A Soul To Steal (The Sanheim Chronicles Book 1) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
A Soul to Steal has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: The cover is clean but does show some wear. The cover has minor curled corners. The spine is slightly warped. This book is signed by the author! Text only, no supplement included. The pages show little wear and tear. Item ships secure with Fulfillment By Amazon, Prime customers get 2nd day at no charge!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

A Soul to Steal Paperback – December 10, 2011


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$13.99
$10.39 $3.50

Spring Books
The Big Books of Spring
See our editors' picks for the books you'll want to read this season, from blockbusters and biographies to new fiction and children's books.
$13.99 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.


Frequently Bought Together

A Soul to Steal + Band of Demons: The Sanheim Chronicles: Book Two (Volume 2)
Price for both: $27.98

Buy the selected items together
If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle Edition for FREE. Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.


Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 360 pages
  • Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (December 10, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1466381213
  • ISBN-13: 978-1466381216
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 0.8 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.3 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (254 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #545,535 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"A Soul to Steal is simply scary. With the combination of an ancient Celtic myth and the legend of the Headless Horseman, Blackwell's story is a leave-the-light-on kind of page turner...If you like suspenseful thrillers, check out A Soul to Steal."
-- The Indie Reader [Book Blog]

About the Author

Rob Blackwell is a journalist who currently serves as Washington Bureau Chief for American Banker newspaper. A native of Great Falls, Va., he has worked as a reporter for the Loudoun Times-MirrorEastern Loudoun Times and a columnist for the South County Chronicle.
He is the author of The Sanheim Chronicles, a trilogy that combines urban fantasy, mystery and humor. "A Soul to Steal" and "Band of Demons" were both Kindle bestsellers. The final book in the series, "Give the Devil His Due," was published on Oct. 1, 2013.
Rob has won several Virginia Press Association awards and was co-winner of the Jesse H. Neal Award for Business Journalism. He has appeared several times on other media outlets, including NPR, BBC, CNBC and C-Span.
He lives in Virginia with his wife and two children.

Customer Reviews

I read this book in 24 hours.
B. Davis
I have to say I thought of the wrong person over and over again as I was reading the book.
Tammy
Characters were interesting, plot was well thought out, pacing of the book was great!
Dusty

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

71 of 77 people found the following review helpful By tpoje's reviews on August 30, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
I came across this book while I was reading the fourth book in Stephen King's Dark Tower series (which has proven to be a real chore, by the way, but that's another review...). As it turns out, it was a welcome diversion. "Wizard and Glass" almost reads like a history book, but "A Soul to Steal" grabbed me from the beginning.

First and foremost, I would say this is more of a character piece that just happens to be against the backdrop of a horror storyline. Actually, I'm not even sure I would characterize it as straight-up horror. If I had to categorize it I would say it blends aspects from character-driven drama, horror, thriller, whodunnit, and even some romance thrown in to boot. Yet it remains a coherent piece throughout, and at the end of the day what you get is the story of two lost souls trying to find peace in a lonely Virginia town.

Which brings me to one of the strongest aspects of the book: the location. It takes place in a colonial-era town in Virginia, so rich with history that you can't help but think there has to be a ghost or two floating around. The town has an almost otherworldliness to it, making it the obvious place for fear to settle in and make itself at home. The book starts out dealing with two journalists who work for this quaint town's newspaper, both of them haunted by nightmares (both figuratively and literally). But it eventually and seamlessly evolves into a conflict that is much larger and far more relevant than the sleepy town in which it takes place. Reality and the paranormal seem to flirt with each other throughout the book, and when they finally meet the story charges like gangbusters towards the end.

The two main characters are as human as I have ever read.
Read more ›
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful By bendingthespine on October 24, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
Don't make my mistake and read this alone after night fall. I got freaked out at every little noise I heard. Not that that made me stop reading, I couldn't stop reading even when I got scared; I had to find out what was going to happen next. Mr. Blackwell had me on the edge of my seat throughout all of A Soul to Steal.

A Soul to Steal is about two journalists trying their best to hunt down a serial killer. I quickly became invested in the characters Quinn and Kate. Alone Quinn and Kate both have good careers and lives, but right from the start I know I want them to be together and I see that only if they stand as a team do they hold any hope against this serial killer. Kate has a secret from her past for wanting this monster dead that drives her to the point of not trusting others. It is crazy intense watching all this unfold and not being sure of who the killer is until the end.

It was hard for me to believe that A Soul to Steal is Rob Blackwell's first novel. I loved how he took just a little bit of the Headless Horseman story and interwove it with his own to make this unique thriller. I think anyone could enjoy this book and it is perfect for this time of year. A Soul to Steal had me smiling one minute and scared of my own shadow the next. And let me tell you this I don't know how long it will be before I will be able to open my front door to someone I don't know again...what if they it's serial killer?

Happy Reading,
Rebecca
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
41 of 46 people found the following review helpful By Joseph Adler on September 30, 2011
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
"A Soul to Steal", by Rob Blackwell, has both the twists and turns of a clever whodunit and the edginess of a supernatural thriller. Like a good detective novel, it pulls you in and keeps you guessing. But it is also more than that, combining mythology and chilling suspense into an engrossing tale about good and evil. Fans of Sherlock Holmes and Buffy the Vampire Slayer will both enjoy this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
BEC'S REVIEW

Now bear in mind that while I like a good crime book, it is not one of my favourite genres. And yet I am always intrigued by supernatural elements in a story. So a crime book with supernatural elements, like this one, is one that I am more likely to pick up than an ordinary crime book. This synopsis of this book had me eager to read it and it did not let me down at all. In fact I find little to fault in this book in my struggle to put it down each night and not stay up in order to read `just one more chapter'.

The supernatural themes of this book are not overly heavy, but they do add to and expand the story and have more to do with our protagonists than the serial killer you're trying to identify. Like a lot of crime books this is a classic `whodunit', where the protagonist and the reader are trying to work out who the murderer is before it's too late. It comes complete with red herrings and potential suspects, and a twist that I was not suspecting. Let's just say that all my guesses for the killer were all wrong, and I did not see the true one coming until the main character identified them for me.

This book is self published. I say that not to warn or to put anyone off but just as a mere fact because reading the book itself does not give this fact away. It has the polish that you would find in a professionally published book, and I believe it has the potential to stand up against some of those books. Overall it's a great read and one you'll struggle to believe hasn't been picked up by a publishing house, such is the quality of editing and plot.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


More About the Author

Rob is an award-winning journalist with 15 years' experience and the author of The Sanheim Chronicles and The Soren Chase novels, two series that combine urban fantasy, mystery and suspense.

His first novel, A Soul to Steal, was featured on USA Today and praised by book bloggers and readers alike for its great plot and "fantastic ending." Many of his other books have been Kindle bestsellers in the Dark Fantasy category.

As a journalist, Rob has won several Virginia Press Association awards and was co-winner of the Jesse H. Neal Award for Business Journalism. He has appeared several times on other media outlets, including NPR, BBC, CNBC and C-Span.

You can find out more about him on his Facebook page, at www.facebook.com\asoultosteal or on Twitter at @abwashbureau.

Rob lives in Virginia with his wife and two children.

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
A Soul to Steal
This item: A Soul to Steal
Price: $13.99
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com