A Quicker Blood and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy New
$12.59
Qty:1
  • List Price: $13.99
  • Save: $1.40 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
Want it Monday, April 21? Order within and choose Two-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

A Quicker Blood Paperback


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from Collectible from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$12.59
$9.85 $0.01

Frequently Bought Together

A Quicker Blood + Jealous Mistress
Price for both: $24.28

Buy the selected items together
  • Jealous Mistress $11.69

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle edition for FREE. Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.


Big Spring Books
Editors' Picks in Spring Releases
Ready for some fresh reads? Browse our picks for Big Spring Books to please all kinds of readers.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 364 pages
  • Publisher: BookSurge Publishing (April 16, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1439212791
  • ISBN-13: 978-1439212790
  • Product Dimensions: 0.8 x 7.9 x 5.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (19 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,821,356 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Susan Alexander, a graduate of Harvard Law School, has worked as a lawyer in the public interest, along with serving as a federal judge's law clerk, an arbitrator, a law professor, and a consultant on legal writing. She's also worked at three Chicago law firms. Susan now focuses primarily on writing. Her writing has appeared in a wide array of publications, including the San Francisco Chronicle, the Chicago Tribune, the Chicago Sun-Times, the Chicago Daily Law Bulletin, the San Francisco Daily Journal, the Los Angeles Daily Journal, the Baltimore Sun, the New York Daily News, the ABA Journal, and a host of other professional and mainstream publications. Susan was the first editor of The Almanac of the Federal Judiciary, and her short story "Neglect" was a winner in Chicago Lawyer magazine's first annual fiction competition. In addition to writing A Quicker Blood, Susan is the author of Jealous Mistress, a suspense-filled mystery set on Chicago's North Shore. She lives in San Francisco.

More About the Author

Susan Alexander is an erstwhile lawyer who focuses primarily on writing. She has worked as a lawyer in the public interest as well as a federal judge's law clerk, an arbitrator, a law school professor, and a consultant on legal writing. She also spent several less than exhilarating years working at three Chicago law firms.

Susan spent part of her life as a stay-at-home mom, constantly in pursuit of the elusive part-time job. Thanks to her law degree from Harvard, she was often able to find part-time work, allowing her to keep in touch with the working world while she spent most of her time with her young children. Susan's experience parallels that of the protagonist in her second novel, Jealous Mistress.

Susan's first novel, A Quicker Blood, is a suspense-packed thriller published in 2009. The listing on Amazon.com includes many 5-star customer reviews. Her second novel, Jealous Mistress, is an exciting murder mystery with more than one shocking twist. Published in 2011, it has also garnered many 5-star customer reviews on Amazon.com.

Susan's non-fiction writing has appeared in a wide array of publications, including the San Francisco Chronicle, the Chicago Tribune, the Chicago Sun-Times, The San Francisco Daily Journal, the Chicago Daily Law Bulletin, and a host of other professional and mainstream publications. She was the first editor of The Almanac of the Federal Judiciary, and her short story "Neglect" was a winner in Chicago Lawyer magazine's first annual fiction competition.

A complete list of Susan's publications appears on her website, susanalexander.com, and her blog, Susan Just Writes. Susan spent most of her life in Chicago but now lives and writes in San Francisco.

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 19 customer reviews
The twists and turns in the plot keep you engaged; it is impossible to put the book down.
JHM
It's a great book for an airplane, a vacation, or any time that you'll be able to read it in one or two sittings.
Eleanor G. White
Susan Alexander's A Quicker Blood is a must read for fans of John Grisham and Scott Turow legal thrillers.
Michael Vann

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Chip G on August 19, 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This book was great fun to read. The highly believable setting makes the unexpected and suspenseful turns of the plot that much more effective. Susan Alexander has not only written a clever and exciting story, but she's also joined the small group of writers who manage to capture what practicing law is really like. I'm looking forward to Alexander's next novel.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Michael Vann on August 4, 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Susan Alexander's A Quicker Blood is a must read for fans of John Grisham and Scott Turow legal thrillers. Only Alexander does it one better! Great character development and a taut well told story of a young lawyer who finds herself in a maze of deception, romance and a blood quickening finale. Put me down for her next book!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Jocelyn L. Startz on August 2, 2010
Format: Paperback
A Quicker Blood is a great read -- a legal thriller in the vein of John Grisham, which also manages to capture realistically a certain disillusionment with the legal profession that all too many can relate to these days. Great characters, excellent plot twists, and a fun romance kept me up way past my bedtime. I can't wait for Susan Alexander's next book!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Pamela Wardwell on July 23, 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
In this cleverly plotted, first mystery novel nothing is as it seems (or as the reader expects!). The narrator, a bright, young lawyer who flees from the pressures of city life in a most unusual way, finds life in a small town, mid-western law firm more sinister than bucolic. The story is fast paced and suspenseful, the characters are well drawn and the ending takes the reader totally by surprise. A great read and, hopefully, the start of a series.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Dr. Gerald E. Kuroghlian on June 10, 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Your blood pressure will rise as you go deeper into this entry mystery by Susan Alexander. Walden, WI is not the retreat and escape that Karen, a young lawyer, is seeking. Her small town experience proves to be much more than she expected. Excellent characterization and unexpected plot turns will keep you reading well past your bed time as you strive to find where this adventure will end.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Kenneth Manaster on May 5, 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This book entered that happy category of books I hate to have to put down and can't wait to pick up again. An intriguing story, very inviting writing style, and vividly depicted settings and characters. A clever, enjoyable, and exciting tale, with a plot and characters you won't forget.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By N. N. Waldman on September 23, 2009
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
From the very first page the characters and story grabbed my attention and wouldn't let me go until the last page. A Quicker Blood stayed with me for days after when I kept rethinking about the unexpected twists and surprising turns of the plot. Perhaps it's because the major characters are so well developed, I could see the action like a movie running in my head. And how refreshing it was to finish a book with a satisfying ending. Kudos to this new author.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By M. Stoll on August 18, 2009
Format: Paperback
Be prepared for not just one surprise ending, but two. The latter is a humdinger. Nashville, TN
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Product Images from Customers

Search
ARRAY(0xa363edf8)