Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Single Actress
A Single Girl is a remarkable movie with an equally remarkable actress. Virginie Ledoyen is on the screen for the whole movie, often by herself in her own thoughts-but you never tire of watching her. This is partly because she is so pretty, and partly because she is so alive on screen. But mostly it is because she is a terrific actress, she goes from flirting to fury in...
Published on July 28, 2000 by William Spears

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars What about the drama?
I agree with all the other reviewers who note the performance of the lead actress - it's subtle and deft and yes she looks fantastic.

But as a piece of drama the film is totally lacking. Much of the time the camera follows Ledoyen seemingly endlessly walking up and down hotel corridors. Having said that, the film is certainly bold in eschewing the usual...
Published on February 2, 2013 by D. Sedgwick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Single Actress, July 28, 2000
By 
William Spears (Chicago, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Single Girl [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A Single Girl is a remarkable movie with an equally remarkable actress. Virginie Ledoyen is on the screen for the whole movie, often by herself in her own thoughts-but you never tire of watching her. This is partly because she is so pretty, and partly because she is so alive on screen. But mostly it is because she is a terrific actress, she goes from flirting to fury in the space of a breath. Finally, you have to credit the director,Benoit Jacquot, with developing a story and a rhythm which allowed Virginie to explore what being a single girl can mean. I agree with the other customer review, where was the academy award nomination for Virginie?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best French films I have ever seen!, April 14, 2000
By 
Rebecca (Charleston, SC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Single Girl [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie is fantastic. I had to watch it for a French class (I am a French major) and was reluctant at first to even bother paying attention. But the movie is very, very unique (filmed in real time except for a jump ahead to two years later) and exceedlingly well-filmed. Virginie is a fabulous actress (and very brave to be filmed in such a manner), and she portrays the problem of wanting to be a single, independent woman and mother in France. Her portrayal is very important to contemporary French society, and she lives up to the task. This movie is honestly one of my top five favorite French movies, and I have seen many!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding film, but probably not for all tastes., January 7, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Single Girl (DVD)
Like Godard's VIVRE SA VIE, A SINGLE GIRL is ultimately an affectionate character study of its leading lady, Virginie Ledoyen. Thus, how you respond to this film will depend on how captivated you are by Ledoyen's performance. Prior to viewing A SINGLE GIRL, I was somewhat baffled by her rise to something of cult status in French cinema. Yes, as one reviewer mentioned, she has a cute face, but there is no shortage of cute faces in cinema these days. What is most striking about Ledoyen's performance in A SINGLE GIRL, and what really convinced me of her talent, is the depth and range of feeling she is able to convey just by her movements and expressions. Although she is on screen for the whole picture, she has relatively few lines, and what her character does say, is usually evasive. And yet in order to sell her character, Ledoyen must make her viewer feel the anxiety of a young woman confronting an uncertain situation. One of the more remarkable passages of this film is when Ledoyen calls her mother, and in that phone conversation attempts to tell her mother everything without saying much of anything. It is a riveting scene which has her character searching for maternal affection, while trying to mask her vulnerability.
If you are not similarly enchanted by Ledoyen's performance, it goes without saying that you will not appreciate this film. As the screenplay is lackluster in points and the ending is dissapointing, A SINGLE GIRL succeeds mainly because of Ledoyen's performance (though the supprorting cast is also excellent). If you do not find her peformance absorbing, the real time narration will lose all of its force. As a result, I would recommend that you rent this DVD first. I highly recommend that you give this film an honest viewing (I think it is among the most significant works of the nineties), but it is not for all taste. The Winstar DVD is subpar, as usual. Fortunately the film is presented in widescreen format; however, the transfer is very dark and muddled. Nonetheless, if you were as captivated by this film as I was, you no doubt will be able to tolerate the mediocre presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent commentary on relationships, December 5, 2002
By 
G. P. Pivateau "griffinb" (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Single Girl (DVD)
Although this movie seems to center on the scintillatingly beautiful Virginie Ledoyen, it actually provides an in-depth portrait of the nature of relationships. While trying to make a decision about her life, Ledoyen encounters a number of characters, each engaged in a negative relationship. She witnesses the joys and pitfalls of the people she meets, and the sight of each hurtful relationship seems to make her withdraw. The triumph of the movie is watching Ledoyen grow more remote and distant with each encounter, leading to her own seemingly baffling decision at the end of the movie.
I would encourage anyone to watch this movie and understand that it is more than a story about Ledoyen's character-it is a commentary piece, with Ledoyen representing the audience. Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Virginie Ledoyen is a revelation!, January 9, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Single Girl [VHS] (VHS Tape)
As John Lennon once wrote, "Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."
This is a very simple film, and that simplicity gives it an extraordinary beauty. And speaking of "extraordinary beauty," Virginie Ledoyen is a revelation, a young Isabelle Adjani in the making.
Ledoyen plays Valerie, a young French girl who one morning meets her boyfriend in cafe, argues with him, then runs off to a hotel a couple blocks away to begin a new job. Her new co-workers greet her in the manner co-workers always greet a newcomer: some with welcome arms and others with contempt. When Valerie gets a break and runs back to the cafe to finish the argument with her boyfriend, we feel every tick of the clock. We know she is taking too long on the break and has got to get back!
But everything that happens to Valerie is so very real and so very urgent because the film is shot in real time. This was a daring attempt by the director, Benoit Jacquot, but his gamble hits the bullseye. Of course, with Virginie Ledoyen to follow around with his camera, Jacquot could hardly go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A raw slice of life, April 24, 2000
This review is from: A Single Girl [VHS] (VHS Tape)
"La Fille seule" is an absolute gem of a film that is particularly fascinating because its structural simplicity belies a complex, multi-layered character study. And the subject of writer/director Jacquot's scrutiny is a headstrong, independent young woman who, while acknowledging her vulnerability in the face of several personal crises, refuses to sit idly by and play the victim. The camera utterly adores actress Virginie Ledoyen (who portrays Valerie with raw vibrance), which is perhaps why there is never a dull moment in a film that was shot in real time so that viewers could get a glimpse of even the most trivial of daily tasks that Valerie undertakes. What is also interesting is Jacquot's low-keyed exploration of sexual harassment in the workplace and of how brief, chance encounters with strangers can have long-term effects on our personal attitudes and perceptions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why has Virginie Ledoyen hasn't got any oscar yet ?!!!, May 9, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: A Single Girl [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Virginie Ledoyen might be one of the most cute actress in our cinema. I invite everybody to follow her (this is what Benoît Jacquot does here)during 90 minutes. This movie is a real event, obviously by its formal choice and - I must insist - by the emotional presence of the french actress. NB : Check out the release of "Jeanne et le garçon formidable" with the same actress, a musical a la Demy, better than Demy. Be patient and just watch "A Single girl".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gotta love the French for singling out every detail, May 27, 2013
This review is from: A Single Girl (DVD)
I am starting to get used to the fact that French films ABSOLUTELY LOVE EVERYDAY DETAIL. In America..we do the same think on Facebook (not me, I don't even have a Facebook page)..what do we have for dinner..went to the store for candy etc etc. This film captures everyday detail and if that bothers you, you aren't likely to be into this film much. That being said though, I agree with all the reviews because everybody myself including notes that the lead actress is incredible..she is a great actress and extremely easy on the eyes!! The film is good enough to me that when the credits suddenl and without warning came up I thought it ended too soon and would have liked it to carry on further with what happened in her life. The scene at the close with the woman, baby and her mother was really good. I give it four stars mainly because I admire the lead character really having to carry out the whole thing and pulling it off swimmingly!! If this same lead actress were given a great script she'd be as famous as Sharon Stone in Basic Instinct!! And I hope one day French filmmakers become aware that smoking is not glamorous anymore; in fact it kills and is particularly deadly to do while pregnant, drinking, too, and this woman while pregnant does both throughout the film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars What about the drama?, February 2, 2013
This review is from: A Single Girl (DVD)
I agree with all the other reviewers who note the performance of the lead actress - it's subtle and deft and yes she looks fantastic.

But as a piece of drama the film is totally lacking. Much of the time the camera follows Ledoyen seemingly endlessly walking up and down hotel corridors. Having said that, the film is certainly bold in eschewing the usual compression of time and editing of sequences - but unfortunately the reason why just about every movie ever filmed compresses scenes and time is because it works - simple. Filming real time may well be avant-garde, but makes for a fairly lousy film. And the hotel segment is just dramatically too loose to actually build up a head of steam - the female lead is forever making breakfast trays...which she then delivers to various rooms - there's just no connection or momentum established during this long sequence. Watching a girl placing croissants onto breakfast trays, filling up from the coffee machine and then walking through a hotel to deliver is just not interesting and about as undramatic as is possible.

Overall a bold attempt to be different, but ultimately devoid of tension and drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyday situations as great drama, February 20, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Single Girl (DVD)
It's so refreshing to find such a wonderful, low-key movie.Its basically a day in the life of a young woman facing her first day of work as a room service maid at a hotel.During that day she must face not only all sort of hotel clients but also the dilemma of how to deal with her boyfriend and his mixed feelings about her pregnancy. This is the kind of movie that shows that you dont need a million explosions and over the top situations to have great drama. It reveals that everyday problems can be just as compelling.This is a terrific movie with an amazing central performance by Virginie Leyoden.Seeing her in "The Beach" shows that sometimes "Going Hollywood"is a step down in someone's career. Anyway..dont miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Single Girl
A Single Girl by Benoît Jacquot (DVD - 2000)
Used & New from: $7.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.