Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Grocery Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer seeso seeso seeso  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 2, 2015
Classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2015
perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2014
Just ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 1999
AWESOME
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2004
A Separate Peace is a great story set at a boarding school during WWII. Knowles writes beautifully this story about friendship, tragedy, innocence, and war. Read it slowly so you can savor Knowles's words. You can get something from every page of this novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2003
The interesting book about a friendship between two teenage boys was written by John Knowles. Rivalry arises between the friends and emotions take over. This book left me in suspense on what the outcome would be. A turn at the end comes unexpectedly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2004
A Separate Peace, by John Knowles, is set during the summer and winter months of 1942. This novel is about the envy and jealousy Gene, the protagonist, feels for his supposed best friend Finny. Gene resents Finny's athletic ability along with his carefree and innocent outlook on life. It explores the evil ideas of envy and jealousy and the consequences that accompany them. Initially I did not like this novel. It starts off slow. If you can make it through the first several chapters, however, you will be greatly rewarded when you complete it. The theme of resentment and the bitter outcome that usually accompanies it, is universal throughout the book. What seems to be innocent childhood admiration and envy ends with a much deeper meaning, a meaning that is strong enough to change one's outlook on life. I would recommend this book to both males and females. I believe anyone who reads this novel will be greatly impacted by the important message this novel places on one's heart.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 1999
It's me again from above. I decided the biology book comment was unfair. The biology book does not deserve to be classified as low as this book does. I am sorry for the mistake.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2002
A pretty depressing novel but a good one and friendship is displayed nicely by Knowles. If you like stories with good friendships and compelling drama, I suggest you read A Separate Peace. It's nicely moving and a timeless classic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2014
Great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse