Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


90 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot: Agatha Christie, David Suchet CLASSICS, always GOOD
Remastered-Orig UK order Poirot Early Cases set is 45 mysteries solved by Poirot, the masterful Belgian `little gray cell' man who forever out-sleuths Scotland Yard. David Suchet is Poirot, enough said. It's a repackaging for the advantage of those who have not purchased them singly. Advanced picture quality, and I am told by my Blu-ray user friends, the best Poirot yet...
Published on August 25, 2012 by Harold Wolf

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poirot Great, policy disappointing.
I simply love Poirot and decided to order the full set of "the Early Cases", I also Ordered the "Definitive Collection"..I did not think of the time it takes to watch all these lovely Poirot and by the time I got to the problem discs, My time to return had expired. Two discs freeze and I can watch them if I turn off the Disc Player, turn it back on, eject...
Published 10 months ago by Diana


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

90 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot: Agatha Christie, David Suchet CLASSICS, always GOOD, August 25, 2012
By 
Harold Wolf "Doc" (Wells, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AGATHA CHRISTIE'S POIROT: THE EARLY CASES COLLECTION (DVD)
Remastered-Orig UK order Poirot Early Cases set is 45 mysteries solved by Poirot, the masterful Belgian `little gray cell' man who forever out-sleuths Scotland Yard. David Suchet is Poirot, enough said. It's a repackaging for the advantage of those who have not purchased them singly. Advanced picture quality, and I am told by my Blu-ray user friends, the best Poirot yet. All Agatha Christie stories make it fantastic, but Suchet makes the film adaptations soar to new heights. Humor, fantastic scenery & costuming appear. Poirot stories began in 1920 and the fictional character was granted a 1975 NYTimes front page obit.
Episodes are loaded with guest stars as well as regular recurring characters such as CI Japp (Philip Jackson), Hastings (Hugh Fraser) Poirot's right-hand, Miss Lemon (Pauline Moran).

SUBTITLES available for all 45 episodes. Airing began in1992. Masterpiece Mystery! It is CLASSIC UK sleuth TV, as applauded as the original books.

You can read a short summary for each of the episodes by clicking on the provided links to individual series and read my, Harold Wolf, fuller reviews. Simply too long to add them here.
Agatha Christie's Poirot: Series 1 ~~~ The Adventure of the Clapham Cook, Murder in the Mews, The Adventure of Johnnie Waverly, Four and Twenty Blackbirds, The Third Floor Flat, Triangle at Rhodes, Problem at Sea, The Incredible Theft, The King of Clubs, The Dream
Agatha Christie's Poirot: Series 2 ~~~ Peril at End House, The Veiled Lady, The Lost Mine, The Cornish Mystery, The Disappearance of Mr. Davenheim, Double Sin, The Adventure of the Cheap Flat, The Kidnapped Prime Minister, The Adventure of the Western Star
Agatha Christie's Poirot, Series 3 ~~~ The Mysterious Affair at Styles, How Does Your Garden Grow?, The Million Dollar Bond Robbery, The Plymouth Express, Wasps' Nest, The Tragedy at Marsdon Manor, The Double Clue, The Mystery of the Spanish Chest, The Theft of the Royal Ruby, The Affair at the Victory Ball, The Mystery of Hunter's Lodge
Agatha Christie's Poirot: Series 4 ~~~ The ABC Murders, Death in the Clouds, One, Two, Buckle My Shoe
Agatha Christie's Poirot: Series 5 ~~~ The Adventure of the Egyptian Tomb, The Underdog, Yellow Iris, The Case of the Missing Will, The Adventure of the Italian Nobleman, The Chocolate Box, Dead Man's Mirror, Jewel Robbery at the Grand Metropolitan
Agatha Christie's Poirot: Series 6 ~~~ Hercule Poirot's Christmas, Hickory Dickory Dock, Murder on the Links, Dumb Witness
Remember, these are previously released in individual series. If you bought them at that time, you have them. Or if you missed one, individual series sets are also yet available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Set Worthy of a Beautiful Show, December 27, 2012
By 
R. D. (New Westminster, BC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: AGATHA CHRISTIE'S POIROT: THE EARLY CASES COLLECTION (DVD)
I got into Poirot when I started to borrow them from the local library. I think the first one I ever saw was Murder on the Links, which was fine but I did not think too much of it, it was just something to watch for free that was somewhat amusing. However, as I continued to borrow them and watch them I began to fall in love with the show and the characters. I won't go into much detail about who's who and why they are so wonderful because if you are considering buying this collection you already know all that.

It was not long before I knew that I had to own every bit of David Suchet's Poirot but while I was ready to do the work to find out which episodes are in which collection, I was not ready to shell out a bunch of money to buy them individually. The release of Agatha Christie's Poirot: The Early Cases is a gift from above. In the order of the original U.K. broadcast, it collects the first 6 series in 6 individual cases (with 3 DVDs in each case) in a lovely outer box. They are great for someone who does not have any of the earlier DVDs but they are also perfect for those who are seeking an upgrade. I have watched some of the original versions from the library so I can compare. The new DVDs are remastered, making the picture quality much more crisp and best of all they now come with subtitles. The DVD menu is also different with a polished new look and easy navigation capability.

At one point I was thinking of waiting until they come out with Poirot: The Complete Collection but series 13 is yet to be aired, which is the last one but who could wait that long? Also, I am not sure if there will ever be a North American release of the complete collection. Acorn Media holds the rights to series 1 - 6 and 11 - 13, while A&E owns series 7 - 10, which are 12 feature length movies. So in addition to the Early Cases I have also purchased Agatha Christie Poirot: Definitive Collection, which collects series 7 - 10. Here's to hoping after series 13 Acorn releases Agatha Christie's Poirot: The Later Cases, collecting the remaining series.

Highly, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the one to get if you like Poirot, October 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had some of these episodes on DVD and decided to get this complete version on Blu-Ray. I could not be more pleased with the picture quality, and it is great to have all the episodes in one set in original order. Donate all your old DVD versions to your local public library and buy this Blu-Ray version - you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They Broke The Mold On Agatha Christie's Poirot When The Part Went To David Suchet, March 28, 2013
By 
The numbers of reviews submitted for the various multi-episode packages of David Suchet's portrayal of Agatha Christie's beloved Belgian detective Hercules Poirot is testament enough as to its popularity, with many going into considerable detail about each episode covered.

I'm not about to clog up the reviews with more of the same. If you know who Poirot is there's no need, and if you don't, many of these other great reviews will fill you in nicely. I simply wish to say that each meticulously portrays the time period (1920s to 1940s before the series reaches its end) as only British productions can, and with actors who do not overplay their roles in sticking as closely as possible to Agatha Christie's books.

As some have noted, these original episodes have more of an Art Deco and often brighter and less-brooding look to them with the semi-regular characters of his aide, Captain Arthur Hastings (Hugh Fraser), his secretary Miss Felicity Lemon (Pauline Moran), and Scotland Yard Chief Inspector James Harold Japp (Philip Jackson), each of whom more or less faded from Christie's books after entering the mid- to late-1930s.

The later episodes, some of which were produced by the A&E Network but still stuck flawlessly to the period in appearance, began to take on a darker side in their storylines (as did her books), with the only recurring characters being George, his valet, and detective fiction writer Ariadne Oliver (played by the brilliant actress Zoë Wannamaker).

The only episodes not yet available on DVD are those of the final season, which were filmed the past year - Elephants Can Remember, The Big Four, The Labours Of Hercules, Dead Man's Folly, and Curtain. The last, which brings our favourite detective, now wheelchair-ridden, back to Styles, now a retirement residence but where it all began, also sees his death.

I have them all to date, and can't wait for these to be broadcast and then finally made available on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The One To Buy, December 24, 2012
By 
V. Delandry (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AGATHA CHRISTIE'S POIROT: THE EARLY CASES COLLECTION (DVD)
I LOVE Poirot. Bought all the releases from the begining. Saw this on Amazon at 66% off and as these are the bulk of the best ones (once Hastings & Miss.Lemon are gone, it just doesn't have the same zing) decided to get it a few days ago and open up some shelving space. The picture quality is really good (DVD version) and it's in broadcast order, unlike the original releases. Do yourself a favor and buy this set (or blu-ray if you prefer).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poirot Great, policy disappointing., December 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AGATHA CHRISTIE'S POIROT: THE EARLY CASES COLLECTION (DVD)
I simply love Poirot and decided to order the full set of "the Early Cases", I also Ordered the "Definitive Collection"..I did not think of the time it takes to watch all these lovely Poirot and by the time I got to the problem discs, My time to return had expired. Two discs freeze and I can watch them if I turn off the Disc Player, turn it back on, eject the disc, reload and then watch for the segment and where the next "scene" is....Very tiresome. The Christmas disc in the last pack will not load at all. Soooo, my long awaited set will remain incomplete I guess, due to the policy of how quickly we need to return. I would suggest you buying this set or the other one at a time and when you have plenty of time to watch them, though so if you also get a faulty product, you will be able get the service of returning the defective disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot original TV series through season 6, May 12, 2013
This review is from: AGATHA CHRISTIE'S POIROT: THE EARLY CASES COLLECTION (DVD)
Agatha Christie's Poirot: The Early Cases (1989 - 1995) is a fine collection for the Poirot connoisseur to have on the shelf, as back-up in case you do not own the individually sold, 3-box collection of most of these same cases (for those sets, see my reviews here: Agatha Christie's Poirot: The Classic Collection - Set 1, Agatha Christie's Poirot: The Classic Collection - Set 2 and Agatha Christie's Poirot: The Classic Collection - Set 3).

To clarify properly what this entails: here you will find the "classic" A&E Poirot which debuted in January of 1989 and goes all the way to the last episode of season 6 (before Poirot's years-long hiatus) "The Clapham Cook" which aired in March of 1997. It is upon Series--that is, "season"--7 that POIROT moves to WGBH, Boston, which is PBS. It has been irregularly featured on our PBS-TV on "Masterpiece Mystery!" which has been a total disaster.

So, here is a list of the one, the only, full POIROT series as aired on America's A&E network (before they went down the toilet) which is what this DVD has, and as an official lifelong Poirot-head, I am listing original airtimes and episode numbers:

* Season 1:

1 08/Jan/89 The Adventure of the Clapham Cook
2 15/Jan/89 Murder in the Mews
3 22/Jan/89 The Adventure of Johnnie Waverly
4 29/Jan/89 Four and Twenty Blackbirds
5 05/Feb/89 The Third Floor Flat
6 12/Feb/89 Triangle at Rhodes
7 19/Feb/89 Problem at Sea
8 26/Feb/89 The Incredible Theft
9 05/Mar/89 The King of Clubs
10 19/Mar/89 The Dream

* Season 2:

11 07/Jan/90 Peril at End House
12 14/Jan/90 The Veiled Lady
13 21/Jan/90 The Lost Mine
14 28/Jan/90 The Cornish Mystery
15 04/Feb/90 The Disappearance of Mr. Davenheim
16 11/Feb/90 Double Sin
17 18/Feb/90 The Adventure of the Cheap Flat
18 25/Feb/90 The Kidnapped Prime Minister
19 04/Mar/90 The Adventure of the Western Star

* Season 3:

20 16/Sep/90 The Mysterious Affair at Styles
21 06/Jan/91 How Does Your Garden Grow?
22 13/Jan/91 The Million Dollar Bond Robbery
23 20/Jan/91 The Plymouth Express
24 27/Jan/91 Wasp's Nest
25 03/Feb/91 The Tragedy at Marsdon Manor
26 10/Feb/91 The Double Clue
27 17/Feb/91 The Mystery of the Spanish Chest
28 24/Feb/91 The Theft of the Royal Ruby
29 03/Mar/91 The Affair at the Victory Ball
30 10/Mar/91 The Mystery of Hunter's Lodge

* Season 4:

31 05/Jan/92 The ABC Murders (51 min)
32 12/Jan/92 Death in the Clouds (52 min)
33 19/Jan/92 One, Two, Buckle My Shoe (52 min)

* Season 5:

34 17/Jan/93 The Adventure of the Egyptian Tomb
35 24/Jan/93 The Underdog
36 31/Jan/93 The Yellow Iris
37 07/Feb/93 The Case of the Missing Will
38 14/Feb/93 The Adventure of the Italian Nobleman
39 21/Feb/93 The Chocolate Box
40 28/Feb/93 Dead Man's Mirror
41 07/Mar/93 Jewel Robbery at the Grand Metropolitan

* Season 6:

42 01/Jan/95 Hercule Poirot's Christmas (100 min)
43 12/Feb/95 Hickory Dickory Dock (102 min)
44 11/Feb/96 Murder on the Links
45 16/Mar/97 Dumb Witness

... and according to my comprehensive but somewhat faulty memory, 1997's "Dumb Witness" was the last to air in America on the A&E Channel. After this, POIROT went on hiatus for either 3 or 5 years (since the UK air dates put season 7 in the year 2000 which I think may be in error).

Anyway this collection takes us to season 6, episode 4, "Dumb Witness". In my opinion, that is more than enough to take the true Poirot-lover back in time and see it all again--because there are seasons 7 through 13 and those obtainable only in the movie collections.

No Poirot fan can be without a comprehensive set of episodes, and I recommend this one as a good start unless you'd like a far cheaper and comprehensive collection spanning the first six seasons. The price is reasonable and I understand these are remastered somewhat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Improvement over DVDs, July 24, 2013
By 
wise buyer (Illinois, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
While not perfect, the transfers of episodes in this Blu-Ray set are noticeably sharper than the previously released DVDs. Scenes that were shot in brighter light are pleasing to my eyes, while there is some graininess in the more dimly lighted scenes. This is most obvious during some interior scenes and outdoors at night. Others have pointed out the subpar picture quality of an extended portion of the Murder on the Links episode, and they're correct about that flaw. That shortcoming, however, is an anomaly in this set, since virtually all of the episodes look much better than their DVD (or VHS) counterparts. Even if you already own the DVD versions of many of these episodes, this Blu-Ray set is a worthwhile purchase if you can get the set at a substantial discount.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift!, May 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an amazing set of Blu-rays and I can not believe the detail you pick up with it! you can even see the grains in the woods and the sweat on the actors!! Wonder to see the amazing landscape and costumes!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven, September 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: AGATHA CHRISTIE'S POIROT: THE EARLY CASES COLLECTION (DVD)
What else can I say but the collection is heaven to Suchet fans. I was recently laid up for several months and having these disks to plop into the dvd player made recuperation almost fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

AGATHA CHRISTIE'S POIROT: THE EARLY CASES COLLECTION
$199.99 $93.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.