Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Think twice before buying!
If graphic design to you is pretty decoration and the latest cool font then this book is not for you...
However, if you want to gain the ability to apply witty and conceptual thinking to create communicative and memorable graphic images, then buy this book!
Concept and wit (two forgotten tools in the "computer first" design education in today's...
Published on August 19, 2000 by Glenn Sakamoto

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars for a worthy referencial work
this book has an awesome collection of works by hot shot designers plus the 'receipe' for their displayed idea. this adds significant amounts of life and meaning and fun into this book. however, i cite it as a reference because most of the designed works in it are frozen in the past and will most likely need a rejuvenation process before long. the only timeless part in...
Published on September 22, 2003 by torquemada


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, August 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Smile in the Mind (Paperback)
Nice book full of examples. It gives you a deep understanding of intention behind graphic design. When it was used to inspire, awe and provoke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the purchase, February 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Smile in the Mind (Paperback)
It's a great book with plenty of good examples for each witty style od design. It's super easy to read through and understand for class, as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Graphic Design essential, August 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Smile in the Mind (Paperback)
Great book.
If you're into graphic design, this book is a must.
The book showcases some of the best designers out there, although it's not up to date, it's still great.
Analysing and not only showcasing good design is always good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Phenominal!, March 11, 2007
By 
Mary Quirarte (2520 Falcon Way, MidlothianTX 76065) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Smile in the Mind (Paperback)
This is a delicious book. I'd love to use it for a college design textbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What is wit?, August 20, 2006
By 
spabomba (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Smile in the Mind (Paperback)
This book effectively and clearly outlines different kinds of visual wit. People often say you cannot learn or study topics like this... "A Smile in the Mind" dispels this myth. For anyone who is interested in learning more about communication through wit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational and Invigorating., August 26, 2005
This review is from: A Smile in the Mind (Paperback)
This is an exceptional book on the topic of visual wit. It does give more credit to a few pedestrian examples than is absolutely deserved, but it's an awesome read. That is, if you actually READ it, and not just look at the pretty pictures, it is interesting, inspiring, and invigorating. It's an excellent book to read when you are getting burned out by killjoy clients, the CEO's wife, or non-existant budgets.

Especially useful are the interviews in the back. Realizing that even Saul Bass and Milton Glaser had/have issues with creativity and wit is inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE solution for creativity block..., August 9, 2005
This review is from: A Smile in the Mind (Paperback)
I've read tens of design books, yet this is the one I'd recommend if you were lost on an island and only had access to one.

It contains some of the wittiest designs and creations, and takes a good stab at explaining what made them witty in the first place.

If you want to get your creative juices flowing and innovate to the extend the world has never seen, this is the book to pray to.

A pleasure to read from start to finish.

Plus I got my copy almost free using a coupon from UnderTag.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for a read and as inspiration..., July 24, 1998
Although I was a little disappointed by the feeling that about 1/3 of the designs shown in the book were all in the article that convinced me to buy it (Critique Magazine), I am about halfway through reading it cover to cover (on the subway to and fro work), and I almost never stop smiling, nodding, or saying, "Hrmph" during the ride. As a student currently making a rough transition from Apparel Design to Visual Communications, this is the kind of publication that reminds me of why I made that decision. (And makes me wonder if The Partners will be hiring freshcuts when I get outta college!) Good for a read, and as inspiration -- a definite keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok quality, fast service, January 10, 2011
The book arrived within the time period that was promised, and it was nicely packed. The product was in good quality otherwise, but the front cover was aged yellow (probably because exposure to sun light). The condition of the front cover was not mentioned in the product description, but because it was a used book anyway, I'm ok with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not that witty, really, May 3, 2002
This review is from: A Smile in the Mind (Paperback)
A nice design book. But what the authors describe as wit is simply design with a message in it. I mean, they classify the Shell logo as visual wit!
The best genuine wit is on page 56; the front cover of "Designer" magazine's Money Issue. A bank manager, pictured behind his desk with Thurberesque simplicity of line, tells a pen-and-copperplate-engraved image of a designer that he's "ridiculously overdrawn".
If you're interested in visual wit look at advertising, not design. Get a British D&AD annual from the 80's or 90's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Smile in the Mind
A Smile in the Mind by Beryl McAlhone (Paperback - August 13, 1998)
$39.95 $29.14
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.