Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read
Not the best in the world, writing style can be a tad repetitive from page to page like the way a tv show might repeat scenes after a commercial ends.
BUT, so far it is an informative overview of data science and big data.
Totally enjoyable read if you are not versed in the topic.

Not a book for those who already work in this field or are already...
Published 23 months ago by Goodbye Helicopter

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good coverage but superficial
A concise but superficial means of learning what "data science" is and what other folks are doing in it. However, it is a bit of the "gee wizz" and "hey, wow" breezy style that doesn't give me confidence in the content. It probably makes a good stepping stone to more specific resources, or may be all the detail you want or need. It's subtitle is...
Published 20 months ago by Chuck


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Simple Introduction to DATA SCIENCE (Kindle Edition)
Not the best in the world, writing style can be a tad repetitive from page to page like the way a tv show might repeat scenes after a commercial ends.
BUT, so far it is an informative overview of data science and big data.
Totally enjoyable read if you are not versed in the topic.

Not a book for those who already work in this field or are already doing Hadoop and R in the same breath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good coverage but superficial, April 4, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Simple Introduction to DATA SCIENCE (Kindle Edition)
A concise but superficial means of learning what "data science" is and what other folks are doing in it. However, it is a bit of the "gee wizz" and "hey, wow" breezy style that doesn't give me confidence in the content. It probably makes a good stepping stone to more specific resources, or may be all the detail you want or need. It's subtitle is accurate: "A Simple Introduction to Data Science".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Brief But Not Concise, September 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Simple Introduction to DATA SCIENCE (Kindle Edition)
As other reviewers have mentioned, this book covers much of the right material but it's not an adequate introduction to the field of data science.

For a book about information it is poorly conceived and organized. Chapters jump from broad topics to very specific technologies. For instance, there are two separate chapters about Apache software, but not the broader context of why these tools are powerful. There are far too many quotes used as filler content and the author drifts carelessly between topics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An acceptable primer for business readers, I guess, April 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Simple Introduction to DATA SCIENCE (Kindle Edition)
As a practicing statistician/data analyst, this is an area that I would like to know more about. The book gives a high level business overview, though it was thin on details that would appeal to a practising "data scientist". That seems to be the current phrase for people that work in the intersection of statistical analysis, data processing, business intelligence and that sort of thing.

Like much business writing, it seemed to me to be a combination of useful information, tub-thumping, cheer leading and buzzword scattering. I went to an IBM conference on "big data" a few years ago, that left me with the same impression. I suppose one can't expect much more than that from a fairly short book, or a one day conference. For example, you learn something about at thing called Hadoop, but not much about how it works in any technical sense. That was my impression, anyway.

So, in summary, the book is ok for an intro to the subject. One senses that the area has potential benefits, but it's still hard to really pin it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather Light on Information, October 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am not sure who the intended audience is for this book; it does not provide very much information on how Data Science is used. Some additional examples on problems addressed by DS and their solutions might make this book more valuable to the reader. I didn't expect much from this book, but I was still disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice overview, June 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Simple Introduction to DATA SCIENCE (Kindle Edition)
Aptly titled, this is indeed a simple introduction. It is a light overview of the field which points the reader to several more resources for a deeper dive. It's a fast read intended to frame this new area of study for those curious about the subject. A good start for beginners. Those with a deeper background would be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good intro to subject, September 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Simple Introduction to DATA SCIENCE (Kindle Edition)
Recommend as a starting point for following data analytics discussions, understanding the different disciplines involved when seeking products and services in the space
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Intro to 'White Science' of Big Data, August 27, 2013
By 
Christopher A. Leach (Farmington Hills, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Simple Introduction to DATA SCIENCE (Kindle Edition)
Lots of poignant information, but lots of spelling and syntax errors. I also found its organization somewhat lacking, which tended to detract from the author's message about the metachanges Big Data will bring to civilization.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction, April 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Simple Introduction to DATA SCIENCE (Kindle Edition)
This book gives a good introduction to the hot topic of Data Science. I learnt a lot from it and would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Rate, March 19, 2013
A first rate introduction to a complex but essential subject. The art of Data Science is still in its infancy. Nielsen and Burlingame do an excellent job in explaining all the varied nuances of this emerging art in a jargon-free manner understandable to all. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Simple Introduction to DATA SCIENCE
$2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.