Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Nintendo Digital Games Outdoors Gift Guide on HTL

Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$13.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
on November 23, 2012
OK! I just listened to the LIVE AT RIVER PLATE CD! And i must say it is the best sounding live album they have ever put out. The things i notice right off the bat is that the band is on fire majorly & hit all there marks. Compared to the 1992 LIVE album what stands out is no marshal mesa boogie combo amps! Angus's sound on this album is true to the 100 watt marshals. Also what makes a huge impact is Phil Rudd on the drums, Compared to Chris Slade Phil is a monster and the true back bone to this band. And if you want to compair to IF YOU WANT BLOOD well it sounds better and is recorded better, It is a double album and the crowd is mic-ed perfect and are insane and make the recording sound even better. Yes there are song's on here that are on the other live albums but they sound great & i think this is a much better and more well put together album vs the 1992 LIVE album.Plus on the 1992 Live Angus Young's guitar goes from speaker to speaker depending on what side of the stage he ran to. Just Get it And TURN IT UP! You can thank me later. LET THERE BE ROCK!!! -Mike ; )-~
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on November 19, 2012
This would be probably be a die-hard fan review. I bought it because it has Phil Rudd on drums. The other live albums from Donnington, didn't pack that same punch with drummer Chris Slade (who by all means was technically sound so no disrespect intended).

But got to love the fact Rudd's on drums and it's a live album with the songs you would expect minus the material from Stiff Upper Lip (which is understandable).

If only they threw money talks in here as I'd love to hear Phil Rudd's drumming take on that. Hopefully the lads will give us a new album sometime in the not too distant future.

OVERALL - does not disappoint.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on November 20, 2012
After watching the dvd of this concert, it is awesome to just listen to the cd. The feeling you get from the argentinian audience is electrifing. All the classics are there plus a few tracks from the most recent studio album Black Ice. I agree with other posts in reference to Phil Rudd. Chris Slade is an awesome drummer and it is evident in the album Live from 1992, but Phil Rudd has that Ac/dc grove. He is family , and it is great to have him in this live album. Close your eyes and enjoy the audience singing not only the lyrics but the guitar riffs in almost every song like Highway to hell or You shook me all night long just to mention a couple.
Powerful concert!! I can't wait for the studio album that will follow hopefully in 2013.
AC/DC rocks!!!
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on December 6, 2012
Live at river plate is double live album from AC/DC performed at River Plate in Argentina.This album is a classic with all the members putting out a great concert.This classic album contains 19 songs like Rock n roll train,back in black,black ice and some of the Bon Scott era songs.This live album is fantastic and is very highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on January 30, 2013
An excellent edition for a great AC/DC's concert in Argentina, 100% recommended!!! For those about to rock AC/DC will always salute you!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on December 30, 2012
I'll start right off the bat and say AC/DC Live Special Edition released in 1991 is my all time favorite AC/DC album, live or recorded, so of coarse this one here was not going to stand a chance of being the perfect 5 star album from AC/DC, but I still give it a 4 star rating. Like many AC/DC fans who collect bootlegs from the band, or have rare live tracks in our collections, it's going to be hard for AC/DC to top a lot of the #1 fav live versions between 1974 and present. But this album is still great for us collectors, even those who have heard these same set-lists a million times before, with a few of the new songs thrown in the mix, but this album has a lively crowed that may not speak English too well, but they do know how to scream and humm along to the tunes, making them unique crowed interaction versions of AC/DC's classics preformed at River Plate in 2009/10?

I wont bore you and compare things like "TNT" just doesn't sound as good as the live version from 198somethign that was eventually included on "Backtracks" etc.. but I will say AC/DC have still got what it takes to rock your socks off as much as they did a 100 years ago. Kicking off with a great live recording of the new track "Rock N Roll Train" and into a classic blazing version of "Hell aint a bad place to be" and then onto what is possibly there biggest hit to date, "Back In Black" and so forth.

Some reviewers here said if you have heard AC/DC's previous set lists before, then you have heard it all and they are boring. Well, you will miss out on great new live tracks such as "Rock N Roll Train", "Big Jack", "War Machine" and "Black Ice", even tho most of us fans really wished they had preformed other tracks from the Black Ice album like 'spoilin' for a fight' and "she likes rock n roll"... and then there is the typical songs of coarse... but what those guys saying it's all been the same, it surprises me AC/DC didn't take the chance to finally get an official live album version of "Rock N Roll aint Noise Pollution" down. What really would have been nice would have been a bonus track of "High Voltage" included that AC/DC subbed in during the Australian and New Zealand tour by popular demand. Just like they included "Hell aint a bad place to be" only on the Japan special edition of Live (1991). Oh well, what can you do?

Something else that makes this album different to other ones is that this whole tour, AC/DC tuned the guitars downwards a step, giving the songs a new spark of life in a same old song, but with a slightly different sound to what you have always heard. It also seems like Brian Johnson speaks his words more clearly, not sure what, maybe he was schooled on it or the effect of living in American now has rubbed off, but you can clearly understand every word he says and is singing, and there is no question by anyone like "WTF is he saying?" not that I ever had trouble understanding him. A few songs spark a little new life to by the way Johnsons sings them, it seems he speaks the words clear and propperlly, and doesn't sing them in a slang term cutting off the g from 'ing' words etc.. I dunno if you care about this or not, but I found it pretty interesting to compare what Brian is doing with the songs now compared to 20-30 years ago. Never diss the man, he is the silent rock n roll god at the top that some people slam as not being Bon Scott, but get over it guys, Bon is gone, and Brian has done a great job keeping AC/DC at #1 for all these years... compare him to Bon if you want, but Brian had been in the band longer, has not disgraced himself, kept Bons memory alive, and despite what you say, he's a rock n roll god who even on those so called "bad ac/dc albums" (not that I think theyre bad at all) those songs are still better than most other groups greatest hits, so lay off Brian, understand he is the singer now, and STOP comparing him to Bon Scott. Bon was great, sure, Brian is different, but he is too great in other ways and deserves more respect then people always showing up on AC/DC's latest releases and saying "Bon this, Bon that, Bon would've"... don't you think Bon is looking down on Brian and smiling at what a fantastic job Brian has done since Bon passed away? If there is an afterlife, both Bon and Brian will remain with the band, because I am convinced Bon would not say "thanks for takin over, but i'll take it from here" no, you would have two legends in the drivers seats!

Keep on rockin' \../,
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on November 21, 2012
I have had the DVD for some time now and even burned my own CD's of this show to listen to, simply excellent. I am a big fan of Bon Scott and bet if he saw this he would have approved. Check out the DVD of this one as well. You might just see and hear that over this CD only set. Anyway, if your a hardcore fan or just a fan of Rock n Roll, you'll love this one. This one does NOT disappoint.
Drop by my website at "JudeMac Forever" & see what I have been up too sometime.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on January 23, 2013
Red Vinyl is really the selling point here, something to scare the kids with.
The live concert is good!
Song selection from the tour is solid while the production sounds very good.
IF you like live albums and AC/DC this is a must have.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on December 30, 2012
Not necessarily a fan of live CDs/albums but for fans of the band AC/DC this is a must have ! Some bands are recording artists, pure and simple. This CD proves that AC/DC have been and always will be, live rock legends !
Rock on, Skip Wieland
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on November 20, 2012
It is amazing that 20 years ago, when AC/DC released their last live record, they were considered pretty much a spent force when it came to studio albums. I remember reading a review of "live" in Kerrang or Metal Hammer, in which the reviewer who gave "Live" 5 out of 5, stated that this was the only time now in AC/DC's career, that he could for see giving the band top marks.
How times have changed, with "Ball Breaker", "Stiff upper lip" & "Black Ice" (admittedly this album is a little hit & miss, but it will do), AC/DC's credibility has gone through the roof, being named checked by everybody as a major influence.
Which is why "River Plate" is much more than just a nostalgia concert, which is what you would get if it was The Stones or The Who releasing a new live record.
The new songs slot in well with the classic tracks(although no songs from "Ball Breaker", or "Stiff upper..", which is a shame) & the crowd are on fire, even doing harmonics, which I've never heard before at an AC/DC gig. The band still gives an energetic performance considering their ripe old age.
Live albums always work better, when there recorded from one venue, instead of a whole tour, constantly fading in & out after each song, losing momentum. But "River Plate" feels like a one off special event, which always makes a live more appearing to listen to.It is interesting that back in the 70's & 80's, rock bands would regularly release a live album every 3-4-studio albums, but "AC/DC Live" was one of the last big selling live albums (Thanks Kirk Cobain).
Nowadays it only really Iron Maiden that do live albums, so it a little difficult to judge "River Plate" by contemporary standards, but then again AC/DC have never concerned themselves with shifting musical fashions.
The only nit-pick I have, is that it's a shame AC/DC didn't record the gig in a small club, like The Stones have been doing in 2012, perhaps that could be the band next live venture.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
AC/DC Live
AC/DC Live by AC/DC (Audio CD - 2003)

Back in Black
Back in Black by AC/DC (Audio CD - 2003)

Live At River Plate
Live At River Plate by AC/DC (DVD - 2011)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.