Customer Reviews


3,034 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,705)
4 star:
 (231)
3 star:
 (45)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (37)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


384 of 406 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "We are in Buckingham Palace, the very heart of the British nation. Sherlock Holmes, put your trousers on!"
Such was the ego-stroking the cast & creators received for their first series of SHERLOCK, they couldn't help but gain huge confidence as they try to top themselves in Series 2. Steven Moffat always did have roaring self-esteem, and so he and co-creator Mark Gattis shrugged and decided to take on the three most iconic touchstones in the Sherlock Holmes canon. Series 2 is...
Published on February 13, 2012 by H. Bala

versus
68 of 96 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hated What Was Done to Irene Adler
I love these modern interpretations of the classic character created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle in the 1880's. This is the same Sherlock Holmes that stalked those foggy London streets, albeit a bit ruder, but now he has a cell phone!

Leave it to a madman to give up far too easily. When last we saw Sherlock Holmes (Benedict Cumberbatch), he was a bit tied up with...
Published on March 28, 2012 by Charity Bishop


‹ Previous | 1 2304 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

384 of 406 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "We are in Buckingham Palace, the very heart of the British nation. Sherlock Holmes, put your trousers on!", February 13, 2012
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sherlock: Season 2 (DVD)
Such was the ego-stroking the cast & creators received for their first series of SHERLOCK, they couldn't help but gain huge confidence as they try to top themselves in Series 2. Steven Moffat always did have roaring self-esteem, and so he and co-creator Mark Gattis shrugged and decided to take on the three most iconic touchstones in the Sherlock Holmes canon. Series 2 is a (mostly) brilliant reworking of, in Moffat's own words, "the Hound, the Woman, and the Professor."

It was a ba11sy move to reimagine Sherlock Holmes in 21st Century England. That it worked tremendously is due to smart writing and the amazing chemistry between the two leads, Cumberbatch and Freeman. The writers inserted clever touches such as the onscreen texts which reveal Holmes' instantaneous deductions and his ready application of contemporary tools (cell phones, the Internet, etc.) to aid his investigations. In this universe, Holmes attains his clients primarily thru Watson's popular online blog in which the good doctor recounts Holmes' cases. The writers and creators are so cocky nowadays that they don't hesitate to inject broader bits of comedy (an act of heresy were this show not as good). As such we witness fleeting play-on-word references to Holmes' more trivial cases such as "The Geek Interpreter" and "The Speckled Blonde." For whatever reason, I smile whenever the camera pans to Speedy's Sandwich Bar & Cafe, atop of which is where Holmes and Watson share lodgings, very much still 221B Baker Street. At heart, Sherlock Holmes is still very much the cold, calculating machine. But Series 2 aims to poke a hole in that stance.

"A Scandal in Belgravia" picks up where Series 1 left off, a cliffhanger involving Watson strapped onto an explosives vest and a stand-off between Holmes and weird international consulting criminal James Moriarty. This matter is resolved within moments (or, more likely, put on the shelf), with Moriarty casually sauntering off to torment Holmes on a later day. "A Scandal in Belgravia" is this series' compelling adaptation of "A Scandal in Bohemia," the story that introduced the world's most famous femme fatale in literature, the crafty and alluring Irene Adler. In this incarnation, Irene Adler is a dominatrix (someone refers to what she does as "recreational scolding"; heh). She blackmails her high end clientele with compromising images she stores in her mobile phone. One such victim happens to be closely linked to the royal crown, and so that Internet phenom, Sherlock Holmes, is dragged (clad only in bed sheets) into the affair. I will say that "A Scandal in Belgravia" is an utter pleasure to watch. For one thing, it delivers two amusing comments about Holmes' trousers.

This is the most fleshed-out (in more ways than one) that Irene Adler has ever been portrayed on screen. Lara Pulver is classy and mesmerizing as "The Woman," and she creates plenty of sparks with Cumberbatch. Irene Adler certainly gets under Holmes' skin. Holmes eventually takes possession of Irene's all-important cell phone but for most of the episode he's stumped by the access password. The solution, when it finally arrives, drew a big smile from my mug.

I wasn't as enamoured of "The Hounds of Baskerville," which I thought was the weakest episode, and yet still quite watchable. But, then again, I wasn't that fond of the original story, either, so I do claim some bias. Some of the original plot survives: that of a man in the atmospheric moors being stalked by an infernal hound. But then we eye the forbidding British army compound and the conspiracy theorists, and that's the modern spin in play. If "A Scandal in Belgravia" introduced Sherlock Holmes to a twisted kind of passion (it's questionable whether it's love he feels for Irene), "The Hounds of Baskerville" shoved terror directly in his face. It's a bit jarring to see the aloof detective quivering in fright.

The deadly mind games between Holmes and Moriarty escalate in the riveting third episode, "The Reichenbach Fall." The story opens with Moriarty allowing himself to be captured by the constabulary after three daring simultaneous break-ins. I won't say more except that it's all part of Moriarty's devious plan to get Sherlock Holmes, that this pushes Holmes to the very brink of defeat, that this may be the finest bit of acting I've seen from Martin Freeman (one of cinema's finest reactors), and that Andrew Scott ("Moriarty") redeems himself from his previous what-the-hell-was-that? appearances. Really, no universe should exist in which Moriarty throws a raspberry.

SHERLOCK - THE COMPLETE SERIES TWO comes with 2 discs and the following bonus features (or the Region 2 set does, anyway):

- lively audio commentary on "A Scandal in Belgravia" with co-creators/writers Steven Moffat & Mark Gatiss (who also is rather good as "Mycroft Holmes"), producer Sue Vertue, Benedict Cumberbatch, and Lara Pulver
- audio commentary on "Hounds of Baskerville" with Moffat, Gatiss, Vertue, and actor Russell Tovey ("Henry Knight")
- "Sherlock Uncovered" - featurette which offers an overview of the three episodes comprising Series 2 (00:19:06 minutes)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


125 of 132 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Good to Great, May 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As I watched the first season of "Sherlock," my fondness for this show increased. From the opening moments in "A Study in Pink" to the Moriarty's stunning entrance in "The Great Game," I knew I was witnessing the rebirth of an icon. Yes, Mr. Downing Jr.'s portrayal in Hollywood's version is admirable and entertaining, but to find the true spirit of Sherlock Holmes one need look no further than this series. However, to say that it was ever more than "darn good television" would have been pushing it. Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman put on a fantastic show, and ever so often the writing and acting gave small glimmers of greatness, but I was never tempted to say that the show had achieved lasting greatness (though to successfully transpose Holmes into the modern age was a feat in and of itself).

However, with "The Reichenbach Fall," I'm pleased to say that Sherlock has left far behind casual crime drama (good drama though it was) and has now entered the realm of true, incredible art. From the writing to the acting, to the gripping, gut-wrenching final moments (I don't know who deserves more credit, Cumberbatch or Freeman for displaying some amazing acting chops), I am pleased to say that this episode delivered some of the finest television I've ever had the privilege of watching. To go any further into how incredible this single episode is would do a dis-service to you, if you have read this review so far. Stop reading and watch. Really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


284 of 313 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An invitation..., January 17, 2012
This review is from: Sherlock: Season 2 (DVD)
15 minutes.
That's all I need to convince you to watch this series.
I guarantee it.
Start from the beginning, Season 1. Fifteen minutes. If you want to turn it off after that, be my guest.
The writing, the acting, the CINEMATOGRAPHY, the costumes, the portrayal, the twists, the turns, the wit, the suspense: all create a fresh, new, brilliant invention of Sherlock Holmes in the 21 century...it will capture you and never let you go.
So go...watch this. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Sherlock'--let the new season begin!, March 13, 2012
This review is from: Sherlock: Season 2 (DVD)
The first season certainly ended on a terrific note and fans could hardly wait for the next set of episodes in a thrilling, modernized Sherlock Holmes take. In "Sherlock, Series II" we find the world's greatest consulting detective and his good doctor up to even more thrilling escapades. Season I was so thrilling that I ordered the advance copy of Season II from the UK--it's not yet shown here in the States, but there is great anticipation for it, however.

Sherlock's "brilliance" has never been so cleverly presented. Benedict Cumberbatch (as Sherlock) and Martin Freeman (Dr. Watson) seem perfectly matched and merely watching their bantering (and loyalty) is refreshing and at the same time touching. The genius of Sherlock, just because it's been updated in time, is never in doubt--but updating it to modern times, with the latest of technological "gadgets" is also a bit mesmerizing.

In Series II, we find (only) three adventures: "A Scandal in Belgravia," "The Hounds of Baskerville, " and "The Reichenbach Fall," are all based upon the original Arthur Conan Doyle stories, with, of course, clever updating.

And what Holmes adventures would be complete without at least a mention of Moriarty. We found him at the close of the final episode in Season I and, of course, we pick up where we left off.

At the end of "The Reichenbach Fall," I was a bit shocked--but the realized that the clever producers have, once again, set us up for another season. It cannot come too soon.
Clever, clever, clever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


100 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Worth It, January 16, 2012
This review is from: Sherlock: Season 2 (DVD)
This is the first series that I've seen from BBC, and let me tell you: it did not disappoint! The superb acting is matched only by the writing and effects, and the chemistry between Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman (as Sherlock Holmes and Dr. John Watson, respectively) lends the series a realism that sucks you in and makes you root for them from the first minute. Although set in the 21st century, this series stays faithful to the canon, with details that any true Sherlock Holmes fan will appreciate. You will want to watch them again and again. It will definately be worth the money, once it's available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Woman!, May 15, 2012
By 
Deborah Hymes (San Francisco Bay Area) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock Season 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
Not just any woman, of course, but Irene Adler -- the only woman who's a match for our hero. She's not just brilliant -- she's also a beautiful woman who's highly skilled at using her sexuality and seductiveness to get what she wants. What happens when she matches wits with the asexual Sherlock Holmes?

Updated for the 21st century, this episode does not disappoint. We gain unprecedented insight into Sherlock's psychology. Stay closely tuned after you think you've figured it all out. It ain't over til it's over -- and it's not over until the very last scene. Riveting in every way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Storytelling and TV at its finest, September 21, 2012
This review is from: Sherlock Season 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
There are so many choices on TV now all to some degree should entertain, yet in almost all is a distinct lack of substance. Finally a series that challenges the mind, while satisfying at every level the question "are you entertained?" Having watched the previous season, this episode is a significant leap from last season, and is really the crown jewel of a really excellent series. With an excellent story, superior acting, and first rate filmography and editing, this plays less like a miniseries than a mini-movie- and let me add I was much more entertained by this episode than a lot of movies I've seen recently.

To put it succinctly, if you are looking for a smart series, like mysteries, and appreciate great TV, you will love this series. This is what Sherlock Holmes should- needs to be in the 21st century, and it is perhaps one of the more enjoyable 90 mins you'll spend in front of the TV- spend it with Dr. Watson and Sherlock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah! The promise of Season 1 episode 1 fulfilled, May 20, 2012
By 
B. Wise (Fairfax, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sherlock Season 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
After season 1 episode 1, I had high hopes for this series. I was a little disappointed by subsequent episodes. However, with this season 2 episode 1, WOW...Sherlock is back! The actress playing Irene is tremendous. Cumberbatch and Freeman are as great as ever. They really try to make Sherlock a little less robotic and more human in this episode which helps in caring for the characters. I've said it before in another review but I'll say it again - Martin Freeman is going to be absolute perfection as Bilbo Baggins in the Hobbit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where's the Love It Button?, January 29, 2012
This review is from: Sherlock: Season 2 (DVD)
This season blew me out of the water. The third episode ripped my heart out and made me want to give it to John Watson. I hope BBC won't take too long with the third season, but I also don't want a rushed job done on my dear Sherlock. I'm so conflicted! Sherlock and John's friendship really grew during this season. All I want is my Sherlock...and Watson back--soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best show on television, April 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock: Season 2 (DVD)
If you're tired of watching the same thing on television show after show, night after night, take a look at Sherlock. I would suggest starting with season one. You will be hooked, it's a smart funny retelling of the Sherlock Holmes classics. This is the new standard! Everything about this show from the writing, acting, music and sets are brilliant.

I have but one negative thing to say concerning this series, there's not enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2304 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Scandal in Belgravia
A Scandal in Belgravia by Steven Moffat
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.