Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jim McKay-the Best
I grew up on Wide World of Sports every Saturday or Sunday and her was the best host for that program. He will be missed. L.D. Brown
Published on December 22, 2012 by Lurlene D. Brown

versus
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars skip this DVD---very few famous moments in sports shown
The title should have been: "Evel Knievel and Auto Racing". I was hoping for the great moments in TV sports history, with many different sports shown. Instead, all I saw was about 5 or more minutes of Evel Knievel and 5 or more minutes of auto racing, but zero minutes of swimming, skiing, boxing, baseball, basketball, hockey, football etc. etc. It feels like they put very...
Published on August 8, 2008 by Cougar's Dad


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars skip this DVD---very few famous moments in sports shown, August 8, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ABC Wide World Of Sports: 40 Years Of Glory (DVD)
The title should have been: "Evel Knievel and Auto Racing". I was hoping for the great moments in TV sports history, with many different sports shown. Instead, all I saw was about 5 or more minutes of Evel Knievel and 5 or more minutes of auto racing, but zero minutes of swimming, skiing, boxing, baseball, basketball, hockey, football etc. etc. It feels like they put very little time into making a exciting sports product that showed the best of sports over the last 40 years. I was very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good idea, but too short, June 14, 2007
By 
Patrick (Versailles, KY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ABC Wide World Of Sports: 40 Years Of Glory (DVD)
I love the idea of a DVD (or several) showing old footage of sports events. Wide World of Sports was one of those defining television sports shows of the 1960s and 70s. Why not a 4-hour retrospective, with the opportunity to really show some in-depth highlights? This DVD was fascinating, but with only 1 hour of material it barely had a chance to give us a flavor of the original show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible - Do NOT Buy, February 19, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ABC Wide World Of Sports: 40 Years Of Glory (DVD)
This is a really poorly done DVD, apparently the good clips cost too much so the producers assembled a hodge podge of irrelevant ABC moments and haphazardly edited them into this piece. Example, the classic opening theme and montage, you know.. "The Thrill of Victory, and the Agony of Defeat" is entirely missing! How can you do a ABC Sports DVD and NOT include that???

Also, it looks like a cheaply done transfer, almost like a remaster of a VHS to DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jim McKay-the Best, December 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ABC Wide World Of Sports: 40 Years Of Glory (DVD)
I grew up on Wide World of Sports every Saturday or Sunday and her was the best host for that program. He will be missed. L.D. Brown
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed reliving some of the great moments I can recall ..., September 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ABC Wide World Of Sports: 40 Years Of Glory (DVD)
This is an interesting look back on some of the most significant sports stories covered by ABC since 1961. I enjoyed reliving some of the great moments I can recall and seeing things that were before my time that are of historical interest. The groundbreaking show that was Wide World of Sports can be appreciated well by watching this DVD and it is especially fascinating to see the coverage of Tiger Woods and Lance Armstrong before their respective falls from grace. I recommend this title to all those interested in sports and, to some degree, social and political, history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "...The human drama of athletic competition...", August 7, 2013
This review is from: ABC Wide World Of Sports: 40 Years Of Glory (DVD)
Because of poor highlight choices WIDE WORLD OF SPORTS: 40 Years of Glory is an utter disappointment.

This retrospective's creators concentrate on a drug-addicted jockey who committed suicide, an accident-prone motorcycle stuntman, a now-disgraced steroid-using bicycle racer, a lengthy segment on NASCAR, '90s Little League World Series, the Kentucky Derby, women's soccer (gimme a break!), figure skating and the biggest damn ego in sports, a swollen headed blowhard who spoke of himself in the third person: "Golf is Tiger Woods and Tiger Woods is golf." feh

We devotees of Wide World's early years tuned in for "the constant variety of sport" that WAS this great program. Sure we loved the glamor events, but also the little ones, many of which you might see just miles from your own home on a weekend afternoon. Sadly, there's no mention or clips of demolition derbies (my absolute favorite), log roleo contests, Telstar relays of European slalom skiing, soapbox derbies, rodeos and the near weekly boxing matches that were often broadcast live.

Early narration contains a glaring historical error, placing the Cuban Missile Crisis in 1961. I guess no one at ABC did any fact-checking.

As this tedious clip parade went on and on and I struggled to "stay tuned," I kept checking remaining time, thinking, well the last segment will surely be on boxing. Nope. The thing ends with a whimper. "40 Years of Glory" may be the worst sports documentary to ever be released on home video. Avoid it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, January 12, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ABC Wide World Of Sports: 40 Years Of Glory (DVD)
A great re-visit to some wonderful childhood memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ABC Wide World Of Sports: 40 Years Of Glory (DVD)
It was very outdated and not very capturing for my students. I thought it'd be a good movie to have on hand for entertainment- but instead is in the back of my drawer collecting dust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Service, June 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ABC Wide World Of Sports: 40 Years Of Glory (DVD)
I had excellent service for sure! Thank you. The only negative was the content of the film, too much about Ali.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jim McKay's Legacy, May 24, 2007
This review is from: ABC Wide World Of Sports: 40 Years Of Glory (DVD)
Back cover reads, "From Lance Armstrong's first amazing Tour de France win to Nadia Commaneci's dramatic Olympic feats, and Evel Knievel's death-defying motorcycle jumps, rediscover the unforgettable legacy of Wide World of Sports". Includes bonus update on Vinko Bogataj, Muhammad Ali, and Jim McKay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

ABC Wide World Of Sports: 40 Years Of Glory
$16.95 $9.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.