Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Bon.......
Let There Be Rock is the 1979 concert in Paris put on by the legendary rock band AC/DC with their original lead singer Bon Scott. The concert was in support of the album Highway To Hell and a year later Bon would be dead and AC/DC would have the biggest seller of there carear with Back In Black, but this one's about Bon.
The video is a blend of concert fottage and...
Published on May 2, 2003 by scott belba

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I'm with another reviewers and I think that the audio just sucks. This is a dvd with great picture, but where is a great and powerful stereo mix? We have the Bonfire box-set with superb audio, they could use it but instead we have this poor mono mix.
Published on June 26, 2011 by Gonzalo Ramos Gutiérrez


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Bon......., May 2, 2003
By 
Let There Be Rock is the 1979 concert in Paris put on by the legendary rock band AC/DC with their original lead singer Bon Scott. The concert was in support of the album Highway To Hell and a year later Bon would be dead and AC/DC would have the biggest seller of there carear with Back In Black, but this one's about Bon.
The video is a blend of concert fottage and interviews with the band.
The set list includes some of the bands hits like Highway To Hell, Rocker, Sin City, and Whole Lotta Rosie. Watching this vid really puts you up close with the band and gives you an insight as to the inner workings.
The interviews and back stage fottage is a double edge sword becouse as usual Bon and Lead guitarist Angus Young give the bulk of the interviews. Some of the questions borderline on inane like "Are you waiting for the third world war?", seem very foolish and forced but the movie has its moments of fun. The on stage fottage is fantastic and Bon comes off as both charming and affable. Angus and Malcolm Young (Angus's brother and backing guitar) along with Drummer Phill Rudd and Bassist Cliff Williams work in such perfect harmony with each other that it's not hard to see why AC/DC has such staying power.
By the end of the movie however you can't help but feel a little sad becouse after watching the movie you really feel that you got to know Bon well and knowing that he passed away a short time latter makes you feel for the loss suffered by not only the family and friends of Bon but by the music world all togeather.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a REVIEW from an owner, May 29, 2011
5/29/11 just picked this up at Second Spin (not sure why they had a copy so early but I wasn't asking questions). The reason I'm rating this 4 stars is that this limited set is WAY over priced. The blue ray inside is going to be available without the small prints and over blown essay and tin container and THAT at a nice price would be 5 stars.

GOOD NEWS..the movie looks wonderful and sounds awesome... its only 1:33 aspect ratio so no widescreen which I'm assuming was the format they shot it.

BORING NEWS... the endless talking head extras add nothing and I'm a guy who loves behind the scenes bonus features but these are a series of 10 minute videos of writers and the odd musician saying how great AC/DC is ...how their riffs make your private parts shake and you want to tap your foot and it gets old in about a minute. This is a perfect example of taking what could be done in 10 minutes and stretching it out into an hour just to up the price with "cool insider bonuses" SNORE.

DON'T hate me for my 4 star rating...its ONLY for the LIMITED Collector's edition over priced set....anything else 5 stars ALL THE WAY....it is Great to have Bon Scott in HD!!! OH ..and its "Limited" to 90,000 copies...such a rare item
It DOES have a DVD version included which is nice , but I still believe at its list price its not a 5 star value for a few pictures and a booklet with kindergarten size print to add pages.

Warner Brothers suckered me into this kind of version of Casablanca ....only to come out with a NON box set later and that is the one I'd recommend...you have to have this by the way if you love Rock n Roll!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of what AC/DC is all about!, July 20, 1999
By A Customer
This is old school AC/DC. Back in Black was just an idea in their bourbon-clouded heads at this point. But for hard core, blue-infused, heart-thumping, good old rock, this is it. There is an old saying about the Grateful Dead that applies equally to AC/DC in this era....."They aren't the best at what they do. They're the only ones that do what they do." Guns-n-Roses, Mettalica, Tool and others have tried but have gotten caught up in their own hype (and started singing f'in ballads of all things!!). If you need proof that AC/DC influenced a generation of bands, watch this video after a few shots of Jack. This band fought tooth and nail against the conventions of long-haired rockers that have screwed up their simple formula. Play simple songs. Play them well. Play them LOUD. And remember.....it's a long way to the top if you wanna rock-n-roll!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic rock concert video needs to be on DVD!, November 23, 2002
Since I've retired my VCR and turned to the DVD side of The Force, "AC/DC: Let There Be Rock" really needs to be on the new format. This video is a true rock classic and a must-have for any serious AC/DC fan.
Filmed in Paris from one of the band's last concerts with legendary screamer Bon Scott, "Let There Be Rock" shows why AC/DC was recently labeled by Q Magazine as "The #1 Band You Must See Before You Die". The sheer energy and ferociousness of Angus Young's performance is truly a wondrous sight to behold. And the rest of the band keeps chugging along with an intensity that few rock bands have had either before AC/DC's late 1970's/early 1980's heyday or since.
The interviews are pointless, but amusing to see Angus & Co. get more and more fluthered as the film goes on. In particular, Bon Scott displays his legendary charm (and his forgettable stage wardrobe). Scott's charm might come as a surprise to the casual onlooker, particularly for a man who penned Shakespearean sonnets like "Big Balls", "Beating Around the Bush" and "Up to My Neck in You".
No matter, I once showed this video to my twentysomething neighbor who listened to nothing but 2Pac and the Wu-Tang Clan. He quickly became an AC/DC convert after laughing hysterically at Angus' on-stage antics and being wowed by his incredible guitar virtuosity.
Once again, this video is a must for serious AC/DC fans and the only reason it didn't get five stars was due to its unavailability on DVD. Come on! Get with the program!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AC/DC Let There Be Rock, February 11, 2005
This is absolutely the best concert film of this band, and it is screaming for a remastering/sound touch-up. I went to alot of concerts in my younger days, and this video makes me nostalgic for that time, when a band just plugged in and ROCKED. Let's get this on a nice 5.1 surround DVD! If you like AC/DC, you have to find this. I bought mine at one of the locals thst still had a few video tapes for 5.99! Glad I grabbed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bon Lives!, February 27, 2003
By 
jacobgemini (Phoenix, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
Today, I suppose, the borderline-inarticulate interviews would be set aside in a separate chapter on the DVD, but it was produced for presentation as a videotape. The message was/is the music, and I believe they leave "it" all on the stage.

The concert footage is all solid performance, none of the numbers are interrupted. I'll buy it again as a DVD (!!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bon's "bon-voyage" video rocks Paris, November 3, 1999
By A Customer
You have to overlook the sound quality a bit but this is the highest voltage AC/DC show that I have seen. Angus works his buns off and sweats so much that his SG short-circuits during "Whole Lotta Rosie". He recovers nicely in time for the classic finale. Keep an eye out for the moon view of his rump during "Bad Boy Boogie". Bon is in classic form as he charms the 1979 Paris audience into chanting along to "The Jack". Outstanding versions of "Live Wire" and "Sin City" are to be heard here. If you want to get better sound quality then get the CD version of the concert in the box set "Bon Fire".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good concert, October 14, 2004
This is the first time I have seen Bon Scott live and he is really good. It is a very good concert. It contains the best verion of Live Wire i have heard. The interviews are pretty good too. If it gets brought over to DVD, the concert shouldn't have the interviews in it, but they should be a part of the bonus features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AC/DC does it again, another great concert, December 18, 1999
By 
andrew (Laguna Beach, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
This is a great concert which AC/DC did. It has a great lineup of songs and great enthusiasm by the band members, especially Angus. The only thing i didn't like was that they cut "TNT" and "Walk all over you." No matter what they cut though it is still a great video and concert. I suggest that anybody who likes to watch a great concert go out and buy this amazing video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And Bon turned and he said to the crowd...., May 7, 2012
This review is from: AC/DC: Let There Be Rock (DVD)
I've traditionally not been a big fan of concert films. "Let There Be Rock" is the exception to the rule. Simply put, this is a masterpiece. It's Bon's masterpiece.

The film has interview and back stage segments in between the songs, but unlike many concert films, you enjoy these parts. As a matter of fact, when Bon is being interviewed, you don't want it to end. He was just such a down to earth and likeable guy, and it shines through in the interviews included here. There's a segment where Phil Rudd is driving a Porsche on a frozen field on a cold gray day, while Cliff Williams is buzzing above in a biplane. The plane lands, and Cliff gets out wearing the coolest jacket and shoes you've ever seen, and gets into the Porsche, and speeds off with wheels spinning. The scene then cuts to Bon dancing on a frozen river. He then walks over and sits on the hood of Phil's Porsche, all to the tune of "Walk All Over You."

The picture quality is top notch for a film that was made over thirty years ago. This day and age, it's become vogue to "update" older productions. Thankfully, this isn't the case here, and the whole film is the original, including graphics. I have the bare bones version of the DVD, not the special edition. I prefer the basic DVD because it's just the film, not any filler. The basic version does allow you to skip to the songs you like, but you'll want to watch the whole thing from start to finish most times.

Of course the band is perfect in the concert, and the song choice is great. The camera work is good, and doesn't suffer from the dizzying editing that has been so popular in the last 15 years. I do have to complain that the concert part of the film is a bit Angus focused. The camera is on him a little too much. But, we do get to see the other guys too, including Phil playing while his drum kit is being repaired by a roadie. There's a wild scene where Angus rides out into the crowd on the shoulders of a road crew guy. This is standard AC/DC stuff, but watch the poor roadie's face as he gets pummeled in the audience! This is an AC/DC concert, complete with the Angus "strip show" routine, and pretty much what you'd see in one of their shows today, but it's different because it's a more intimate setting than the huge performances they do now.

If I had one gripe, it'd be with the DVD package. It's horrible. It's a generic design not fitting for the best concert film of all time. You'd think that since this is Bon Scott's grand finale, he'd be featured prominently on the cover. Sadly that's not the case.

If you're an AC/DC fan, or you just appreciate good rock music, I would highly recommend "Let There Be Rock."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

AC/DC: Let There Be Rock (Limited Collector's Edition)
AC/DC: Let There Be Rock (Limited Collector's Edition) by Eric Mistler Eric Dionysius (DVD - 2011)
$39.98 $25.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.