Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Christmas album
This is the sixth in the series of special Christmas albums dedicated to raising money for the Special Olympics, but this one is very different from previous albums that generally featured pop and rock music. This album, as its title suggests, features acoustic country and bluegrass music. As far as I know, all the recordings are new although some of the artists have...
Published on November 28, 2003 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
It's just ok. Not a very enjoyable CD. There are a couple of good renditions of songs but that's all. Recommend you try anouther Christmas one. I enjoy Mark Lowerys CD and the WOW Christmas, also Kelly Clarksons.
Published 9 months ago by buttercup


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Christmas album, November 28, 2003
This review is from: A Very Special Acoustic Christmas (Audio CD)
This is the sixth in the series of special Christmas albums dedicated to raising money for the Special Olympics, but this one is very different from previous albums that generally featured pop and rock music. This album, as its title suggests, features acoustic country and bluegrass music. As far as I know, all the recordings are new although some of the artists have recorded their chosen songs previously. Many of the songs here will be familiar to you but the simple acoustic settings featured here allow the singers to bring out the true meaning of each song
The set opens with Reba singing a great version of Silent night. Reba previously recorded this for her first Christmas album, Merry Christmas to you, in the eighties. On that occasion, she did a spoken introduction explaining how the song came to be written but she did not repeat that on this new recording.
Dan Tyminski does a sparkling version of Frosty the snowman, on which a couple of children (James and Julia Knobloch) sing backup on the word Stop. Willie Nelson proves that he still has what it takes with a fine rendition of Please come home for Christmas. Alan Jackson is brilliant on the rarely recorded Just put a ribbon in your hair, an excellent Christmas love song. Alison Kraus deviates a little from the acoustic concept on her own song, Only you can bring me cheer, although it is a brilliant recording.
Marty Stuart is next on Even Santa Claus gets the blues, which is a great song that he wrote himself. Earl Scruggs contributes an instrumental version of Jingle bells. Ralph Stanley sings Christmas is near, a song he wrote and first recorded as one of the Stanley brothers. Patty Loveless is a classy singer who is in her element on this type of album as she proves with one of the finest renditions of O come all ye faithful that I've ever heard.
Wynonna began her career singing acoustic country as one half of the Judds and shows that she can still do that type of music with an excellent version of O holy night. Pat Green, a singer new to me, sings Winter wonderland. Sam Bush provides the second and last instrumental on this album with his version of Let it snow. Ricky Skaggs reminds us that he can still record quality music on Away in a manger. Rhonda Vincent treats us to Christmas time at home, a great bluegrass song that she wrote herself. Tift Merritt does an excellent and very distinctive version of I'll be home for Christmas. Pop-jazz singer Norah Jones sings and plays piano on the final track, Peace, without any other accompaniment.
This is an outstanding collection that will give all fans of acoustic music a lot of pleasure as well as benefiting a worthy charity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy this album for charity and the Alan Jackson cut, December 6, 2004
This review is from: A Very Special Acoustic Christmas (Audio CD)
If you want an upbeat Christmas album for that holiday party your throwing, this might not be it. This is a great album for those relaxing nights next to the fire with those you love. Willie Nelson, Ricky Skaggs, and Patty Loveless highlight this album. If anything, buy the album for Alan Jackson's cut of "Just Put a Ribbon in Your Hair." A version that is so good, could ultimately become a Christmas classic. A true gem. Radio! Play this song!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special Olympics shines!, June 23, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: A Very Special Acoustic Christmas (Audio CD)
My best friend talks about this CD almost everyday (and it's June!) and so I finally sat down and listened to it. First of all, it is amazing that all of the money goes directly to the Special Olympics. I love country music and I love Christmas music - when Christmas comes I know this will be playing in my office!
In fact - my friend listens to it when waiting on the phone! Needless to say, she has been moved to carry strong opinions about the Special Olympics since hearing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keep On Praying, December 18, 2006
By 
This review is from: A Very Special Acoustic Christmas (Audio CD)
This set has been out for several Christmas seasons, but has just come to our house this year. It's a lovely set with consistency and variety. Reba McEntire opens with a lovely version of "Silent Night" with twang in her voice. Arif Mardin produced Willie Nelson's aching version of "Please Come Home for Christmas," "If not for Christmas, by New Year's night." Alison Krauss has written a romantic Christmas song with a modern flare titled "Only You Can Bring Me Cheer," "Hey, how about you stay? We could spend the night together. We could rock the night away." Marty Stuart's got swagger in his stocking on his self-penned "Even Santa Claus Gets the Blues," "What I wouldn't give for just one silent night, just me & Momma Claus by the warm firelight." Ralph Stanley's "Christmas Is Near" is a homey tune that speaks to the joys of family being nearby during the holidays. Patty Loveless does a gorgeous version of the traditional "O Come All Ye Faithful," "Sing choirs of angels, sing in exaltation. Sing all ye citizens of heaven above." Sam Bush's mandolin makes a joyful noise of the lovely melody "Let It Snow!" Ricky Skaggs' voice expresses wonder on the beautiful traditional melody "Away in a Manger." Ronda Vincent's self-penned tune "Christmas Time At Home" makes you want to start heading home for the holidays. Tift Merritt's "I'll Be Home for Christmas" is a slow-burning version, "The Lord is my shepherd, so I know I'll make it through; Baby, keep on praying because it's all that we can do." Norah Jones ends the set with a slow song called "Peace" that has a lovely melody and Norah's piano hauntingly echoing the chorus, "Peace is for everyone." This is a good Christmas set with some new songs and a few traditional favorites. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Special Acoustic Christmas... indeed!, December 12, 2008
By 
This review is from: A Very Special Acoustic Christmas (Audio CD)
Must admit that I normally don't buy many country music albums. Out of hundreds of music CDs, I could count the total of this genre on two hands, and my bluegrass and folk collection is fairly thin. But for some reason, the artists on A Very Special Acoustic Christmas seem to express the music of the season in a truly wonderful way. Maybe it's just the season, but I don't think so, as this is truly a superb album.

This album is the sixth in the Very Special Christmas Series, which was produced on behalf of Special Olympics, and since the first "A Very Special Christmas" album was released in 1987, this amazingly successful series has raised more than $100 million for Special Olympics, making it the most ever raised by a benefit series. And every CD purchased still helps this worthy cause - look them up sometime.

This album was released on the the Grammy-award winning Lost Highway Records label, and the sixteen tracks and performers are:

1. Silent Night, by Reba McEntire
2. Frosty the Snowman, by Dan Tyminski
3. Please Come Home for Christmas, by Willie Nelson
4. Just Put a Ribbon in Your Hair, by Alan Jackson
5. Only You Can Bring Me Cheer, by Alison Krauss
6. Even Santa Claus Gets the Blues, by Marty Stuart
7. Jingle Bells, by Earl Scruggs
8. Christmas is Near, by Ralph Stanley
9. O Come All Ye Faithful, by Patti Loveless
10. O Holy Night, by Wynonna
11. Winter Wonderland, by Pat Green
12. Let it Snow! Let it Snow! Let it Snow!, by Sam Bush
13. Away in a Manger, by Ricky Skaggs
14. Christmas Time at Home, by Rhonda Vincent
15. I'll be Home for Christmas, by Tift Merritt
16. Peace, by Norah Jones

Some of these songs will be familiar, and some are new versions produced for this album for its release in 2003. Will just comment on a few of the tracks, and must say that opening with Reba McEntire's beautiful version of "Silent Night" and closing with Norah Jones singing and playing piano in her rendition of "Peace" made this album special. Liked Dan Tyminski's version of "Frosty the Snowman," but Willie Nelson's rendition of "Please Come Home for Christmas" is a special track worth repeating. Alison Kraus' romantic offering was very special surprise (to me), and "O Holy Night," by Wynonna became another favorite. Could go on about each track, as there are no 'dogs' here at all.

There are a number of excellent offerings in this Very Special Christmas Series that are worth mentioning, as they cover a wide range of musical tasted. Have listed them in order here, along with the years their original release:

#1. A Very Special Christmas - 1987
#2. A Very Special Christmas, Vol. 2 - 1992
#3. A Very Special Christmas, Vol. 3 - 1997
#4. A Very Special Christmas Live! - 1999
#5. A Very Special Christmas, Vol. 5 - 2001
#6. A Very Special Acoustic Christmas - 2003

These are all good CDs, easily 4-stars or better, and each is still being sold in support of Special Olympics. However, you may wish to pass on the following sets for the reasons noted:

Playlist Plus: A Very Special Christmas. This is actually a compilation set of previously released CDs: A Very Special Christmas 2, A Very Special Christmas 3 and A Very Special Acoustic Christmas. There is nothing on the packaging to indicate this, nor on the product description, and check the price on this set accordingly.

A Very Special Christmas Collection. This is a set which is made up of the first five discs in a so-called box set, but the details on the product description are very sketchy. See for yourself, and again, check the price on this set on a comparative basis.

In summary, A Very Special Acoustic Christmas has been out for several Christmas seasons now, but it's a good holiday album with some new songs and a few traditional favorites, not to mention that it benefits a very worthy charity. It's a fine collection of seasonal songs that will give fans of country and acoustic music a lot of pleasure, and could be a fine gift as well. It's a 5-star treat.

Happy Holidays!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Special Acoustic Christmas, December 29, 2008
By 
Linda (jupiter, fl. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an awesome Christmas CD.I would highly recommend thisn CD to anyone who loves country music. The musicans on this CD are the best. Enjoy!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Especially Alison Krauss number!, December 10, 2004
This review is from: A Very Special Acoustic Christmas (Audio CD)
Great CD! Some great new Christmas songs, not just a rehash of the old traditionals. If you are looking for a fresh Christmas CD this is it! Some great blues possibilities on this CD. I am really blown away by Alison Krauss' "Only You Can Bring Me Cheer". I never ever even imagined her being able to sing rock/blues. I wish she would release a whole CD like this!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, December 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Very Special Acoustic Christmas (Audio CD)
It's just ok. Not a very enjoyable CD. There are a couple of good renditions of songs but that's all. Recommend you try anouther Christmas one. I enjoy Mark Lowerys CD and the WOW Christmas, also Kelly Clarksons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great acoustic Christmas music, December 7, 2003
By 
This review is from: A Very Special Acoustic Christmas (Audio CD)
When I saw the artists listed on "A Very Special Acoustic Christmas", I knew that I was in for a treat. Ralph Stanley with Patty Loveless as a backup singer is a special joy. I was glad to see that Patty Loveless' "O Come All Ye Faithful" does not also appear on her album "Bluegrass & White Snow". I'm not a Willie Nelson fan, but I loved his voice on "Please Come Home For Christmas". An artist that I was previously unfamiliar with, Sam Bush, played a very upbeat "Let It Snow" with guitar and mandolins that I enjoyed.

The surprise was to hear Alison Krauss with electric guitar, electric bass, and keyboards. (Not exactly acoustic!) I was surprised that I didn't love the song by Alison Krauss.

Even so, I recommend "A Very Special Acoustic Christmas". Several songs are sure to be classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A very special acoustic Christmas., February 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Most tunes are OK if you are a C&W fan, but the, 'Away In The Manger' will knock your socks off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

A Very Special Acoustic Christmas
A Very Special Acoustic Christmas by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.