisham's story.

I loved the book and this film really does it justice. A must have for any John Grisham fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars family movie, March 12, 2007
By 
Michelle Polk (Mississippi, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Painted House (DVD)
It keeps you thinking. It has a great theme of family and closeness. The story of one boy and his families hardships living by the river.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story!, August 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Painted House (DVD)
A typical John Grisham well-written, easy to read, intriguing, novel. Somewhat non-typical is the absence of a lawyer or courtroom venue - but the legal issues are there all the same. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Well-adapted Film, July 28, 2013
By 
I rarely read the book prior to watching the movie on which it's based. I did in this case and was glad I had. Almost everything in the movie was in the book. The book, naturally, contains additional material so reading the book is a reward in itself. The cast seemed perfect for their roles. The cinematography is superb. Grisham, himself, was pleased with the attention to detail, such as the clothing. He said the house looked like how he remembered his grandparents' house. The use of a narrator keeps the story moving along. I agree that more could have been developed deeper, but even at 99 minutes, it almost seemed rushed. A thoroughly enjoyable adaptation of the book of the same title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Covers most of the main themes in the book, but overall pretty thin., December 2, 2012
By 
Wolfman (Cleveland, TN USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Painted House (DVD)
I ordered this movie because first and foremost it is a John Grisham story, and secondly, I enjoyed the book on which it is based. However, perhaps because it was a made for TV movie, the writing, casting, and acting are not nearly of the same caliber as in other movies based on John Grisham novels, i.e. "the Pelican Brief."

I do not recommend this movie if you are counting on the quality of a Grisham novel in movie form. Hold off until it is remade with a better budget and higher production values.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Painted House, video, based on John Grisham's novel, June 14, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Painted House (DVD)
Having read and enjoyed the novel, I found the video to be excellent. It closely followed the novel.
Probably best suited to those 'near seniors' who can relate more easily to the setting time of the 1950's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Painted House
A Painted House by Alfonso Arau (DVD - 2003)
Used & New from: $15.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.