Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't Discount the Subject
Many self appointed experts try to debunk everything unusual without scientific fact at their disposal. I was called in as an expert witness in 1999/2000 for a court case where the head of the LA Fire Department Investigation for Residential fires stated that the only explanation was SHC for a residential fire in Long Beach. As the only engineer on the Defense team, I...
Published on July 6, 2009 by Jack Wilkerson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars welllll
It's really hard to find anything on spontaneous human combustion that's longer than a blurb so at least this is a whole book on it but it just wasn't as interesting as I thought it would be.
Published 18 months ago by Jane Blue


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't Discount the Subject, July 6, 2009
By 
Jack Wilkerson (Mt. Dora, FL, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ABLAZE! The Mysterious Fires of Spontaneous Human Combustion (Hardcover)
Many self appointed experts try to debunk everything unusual without scientific fact at their disposal. I was called in as an expert witness in 1999/2000 for a court case where the head of the LA Fire Department Investigation for Residential fires stated that the only explanation was SHC for a residential fire in Long Beach. As the only engineer on the Defense team, I reviewed over 160 photos of the fire scene along with many depositions from witnesses and fire department reports. I sat through the court case and gave testimony. The victim was an elderly bed ridden woman. The fire lasted less than 4 minutes and was centered around her knees and thighs. In that time, over 5 million BTU's per minute were released cremating her lower body, melting the window glass in the room and collapsing a steel bed frame with evidence it was over 1,500 degrees in a narrow 3 inch area. The 8 foot tall flame self extinguished, but the fire department had the room hosed down 5 minutes after ignition. There wasn't enough oxygen in that room to release that much heat no matter what the "fuel" could be. We found no fuel source. A broken gas main could not do it. The floor was burned through three layers of heavy vinyl flooring spalling the concrete. A 20 lb. aluminum casting at the foot of the bed melted onto the floor. There is no explanation under normal scientific means. I could not replicate the fire using any non-nuclear means. It is still a mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great addition, November 3, 2000
By 
Ed (Cleveland ,Ohio) - See all my reviews
This review is from: ABLAZE! The Mysterious Fires of Spontaneous Human Combustion (Hardcover)
As a scientist working for the United States Government during the 80's I must applaud Larry's effort here. After aquiring my PHD in Chemistry I started working for the government during the Reagan Administration doing basic research into possible explanations for the paranormal. While defunking most of them, SHC was one of the more interesting to me. Larry provides clear insight using mostly interviewing techniques to elaborate. I may be biased due to my previous experience here, but I enjoyed this book as a scientist.
Ed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's aflame with facts on SHC!, December 8, 1999
This review is from: ABLAZE! The Mysterious Fires of Spontaneous Human Combustion (Hardcover)
If there's one key element (besides fire) that this book by Larry Arnold is filled with it's FACTS! This man has dug into old archives and libraries, has interviewed not only people who witnessed these bizarre cases of flaming humans, but he also has interviewed SURVIVORS of SHC! Amazing and well documented throughout, Ablaze is a fascinating read! To an avid researcher of stange phenomena such as this, it is a welcome gift to us all because Larry has already done the work for us, and he covers aspects entirely unthought of by other researchers... the cartography of SHC and more! Mr. Arnold, and his book, is by far the BEST in the world of SHC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting, March 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ABLAZE! The Mysterious Fires of Spontaneous Human Combustion (Hardcover)
I am a full-time firefighter and fire investigator and felt obligated to read this book. It was very interesting and informative but some stuff was a little complicated for me to understand or believe. The question of spontaneous human combustion is not absolutely proven at the conclusion of the book but plenty of food for thought. Also a very thick book requiring a little extra time to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Man Knows of What he Speaks, January 29, 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: ABLAZE! The Mysterious Fires of Spontaneous Human Combustion (Hardcover)
Larry Arnold drove my school bus for years. He was a very interesting person, using breaks in the school term (summer holiday etc.) to explore remote corners of the globe. He is a man with a passion about his subject and it's clear in reading this book.

The book is great. The man is great. I recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNEXPLAINED FIRES FROM WITHIN, January 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ABLAZE! The Mysterious Fires of Spontaneous Human Combustion (Hardcover)
PEOPLE/THINGS GOING UP IN SMOKE WITHOUT AN EXPLANATION. INVESTIGATION BY ARSON SQUAD FROM THE FIRE DEPT. NOT EXPLAINED. GREAT DOCUMENTED STORIES. SCARY TO THINK IT COULD HAPPEN TO ANYONE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars welllll, July 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ABLAZE! The Mysterious Fires of Spontaneous Human Combustion (Hardcover)
It's really hard to find anything on spontaneous human combustion that's longer than a blurb so at least this is a whole book on it but it just wasn't as interesting as I thought it would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Researched and fascinating read!, September 30, 2006
This review is from: ABLAZE! The Mysterious Fires of Spontaneous Human Combustion (Hardcover)
Larry Arnold asks the right questions and provides readers of his book a real window into the "twilight zone." It doesn't matter if one is a "bus-driver, butcher, baker or candlestick maker" what matters is that intelligent, research is done. Logical questions are asked and those who would dismiss spontaneous Human Combustion as nothing more than a "cigarette fire" are left with a feeling so uncomfortable they either drop the book in alarm or read and learn. Fascinating and thorough and it left me asking what really is going on? We may have answers in Physics, who knows. What I do know is that Larry Arnold has written a very well researched and entertaining book and he has taken "heat" for daring to write about a subject the debunkers would rather have people not look into. Spontaneous Human Combustion does happen and it happens to people who have lived through it! Read this and prepare to have your brain turned around to consider how these cases can happen especially when you find out how extremely hot a crematorium oven has to get inorder to consume a human body even then, some bone fragments are still left and have to be "ground" into powder. Fine paper wasn't burned next to some of these bodies that were reduced to "powder" while sitting in a chair. Why????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, excellent book..., September 6, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ABLAZE! The Mysterious Fires of Spontaneous Human Combustion (Hardcover)
I'm so very impressed with all the "cases" Larry has reviewed... He even found a little known one from my own hometown that has never been mentioned before in any publication I've ever read. Nan Mann
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Filled with speculation and no facts, June 21, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: ABLAZE! The Mysterious Fires of Spontaneous Human Combustion (Hardcover)
With the credentials of a bus driver, the author obviously had no clue what he was REALLY trying to explain. Common sense explains most of the book here.....not some human "phenomenon." I'll give the book some credit that it documents the SHC cases well but on the other hand doesn't look at the common sense aspect that should be applied to Arnold's theories. This book can be shoved away with the rest of those TimeLife Mysteries of the Unknown books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

ABLAZE! The Mysterious Fires of Spontaneous Human Combustion
ABLAZE! The Mysterious Fires of Spontaneous Human Combustion by Larry E. Arnold (Hardcover - December 13, 1995)
$24.95 $18.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.