Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sum of Its Parts
"Supergroups" rarely live up to their pedigree; it's almost assumed that when members from other bands come together, the sum will always be less than the parts. Velvet Revolver (Guns N Roses + Stone Temple Pilots), Audioslave (Soundgarden + Rage Against the Machine), "Van Hagar" (Van Halen + Sammy Sagar), etc... But every now and then, a collaboration will come up...
Published on August 28, 2012 by T. A. Daniel

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I love Britt Daniel but not the 80s
And boy are there some synth-tastic numbers on this album. Britt is, as always, percussive and fabulous. But... that's about all I dug on this record. Hence, 3/5 stars, as 3/5 songs are done by Britt and are therefore fabulous.
Published 17 months ago by Caitlin Eve Mcguire


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sum of Its Parts, August 28, 2012
"Supergroups" rarely live up to their pedigree; it's almost assumed that when members from other bands come together, the sum will always be less than the parts. Velvet Revolver (Guns N Roses + Stone Temple Pilots), Audioslave (Soundgarden + Rage Against the Machine), "Van Hagar" (Van Halen + Sammy Sagar), etc... But every now and then, a collaboration will come up that's just as good as the work that the other band members have created: Broken Social Scene, Crosby Stills & Nash, and Cream.

The word "supergroup" has been thrown around a lot in regards to Divine Fits line up: Brit Daniel on guitar/vocals (Spoon), Dan Boeckner guitar/vocals (Wolf Parade), Sam Brown on drums/percussion (New Bomb Turks), and Alex Fischel on keyboards/synthesizers. To be sure, Divine Fits have the pedigree to be a good band, and luckily, easily they are able to meet their reputation and expectations. With Boeckner and Daniel sharing vocal duties pretty evenly, the band's music sounds like a collaboration of sensibilities rather than a competition (like the Raconteurs would sometimes sound). The band's debut album, A THING CALLED DIVINE FITS is 11 tracks, 42+ minutes of fantastic indie-rock.

While there are surely elements of each band present in Divine Fits' debut, the band creates its own sounds with its own sensibilities thanks to the dripping synthesizers of Fischel. The album introduces itself as a more electronic version of anything the band's members have done: "My Love is Real" uses electric bass and synthesizers to give it an 80's new-wave vibe. A THING CALLED DIVINE FITS isn't done there though -- the next track, "Flaggin A Ride" is a stomping, grooving rocker that relies on bare-bones instrumentation. True to form, some of the Brit Daniel-led tracks are minimal in design, only relying on drums, bass, and sparse guitar. Fans of Spoon who were let down by the recent TRANSFERENCE ought find this as a welcome return. One of the album highlights, "Would That Not Be Nice," sounds like a GaGaGaGaGa-era Spoon. The groovy "Baby Get Worse" finds Boeckner on singing duty with a track that would feel at home in a Wolf Parade album.

The rest of the songs here though, sound like an amalgamation of these bands. "The Salton Sea," is laden with synthesizers -- it's experimentation trapped in a pop song's shell. "Shivers" finds Daniel at his most sincere, and the downtempo rock song serves as one of the album's best -- the band knocks this Boys Next Door cover out of the park. "Neopolitans" leaves listeners guessing as it moves beyond form or convention. The final track, "Like Ice Cream," is a bouncing, shaking song that ends the album with a salute to summer. It's a great ending: concise, sharp, and pulsing.

Fans of Spoon, Wolf Parade, or the New Bomb Turks will likely find material here to love. Spoon fans put off by the band's recent TRANSFERENCE will be pleased with Brit Daniel's contributions here. Essential tracks to sample/download: "My Love Is Real," "For Your Heart," "Would That Not Be Nice" and "Shivers." It's not always an immediate or accessible album, but it's one that pays off in big ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars addictive, September 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you are considering buying this album, you most likely are either a Dan Boeckner fan or a Spoon fan, or both. I am a longtime Spoon fan but after listening to the Divine Fits, I will have to learn more about Boeckner's other projects. A Thing Called the Divine Fits is fun indie/alternative pop album, filled with great melodies, 80s electronics, minimalist guitar and great vocals from both frontmen. From the perspective of a Spoon listener, it sounds like an off-the-cuff spoon album put through a strange 80's production filter. I am surprised to find the Divine Fits to be more fun than the last Spoon album, Transference, which had many good moments but could be a bit self-serious and tedious. Boeckner and Daniels seem to be enjoying themselves, and that feeling is infectious. Here's to hoping for another Divine Fits album and another Spoon album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice debut album, and even better live, July 16, 2013
This past weekend I saw Divine Fits in concert for the first time (more on that later). In anticipation of that show, I just had to relisten to their debut album from last Fall, which was released among high expectations, this being an indie-rock "super-group" (including Spoon's Britt Daniel and Wolf Parade's Dan Boeckner).

"A Thing Called Divine Fits" (11 tracks; 43 min.) opens with a vengeance, "My Love Is Real" (1st single) is a biting yet catchy track. "Flagging a Ride" is a brooding mid-tempo road song. "What Gets You Alone" immediately reminds us of Daniel's work with Spoon. "Would That Not Be Nice" is in the vein of "My Love Is Real". "The Salton Sea" reminded me of Ultravox 30 years ago, and that's a compliment. "Baby Gets Worse" is a hypnotizing tune. Things slow down (and go acoustic) on "Civilian Stripes", only to be followed by the majestic "For Your Heart" (almost 6 min., by far the longest song on here). The album falters just lightly towards the end, but closer "Neopolitans" brings it home very nicely.

In all, this is a very nice debut album. I saw these guys in concert this past weekend at the Bunbury Music Festival here in Cincinnati where they played the next-to-last set (MGMT closed Day 2 after them), and they put on a fantastic 60 min. set. They played pretty much everything from the album (interestingly, they opened with the album's closing track Neopolitans), and they also brought the brand new single "Ain't That The Way" and a cover of Tom Petty's "You Got Lucky" to boot. A great set that was! Meanwhile, I would readily recommend this album. "A Thing Called Divine Fits" is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, love, love this sound, August 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Thing Called Divine Fits (MP3 Music)
I heard a few tracks on the radio, loved the sound, bought the album, loved it from start to finish.

I was describing it to my friend and told them if they liked Spoon, they'd like Divine Fits because they sound a lot like Spoon.

Then I did some reading up on Divine Fits, where I learned Divine Fits is a super group including the lead from Spoon. Oops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good mix., April 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Thing Called Divine Fits (MP3 Music)
After one listen I really liked this CD. It feels like I will come to love it. There is just enough electronica to make it interesting without overwhelming the music it supports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Divided Album, October 1, 2012
By 
Eddie G (Edinburg, TX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Divine Fits are a band I had on my radar since I learned two of my favorite bands were getting together (Wolf Parade & Spoon). This whole album stinks of both bands attempting to merge, however I think each song tends to cater to each of it's frontman talents.

I call it divided because the album takes a break at "Salton Sea" however that's my opinion. Every song in that album is amazing. This album is a poppy Wolf Parade/Spoon love child
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Glad I found these guys!, February 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Thing Called Divine Fits (MP3 Music)
Incredibly unique. Love the music mix they brought to this one. Track 4 "Would That Not Be Nice" truly blows my mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funky and fun, February 11, 2014
By 
Sunny G (Cedar Rapids, IA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Thing Called Divine Fits (MP3 Music)
Okay, I love this collaboration between Wolf Parade and Spoon. Loved both bands individually, and together they're great. Each song is tappable and has high replay. They're so good my fiance proposed to on the way to their show because as he said, "I was waiting for a good band to come to town to ask you to marry me."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, August 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Thing Called Divine Fits (MP3 Music)
I really enjoy Spoon, so I was delighted to find out about the Divine Fits. It's always fun to hear new musical collaborations. "Flaggin' a Ride" has such a Spoon sound that it almost belongs on "Transference". I'm not sure if that's a good or a bad thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Spoon...love this Album as much OR EVEN MORE, May 3, 2013
By 
Dannyboyjake (Plymouth, MN, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What a fun album! Spoon is a blast and bringing in some fresh talent here brings a fun newer sound. Brit Daniel is finding a way to a bit of commercial success finally? He and this album deserves it! Just darn fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Thing Called Divine Fits
Buy MP3 Album$5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.