Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic collection of essays
British philosopher Roger Scruton shows brilliance and great erudition in a collection of essays on marriage, death, religion, the nature of evil and 'Eliot and conservatism', for example. Quite a trip. Reminded me of Irving Kristol's fantastic 'Neo-Conservatism: The Autobiography of an Idea'. This was my first book by Scruton--I came across him in a co-ed piece he wrote...
Published on January 4, 2007 by Eduardo Veiga

versus
1 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Huge disappointment
Completely devoid of facts. Hanging on failed principals and false assumptions. I wouldn't recommend this to my most ardent conservative friends.
Published 21 months ago by Sdyon1


Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic collection of essays, January 4, 2007
By 
Eduardo Veiga (U.S. Mid-Atlantic) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Political Philosophy (Hardcover)
British philosopher Roger Scruton shows brilliance and great erudition in a collection of essays on marriage, death, religion, the nature of evil and 'Eliot and conservatism', for example. Quite a trip. Reminded me of Irving Kristol's fantastic 'Neo-Conservatism: The Autobiography of an Idea'. This was my first book by Scruton--I came across him in a co-ed piece he wrote to the Wall Street Journal--and fortunately he authored many others. Wikipedia says "he is widely regarded as the most important living British conservative philosopher", which is not at odds with the high caliber of these essays. The book also contains ample footnotes for those interested in his bibliography, and of course an index.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book, March 31, 2007
This review is from: A Political Philosophy (Hardcover)
Roger Scruton presents a conservatism largely at odds with the American self-styled conservatives of libertarian or neo-con persuasion. Part of his presentation is based on the idea of the social contract as a form of trusteeship between the unborn, the dead and the (merely) living. This is a very persuasive Burkean view leading to all kinds of conclusions that will surprise American readers.

For example, he devotes chapters to the morality of eating animals and the squandering of natural resources by the living generation. Consider this statement and compare it to the Republican Party's platform: "Environmentalists and conservatives are both in search of the motive that will defend a shared but threatened legacy from predation by its current trustees." That is, he argues forcefully that conservation (of both morality and the natural world) flows naturally from conservativism, an argument that would have him thrown off the WSJ's top floor.

One of Scruton's great strengths is his unwillingness to bend his thought to a given political platform. In this regard, I see no similarity whatsoever with American neo-cons. Further, Scruton has a very sophisticated, historically-grounded theory of State (with traces of Hegel to boot), something wholly absent from contemporary advocates of America as an ideology and nothing more. This man is the thinking man's conservative, a creature long-absent in American thought. Let's hope he begins to make an impression here. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unique Discussions on Conservatism, March 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Political Philosophy: Arguments for Conservatism (Paperback)
This collection of 11 essays presents British philosopher Roger Scruton's ideas on a variety of subjects, from the importance of national sovereignty to the conservatism of T.S. Eliot. Scruton writes forcefully and reaches conclusions on environmental protection and assisted suicide that will intrigue American conservatives. His chapters on politics are insightful and appropriately nuanced, but not always as argumentative as the book's title suggests. Because the book is a collection of essays rather than a monograph, the ideas in each chapter are never tied together to present an overarching system of political thought. Rather than "arguments for conservatism", the collection is better characterized as "observations from a conservative disposition on various topics." This is not to say the collection is not worth reading, only that readers looking for a more cohesive book may prefer Scruton's "Meaning of Conservatism" instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stimulating and well researched, March 18, 2014
This review is from: A Political Philosophy: Arguments for Conservatism (Paperback)
Here in the UK Scruton is not really given his due, but then it's unlikely he would be, given that he is the conservative's conservative, consciously at odds with the Marxist brainwashing compound that the modern day UK has become.
He stands for tradition where the political and media class are for permanent cultural revolution.
I enjoy his writing and I like his style but he has always been a political party of one.
I think he rather likes the role of solitary prophet.
I wish he would be a bit punchier in his approach.
He is a poor public speaker, which is a great pity, he has a tremendous amount of good sense to impart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very stimulating, September 15, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Political Philosophy: Arguments for Conservatism (Paperback)
An excellent collection of essays whose connecting thread is the value of the traditional nation state. Lots to agrre with and lots to disagree with, but always well put.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Huge disappointment, March 17, 2013
This review is from: A Political Philosophy: Arguments for Conservatism (Paperback)
Completely devoid of facts. Hanging on failed principals and false assumptions. I wouldn't recommend this to my most ardent conservative friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Political Philosophy: Arguments for Conservatism
A Political Philosophy: Arguments for Conservatism by Roger Scruton (Paperback - May 10, 2007)
$18.95 $14.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.