Customer Reviews


383 Reviews
5 star:
 (153)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (48)
1 star:
 (105)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


117 of 134 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Side of the Park
What do you do when you're a top-selling rap-rock act and your genre has long since expired? The answer is simple: Evolve. In 2007, Linkin Park did just that. With the release of their polarizing third album, "Minutes to Midnight," they brought an unmistakable pop-rock element to the table, downplaying both the rap and the rock elements that made them such a hit in the...
Published on September 24, 2010 by A. Estes

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, If Flawed Effort
Linkin Park have passed their peak, much like many solo artists and bands who were popular back in the early 00's and have since faded the slightest bit to the background compared to other bands. Fortunate for the band, they still have a great degree of popularity and support, even if the style of the band has became (or tried to become) more mature, particularly with...
Published on September 16, 2010 by Michael Brent Faulkner, Jr.


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

117 of 134 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Side of the Park, September 24, 2010
This review is from: A Thousand Suns (Audio CD)
What do you do when you're a top-selling rap-rock act and your genre has long since expired? The answer is simple: Evolve. In 2007, Linkin Park did just that. With the release of their polarizing third album, "Minutes to Midnight," they brought an unmistakable pop-rock element to the table, downplaying both the rap and the rock elements that made them such a hit in the first place. While it performed well enough commercially, it alienated a good chunk of their fanbase, paving the way for a predictable "return to their roots" album. Unfortunately for that chunk of fans, the band's latest offering, "A Thousand Suns" is anything but predictable or reminiscent of the Linkin Park of yesteryear. And believe it or not, it's a good thing.

Trading in the undeniable hooks and chunky guitar riffs that populated their earlier albums for synthesizers and hip-hop beats, "A Thousand Suns" is certainly a tough cookie to swallow. While the tasty licks of guitar-God Brad Delson (sarcasm) will forever be missed, the band more than makes up for it in ample amounts of ambience. A semi-concept album, "A Thousand Suns" brings to mind a more angsty version of "Year Zero," with its themes of war and humanity. You may wonder if a band like Linkin Park is up to the task of making such a bold artistic statement, but surprisingly enough, they pull it off rather competently. With Rick Rubin once again serving as co-producer, the band gives the set a centralized theme and sound, even if the songs themselves wander down different paths. Sure, if you strip away the various spoken word and instrumental interludes that fill out the record, you're only left with nine full-length songs, but within these tracks, the band runs the gamut from hip-hop and electronica to pop and even progressive. Somehow though, these songs manage to sound alien when placed outside of their element, thus ensuring that "A Thousand Suns" is an album that can only be appreciated in its proper form, from front to back.

While "A Thousand Suns" may not be exactly what everyone wants from Linkin Park, at the end of the day, no one can accuse them of repeating themselves or recording the same album twice. At this point in their career, it would be all too easy to rest on their laurels and keep churning out "One Step Closer" clones. It's an album that lacks commercial edge and takes more than a few listens to fully sink in, but when approached with an open mind, it reveals itself as one of the band's most inspiring and definitive pieces of music. If you're hoping to get your white-boy angst on with this record, you may feel Linkin Park owe you a thousand apologies for "A Thousand Suns," but in the end, they don't, and really, you should have grown out of it by now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Rock Album in a Decade (and here's why), November 25, 2011
This review is from: A Thousand Suns (Audio CD)
It's regrettable that the average score for this album is 3/5, and I'll get to that in a moment. For anyone who is thinking about buying this (though with such a pathetic score, I'd be surprised), please keep this in mind: Linkin Park has changed. They had to. Cry about it if you must, but please stop with the negative reviews you whiny babies. You see, in 2003, the Nu Metal genre was dying (I mean, come one . . . where's Limp Bizkit? And even Korn is struggling), so they made an album. But not any album, you see. The album that they made was the meteor that would destroy the genre. That meteor's name was METEORA. It caused bands like Limp Bizkit to find new jobs because they couldn't compete and couldn't change. But, you see, when the genre flooded, Linkin Park made an arc called MINUTES TO MIDNIGHT. They floated while others drowned. If they made Meteora 2, they would have drowned too. And perhaps the negative reviews are people who are bitter that the genre died because of Linkin Park's greatness. It's understandable . . . and a bit pathetic.

A THOUSAND SUNS is the sequel to Minutes to Midnight, but it's a step in a different direction. That direction being Raggee. Yes, you read me correctly: RAGGEE; the genre is noticeable in WHEN THEY COME FOR ME, WAITING FOR THE END, and WRETCHES AND KINGS. Hip Hop also returns (unlike in Minutes to Midnight) and is very dominant in the album. Mike is perhaps present just as much as Chester (if not more). The album is a lot more balanced than Minutes to Midnight.

Now, here's the thing. I hated Linkin Park when they came out. Why? Because they were popular, and other people seemed to love them. So, I had to rebel. I listened to Reanimation and I was hooked like a druggy on meth. I bought Hybrid Theory (and, in fact, did not like it as much as Reanimation) and then Meteora was the album that changed my life. So why am I not bitter about their change in direction? Because, truthfully, I care for them. I don't want them dying like all the other Nu Metal bands out there; and if they choose to survive by being daring, by being creative, by being tasteful and risky, then by-golly I'll be on their side! I absolutely loved Minutes to Midnight, and A Thousand Suns is even better.

A THOUSAND SUNS is more political and spiritual than it is personal and emotional. And that's okay. If you want emotional stuff, listen to their older stuff. Simple as that. They've matured though, and so should you.

Here's the run down:

THE REQUIEM - It takes vocals from The Catalyst and seems as though a female is singing it. This is a very good intro; and the thesis to the album. It's not just a filler, it's essential. It's good.

THE RADIANCE - It takes an audio sample from a dude talking about the dropping of the Atomic bomb. Again, it sets up the entire theme for the album: apocalyptic (perhaps post-apocalyptic in some ways).

BURNING IN THE SKIES (4/5) - The verses in this song are sung by Mike. The verse lyrics are some of the greatest Linkin Park has ever written. It get's a 4/5 because the chorus gets repetitive (even though they change the lyrics per chorus).

EMPTY SPACES - Just a creative idea. It's an empty space. Crickets churping in a field.

WHEN THEY COME FOR ME (5/5) - The first time I listened to this, I thought it was the greatest song Linkin Park has ever made. And I still have a high opinion of the song. Ninety percent of the song is Mike rapping, and the chorus is just chanting. Very tribal (and that's what everyone I've talked to thinks of the song, too). It is their greatest Hip Hop song ever.

ROBOT BOY (3/5) - It would be a 2/5 if there were no redeeming qualities, but the fact is that the instrumental makes up for it and the meaning of the song. Yes, good meaning comes into play. The song is ultimately about doing something that you believe in and you feel like the world is against you. It's uplifting. But very slow (and that's why it's not a 4/5).

JORNADA DEL MUERTO (3/5) - A musical bridge between ROBOT BOY and WAITING FOR THE END. It's not bad. Also it's a necessary bridge, since the two songs are radically different.

WAITING FOR THE END (5/5) - One of Linkin Park's greatest songs ever. And clearly the best on the album.

BLACKOUT (4/5) - Chester's best performance on the album. The worst part of the song is that the verses are too short. And the outro of the song is very clever.

WRETCHES AND KINGS (2/5) - I don't know if it's because I can't understand some of Chester's lyrics, or if the song isn't "artistic" enough, but it just seems bland and a repeat of Hybrid Theory or Meteora with a political agenda and a raggee twist. It's decent. It's just not on par with their other stuff.

WISDOM, JUSTIC AND LOVE - Martin Luthur King's speech.

IRIDESCENT (4/5) - A lot of people will like this the most, but for me it was too slow, and the chorus got old after a while. It's still a great song that your mom would like (unlike your momma is a Five Finger Death Punch type of lady).

THE CATALYST (5/5) - I'm a christian, so perhaps their God-message drew me in. But as a whole, I like it because it doesn't sound like anything they've done before. And it's long; long is good.

THE MESSENGER (4/5) - Accoustic. Melodic. Short and sweet. It proves that Chester is the greatest modern singer of any genre.

In conclusion, just listen to the album, beginning to end (which is HOW IT MUST BE LISTENED TO) and keep an open mind! THIS IS NOT HYBRID THEORY, IT'S NOT METEORA, IT'S NOT MINUTES TO MIDNIGHT. . .

It's just Linkin Park making music that means something to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, October 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Thousand Suns (Audio CD)
I personally like it when bands change, grow and evolve as artists. Linkin Park's new album only took me a few listens to really like it. It has has all of the Linkin Park flavors, some anger, a little ambient, love, faith and some rap, but it's mixed in a unique way that you can't really put in a particular genre. I also love how there's these interludes between certain songs that keep the album flowing and your interest peaking.

I agree this is definitely different that anything they've done before, but personally I love it when bands change things up. Sometimes it doesn't work out, but when they do, the albums can become classics, even standing the test of time. This album in my opinion, will stand the test of time. Therfore, if you're expecting Meteroa or Hybrid Theory, then don't even bother. If you're interested in hearing musicians evolve as artists, then continue to listen to Linkin Park.

So if you're a fan then buy it and give it a few listens. Absorb the new Linkin Park and I think you'll be glad you did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is an album., April 21, 2012
This review is from: A Thousand Suns (Audio CD)
I spent most of my childhood listening to The Temptations, and during my teen years I took a strong liking to Carole King. During the 50's and 60's, most musicians worked hard to create an album - 10 or more songs that all worked together to complete a thought while also being able to stand alone. Unfortunately, over the years I have watched most musicians pile a bunch of songs onto a CD, have one or two good hits that they sell through iTunes, and the rest of the album goes unnoticed. Thankfully, Linkin Park know better, and they have done what musicians of their generation have failed to do; they created an album.

This album had to grow on me, partly because there is a serious message here which needs to be examined by those who listen to it. Each song by itself has a very simple meaning, but when put together, there are many hints about war of the past and present, where we might be headed as people, and there is a personal significance to some of the songs, like "Iridescent". If you know anything about World War II and Mike Shinoda's family, then, you can understand the vibe of this song.

The mixing, the instruments used, and the vocals are perfectly laid out, and compliment each song very well. Songs like Burning in the Skies and Waiting for the End are not hot radio tracks, they are above and beyond typical music. They have brought the art back to music, to put it simply. There are some songs that I like more than others, but that is partly due to my musical preference. Most fellow fans I have spoken to, prefer the songs that I am less impressed with. The album might seem a bit strange to some listeners, because it has a 1960's feel to it in some places, while being very "now". Simply put, you can play The Messenger before or after anything by The Beatles, and they will sound very, very good together.

I don't recommend this album to kids or teens, not because of the swearing but because, if you were born after 1990, you likely won't understand this album, because chances are you haven't had the life experiences to get it all.

If you just want to hear Hybrid Theory or Meteora, then, don't buy this. The band members were in their mid twenties when they wrote Hybrid Theory, and actually two or three years younger than I am right now. A person's music interests, personal interests and ideas can change over the course of ten years. We, as artists, are always learning, and searching for new tools to create within our favorite art form. So, if you hate this album because it doesn't sound like a 12 year old record, then, you aren't truly listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best yet, January 21, 2011
This review is from: A Thousand Suns (Audio CD)
The fact that there are roughly the same number of one star reviews as five star reviews is evidence that opinion is very much polarized. You love it or you hate it.

I'm firmly in the latter camp. This is a groundbreaking album that goes against the grain of instant gratification in a low-attention, i-tune obsessed, twittering world.

Do yourself a favor. Keep an open mind, listen to it straight through with no interruptions and without multi- tasking. Repeat and then repeat again. If you still hate it - fair enough. For me, this is one of the best albums of recent years - a truly monumental work...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatness, September 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Thousand Suns (Audio CD)
This is an amazing CD. In an age where the single is taking over, Linkin Park has created something which must be experienced in its entirety. Many are complaining about the so-called 'filler,' but its all necessary for the story the album and band are telling. The greatest part of this CD is the choice it gives to either listen to individual tracks or listen to the entire album as an unbroken whole. This can be done through the last track, which is simply the whole CD without break, the way it is meant to be listened to. Listen to the whole thing and you will feel what LP is doing and will see the greatness in what they've accomplished. So far my favorite album of the year. Below are also ratings of the tracks which are full songs:

3.) Burning in the Skies: 8/10. Not the best track, but given the strength of the album its still very good. Its slower considering LP's original works, but Chester still gets to showcase those pipes. It has a great build and sounds great. Yet its greatest feature is what it does to start the story of A Thousand Suns. It presents the loss which the rest of the album deals with. A solid opening.

5.) When They Come for Me: 8/10. This is a total first with LP. Shinoda has some great raps, but the unique part is Chester singing in a new way, big soaring tones which are then combined with a semi-tribal chorus. A very different welcome new mash-up of the LP sound. Its a faster track.

6.) Robot Boy: 7/10. For some reason, with this title, I thought this would be faster and 'When They Come for Me' would be slower, but its the opposite. This slows down a bit, but has a good build to add some power at the end. A good swell, but not the strongest single.

8.) Waiting for the End: 10/10. This is my favorite song on the album. It begins and ends with an incredibly catchy Shinoda rap and Chester is really able to sing with a loud but soft tone. The greatest part is the bridge and ending. There is such a mix and rise that one literally feels the music throughout. Just listen to it all of the way through and you'll see. A great song.

9.) Blackout: 9/10. For those aching for some good Chester screams, this is the one for you. The beat is actually semi-chill and fellow, but once Chester starts belting it takes on a whole new feel. There is also a cool mash-up of Chester's voice at the end that leads very well into the next song.

10.) Wretches and Kings: 10/10. Another absolutely stellar track. This is the one that will get you pumped. The song starts with a speech which totally gets one into its mood of struggle and then blasts away with Shinoda and Chester both fiercely firing away. They definitely mesh the best on this track. This one will get anyone rockin.

12.) Iridescent: 7/10. LP gets slow on this one. Its a welcome change though from the previous two songs. In the end go somewhere new once again giving a somewhat 'Thirty Seconds to Mars' sounding chorus line at the end. It sounds great though and, like most things, LP does it well.

14.) The Catalyst: 9/10. The hit single is definitely deserving of the standing. Its completely built on the build and keeps doing that until everything's blasting with all cylinders at the end. Some dislike the constant mention of God in the lyrics, but if you listen its not really about religion. Those words serve the purpose of the message better than anything, and that's why they were chosen.

15.) The Messenger: 9/10. Many have written that they dislike the contrast between this song, LP's first accoustic foray, and the rest of the album, but I think it works perfectly. Its a beautiful song with very meaningful lyrics and its drives home the message of the album. Chester's pipes also offer nice contrast within the song with the piano and guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot Get Enough, January 8, 2011
This review is from: A Thousand Suns (Audio CD)
A Thousand Suns was as different from Minutes to Midnight as Minutes to Midnight was from Meteora. The release of ATS snuck up on me, so I didn't have to wait too long after I found out about the release till I actually got to listen to the whole thing. I was hesitant at first, based on other reviews, but something told me not to worry, because I always enjoy their music and trust in their abilities and decisions.

I realize that the cd is different than before, but if you know anything about the band or have watched any of their videos and documentaries, they want to be creative, and different, and change if that's what they feel like doing. And for me, this cd was a major success. It would be a sad story if LP got deterred by this album and started to regress back to their old style. Of course the old style was great and got them to where they are now, but if I want it I'll put in the old cd. It's a journey with LP, and I'm glad they are taking me along. I'm excited to see what comes next. What challenges they make for themselves and how well they do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4+ ..... The base has not grown with the band, October 7, 2010
This review is from: A Thousand Suns (Audio CD)
Sad to see the avg. 3 stars on this release, but will say im not surprised.

This disc is lush, at times depressing, at times angry and at times mystical. Their initial fan base were angry teenage males or pop/metal crossover fans. They have not evolved with the band or they refuse to see LP for more than their hits early on. THAT is too bad because they are missing out on a bridge that could lead them to many many more less popular acts that make music that heals and leaves your emotions out for all to see. I find these artists to be a godsend because it shows me so many sides of myself and keeps me enthusiastic about finding more music of this style. The fly by night fans wont get it at all, and I figure they wrote most of these reviews.

I will say it is very difficult for a band that starts out selling 14+ million copies of their first 2 releases to branch out. LP has guts! They are going from the heart and a true evolution of their sound without sounding forced or fake in the least. I Most like bands like Anathema, Porcupine Tree, Antimatter and much darker stuff than LP. I believe they are shooting for a much wider range of styles and sounds, maybe not Progressive, but something undefinable. That is what this disc is. Moody all over, but some shades of hope, fun and energy along with the somber nature of the disc overall. Its shades of hope in a world of hopelessness. Its a disc that takes repeated listens and really is best listened to as a whole.

No song breakdowns here. Just a salute to the band for doing what THEY wanted and some of the fans that are sticking around to see their multi dimensional style. The dark Rap tracks are excellent and blend well with the more Melancholy tracks. Adding a touch of diversion and anger. This music is MORE than music, its pure and rich and thought prevoking. If you don't have more than 'Hits' on your mind, dont get it because YOU wont get it. If you are a person who finds music therapeutic as I do, than you will love it.

Bottom Line: Great disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Linkin Park - A Thousand Suns (7.5/10 - Good), September 11, 2013
By 
Setheru (Oklahoma/Illinois, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Thousand Suns (Audio CD)
A Thousand Suns is Linkin Park's fourth studio album, released in 2010. As the follow-up to the controversial Minutes to Midnight, will this album please both old and new listeners of Linkin Park?

First off, A Thousand Suns is a concept album about nuclear war. Never before has Linkin Park delved into matters as political as this. Or even an album as lengthy as this, clocking in at nearly forty-eight minutes. Being a concept album, most of the tracks flow together, either by interludes or by fading effects. Speaking of interludes, this album has many of them. Out of the fifteen tracks, there are six interlude-type tracks that bring the actual nine songs together. And, for the most part, it works. A Thousand Suns is meant to be listened to in one sitting, similar to a movie. Although the entire album contains one overlying theme, there is a sense of progression, both lyrically and just through the tone of the album. But is the album worth investing time in? I will be rating each track from GREAT to BAD depending on my opinion. N/A is used for some of the interlude tracks.

1. "The Requiem" -GOOD- This is a good opener for the album, with this and "The Radiance" leading into the first actual song on the record, "Burning in the Skies." Throughout the buildup of this track, the second verse of "The Catalyst" is refrained and distorted.

2. "The Radiance" -N/A- Samples a speech from J. Robert Oppenheimer, "father of the atomic bomb," while strengthening the theme about nuclear war.

3. "Burning in the Skies" -GOOD- Pulsating beats leading into a solid rock song, complete with piano. I don't really find anything particularly special about this song, although I think this track, lyrically, along with "The Catalyst" best exemplifies the theme of A Thousand Suns. Musically, the song just isn't as compelling as it should be.

4. "Empty Spaces" -N/A- Interlude containing sounds of riots, leading into the powerful next track.

5. "When They Come for Me" -GREAT- An aggressive, compelling rap fest that really pumps you up. What I really enjoy is the bizarre combination of Shinoda's vocals, offbeat drumming, and almost Middle Eastern-sounding chants. Somehow, this really works and just adds of lot of depth to the music. The stellar lyrics contain a lot of political-based meanings to them. There's even a reference to previous collaborator Jay-Z's The Blueprint 2.

6. "Robot Boy" -DECENT- This song introduces another, but minor, reoccurring theme in the album: human relationship with machines. It is a bit strange, but it works. The lyrics are ambitious but also very repetitive, and the music isn't very interesting, either. This is another track that I feel could have been better than it was.

7. "Jornada Del Muerto" -GOOD- Spanish for "route of the dead man." The track's title actually comes from the name of a water basin located near the test site of the detonation of the first atomic bomb. Although the lyrics of this interlude are in Spanish, so I can't understand them, I really enjoy the heavy electronic influence in the music.

8. "Waiting for the End" -GREAT- The album's second single is one of the best tracks on the entire album. It features the classic cooperation between Mike Shinoda's rapping and Chester Bennington's singing, typical of Linkin Park; though it has a much lighter tone than most of the other tracks. The lyrics also seem to be more personal than the other tracks dealing with warfare and the like.

9. "Blackout" -GOOD- Pretty much the only track on the album reminiscent of Linkin Park's old style, complete with Chester's screaming. Then there's the techno breakdown followed by Mike's short ballad.

10. "Wretches and Kings" -DECENT- This song returns with more aggressive rapping that follows Mario Salvo's speech about equality both racially and labor-wise. The overall song is very powerful and very enjoyable for me. It is hugely brought down by Chester's terrible attempts at rapping during the chorus of the song. At least it ends on a high note, with Mr. Hahn displaying his incredible skills on the turntables.

11. "Wisdom, Justice, and Love" -GREAT- Samples a notable speech from Martin Luther King, Jr. backed with piano. Very emotional and makes you think. It's interesting how as the track progesses, King's voice becomes more and more distorted and synthesized until it isn't even human-sounding anymore.

12. "Iridescent" -GREAT- An incredible inspiring ballad/anthem for Linkin Park. Starting with just Mike's singing and piano, more and more instruments are added through amazing progression. An essential and emotional song from this album that encourages you to look past failures.

13. "Fallout" -N/A- The final interlude of the album once again relays a robotic second verse of "The Catalyst" that slowly becomes Mike's human voice. This darkly foreshadows the end.

14. "The Catalyst" -GREAT- The ultimate and absolute song on this album. It perfectly addresses the theme of nuclear warfare. Containing an incredible buildup, every part of the song, every band member matters and contributes to this masterpiece. A Thousand Suns entirely leads up to this single track. And it would've been one of the greatest endings to an album ever. I don't know how, but Linkin Park managed to screw it up.

15. "The Messenger" -BAD- If "The Catalyst" was the ultimate song on this album, "The Messenger" is the complete opposite. An entirely acoustic track, Chester gives it his all, vocally. Unfortunately, it doesn't work at all. His voice is in this song is just too gravel-like to work with the music. Linkin Park should have just left it off of A Thousand Suns completely and ended it with the masterpiece that is "The Catalyst."

To sum A Thousand Suns up, it truly is an ambitious and powerful concept album, for the most part. There are a few times where it either just doesn't mesh well together or where it just falls flat. This album is completely different from anything Linkin Park has ever done and should be treated that way. To get used to the album and receive its full effect, I would recommend listening to it from start to finish. Well, except for "The Messenger." Just try to forget it's even on A Thousand Suns at all. I give this album 7.5/10, rounding it up to 4/5 stars.

I hope everyone knows this is just my opinion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, is this (really) Linkin Park?, October 16, 2010
By 
This review is from: A Thousand Suns (Audio CD)
There are so many differing opinions here.
It seems that people either love A Thousand Suns (5 stars) or really hate it (1 star) which averages out to a 3 star rating
which makes the disc appear to be average.

It isn't.

I've been an LP fan since Hybrid Theory (2000) BUT Metora was my favorite disc.
Linkin Park was the ONLY band that I loved enough to become a member of their fan club - The LP underground.

Minutes to Midnight was just average at best (in my opinion) - Generally soft, filler material with no real substance. It was a Political statement (a little too late).
Even the harder songs seemed forced (except No More Sorrow). I really didn't like it.
I was no longer an LP fan after that disc. I had moved on.

After listening to A Thousands Suns I was like everyone else who said, "Is this (really) Linkin Park?"

It was so different than any of their previous works that I actually liked it.
I became an LP fan once again.

It's truly a BOLD & PROVACATIVE move by the band to go in this experimental direction. Someone made a Pink Floyd comparision & I think that's accurate and evident with the 6 "interludes" that "connect" the disc as one big cohesive musical experience.

I think that people giving it only 1 star are most likely being biased & maybe closed minded.
They have a preconceived idea of what LP "should sound like" and are expecting the old LP (nu-metal/Rap sound).
Based on the song writing & album concept, I think that this is a good disc worthy of at least a 3 star rating. Personally I'd rate it a 4.5 out of 5 stars.

It's a slower sound that's more "emotional" and "conceptual" rather than just hard or rap music (although they touch on their old school sound on 3 tracks here).

Put on the headphones & turn off the lights. Let this music take you to a special place.
I really like it & wanna see how they pull off this new sound in concert?

Way to evolve LP !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Thousand Suns
A Thousand Suns by Linkin Park (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.